Register
or
Login
You have 3 items in your shopping cart
pat Callinan's 4x4 Adventures filming blog 10-Mrs 4x4 Update
Submitted: Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 08:05
Pat Callinan's 4x4 Adventures
Back To Index
Pat and the crew are really busy so I thought you may be interested for more from me????
I know I have been saying in my last few e-mails that we are about to hit the Canning but it turns out that WA is a really really big place and suddenly talking in chunks of 100km lots is normal. I was having a discussion over the bowser with the publican from the
Leonora
hotel and heard myself say it's only 500 away, we'll be there this arvo......hmmmm... our trips to Forster for a big holiday are only 400km away and will now seem like a trip to Coles. Turns out the start of the Canning is about a 1000kms north of
Esperance
- a journey in itself.
We drove from Mezies via
Lake Ballard
to Leinster the back way today. I am LOVING the driving. There must be some gun grader drivers over here or the government spends a lot of money on the roads (perhaps it's because there is a mine at the end of most of them.) either way their dirt roads are some much better then QLD or NSW - it felt like the M4 this morning and yet it was nearly 200km of dirt. There were emus running along beside us and massive wedgetail eagles eating the road kill.
Lake Ballard
was a hoot. It is a massive dry lake bed with the glistening mirage effects in the distance - I mean really really big. Think of Glenbrook lagoon and times by a million, oh and pull out the plug. Anyway, an artist took picutres of some of the locals, distorted the images and made them into sculptures and popped them all over the lake. Let me tell you I am glad he didn't do me ! They are in their glory so you can imagine the giggles and comments from Bill, Gusso and Cookie when I took them for a walk to get a bit of culture. It was like a birthing suite - they would run ahead to each sculpture and I would hear a scream of delight across the clay pan "It's a boy!" or "It's a girl!" followed by fits of laughter.They were suspiciously quiet at one of the sculptures and by the time I got to it they said "We're not sure about this one Mummy, giggle giggle giggle" They had made an alteration out of clay and stuck it to what clearly should have been a women ! Very very funny and harmless enough. Meanwhile in the background we could make out emus running flat out across the lake - lovely.
Just after the kids went to bed last night the men went out to shoot a night driving segment and left the kids and I at camp - que Wolf Creek soundtrack....so I thought it a good opportunity to catch some zzzzzzs. Just as I hit the pillow I heard a suspicious deep sounding male voice yell "Yee Haa" in the distance. My heart started to go a little faster - calm down, they'll be back soon as visions of red necks in the back of utes with big guns started running through my mind. Sure enough sleep found me. The next morning as I recounted my tale of terror around the camp fire they said "no way - did you hear that?"....."Ummm, yeah."......."That was us, Pat finally got a take right!"....awesome ! Thanks hun.
Speaking of
Leonora
, they would have to have the loveliest
post office
staff in
Australia
there. The camper and the car have been getting progressively more cramped as the days go by. We risked a head injury this morning as the load feel on Gusso. So I grabbed the biggest blue and red stripey $2
shop
bag I could lay my hands on and filled it to overflowing with anything that we could possibly live without and posted it home.....(thanks Mum, keep an eye on the box and there is a distinct possibility it could smell.) The ladies there said they had seen it all before and happily wrapped it in tape and popped a label on the front......yes girls the GHDs did survive the helicopter incident and no Suz I didn't post them home so you can't borrow them. While standing at the counter a beautiful cattle dog cross wandered through the store and a cockateil sat on my head and played with my pony tail and earings - that's my sort of
post office
! Meanwhile the kids eyes were hanging out their heads at the most amazing range of lollies we have ever seen.
Next stop was meant to be Wiluna but we were warned off staying there as there had been a murder in the town and subsequent unrest. Might give that one a miss - we'll stop for fuel there in the morning and keep heading North.
I have to admit the further away we get from main centres the happier I am getting. Another sunrise and sunset with the most beautiful colours and the biggest of big skies. It should be a basic human right to be able to view at least a sunrise or a sunset every single day. In my view the world's fastest form of mediation.
I am glad to hear that the mighty Swallows are fielding a twilight team again this year - desperately wish I could play. Turn your mobiles on this Saturday girls I am going to call in on the Satellitte phone to hear the Grand Final results - I was going to run a book at the caravan park until I realised there will be no other people around for a very long time and off course you're paying even money anyway. I have packed my uniform and in honour of missing the big game I will be wearing it up the Canning with
orange
and black streamers flying from the mighty Patrol (which I have seriously bonded with, anyone want to buy a slightly used Mazda ?....yes Phil H, it is registered.) GO THE SWALLOWS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We haven't forgotten the little Wallabies going for their first run around the paddock tonight? How did they go? I am busting to hear if Ben ran over anyone - go Benno! Hang on just realised - is it Thursday or Friday ? Either way - go the Wallabies!-Kids team and not the big Wallabies...
And you will be pleased to know that the hairdressers in
Kalgoorlie
are awesome. I didn't quiet get what I asked for, there's no way I would have asked to go this blonde intentionally, loving it anyway- or perhaps thats because my only mirror is the rear view.
Our little treasures are travelling well. Bill is all over the
technical
stuff - he knows what to charge, where and how. I'm not even sure what an invertor is but he is all over it like a rash. Angus is channelling his inner Attenborough - he quietly disappears amongst the scrub around camp and comes back with tails of geckos and insects - he tracked a barking gecko this morning. Charlotte continues to draw picutres of her friend Emma in the sand at every stop. They are loving messages from Harry, Tom and Julian - thanks guys.
Well I know I have said it before but this is it this time. We are out of range tomorrow for a long stint but will hopefully be in touch when we hit
Halls Creek
- pretty amazing how far you have to go these days to be truely isolated. We were thinking about the early explorers this afternoon and how tough they must have done it. We have checked all of Bill's diabetes supplies, packed the
EPIRB
, serviced the cars and charged the sat. phone, (Gabe you can let Justin know that we are channeling his expertise and if he wouldn't mind keeping an ear out for us) - we are safe and ready to roll.
Over and out for now,
Kazz
Tags
4WD
Attractions/Things to Do
Travel Journal
Travelling with Kids
Entertainment
Family
Pat Callinan's 4x4 Adventures
Business Member:
My Profile
My Blog
Advertisement
BlogID:
Comments:
Attachments:
Blog Summary
Back to Index
FAQ
Submitting Blog comments is a function for members of ExplorOz.com - see Members in the menu
Submit Your Comment
Page Sponsors
ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967 HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info
|
Website
Activities
Motorcycle Hire & Ride Day - NSW From $639.00
Motorcycle Hire & Ride Day - VIC From $634.00
Motorcycle Hire & Ride Day - QLD From $624.00
9 Day Cape York Fly / Drive Camping Safari From $2,350.00
9 Day Cape York Fly / Drive Accommodated Tour From $4,145.00
Hire and Drive 4WD Adventure From $440.00