List...
Register
or
Login
Hydraulic or mechanical brakes
Submitted: Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 06:56
big bo
Could anyone inform me what they consider the best system for a camper trailer, hydraulic or mechanical braking.Thinking of a pioneer argyle 4x4.
Much appreciated.
Advertisement
Suppress Advertisement - Members Only
Thread Summary
X
Forum FAQ
AnswerID: 82479 Submitted: Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 07:01
Rosco - Bris.
replied: Forget mechanical over-ride. Have to get out to lock the coupling everytime you want to reverse . IMHO a good leccie setup is the go. Adjustable on the fly and you get progressive braking from gentle to panic.
Reply 1 of 6
FollowupID: 341554 Submitted: Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 08:55
Member - Roachie (SA) posted:
G'day Big Bo,
Gotta agree with Rosco on this one. The electric brakes, whilst having some issues with dust and magnets etc, really are the best way to go IMHO. Those Cape
York
tracks we travelled recently (when we saw you at
Weipa
), had heaps of dust and a bit of water....but the brakes never caused us any problems whatsoever.
Click Image to Enlarge
There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience!
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 82505 Submitted: Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 09:41
flappan
replied: IMO , you should use nothing else BUT lecky brakes on an offroad van/CT. You at times need them to work independently of the vehicle , and these are the only ones that will.
Reply 2 of 6
AnswerID: 82520 Submitted: Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 10:45
Member - Collyn R (WA)
replied: Ideally electric over hydaulic disk brakes. They are readily available but a bit costly. You'll find them readily enough via Google and the Internet.
Collyn Rivers
Collyn
"The problem is not so much what people don't know - it's what they think they know that simply isn't true."
Ample Power Company, USA
Member: Lapsed Membership
Reply 3 of 6
AnswerID: 82529 Submitted: Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:15
big bo
replied: Thanks Roachie,
Sorry to learn that you did not do all of the T
Reply 4 of 6
FollowupID: 341573 Submitted: Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 11:22
big bo posted:
Thanks Roachie,
Good to see you all got home safe, and why did'nt you do all of the Telegraph Track it was a 4x4 ball and great fun, my wife loved it and she also drove some of the crossings. I guess I will go with the standard supplied hydraulic braking system on the trailer.
safe travelling.
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 341596 Submitted: Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 14:15
Member - Roachie (SA) posted:
G'day mate,
One of our blokes had a 2.7 petrol Prado without a
snorkel
. We were a bit concerned that some of the water x'ings might cause him to come to grief. We did do the bottom bit of the north half of Tele track (to
Fruit Bat Falls
, Twin/Elliot Falls.......had a ball there swimming etc)
Cya mate
Click Image to Enlarge
There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience!
Member:
My Profile
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 82554 Submitted: Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 14:31
big bo
replied: Roachie,
I have a prado diesel without
snorkel
and resorted to putting a blind on, even so I had my heart in my mouth at several of the crossings although not a drop of water got into the air intake, particularly at the Nolan's brook crossing which was about 800mm deep.I will fit a
snorkel
before my next big trip, a lot safer and fewer headaches.
ALL THE BEST.
Reply 5 of 6
AnswerID: 82658 Submitted: Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 22:19
Member - Camper (SA)
replied: Our CT has after-market hydraulic. While I agree with the previous post about reversing ours perform satisfactorily.
Camper
Reply 6 of 6
New/Updated
Western Australia Road and 4WD Atlas $36.95
South East NSW Explorer Card $20.00
Mid West WA Explorer Card $20.00
Membership Personal - Lifetime $300.00
South West Map Book $9.95
Frogs and Tadpoles of Australia $19.95
Spiders Snails and Other Minibeasts of Australia $19.95
Dinosaurs and Other Ancient Giants of Australia $19.95
Fast Find