<rss version="2.0" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"><channel><title>ExplorOz Forum - Updates Last 12 Hours</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Default.aspx</link><description>The ExplorOz Forum is the longest running 4WD/Camping/Caravanning forum in Australia and remains the largest and most popular.</description><language>en-au</language><copyright>Copyright 2001 - 2013 I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd</copyright><ttl>720</ttl><image><url>http://www.ExplorOz.com/images/ExplorOz_Logo.png</url><title>ExplorOz Logo</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Default.aspx</link></image><item><title>ID:102406 - Solar Regulator for 120W array.</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102406/Solar_Regulator_for_120W_array.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102406/Solar_Regulator_for_120W_array.aspx</guid><description>I have two 60W panels (120W array) but no regulator is fitted. Recently ran a multimeter across my secondary battery (dual battery system) with 16+ volts recorded. I concerned this will eventually 'fry' the battery. Can I fit an after market solar regulator to my panel array.&lt;br /&gt;
If so can anyone please advise size and make. I will be thankful for any advice.&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 1 FollowUps: 0 Views: 47</description><dc:creator>Member - rkc47 (Mandurah, WA)</dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 08:04:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102404 - A change......or just an increase?</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102404/A_changeor_just_an_increase.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102404/A_changeor_just_an_increase.aspx</guid><description>With the tourist season in full swing, I've noticed a change in the travellers' mode of transport.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
While there's heaps of caravans(how many different makes are produced in &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="P49" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/States/Default.aspx"&gt;Australia&lt;/a&gt;?), campers and motorhomes, and of course all the fishermen with their boats, there seems to be another traveller this year.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
To me, and I do a lot of clicks along the Landsborough and Barkly Highways each week, there appears to be an increasing number of the single vehicle traveller.  Like other tourists, these SVT's are using every brand, and type of vehicle available.  Even saw a little black sedan, about the size of Barina, with a roof top tent on top.  Looked like a travelling toad stool, and probably should have had "oversize" signs, front and rear.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
While roof top tents are popular, the "de rigeur" accessory would have to be Maxtrax.  There's &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="W19828" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Places/19828/NSW/Orange.aspx"&gt;orange&lt;/a&gt; boards everywhere.  The Telstra style canopy/camper are very popular(we've even got one), with many grey nomads having one on their ute, as well as pulling a 'van.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
No doubt there's a number of reasons for using just one's vehicle.  Better fuel economy, travelling light, with just a tent, and couples checking out the Outback first, to see if they "like" it, and then heading home to get a 'van/camper.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
What are other's thoughts?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Bob.&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 2 FollowUps: 2 Views: 201</description><dc:creator>Bob Y. - Qld</dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 08:31:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102403 - Recommendation re Auto Electrician in South Australia</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102403/Recommendation_re_Auto_Electrician_in_South_Australia.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102403/Recommendation_re_Auto_Electrician_in_South_Australia.aspx</guid><description>We are currently in Port Augusta and received advice yesterday from a  garage servicing  our car that our "charging system" is not working - which came as a complete surprise [our two under bonnet batteries seem to be well charged]. On Monday we are moving on to the &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="P378" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/TrekNotes/Adel/Yorke.aspx"&gt;Yorke&lt;/a&gt; and then the Fleureau Peninsulas.&lt;br /&gt;
I would be grateful for any advice on where I can find a good auto electrician in this region to check out our dual battery system, preferably if possible on the &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="P378" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/TrekNotes/Adel/Yorke.aspx"&gt;Yorke&lt;/a&gt; Pen.&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 5 FollowUps: 8 Views: 321</description><dc:creator>Member - Lynton B (QLD)</dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 07:13:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102402 - Uni Joint</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102402/Uni_Joint.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102402/Uni_Joint.aspx</guid><description>Morning .&lt;br /&gt;
Just wondering if someone can point me in the right direction .&lt;br /&gt;
I have a 2012 Dmax 4x4 the first uni joint from the gear box has about 5 mm play in it up and down . the second uni joint on from that does not .&lt;br /&gt;
I have been told by ISUZU that it is not a problem .&lt;br /&gt;
I explained that i was crossing the Simpson soon and that did not change their answer .&lt;br /&gt;
I would just like some other feed back please .&lt;br /&gt;
Is this something i need to change ? it is not getting any worse since i picked it up .&lt;br /&gt;
The car has done 35 000 km so far been up and down the boarder track a couple of times and no problems .&lt;br /&gt;
Any input would be appreciated .&lt;br /&gt;
Cheers guys.&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 4 FollowUps: 3 Views: 312</description><dc:creator>kym c1</dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 07:10:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102401 - Selcall app now for Android</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102401/Selcall_app_now_for_Android.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102401/Selcall_app_now_for_Android.aspx</guid><description>A few weeks ago 'hl' highlighted that there is a Selcall app for the Iphone.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I am happy to say that the same person just released the android version of it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I tested it on a Reids and the HF club, and Steve Johnston of VKS no less tested it against every VKS site and it works great. Once loaded it doesn't need phone reception. It generates tones out of the phone's speaker which you hold up to the mike, It works surprisingly well.&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 0 FollowUps: 0 Views: 216</description><dc:creator>Member - Boobook</dc:creator><pubDate>Fri, 24 May 2013 21:04:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102399 - Comment: Simpson Desert</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102399/Comment_Simpson_Desert.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102399/Comment_Simpson_Desert.aspx</guid><description>Hi all&lt;br /&gt;
Planning solo &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="P343" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/TrekNotes/Deserts/Simpson_Desert.aspx"&gt;simpson desert&lt;/a&gt; trip in few weeks of time.  from E to W.never done sand driving but I have done lot of four wheel driving and long trips myself.  Is there any recommendation?&lt;br /&gt;
thanks&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 2 FollowUps: 1 Views: 376</description><dc:creator>mark85</dc:creator><pubDate>Fri, 24 May 2013 22:52:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102397 - Deisel Stutter - in between power and coasting in top gear.</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102397/Deisel_Stutter_-_in_between_power_and_coasting_in_top_gear.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102397/Deisel_Stutter_-_in_between_power_and_coasting_in_top_gear.aspx</guid><description>Hi all - figure I will throw this one out there for people that know all about deisels.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Specifically it is a Ford Transit van 2005 2.4TDCi (turbo common rail) that I use for general travel. I have had no luck on any motor forums. The symptom while not a problem is annoying and I would really like to know what it might be ... as in ECU, dirty injectors, whatever - if an easy fix it would be nice - but it seems most "suggested fixes" involve lots of money.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
When in cruise (usually 6th gear) and with your foot pretty much steady on the accelerator, when I am just at that tipping point where the engine transitions from very slight power to very slight coast or vice versa (possibly at the point the engine and diff are "disconnected" due to the little bit of play in the gear trains and 0 power trasfer) the bloody thing stutters a couple of times in quick succession (less than a second) as in power off / power on before it runs smooth again either coasting or driving. Speed at the time does not seem to matter be it 60 or 100 ...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I can get it on flat road, or in the bottom of a small valley where power changes from coast to drive are not large.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It never happens under load conditions either coasting or driving, only if you hold your foot steady and reach that "in between" mode.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The only other thing I will add is that it does tend to smoke a bit say if you sit at the lights for a while, when taking off (generally 1st and 2nd) it can blow a bit of smoke in the headlights of the car behind (only really noticeable by me at night more than day) but generally not continue once you accelerate past these gears unless you are really heavy on the throttle. No idea if this is related.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ken&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 5 FollowUps: 15 Views: 513</description><dc:creator>KenInPerth</dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 06:17:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102396 - An OziExplorer problem</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102396/An_OziExplorer_problem.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102396/An_OziExplorer_problem.aspx</guid><description>Hi all,&lt;br /&gt;
I run Ozi on an Asus EEE slate PC running windows 7 through a USB GPS puck mounted on a ram mount in the vehicle. Occasionally while running moving maps the Ozi screen freezes and I get the error message 'Scan line index out of range'. I am thinking that it may be caused by bumps on the track causing the slate to want to rotate the screen from landscape view but this is a guess.&lt;br /&gt;
Does anyone have any suggestions as to preventing this error message please?&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 1 FollowUps: 3 Views: 204</description><dc:creator>Mikee5</dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 07:53:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102389 - 12HT engine on HJ60 jerks on low speed</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102389/12HT_engine_on_HJ60_jerks_on_low_speed.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102389/12HT_engine_on_HJ60_jerks_on_low_speed.aspx</guid><description>I have recently installed rebuilt 12HT engine on HJ60 with its turbo. I have notice when I am driving at low speed the engine jerks high and low resulting in high and low speed jerks. Is this normal with this engine? Is there a way to fix this problem?&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 4 FollowUps: 5 Views: 358</description><dc:creator>Naveed Merchant</dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 01:15:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102387 - if you fish you will see why I am angry.</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102387/if_you_fish_you_will_see_why_I_am_angry.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102387/if_you_fish_you_will_see_why_I_am_angry.aspx</guid><description>Netters slay trophy bream &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
To all of you who enjoy a &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="Ihttp://www.exploroz.com/Shop/_/_/Spot/Default.aspx" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Shop/_/_/Spot/Default.aspx"&gt;spot&lt;/a&gt; of recreational fishing.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
www.fishingworld.com.au&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
IN disturbing news, Fisho has heard reports that commercial haul netters have recently removed "boxes and boxes" of &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="P53149" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Fish/Black_Bream.aspx"&gt;black bream&lt;/a&gt; from NSW South Coast estuary&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 4 FollowUps: 8 Views: 1210</description><dc:creator>sweetwill</dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 01:15:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102386 - Cairns</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102386/Cairns.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102386/Cairns.aspx</guid><description>I,ll be travelling to &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="W30020" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Places/30020/QLD/Cairns.aspx"&gt;Cairns&lt;/a&gt; at the end of August. We are spending a week going up and a week coming back and have pretty much planned where to stay.&lt;br /&gt;
But i am looking for a place to stay for our 9 days in &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="W30020" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Places/30020/QLD/Cairns.aspx"&gt;Cairns&lt;/a&gt;.&lt;br /&gt;
We are looking for free or cheap within a 25 km radius from &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="W30020" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Places/30020/QLD/Cairns.aspx"&gt;Cairns&lt;/a&gt; CBD.&lt;br /&gt;
We are self sufficient only clean toilets would be nice.&lt;br /&gt;
Can anybody suggest some nice &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="P40069" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Places/Default.aspx"&gt;places&lt;/a&gt;, Along water would be nice.&lt;br /&gt;
Thanks&lt;br /&gt;
Jorgen &amp; Lis&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 3 FollowUps: 3 Views: 288</description><dc:creator>Member - Jorgen S (QLD)</dc:creator><pubDate>Fri, 24 May 2013 22:32:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102385 - Friday funnies</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102385/Friday_funnies.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102385/Friday_funnies.aspx</guid><description>Obituary of the late Mr. Common Sense &lt;br /&gt;
Interesting but sadly, rather true. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Today we mourn the passing of a beloved old friend, Common Sense, who has been with us for many years. No one knows for sure how old he was, since his birth records were long ago lost in bureaucratic red tape. He will be remembered as having cultivated such valuable lessons as: knowing when to come in out of the rain; why the early bird gets the worm; Life isn't always fair; and maybe it was my fault. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Common Sense lived by simple, sound financial policies (don't spend more than you can earn) and reliable strategies (adults, not children, are in charge). &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
His health began to deteriorate rapidly when well-intentioned but overbearing regulations were set in place. Reports of a 6-year-old boy charged with sexual harassment for kissing a classmate; teens suspended from school for using mouthwash after lunch; and a teacher fired for reprimanding an unruly student, only worsened his condition. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Common Sense lost ground when parents attacked teachers for doing the job that they themselves had failed to do in disciplining their unruly children. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It declined even further when schools were required to get parental consent to administer sun lotion or an Aspirin to a student; but could not inform parents when a student became pregnant. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Common Sense lost the will to live as the churches became businesses; and when you couldn't defend yourself from a burglar in your own home and the burglar could sue you for assault. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Common Sense finally gave up the will to live, after a woman failed to realize that a steaming cup of coffee was hot. She spilled a little in her lap, and was promptly awarded a huge settlement. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Common Sense was preceded in death by his parents, Truth and Trust; his wife, Discretion; his daughter, Responsibility; and his son, Reason. He is survived by his 4 stepbrothers; I Know My Rights, I Want It Now, Someone Else Is To Blame, and I'm A Victim. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Not many attended his funeral because so few realized he was gone. If you still remember him, pass this on. If not, join the majority and do nothing.' &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Bushy.&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 21 FollowUps: 12 Views: 1728</description><dc:creator>Member Bushy 04(VIC)</dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 02:20:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102384 - Diesel and road conditions Gasgoyne Junction and Mt Augustus</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102384/Diesel_and_road_conditions_Gasgoyne_Junction_and_Mt_Augustus.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102384/Diesel_and_road_conditions_Gasgoyne_Junction_and_Mt_Augustus.aspx</guid><description>Just wondering whether there is diesel available at Gasgoyne Junction as I know the floods a few years ago there destroyed most of the town. Also is there diesel at Mt Augustus? and at Mt Cobra station? my maps say there is but I know not to trust maps!&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
From Gasgoyne Junction, what are the dirt roads like through to Mt Augustus please? We know they are dirt and that rain changes conditions quickly, also to drop tyre  pressure. Just enquiring as to the general state given dry &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="S994" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Shop/HarperCollins+Weather.aspx"&gt;weather&lt;/a&gt;, as we have found WA dirt roads generally in great condition.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
We have a Jayco outback 20 ft van and would like to see Mt Augustus, having visited the Kennedy Ranges some years ago when we were in WA. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
We would be travelling from &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="W58015" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Places/58015/WA/Carnarvon.aspx"&gt;Carnarvon&lt;/a&gt; then back to the West Coast probably by the same route unless someone has information about Lyndon and connecting roads to Cobra Station, also any diesel along this route. With a Pajero we are limited as to what distance we can travel between fuel stops although will be carrying an extra 40 litres.&lt;br /&gt;
Thanks in advance for replies.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
regards,&lt;br /&gt;
Heather&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 4 FollowUps: 1 Views: 324</description><dc:creator>Member-Heather MG NSW</dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 00:09:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102380 - Whats the most difficult job performed on your 4by as a Diy mechanic?</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102380/Whats_the_most_difficult_job_performed_on_your_4by_as_a_Diy_mechanic.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102380/Whats_the_most_difficult_job_performed_on_your_4by_as_a_Diy_mechanic.aspx</guid><description>Or for full time Mechanics that service 4bys?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
  Mine!!, i think fitting a master cyl to a landrover defender&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 one bolt that has everything built over it under it makes it a nightmare to get out!&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 the other way is to pull the whole pedal box out then patience is a virtue&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
  Cheers Axle.&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 13 FollowUps: 24 Views: 1203</description><dc:creator>Axle</dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 08:33:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102375 - Eyre and York penninsulas</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102375/Eyre_and_York_penninsulas.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102375/Eyre_and_York_penninsulas.aspx</guid><description>Planning a trip to explore the two peninsulas for a few weeks, then across to &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="W77109" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Places/77109/SA/Kangaroo_Island.aspx"&gt;Kangaroo Island&lt;/a&gt; for a few days followed by a week exploring the Coorong. Going to do some fishing can't take the boat because we are one car out and taking the camper. Don't really want to get a tinnie just for a 6 week trip so it will be beach, rock and jetty fishing. Any must see &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="P40069" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Places/Default.aspx"&gt;places&lt;/a&gt;? Keen to park and spend a few nights at one place before moving on so any suggestions for a hub while we explore.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Got a Izuzu 4WD so off road is on the books.&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 7 FollowUps: 0 Views: 372</description><dc:creator>Member - Coldee</dc:creator><pubDate>Fri, 24 May 2013 23:21:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102373 - Which Way - Jobs</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102373/Which_Way_-_Jobs.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102373/Which_Way_-_Jobs.aspx</guid><description>Hi Everyone,&lt;br /&gt;
Need some pointers.&lt;br /&gt;
Heading around this country of ours within the next 12 months plans are in progress.&lt;br /&gt;
Our tug is a 80 series Landcruiser towing a Jayco Sterling Outback Tandem.&lt;br /&gt;
Renting house there is no time schedule for return.&lt;br /&gt;
This trip will be a work and travel starting from Deniliquin NSW (near &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="W51563" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Places/51563/VIC/Echuca.aspx"&gt;Echuca&lt;/a&gt; Vic) at this stage leaving in May-June.&lt;br /&gt;
Question is: Which direction to head first? We are thinking north.&lt;br /&gt;
The best way to find jobs in advance or would it be advisable to ask when you arrive.&lt;br /&gt;
I am a qualified mechanic also with handyman and gardening experience age 53.&lt;br /&gt;
My wife has worked with a financial adviser firm, and is currently employed with an accounting firm age 39. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Any input would be of great value (as we are a bit confused) to allow us to continue our planning. We need to have it planed properly, (once in a life time if you know what I mean).&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Thanks&lt;br /&gt;
Allan &amp; Ang&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 4 FollowUps: 4 Views: 499</description><dc:creator>Member - Allan H (NSW)</dc:creator><pubDate>Fri, 24 May 2013 21:55:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102359 - Dual Battery Set Up</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102359/Dual_Battery_Set_Up.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102359/Dual_Battery_Set_Up.aspx</guid><description>Good evening all. Just a small query. In a dual battery set up where the auxiliary battery is located in the rear of the vehicle,eg. the back of a ute or station wagon, does the &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="C1334,isolator" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Customers/ABR_-_SIDEWINDER.aspx"&gt;isolator&lt;/a&gt; unit have to be installed near the main starting battery, or can it be installed at any convenient point between the two batteries?   Look forward to your replies. Cheers.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Roger B......&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 9 FollowUps: 10 Views: 727</description><dc:creator>Member - Roger B (VIC)</dc:creator><pubDate>Fri, 24 May 2013 21:25:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102298 - Roadwork speed limits</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102298/Roadwork_speed_limits.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102298/Roadwork_speed_limits.aspx</guid><description>On my recent trip which included the highway all the way down the coast from &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="W30020" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Places/30020/QLD/Cairns.aspx"&gt;Cairns&lt;/a&gt;, there were road works. Seemed like a new one every couple of k's.&lt;br /&gt;
Obviously these roadworks had reduced speed limits. Many all the way down to 40.&lt;br /&gt;
After working hours, public holidays, and weekends, there are no workers. But the limit is still reduced.&lt;br /&gt;
Do you...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A: Abide by posted limited, ignoring those behind you tailgateing, blowing horns, flashing lights etc&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
B: Just stay on original limit and hope no one is slower than you, or a cop in the middle of the road works.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
C: Overtake everyone, possibly going over original limit, ignoring everything around you.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Only reason I ask is that it seemed a mate and I, seemed to be the only ones &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="Ihttp://www.exploroz.com/Shop/_/_/On_The_Road/Default.aspx" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Shop/_/_/On_The_Road/Default.aspx"&gt;on the road&lt;/a&gt; who did slow down. Majority of other drivers, including trucks and other caravans, ignored the posted speed signs.&lt;br /&gt;
I'm sure others abide by them, just not when we were there.&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 19 FollowUps: 24 Views: 1350</description><dc:creator>SDG</dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 00:53:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102292 - The Big Lap - caravan vs camper vs hybrid</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102292/The_Big_Lap_-_caravan_vs_camper_vs_hybrid.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102292/The_Big_Lap_-_caravan_vs_camper_vs_hybrid.aspx</guid><description>Hi All&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Well, we are now serious about starting the BIG Lap of Oz at the end of this year as a family of 4 (2 adults &amp; 2 kids, girl 10 &amp; boy 12).  Got lot's of decision around work and house to make !&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The debate has started over what to purchase in terms of a home &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="Ihttp://www.exploroz.com/Shop/_/_/On_The_Road/Default.aspx" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Shop/_/_/On_The_Road/Default.aspx"&gt;on the road&lt;/a&gt; !  Mum wants to be comfortable and Dad wants freedom to explore the remote &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="P40069" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Places/Default.aspx"&gt;places&lt;/a&gt; and easy to tow with reliability. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
We are experienced soft floor camper trailer owners and 4x4'ers for many years (tho we don't consider ourselves 'hard core' 4x4 people). Currently we own a 200 series Landcruiser V8 petrol, however a change to a diesel 200 series is most likely for fuel consumption.  In Oct 2012 we hired a Conqueror UEV 440 for 3 weeks and drove to Uluru and back from &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="W39053" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Places/39053/QLD/Brisbane.aspx"&gt;Brisbane&lt;/a&gt;. The pace was a bit too fast obviously for a 7500km trip&lt;br /&gt;
but the UEV 440 gave us a taste of something bigger than our Trackabout soft floor camper.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
We are planning to attend the &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="W39053" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Places/39053/QLD/Brisbane.aspx"&gt;Brisbane&lt;/a&gt; Caravan and Camping show in June to do further research and we are trying to keep open minds on options. However I am struggling to find any RECENT online articles on peoples views of long term travel in camper trailers, caravans or the newer "hybrids".  Most info I can find is back from 2008.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
We would love to hear anybody's opinion on what you are using, and how you find it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
At the moment I am leaning towards a "Hybrid" and my wife a "Caravan"&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
So far, the list we have looked at online are;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Bushtracker&lt;br /&gt;
Kedron&lt;br /&gt;
Australian Off Road - Quantum ?&lt;br /&gt;
Phoenix&lt;br /&gt;
Conqueror UEV 490 &lt;br /&gt;
Spinifex  &lt;br /&gt;
DRV (Caboulture Caravans) &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="P537" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/WA/Kimberley/Default.aspx"&gt;Kimberley&lt;/a&gt; Kampers - hybrid &lt;br /&gt;
Travelander = Dual Cab 4WD + Tray Top + Trailer  (http://www.travelander.com.au/)&lt;br /&gt;
Trak Shak &lt;br /&gt;
Adventure Offroad Campers (bed folds in half, mattress type limited)&lt;br /&gt;
Camprite &lt;br /&gt;
Bushmaster ?&lt;br /&gt;
Free Spirit Caravans?&lt;br /&gt;
Jayco Expanda range - 16-18ft?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Thanks&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 10 FollowUps: 11 Views: 1047</description><dc:creator>Stu A</dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 02:13:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102260 - isolated camping locations</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102260/isolated_camping_locations.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102260/isolated_camping_locations.aspx</guid><description>Hi there,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Looking at going camping in early june with a few friends. We normally are found around Moreton/Straddy/fraser but decided to try something different this year. Would prefer somewhere within 6 hours drive of &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="W39053" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/Places/39053/QLD/Brisbane.aspx"&gt;brisbane&lt;/a&gt;. Our main request is somewhere with some decent space from other campers. We aren't overly noisy - but do enjoy a few drinks and playing a guitar till late ish and wouldn't want to disturb any families. We are completely self sufficient and have 4wds. The only other thing we enjoy is the ol bush TV so campfire sites if possible. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I have done a bit of research but it is hard to find information about the campsites themselves. Any suggestions would be terrific.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Cheers, &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Lisa&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 9 FollowUps: 0 Views: 754</description><dc:creator>Lisa89</dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 03:05:00 GMT</pubDate></item><item><title>ID:102121 - Review: Free Camping</title><link>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102121/Review_Free_Camping.aspx</link><guid>http://www.ExplorOz.com/Forum/Topic/102121/Review_Free_Camping.aspx</guid><description>Good article Michelle.&lt;br /&gt;
As Jon points out here in NZ we have the Freedom Camping Act.  This requires all campers to be certified “Self Contained”  This will entitle you to camp anywhere overnight except within 200 mtrs of a sign saying you can’t.  Councils are not allowed to have blanket “No Camping” within their district, though some are still trying it with creative interpretations of the Act.  Camping associations here are challenging some councils in court with high success rates so far. &lt;br /&gt;
As an experienced freedom camper throughout NZ and &lt;a class="tt_keyword lbl" rel="P49" href="//www.ExplorOz.com/States/Default.aspx"&gt;Australia&lt;/a&gt; I am well aware of the issues that wind the locals up, mainly the human waste mess.  Well the new laws here have not made any difference to the mess problem in camping areas around towns.  The campers have gone unless they are self contained but the day trippers and the local kids getting drunk at night have not, go figure.&lt;br /&gt;
On the subject of camp ground owners, what gives them the right to have anti competition laws in their favour, no other private business enjoys that.  One doesn’t have to look far to see result of these no competition rules, rising prices and falling service.&lt;br /&gt;
The anti freedom camping lobby can’t seem to get past the money issue.  I would suggest that only a small number of freedom campers do it to get a free ride.  The vast majority do it to avoid the sardine effect and to enjoy the solitude, me included.&lt;br /&gt;
The answer is up to us, vote with our feet (or steering wheel) and be very vocal about it on the way out of town.&lt;br /&gt;
Clive G.&lt;br /&gt;Replies: 4 FollowUps: 6 Views: 603</description><dc:creator>Member - Clive G (NZ)</dc:creator><pubDate>Sat, 25 May 2013 08:10:00 GMT</pubDate></item></channel></rss>

<!DOCTYPE html>

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head><title>

</title></head>
<body>
    <form name="form1" method="post" action="RSSFeed.aspx?rs=2" id="form1">
<div>
<input type="hidden" name="__VIEWSTATE" id="__VIEWSTATE" value="/wEPDwULLTE2MTY2ODcyMjlkZA==" />
</div>

    <div>
    
    </div>
    </form>
</body>
</html>