<span class="highlight">Solar</span> <span class="highlight">panel</span> purchase

Submitted: Friday, Mar 29, 2013 at 22:26
ThreadID: 101378 Views:6329 Replies:3 FollowUps:6
Just purchased a panel off an ebay seller called smart-flash. His panel rated at 140watts fits in the space next to one allready on top of my ute. As soon as possible after fitting i will test it to see if the panel returns the rated amps because it is smaller in size than the 125watt panel that bit deals are selling. Unfortunately the bit deals panel is to wide as they claim up to 10% more than the rated amps for their panels. I will be suprised if it is in fact 140watts given its smaller than all 120watt panels ive been able to find on the net but then again if it is it will be a bargain.
Cheers Graeme

Reply By: mike g2 - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 01:03

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 01:03
Hi graeme, similar concept to you , but I bought a portable one from a traveller (4wd show)who sells at the shows, price was good. my accredited dealer( C/Van) and installer advised it wasnt really that suitable for a fixed install on van roof (as claimed) , it needed mod to suit...and wasnt the output claimed. I note newer panels are getting smaller. unless youve got the electronic test eqpt with you its a case of 'trust me'.
like your photo by the fire-looks like a good set up as well.

MG.
AnswerID: 507839

Follow Up By: Member - graeme W (WA) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 12:03

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 12:03
Hi Mike.
Its a good set up and thats why i tend to keep my 4x4s for 10years or more. Have room on top for another panel which will give me at least 240watts so probibly wont have to use my 120watt folding panel to keep both fridges going. Most of the time anyway. Did you move the reg on your panel as they work best closer to the battery. Other than that no reason a folding panel cant be used fixed allthough a single panel would be more rigid.
Cheers Graeme.
FollowupID: 785140

Reply By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 02:40

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 02:40
G'day graeme,

You said > "I will be suprised if it is in fact 140watts given its smaller than all 120watt panels ive been able to find on the net but then again if it is it will be a bargain."

Alarm bells ringing right there... What are the panel dimensions?
I'd suggest you get that testing done asap.. Indeed, If I'd bought a panel, and had any doubts at all about the claimed output, I'd be doing the testing before doing any fitting... Just sayin'... (been there, done that ;-))
Would you kindly let us know the results of your tests, please...

I see the see the seller's location is Sydney...
Wouldn't be Seven Hills, Sydney by any chance ?

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 507841

Follow Up By: Member - graeme W (WA) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 11:23

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 11:23
Hi Ed. Not going in blind as such. Have been looking to add another panel and ended up going for the best fit in the space. The ebay seller smart-flash advertises them as macht panels and maybe they are, time will tell. As i can test it as soon as it arrives i will report back. The bit deals panels look to test better than claimed but did not fit my space unfortunately. At $180 if it comes at 120watts its not bad value and thats what i thought it probibly would be. Any less however would be disappointing. They have got smaller over time my original panel was a 64watt unisolar panel that was bigger than most 120watt panels now. I guess mine is a calculated risk.
Cheers Graeme.
FollowupID: 785135

Follow Up By: Member - graeme W (WA) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 11:48

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 11:48
Hi Ed. Definitely sydney but not sure where. His feedback score has no negatives but then again not sure if most actually no what they are getting regards solar. I have a spare mppt reg and a watt meter that that records everything as well as a mate with the gear to tong the panel as well. The watt meters are good for anyone with a basic reg that cant record. With one each side of the reg you can record in and out and with two fridges one running as a freezer you can tell how many amps each unit uses. I bought mine off solar steve a very good seller but his panels are a bit dear now in comparison to the general market. With anderson plugs you can move the watt meter as required.
Cheers Graeme.
FollowupID: 785137

Follow Up By: Member - graeme W (WA) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 12:11

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 12:11
Hi Ed.
1200 x 669

Cheers Graeme.
FollowupID: 785142

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 13:52

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 13:52
I thought I'd read a year or two back that Ebay now only publish favourable seller ratings from buyers....may be true...if so, the ratings system is technically invalid.....still, a bit of hope, trust and some blind faith makes some purchases worth a go, considering the prices :-o).
FollowupID: 785150

Reply By: Racey - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 09:18

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 09:18
Check the voltage rating on the data plate; it may be 24 volt nominal system. The panel voltage will be around 35-40 volts.
AnswerID: 507846

Follow Up By: Member - graeme W (WA) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 11:34

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 11:34
Hi Racey. No its a 12volt panel. The seller has no negative feed back in the last 12months and i will give a full report once tested.
Cheers Graeme.
FollowupID: 785136