Which trailer <span class="highlight">wiring</span> socket to fit.

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 14:57
ThreadID: 102792 Views:2274 Replies:3 FollowUps:11
We just recently had a rear bar fitted. At my request they did not refit the trailer wiring socket. Years ago I seemed to always need an adaptor when hiring or borrowing trailers. So I though that I would fit it myself at a later date as we do not normally tow anything. We do not own a trailer or caravan anymore. Simple!! NOT

I started looking at the Narve sockets and run into a seven pin socket with a “reed switch”. I know what a reed switch is and now realise that it is to compensate for a “no led connected” situation when the trailer (with led lights) is not connected. I then find a comment on LCOOL.ORG; “Re-wired the trailer coupling with 12 pin (for Ultimate Camper Trailer”. Simple choice be blowed.

The only things that we may dtow is a hired trailer for a cleanup rubbish tip run or a rented etc T-van, Conquerer or similar for a long remote trip.

The more I search the more I get confused.

From you learned people what’s the best to fit? Just a standard 7 pin flat socket without any reed switches or what?

??????

The car is a 2005 100 series 4.2TD IFS.

Reply By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 15:39

Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 15:39
Phil,
Fit a standard 7 pin plug either round or the flat narva, as if You need to hire a trailer they normally supply an adaptor.
I think the reed switch version is for sonar equipped vehicles so as the b--- thing is not beeping as You are reversing.
Mike.
AnswerID: 513206

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 16:00

Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 16:00
Thanks Mike

Same as I just said to Mike below.

Just a new covered flat seven pin will do.

If there was anything strange I would guess that it would have come up by now. Lots looked.

Don't you just hate those beepers. I know why they do it but what's wrong with having a good look first and then let anyone who would walk behind a car with the motor running to look after themselves. Arrggghh We sometimes spend too much looking after others that they then become complacent and don't bother to look after themselves.

Thanks mate

FollowupID: 791890

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Jun 17, 2013 at 15:43

Monday, Jun 17, 2013 at 15:43
Quote "Don't you just hate those beepers. I know why they do it but what's wrong with having a good look first and then let anyone who would walk behind a car with the motor running to look after themselves."

They are not for persons. They are for those pesky little vehicles that disappear from view in your mirrors when you are reversing up to them. The beeps are the better sound when you are parking by ear.

FollowupID: 791956

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Monday, Jun 17, 2013 at 16:13

Monday, Jun 17, 2013 at 16:13
The big mirrors and a camera do me.

But then again I don't tow a van any more. When we did we never had an issue. We are losing so many judgement call skills way behind (excuse the fun) us. We either used a guide or got out and have a look. Which was very rare. And you could also trust a passing pedestrian back then. And it was the same for all the vehicles I drove in the Army. Use a guide or repeatedly get out and have a good look.

Maybe the beepers are good to replace the pedestrian of today who isn't necessarily trustworthy and doesn't care if you hit the car and then disappears.

FollowupID: 791958

Reply By: Ross M - Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 15:45

Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 15:45
G'day Phil
A 7 pin flat plug is probably the most common and reliable as they don't seem to fall out as often as the round 7's do.
The reed switch is not for LED lights at all, it is to switch off the reverse camera eath if and when you open the lid to insert the plug.
The little MAGGOT in the lid allows the reed to open and therefore turns off the camera earth cos why do you want to see the trailer all the time.
The Magnet closes the reed when the lid is closed and makes it so you can use the camera.
All that is for normal people though and I would switch a camera manually anyway.

You can confuse things and add a 12 pin and use more pins for the same purpose or switch more things on and off in the trailer if you so desire.

If a reed is used anywhere it is only rated to a few milliamps and not for lights, even a few LED arrays will fry a reed quite swiftly and they are only mercury wetted contacts. As you know reeds burn well.

PS Some people would use a 24pin connector if they could get one, after all more is better isn't it.

You can use pin 2 for reverse signal or with the plug wired correctly you can use 2 as a feed for a reverse camera on a trailer, switched from the front of course.

Not sure who tries to use REEDS and LEDS, perhaps they don't they just think it is done.

Ross M
AnswerID: 513207

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 15:55

Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 15:55
I used heaps of reed switches on the train layout to ground the grid on a flip flop circuit to start a sequence of events to change power, points and lights and then to stop any other train from entering the occupied section. I know them well. Very handy little gizmos.

Back to the point at hand.

So I think we shall just go and install a new flat pin without the reed switches. As you say most will come up with adaptors. If not then if it's that important then we could just purchase one.

Maybe I should put a 24 pin one on for all the bling. A row of leds up and over the front of a van and don't forget a few rows of blue underneath. NOT.

Thanks Ross

FollowupID: 791889

Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 16:02

Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 16:02
On my vehicle the reed switch switches off the reversing sensor so you go not get the beeping noise because you are close to the trailer.
It may also switch off the revering camera, but what does it matter, the camera is only on when reverse is selected.
FollowupID: 791891

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 17:23

Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 17:23
Thanks for the PMs and posts guys. I think that I will just go with the standard seven pin. The reed switch and extra wiring is not needed. No bling or whistles or beepers or proximity sensors on our car. Thank god for that.

Cheers (Hi)

AnswerID: 513208

Follow Up By: cookie1 - Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 18:57

Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 18:57
What a shame, I was really looking forward to seeing your rig one day with all the bling :-)

FollowupID: 791896

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 19:26

Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 19:26
Never happen mate. I do have a bright red hook on my winch cable now. Will that do?

What about a red sand flag or on special occasions an Australian flag.

The back window has my Vietnam ribbon colours on it. Left the others off.

Am I getting warmer.

But you have to laugh at those lines of l;eds around the headlights on a lot of new cars. They remind me of those cheap Christmas decorations.

Got over bling when we sold the Kingswood.

FollowupID: 791898

Follow Up By: Mark O4 - Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 20:50

Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 20:50
Phil,

Did you polish the dipstick as Ted would have done prior to sale? or each week.
Red hook on the winch does not count, you need a red ribbon!

As a side issue, in WA we have the round 7 pin plug + Anderson plug for additional voltage whereas other states have a flat pin 7 pin and no idea why.

FollowupID: 791902

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 20:57

Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 20:57
Thanks Mark.

A good way to end a great weekend.

A laugh with mates

FollowupID: 791904

Follow Up By: brownie - Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 22:18

Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 22:18
The good thing about standards is that there are so many to choose from !!

Like Mark I'm from WA, and got sick of adaptors - so have 6 pin small round, 7 pin small round, 7 pin large round, and an Anderson plug (to charge caravan battery).

Sounds like you need both a round and a flat plug to cover the popular choices in your state.

Cheers Neil
FollowupID: 791912

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 22:53

Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 22:53
One will do us Neil. The seven pin flat.

Just a few options: Trailer Wiring Australia images

Do you blame me for asking the question after looking at that link.

FollowupID: 791914