Wyndham <span class="highlight">caravan</span> parks

Submitted: Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 15:20
ThreadID: 106638 Views:1985 Replies:3 FollowUps:10
Hi guys,

Anyone stayed at either of the CP's in Wyndham WA within the last 12 or so months?

Any feedback good or bad would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Reply By: John and Regina M - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 16:10

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 16:10
There is only 1
It's very nice. Shady and well outfitted.
I lived in Wyndham last year. Remember if you stay more than 2 days you have stayed too long. There is not much to see. Some cemeteries, 5 rivers lookout, King river to the prisoner tree, the dam and swimming under the falls, the Grotto and swimming in 100m deep water, and that's about it.
AnswerID: 528039

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 16:30

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 16:30
OK, I thought there was one out towards Parry Lagoon some way out of town but maybe it went belly up

Thanks, no we weren't planning on retiring there just a stop over.
The last time I was there was in the late 60's to fix a busted bit of plant.

FollowupID: 810476

Reply By: Member-Heather MG NSW - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 16:22

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 16:22
Hi Pop,

We stayed a couple of nights at the one past the shops in town with the big boab, and it was great. There was shade to many sites although not so much where we were, the amenities were good, and the young woman in the office was friendly. Can't remember for sure but I think we were given a couple of sites to choose from. There were no complaints from us and we were glad we went to the town and found it an interesting place.

We stocked up on food as we went to El Questro for a few days from there, and had come from the direction of Derby, but the prices were not cheap which is fair enough I guess, considering where it is situated. We also filled up with water and other essentials in the town. Diesel was the cheapest anywhere in the Kimberley.
regards,
Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 528041

Follow Up By: waypea - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 17:31

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 17:31
Hi Pop
I can recommend Parry's Lagoon camp ground ....there last July Powered and unpowered sites...good bird watching there and at the bird hides at Marlgu billabong both dawn and dusk viewing...super sized croc there as well...sunset photos!!!!

Beyond the King River prison tree is the Kurunjie track which finishes at the Pentecost crossing (allow 2-3 hours)...parts of the movie Australia were filmed there with the Cockburn Range as background..navigation can be an issue...side tracks!

Rock art site near the dam on the King R road

The Old Halls Ck track (4WD) goes from near the Parry's T.O. through to near the Grotto T.O.....check out the paved road edge

Fish and Chips at the Wyndham pub....I think new owners late last year

Gouldian finch watching on the lawns at the Shire offices right on daybreak...hopefully they are still watering the lawns early

Back road to Kununurra ....some interesting stop offs but crocs at the Mambi Is free camp

El Q ...well worth the $ stay...good gorge walking

We've been regulars in the East Kimberley and always have unfinished business there
Back there again this year
Enjoy Pop
FollowupID: 810482

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 20:38

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 20:38
G'day Wayne,

Thanks for a very informative report. What was the road like from the bitumen to The camp ground? OK for a basically road caravan? I heard it was gravel but????

FollowupID: 810500

Follow Up By: LJME & LMG - Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 21:26

Monday, Mar 10, 2014 at 21:26
Another vote for Parry Creek Farm - we stayed a week!The lagoon there is lovely for birdwatching (gouldian finches 05:45!), they have a good swimming pool and a small restaurant. There are spacious powered and unpowered sites and laundry facilities. The road from the highway was fine for 2 WD (last August) The road to Marlgu lagoon from the Parry Creek road was ordinary, we drove a little further out to the highway and headed towards Wyndham for a few kms, then turned right onto a better road to the lagoon.

We only stayed a couple of nights at Wyndham caravan park. It was fine - friendly folks, good amenities and a pool.

Good shop in Wyndham for supplies - there is also a fairly good bottle shop.
Cheers L&M
FollowupID: 810505

Follow Up By: mike39 - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2014 at 08:15

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2014 at 08:15
There are top riverside camp spots along the few km. before the prison tree. We camped there when 8m. tides were running. Spectacular.
Even more spectacular was the 122cm. barra I caught on a lure, baitcaster and 10kg. braid.
Kept me very busy for an hour before capture. Unfortunately too far gone for release but 25 meals for the 2 of us, very acceptable indeed.
mike
FollowupID: 810520

Follow Up By: waypea - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2014 at 10:41

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2014 at 10:41
Hi again Pop
Road from the bitumen to Parrys is gravel.... a bit ordinary in places for non off road van.....road to Marlgu billabong gravel again a bit ordinary....but dead easy 4WD....and is a short drive from Wyndham anyway without van.
What's your tow vehicle?
FollowupID: 810532

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2014 at 10:45

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2014 at 10:45
Mike,

Thanks mate. Yeah what a shame that barra had to wind up on the barbie......(;-))

FollowupID: 810533

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2014 at 12:51

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2014 at 12:51
Wayne,

The tow vehicle is a Cruiser ute with camper so might leave the van in Wyndham CP and check out Parrys with just the 4WD.

We were planning on leaving the van at Derby for a month or so, checking out the GRR with just the ute, and then going back to Derby in time for a seaplane flight to the horizontal falls and then dragging the van to either Wyndham (first choice) or Kununurra. After that the NT.
Be easier with a more off road type van but at the moment we just have to go with what we have. Time not that important.
LUV this retired business. Where does the time go...lol.

FollowupID: 810544

Follow Up By: caseh - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2014 at 16:06

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2014 at 16:06
Everything has been fairly well covered.

Just a few points.
The caravan park in the Wyndham township changed hands last year and has been much improved to what it was previously.

I have stayed at Perry's for several years now as part of the Gouldian finch count.
The watering at the shire office was part of that initiative but this may stop now as the Gouldian count has come to an end.
Perry's was a dust bowl last September. So of you intend to go later in the dry season consider the Wyndham campground.

Fuel is up to 10 c a liter cheaper in Wyndham than it is in Kununurra.

cheers, Case
FollowupID: 810546

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2014 at 17:24

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2014 at 17:24
Thanks case,

Yeah, sounds like lots of things are more expensive in Kununurra, including the caravan parks, which was part of the reason for not just taking the van there in the first place and travelling the GRR from the other end.

FollowupID: 810547

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Mar 12, 2014 at 19:33

Wednesday, Mar 12, 2014 at 19:33
Badgers reports for Wyndham

AnswerID: 528211