<span class="highlight">Caravan</span> Parks security

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 11:13
ThreadID: 106779 Views:3355 Replies:15 FollowUps:30
Hi i know most of you do it but sadly one lady who came to Broken Hill st Pats day lost $1000 cash taken from her locked van,

So is this a common event and what can be done to prevent this .

I am sure basic common sense like keep items to a minimum and not leave out in the open.

Any other suggestions for keeping your items safe

thanks for your replies.

Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 11:42

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 11:42
I'm touching wood as I type, I have been very lucky having never had anything stolen, mind you, being married I've never had a grand to leave around
AnswerID: 528588

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 12:20

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 12:20
Gooday,
Well it does raise a few questions about the circumstances, was the caravan attended when this happened?, was it while the occupants were in the caravan and asleep?, were they at the Bathroom of the park and the caravan was locked or unlocked at the time?,
did they force entry etc.etc.

Often more to the story than than just had it stolen from the Caravan.
Apologies for my scepticism.
Boroma604
AnswerID: 528589

Follow Up By: allein m - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 12:33

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 12:33
oK sorry they were in one of the cabins at Broken hill carvan park the bag was in a bed room and they were out in another room chatting with friends

so I agree not sure what to make of this as I get older I find it much harder to take what people say at face value

but she said she opened the window because it was hot

personally if I had that much cash and other items in a strange place i would not let it out of sight

FollowupID: 811163

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 15:09

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 15:09
I haven't all the facts myself but doesn't this happen at home as well. Keys or valuables left in view of an unlocked door or window get stolen. We are constantly reminded on the TV and radio to put them out of sight.

No different in a caravan park cabin. Or tent etc.

FollowupID: 811175

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 21:07

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 21:07
Yep,it's all her fault for not being more careful, not the fault of the rat bag who stole the money.
Dave.
FollowupID: 811218

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2014 at 08:31

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2014 at 08:31
Don't try and start an argument please David.

You know exactly what mean.

FollowupID: 811248

Reply By: Ross M - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 12:30

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 12:30
While the loss of valuables is a bad ting to have happen, one would ask,

Was a number of other locked vans also Looked Into/Entered by the same person?

Was anything else stolen?

Who else would have known $1000 was there for the taking and therefore make entry to the van worthwhile?

Maybe the person Knew of the moneys presence by careless conversation.

Where was the $1000 in the van, on the table for all to see, or hidden somewhere hard to find?

If the entry was a random attack then it is unusual such a reward would coincide with their actions.
AnswerID: 528591

Follow Up By: allein m - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 12:39

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 12:39
It is a big week end here in Broken Hill st pats races brings people from all over and this as normal a much larger police presence and they booked a lot of out of towners dd and one forgot to renew his license before he left Brisbane

but to me common sense it is a busy week end lots of people in town for the races and lots of cash around i am sure there are some who will look at this as a good option for a illegal gain

but my basic question is this common for caravan parks around the country and what do you do to stop this

so others can learn

thanks for the feed back so far
FollowupID: 811164

Reply By: cookie1 - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 12:37

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 12:37
Had kids go hop onto my boat that was on it's trailer and go through my stuff in there, Caravan Park staff didn't care but chastised me for daring to confront said kids and called the Police on me - go figure.

Parents of the kids arrived and they were confused with the Caravan Park Managers as were the Police but I didn't press charges against the kids given the parents response.

Later heard that they (Park Managers) got shown the door.

It does happen, I feel sorry for the lady in question as you should be safe in your own property. I guess the only option would be to install an alarm system in your caravan, that's probably what I'll do when I eventually get to Caravan stage.

AnswerID: 528593

Follow Up By: allein m - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 12:42

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 12:42
Had kids go hop onto my boat that was on it's trailer and go through my stuff in there, Caravan Park staff didn't care but chastised me for daring to confront said kids and called the Police on me - go figure

now that is not on it was your property what if the kids fell and hurt them self

I was taught to respect other peoples property may be a lot of this is lack of teaching by parents
FollowupID: 811166

Follow Up By: cookie1 - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:04

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:04
Actually their parents were fuming at them, the kids, and at the Managers for getting Police involved. I figured that the parents were going to teach them a very hard and fast lesson, they expressed so much remorse as they had a boat too so the kids were taught not to go near others' boats.

I think it was a case of let's take our chances and see what happens while our parents go out for tea!

FollowupID: 811184

Reply By: hazo - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 12:50

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 12:50
We have been traveling full time for a while now and personally never come across the situation ourselves, apart from as mentioned below, but have spoken to people who have.

One couple were asleep in their van in CP at Meekatharra in WA and awoke to find a "person" had forced their door lock and was in the van but they woke and the chap ran quickly away before anything was stolen, it was an old van and the door lock was not as secure as the newer ones.

Another couple we know personally were in a dubious western NSW cp park on an overnight stop and had their windows open while asleep, in the morning they found the lady's handbag missing (found later outside with cash only missing) and a flyscreen on the bedroom window had been cut and the bag removed from the bedside table while they were sleeping.

We have two spaniels with us who would deter most van intruders, or at least let us know, but I did have an attempt to remove my full diesel jerry cans from the rear carriers, they were padlocked and had one of those SS wire security lines through them at the time and they failed dismally to cut the wire.
This was on the mid NSW coast in a small CP.

That particular night several boats had there fuel tanks removed also, so it was probably just fuel they were after.

I think there will always be mongrels out there so just keep aware and use common sense in suspect areas.

A small safe in the van bolted to the floor to store valuables is probably a good idea.
AnswerID: 528594

Follow Up By: allein m - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 13:11

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 13:11
yes we always take our dogs when we go camping and they are fantastic alarms systems

give you dogs a extra bone from me to day for all the hard work
FollowupID: 811168

Reply By: get outmore - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 13:05

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 13:05
well im lucky I have had relativly little stolen from me in my life - certainly some stuff

in most cases it was a case of me presenting the oportunity

Ive learnt that while some people go to work and learn skills
others skills are taking - so never underestimate a persons ability to see oportunity
even if you have gone to modest trouble to conceal or think your too close to them its just another day
AnswerID: 528595

Follow Up By: allein m - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 13:13

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 13:13
so never underestimate a persons ability to see oportunity

the sad truth of the matter is you are so correct some people like that in this work
FollowupID: 811169

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 13:30

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 13:30
Well, this is why we go camping in the outback - to get away from people! When we travel, our aim is to actually leave all this rubbish behind - the crime, reliance on electronics, the use of modern conveniences, and all the stuff that we get wound up in, just living in modern society. It is good for the soul to get away and take a break. Going to a caravan park is not getting away from any of it, in fact you are probably closer to your neighbours there than at home.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 528599

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 13:31

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 13:31
Oh, and we've never had anything stolen when on a trip.
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 811170

Follow Up By: cookie1 - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:07

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:07
Yep so often we go to bed, car open

mind you it is typically in the middle of a desert :)

FollowupID: 811185

Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:48

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:48
dont get too compacent - this thief made off with a sausage while I was out camping

FollowupID: 811191

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:51

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:51
Ha! Love it! Yes, we have had a sausage stolen too... by a kookaburra who swooped down and took it right off the plate I was eating from. Took the whole thing before I even got a bite.
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 811192

Follow Up By: allein m - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:53

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:53
I can see a nice pot of roo tail soup there lol
FollowupID: 811193

Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 17:43

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 17:43
let me guess John Forrest national park?

the kookaburras there dont muck around at all, not to mention the maggies, ringnecks and roos
FollowupID: 811197

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 20:34

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 20:34
indeed 'twas!
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 811216

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2014 at 11:32

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2014 at 11:32
I don't have any photographic proof but, in a similar vein, we just returned from 4 weeks caravanning in the SW of WA. One night I was woken by a female voice that sounded like the voice's owner was having a disagreement with someone. Turns out it was my wife. Oh the embarrassment...Oh the scolding I got in the morning. Apparently we had left a plastic bucket outside the van with some whale oil and pollard in it. Anyway one of the local female 'roos with joey in tow had thought we had left it out as a treat for her. When the good lady wife returned from a late night "comfort" walk she was confronted by this now rather indignant mummy 'roo who took umbrage at being interrupted during her late night meal. Apparently reared up on her hind legs and made the most threatening noises every time the wife tried to walk past her to re-enter the van. Me?? I slept blissfully on while said wife was...um...getting acquainted with the local wildlife.
Did I cop it?? Oh yeah. Leaving out the expletives.."some big brave protector you turned out to be...that bloody mobile flea restaurant got bloody aggressive."
I guess my only partly suppressed giggles, and innocent inquiry "did you save any of the pollard" didn't go down all that well.
Oh, for those of you not into fishing, a spot of whale oil mixed in with some pollard makes pretty good burly.

Only slightly bruised

FollowupID: 811260

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 13:49

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 13:49
Digressing a bit

But what is it with stealing in this country ? A few years ago I was in Japan and caught the train into Tokyo one morning from another district with my Japanese mate. We walked through a "bicycle park" at the station which must have had 10,000 plus bicycles there ranging from some el cheapo ones to some very expensive ones and I did not see more than 4 or 5 bikes chained or padlocked up. I asked my mate "why don't the locals chain their bikes up ? " He replied "what for, who would steal them ? "

I couldn't believe it - I said if this was in Australia you would have a completely empty park by 3 pm !

It's very sad that we have to chain up, padlock, bolt down, weld in nearly everything we own these days to stop some low life scum from stealing what we worked hard and saved for !

Happy and safe travelling ( and don't leave anything unattended )

Gazz
AnswerID: 528601

Follow Up By: petengail - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 15:54

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 15:54
Our daughter had her bike stolen in Japan
FollowupID: 811180

Follow Up By: allein m - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 15:56

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 15:56
It's very sad that we have to chain up, padlock, bolt down, weld in nearly everything we own these days to stop some low life scum from stealing what we worked hard and saved for !

so true and I agree
FollowupID: 811181

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2014 at 11:36

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2014 at 11:36
Well if you believe my pommy mate it's because of our convict heritage....lol
FollowupID: 811262

Reply By: SDG - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 14:55

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 14:55
I have a safe in my van, bolted to the floor, hidden in the back of a cupboard. Often will have a few dollars in it, as well as anything thing else I don't need to have on my person at the time. I don't leave anything out in view, and don't advertise what I might have handy in cash for those who might want it. I do the same thing at home. Just as much chance of a break in enter there, as when travelling.
When I was in Alice last year, there were a few break ins while the occupants were sleeping. One occupant woke one night to see someone taking his wallet from the bench just inside the door.
AnswerID: 528607

Follow Up By: Rod W - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 15:22

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 15:22
"...hidden in the back of a cupboard." Well now you've just told the world.
FollowupID: 811179

Follow Up By: allein m - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 15:58

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 15:58
yes but which van is it lol
FollowupID: 811182

Follow Up By: SDG - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:30

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:30
Certainly not the pink one I saw the other week. lol
FollowupID: 811188

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 15:57

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 15:57
There are basically two types of thieves in the world. Those who plan what, when, where and how to steal something and the Opportunistic thief who just sees something and takes the opportunity when it arises.

So we can prevent the majority of thefts simply by being careful with what we let people see, locking doors etc. The rest of them, and it's probably only about 10 or 15% are very hard to prevent and require a lot more effort.
AnswerID: 528612

Follow Up By: SDG - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:33

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:33
Does not matter what you do. Alarms. Safes. Big dog. Shotgun. If that small percent plan well enough, they are going to get what they want.
FollowupID: 811189

Follow Up By: allein m - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:56

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:56
yes that is what I have heard the Opportunistic thief is the hardest to catch there is no plan or thought just being at the right place at the right time .

FollowupID: 811194

Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 17:52

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 17:52
I used to work in a swimming pool where alot of "disadvantaged kids" frequented.

youd see them walk in - eyes everywhere walk up and down eying off towells and piles of clothes

sooner or later it would happen - someone would approach us saying there wallet had been taken,
story was always the same wrapped up in a towell, under the clothes, in a shoe and the person couldnt understand how they found it.

i would explain these people stole stuff all day everyday, they knew where you were going to stash it before you put it there.

we caught one - barely 5 years old, patron caught her with her hands in his pockets of his pants while he was swimming.

she didnt understand what she was doing wrong , just copying her sisters
FollowupID: 811200

Reply By: Member - TowBall - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:23

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 16:23
Hi All - Fuel is getting dear, so watch your fuel containers......
AnswerID: 528618

Follow Up By: allein m - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 17:01

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 17:01
yes we see a lot of reports here in Broken hill remote farm machinery and plant often gets fuel taken some one was in court the other day they stole large amount of fuel from a remote property while owners were in town

Yes and in town I was fueling up and some one from behind my car came flying out almost missed me they decided not to pay for fuel

the police picked them up 20 minutes later on the way to menindee there is no where to go here unlike a large city
FollowupID: 811195

Reply By: allein m - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 17:03

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 17:03
Thanks people for your reply and helpful hints and yes the world is changing and we have to change our way of thinking just to be able to navigate through it and stay safe and well.

AnswerID: 528620

Reply By: Gronk - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 17:04

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 17:04
My parents have been burgled 12 times......the theif ( I think it's the same prick ) knows they're old, knows they will forget one day and leave the house unlocked again.....or break in somewhere the old's haven't fortified..

Opportunistic scum will go to great lengths to sneak in...but most times we make it really easy for them..

If I had $1000 while camping, it would be in my back pocket.........or near my head when sleeping..

A lot of towns are known for this sort of crime..............the hard part is finding ones that are good !!

It's why camping in the middle of the scrub is so appealing !!
AnswerID: 528621

Follow Up By: cookie1 - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 17:50

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 17:50
The worrying thing is that a lot will use extreme violence these days

I'd rather them have the money than have severe head injuries

FollowupID: 811199

Reply By: Member - John and Lynne - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 18:15

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2014 at 18:15
We have been lucky while travelling but were burgled at home while sleeping - organised gang doing over the district in search of car keys and stealing cars. Luckily we woke up (the dog whimpered) and they got away with keys but did not have time to take the cars. Cost us heaps to have cars rekeyed and replace house locks! House insurance only paid for house keys - cars were to be claimed on each separate car policy and guess what - each set of new locks cost just the same as the excess!

After that police told us that such thieves do well because most people keep their handbags and wallets and keys in really obvious places like beside the bed or in the side table drawer, on the hall table etc. It usually takes a thief only a minute to find them and get out while you are asleep or watching TV. They don't want to hang around searching.

Now, at home or in the van, we always put keys and money in a strange place well out of sight that a thief would not easily find. It is very easy for a thief to reach through an open caravan window and pick up a handbag if it is visible, even while you are under the awning only a few feet away!. It has quickly become a habit to put these things right away every time we put them down.. So far so good. Lynne
AnswerID: 528623

Reply By: Member - Sanantone - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2014 at 07:01

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2014 at 07:01
All I know, is that my wife has a good hiding spot, because when she has the money I never see it again :)
Tony
"For the Rover's life has pleasures, that the townsfolk will never know" - sort of from Banjo Paterson

AnswerID: 528653

Follow Up By: Member - John M (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2014 at 10:12

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2014 at 10:12
To date I have been very lucky in not having anything stolen from any places that I have camped. Keeping valuables out of sight is always on my mind but I am very slack about camping gear, fishing rods etc etc
I take the few that other people around me are there for the same reason as we are and also value their possessions and most people look out for each other whenever possible.
If someone plans or intends to steal from you nothing is going to stop them.
I have a little Red Cattle Dog called D9 (as in Caterpillar Dozer) and lives up to his name in every respect. He is very possessive of my wife and me including my truck and possessions. Maybe he is the reason why any potential thief is kept at bay or thinks twice. I certainly would if he confronted me and I had not been welcomed into our camp. Once in you have no worries but if you visited in the night or when we were not there you would be a very silly person. Unfortunately we cannot take him everywhere with us and in those times we are a bit more careful.
Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain!

FollowupID: 811251

Follow Up By: allein m - Wednesday, Mar 19, 2014 at 11:32

Wednesday, Mar 19, 2014 at 11:32
I love the dogs name and yes dogs and a wonderful addition to to your camping trip sadly so many places you are not allowed and that is ok but as I said before fantastic security

i will spend my money where both my self and dogs are allowed

dogs are amazing a old friend of my dad said one days

put your dogs in the boot of the car and drive off and after an hour or so let it out he or she is happy to see you

put your wife in the boot and drive off and let her out and your in the poo for the rest of the daylol

FollowupID: 811261