Working holiday - What worked for you?

Hi guys n gals
Im in the stages of closing up shop and going on a holiday. Im a plumber by trade with a refrigeration ticket, plenty of experience in fabrication and gereral maintenance.

My question is has anyone on here made a holiday of their work and gone and enjoyed the country? I reckon there is plenty of work out there, but what is your experience on the matter???

Reply By: Rustynails59 - Saturday, Apr 19, 2014 at 17:29

Saturday, Apr 19, 2014 at 17:29
As a dentist, not much chance for me to set up shop in the bush- not these days anyway??
But I reckon as a tradie, you would have a great chance
Where are u heading
I'm taking 4 months off end of this month and heading up Kimberley's
Can't wait
AnswerID: 530865

Reply By: Bigfish - Saturday, Apr 19, 2014 at 18:12

Saturday, Apr 19, 2014 at 18:12
I am very sure that if you let it known in the small towns that you stay in or pass thru, you will pick up work. In the top end of oz, refrig mechanics are in constant demand, plumbers also. This is especially so in the country areas where it costs a fortune to get a tradie in to carry out repairs. Take you refrigy gear and earn some money...The larger cities will have competition but if your camping in the smaller towns for several days you will pick up work from local business...cash too!!

Good luck and just go out and do it.......I,ve met quite a few who have done it and most make some reasonable money or barter for their holiday...
AnswerID: 530872

Reply By: Bob Shovel - Saturday, Apr 19, 2014 at 21:43

Saturday, Apr 19, 2014 at 21:43
definately with a trade and hands on.

There are always houses being built somewhere and maintenance to be done. Ive regional qld go nuts with mining and gas etc but the locals cant keep up with all of it. Once a developer gets into town the local builder cant build all the houses, the city builders come in and usually bring their tradies too. If your in town you just have to show up.
I picked up work in Biloela, Qld in a matter of hours, knocked on 1 or 2 doors then stopped for a break and saw a local landscapers ad and called. i started the next day.

The think is you wont be getting top dollar! the local companies cant compete with mining wages so i was getting $21/hr while old mate at the mine on a tipper gets >100k/year

The locals struggle to find good pepole cause the locals wait for a spot to come up in the mines... or someone to die

as long as youll do anything theres always work. roadhouses need people too often.
AnswerID: 530894

Reply By: Ross G6 - Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 06:52

Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 06:52
Hi Steve, We have seen plenty of tradies doing this in our travels. Two mates had signs made for the side windows of their car and another on the back of their van along with their mobile phone no. As others have said it's hard to get tradies in some places and also hard sometimes just to get someone to work. Hane fun and enjoy the trip.
AnswerID: 530903

Reply By: The Bantam - Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 14:01

Sunday, Apr 20, 2014 at 14:01
Mate I am sure in some areas you would be at real risk of being kidnapped.....farmers would have their daughters after you.

A mate of mine was in Mt ISA on a guitar playing gig, when he let it slip that he was a tiler.....he was lucky to make the plane back to Brisbane.

Any where west of the great devide and they have trouble getting any sort of tradie.

My brother fixes windmills in the north......he does not claim to be a plumber.....he has had people after him to fix toilet sisterns & dripping taps...and prepared to pay 4 hours traveling time.

Serilusly..I doubt you will have a problem.

AnswerID: 530923