Blitz on <span class="highlight">caravan</span> mirrors.

Submitted: Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 14:09
ThreadID: 107600 Views:3743 Replies:12 FollowUps:50
Is it me, or is the number of people towing caravans without suitable mirrors increasing?
We went down to Perth over Easter and lost count on the amount of caravaners without decent mirrors holding up other vehicles.
I think some of them just had no idea there were cars behind them and some just didn't give a rats.
I counted 23 cars lined up behind one caravan and he had just passed a huge bitumen parking bay !!!
I reckon its about time the Police backed off of the 5kmh over the speed limit thing and had a blitz on towing etiquette......

Reply By: Member - outbackjack 1 - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 14:50

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 14:50
Hi Hairy (NT)
Your not wrong I've seen heaps especially in WA The truckies must be pulling there hair out. You cant even call them up on UHF if they have one, they have them turned down or off. Caravaners are a breed all of there own, they think they own the road. I see there is a bit of a blitz on at the moment SA, VIC, NSW. Police and the RTA are pulling them up and weighing them, for over weight, putting canaryies on them and making them get flat tops to pick them up. Gundagai I saw about 5 or 6 sitting there waiting to be moved, also saw 4wd's, motorhomes, camper trailers. One bloke had a brand new 200series stuff on the roof, 5 passanger's and the back was full and was booked for over weight (true) had to get rid of some stuff. Back to the caravans, they should all be checked when they buy them, and not allowed out of the sales yard without the wright mirrors on.
AnswerID: 531742

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 16:41

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 16:41
They probably have their UHF turned for the same reason that I do, foul mouthed bogans & inane chatter!

Maybe while they are checking over weight vehicles, they should check illegally modified 4WDs.

FollowupID: 814836

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 19:12

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 19:12
Hullo Shaker
I have had a different experience to you.
In the last 12 months I have travelled some 20000 kms + on sealed roads in WA, NT, SA, NSW and Qld, the majority of which have had quite heavy truck traffic. When on the open road I have ch 40 (29 east coast) on to monitor road conditions - accidents, stock on the road, flooding, wide loads, unsafe loads, etc - and talk to truckies wishing too overtake.
I have rarely heard bad language or inane chatter. The truckies almost invariably (95%) appreciate my cooperative approach.
Like in any group of people, there are the few bad eggs.
However, in the cities, the radio is off!
FollowupID: 814867

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 15:07

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 15:07
You're right Andrew, in WA the foul mouthed lot are in Perth and are known as the "Wanneroo wankers" and you'll know why if you listen to Ch 3 or 4.
I do the same as you and use Ch 40 on the road and definitely use my extended mirrors to check for trucks.
Any incompetent driving a car who can't pass me doing around 95kph thereby making the queue longer for those that are better drivers, can sit there and wait as far as I'm concerned.
AlanH.
FollowupID: 814939

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 15:27

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 15:27
You need to be aware that not all vans with no mirrors visible, other standard vehicle ones, do not have rear vision. The use of rear vision cameras are becoming more common. This is a quite legal option. Providing you can see any vehicle approaching from the rear and any overtaking vehicle on either side then the camera complies. The WA legislation does not state mirrors are required but rather refers to vision. Confirmed by office of road safety in WA and by police in NSW when I was stopped and questioned about my lack of extension mirrors.

I do agree that it appears many vans on the road do not have any rear vision, indicated by the way they are driving.
AnswerID: 531748

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 16:02

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 16:02
No Hairy its not just you , thing is sometimes the law / legislation takes a loooong time to wake up to new beaut technology , rear vision camera's / LED light bars , total agree though that more POLICING of overweight slowing traffic needs to be done , a few fines dished out to the lah lah lah " i'm on holidays / retired mobile road blocks who have no actual consideration of other road users who are actually on a time frame" needs to be done……. recon that if your on an asphalt road or h/way booking for slow would rake in just as many $$$$ as booking for 5 km over during the annual 'grey nomad' migration cycle.
AnswerID: 531750

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 16:37

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 16:37
So do you book trucks that can't maintain the speed limit?

FollowupID: 814835

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 18:21

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 18:21
Shaker some people don’t understand.
The speed limit is not the compulsory speed – it’s the maximum speed.
The posted maximum speed is not safe for all rigs - especially for large caravans with centrally mount axels.
If drivers are too impatient to wait for a passing lane or other safe part of the highway to pass - they shouldn’t be on the road.
FollowupID: 814854

Follow Up By: Povertypete - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 18:30

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 18:30
As I understand it, there is no legal requirement to maintain the posted speed limit, only a moral one, and this will never be any different under the current antiquated laws and inadequate road systems. I totally agree that slow vehicles have an obligation to allow faster vehicles to overtake and should take the necessary steps to facilitate this, but it doesn't happen does it, never will and no amount of ranting and raving will ever make it happen, partly because the offenders only tow once a year, never read this column because 'that is only for hard core adverturers', and are just plain ignorant of the problems they are causing. I accosted one such driver one day, and his excuse was that if he pulled over or stopped to let others pass, he then would have to build his speed up again and it was just easier to keep going at the same speed. I never had a friendly beer with him!
A couple of the reasons there is no minimum speed on the roads is farmer Joe - he has to get his hogs to market on his 45 year old Dodge, and hard working truckies who are trying their hardest, but just cannot go any faster. And what about older vehicles that cannot safely maintain modern speeds.
These things cannot change till roads are built that allow segregated speed limits in specific lanes. Dream on Pete.
Another bitch of mine is the absolutely stupid rule regarding speedometers. Not certain of the actual figures, but they are allowed to be something like 10% slow plus a margin of error on top of that. This means that a vehicle can be doing something in the high 80s but indicating 100 mph. Now Mr policeman or Mr bureaucrat, is that going to cause you frustration while you are trying to get to your intended destination and want to pass them because your vehicle has an accurate speedo (if there is such a thing) and want to pass them, or are you sitting in the back seat talking on the phone or doing other important business.
My Navara's speedo is 6.5% slow as checked against GPSs, so when I come up behind another Navara doing 94 kph I know he is doing an indicated 100. But I still get frustated and shake my head at the stupidity of the law makers. For God's sake people, you are not making the roads safer, you are causing frustration to other road users who finally get absolutely bleep off and do ridiculous things to get passed. Another accident caused by speed say the Police, but really its caused by the idiot who authorised the stupid legislation and public irritation.

FollowupID: 814857

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 18:49

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 18:49
Pete your quote
“other road users who finally get absolutely bleep off and do ridiculous things to get past”
These lunatics are their own worst enemies, and have only themselves to blame if they come to grief.
I pity the other poor sods they may take with them, when they go to revhead heaven.
FollowupID: 814860

Follow Up By: SDG - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 21:28

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 21:28
Does not matter if your doing the speed limit, a little under, or even a bit over.

If your towing a van, for some reason that person behind you is going to overtake.
FollowupID: 814881

Follow Up By: The Landy - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 08:33

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 08:33
I tend to the view that SDG has posted.

On our recent trip this was our experience when towing the TVAN. For the most part we were close to the posted maximum limit, but only if it was safe to be at that speed, on that road, in the configuration "we" were driving.

Despite this I had any number of people almost tale-gating and impatiently waiting to pass. And in some cases I passed them at the next rest stop where they had pulled over – go figure!

And yes, I have come across drivers towing vans at speeds considerably under the posted maximum, but that is their choice for whatever reason. Perhaps some consideration to other drivers would be useful in these cases – but here is the deal, you can only ever drive one vehicle at a time, so just concentrate on the one you are driving and stop trying to drive other people’s for them as well.

Let's face it, what are we talking about here, 5-10-15 minute delay out of your day, or a long time dead?
FollowupID: 814888

Follow Up By: Les PK Ranger - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 11:43

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 11:43
Maybe the overtaking thing is people generally like to have a clear vision of the road in front of them, and vans / campers, horse floats, etc, can impede this.
I know I like to see down the road clearly.
Perfectly understandable, even if the speed difference is very close.
FollowupID: 814906

Follow Up By: dublediff - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 13:47

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 13:47
Don't sit so close behind the caravan and you will have clear view ahead!
FollowupID: 814932

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 15:14

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 15:14
I'll second that dublediff. I just love those that sit so close behind I can't see them and then pop out every now and again to check if the road is clear.
Had that happen recently by a bloke who was laying back so far in his seat you could hardly see him.....and did he get back quick when he saw what was heading at him.
Very very close to wiping himself out and possibly us as well.
AlanH.
FollowupID: 814940

Follow Up By: Les PK Ranger - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 15:45

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 15:45
dublediff, I agree with what you say in your reply, but you're incorrectly responding to what I meant in reply to SDG and The Landys posts.

Your vision can be impeded even at a safe distance behind larger vehicles at times . . . on long flats, or on winding hills.
Rain wash from a vehicle in front might also be an issue too.

I like to see well in front at all times, otherwise you could miss spotting an animal or situation develop in a blind spot.

Deciding to overtake depends also on the driver in front too, some are all over the place with speed, sometimes 100, then up hill 90.
This is common and understandably so with towing vehicle or HV's, safer to overtake when safe and do your speed consistently away from them up front.

As long as it's not a situation where someone overtakes, then actually goes slower, now that is freaking frustrating !
That's nearly as bad as slightly slower drivers speeding up to the limit at overtaking lanes, stopping others from going past, only to slow down again after the lane ends !!
FollowupID: 814945

Reply By: Skulldug - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 16:37

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 16:37
Hairy,

I reckon that was me you saw. I never put mirrors on the car when I tow the caravan so I can't see all the truckies behind me. I also don't put the UHF on so I can't hear them complain.

Skull
AnswerID: 531755

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 16:58

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 16:58
not sure if serious ^
FollowupID: 814840

Follow Up By: Slow one - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 17:44

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 17:44
Skull,

I hate all caravan owners. Hang on! I forgot, I own a caravan.

Bugger this dementia. Now where was I. Yes I still drive trucks and hate caravans. Hang on I own a caravan! now where was I.

FollowupID: 814846

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 17:59

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 17:59
funny thing is, I reckon a fair few caravanners do get a bit pi$$ed off with other caravanners - it's not unique to truckers
FollowupID: 814848

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 18:10

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 18:10
Skull,
Im not sure why you would be proud of that?
FollowupID: 814853

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 18:27

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 18:27
I tow a van and I see heaps of others towing without extensions, don't know how they manage. The only people who annoy me are truck drivers: they seem to have a penchant for sitting a few metres off your bumper at 100kph - puts the willies up you. Lost track of the number of truckies I have seen doing that.Young female drivers in the city seem to have the same problem. Another annoyance is farmers who seem to delight in pulling out in front of you and then sit on 60kph in a 100 zone (moving between paddocks obviously). A good thing to remember: 100kph is the speed limit - not the target (within reason of course)
FollowupID: 814856

Follow Up By: Slow one - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 19:00

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 19:00
I hate truck drivers, farmers, caravan drivers and young girls. Hang on I remember something about young girls. I used to like them.

Maybe if we look at ourselves, we just don't like what others do, that is different to what we would like or the way we drive.

My way of thinking is. Just chill until you can get around, and keep the blood pressure in check.

I know where Hairy is coming from and I know Skull was just taking the piss, the problem is the only time we are going to get it right is when the all vehicles drive themselves.

Tony, if a truck driver gets on your hammer, the best thing to do is either go faster or get out of the road. I know this is wrong BUT, if you get out of the way your blood pressure and the problem goes away. No one is going to change the aggressive or inconsiderate driver, whether they be a truckie, caravan, young driver, old driver, farmer or someone in the middle that never does anything wrong.

FollowupID: 814865

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 19:25

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 19:25
some wise words there oh slow one. It takes a bit of maturity to get the wisdom though and although we can't blame everything on the youngsters, that ole testosterone is a pretty powerful thing.

I'm teaching our youngest at the moment and constantly pointing out the tear-arses nipping in and out of lanes and just experimented on staying in the left lane. Next set of lights; we're sometimes actually ahead of the harebrain who shot within 50 mm of our front bumper and at worst a couple of car lengths behind. Tortoise and the hare - but that doesn't always apply on the open road.

Some of this stuff is just bad behaviour and nothing to do with driving ability, though.
FollowupID: 814868

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 19:37

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 19:37
If I'm doing 100kph in a 100kph zone there is no way will I ever speed up and break the road rules just to appease some gung ho trucky. There is also no way I will ever pull over; simply because pulling over to the shoulder at 100kph is a recipe for disaster, slowing down before pulling over is also not an option - inviting the trucky to come in through the back window is not something that excites me greatly. I get the wife to call the Police. I've done that a few times and seen the Police waiting for them at the next town. What came of it, I don't know, but it got them off my tail.
FollowupID: 814870

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 20:24

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 20:24
Slow one,
If a truck is on my bum when I'm doing 90kph I will slow down to 80kph until he backs off, and if he is still their I'll drop another 10kph until he gets it ( stay the right distance from the car in front).
Had one truck take over 30km to get it once, tried to talk to him on the uhf telling him the closer you get the slower I go. After 30km he backed of and we gained speed to 90kph.
If a truck is going to run over the top of me I would like it done at low speed rather than high speed.
It's not a case of the bigger you are the more right you have on the road.

FollowupID: 814876

Follow Up By: Slow one - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 20:47

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 20:47
I think you are missing the point completely. Just find a good spot and get out of the road. Both of you Andy and Tony are not wrong at all, BUT.

It is easier to just get out of the road and stay cool than slow down/ speed up to prove a point.

The tailgater is wrong, but you are the one stewing for the long haul. If you get out of the road, he is gone and you can chill.

Sometimes our balls are bigger than our brains. Hope you think about it. It is like an accident. You say he is wrong and you are correct, the only problem is you are dead.

I just chill.
FollowupID: 814877

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 22:38

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 22:38
Different strokes I guess: I think it irresponsible to pull over, you're rewarding unacceptable and unsafe driving habits and encouraging the trucky to continue with his bullying tactics. I believe the only way to react is to get the police involved. Of course Member Andys method has merit. If the trucky on your rear end can't behave responsibly, then the onus on you to make him behave, slow him down and force him to act responsibly. Act responsibly, make the roads safe for everyone - not just yourself...
FollowupID: 814885

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 10:26

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 10:26
Why not slow down, move over, take his number and call police??????
Avoid the stress, save an accident and change his stupid ways?

Its not rocket science.
FollowupID: 814895

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 10:46

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 10:46
I get your point Slow one. I have seen people try to move over and let people pass on roads not wide enough to give the overtaking vehicle enough room to stay in one lane and the outcome was not nice.
My last job was on a Pacific Hwy upgrade 33km long single lane with no overtaking. I drive a backhoe doing 27kph for the length of the job and had traffic behind me for a km or 2. We were told that It is illegal to move over and give half a lane for the cars to pass as they would have to go onto the wrong side of the road.
Most people will pullover at some point you just have to wait. You can't expect some one to pullover ever time a car comes up behind you. Give them at least 15 min to find a place suitable and safe to do so.
The slow driver is not the problem, it's the driver that can't overtake because he only wants to do an extra 5kph faster than you and sits behind and forms a queue, then making it harder for people behind to pass.
If you are doing 80 or 90 it's not hard to overtake if they are doing 100kph.
The other point is you should allow extra time to get to your destination if you are driving in times when traffic is known to be heavy and slow (like driving in a city in peak hour add an extra hour or 2) same with the annual migration to the top end, allow extra time to get their as you know you will run into the slow moving vans.
And as you say just chill, I chill out by just sitting behind them and enjoy the view.

FollowupID: 814898

Reply By: K&FT - Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 19:10

Saturday, May 03, 2014 at 19:10
Re mirrors versus cameras this extract may help particularly para (2)

EXTRACT FROM NATIONAL ROAD RULES 2008 - REG 297
297 Driver to have proper control of a vehicle etc
(1) A driver must not drive a vehicle unless the driver has proper control of the vehicle.
(1A) A driver must not drive a vehicle if a person or an animal is in the driver’s lap. .
(2) A driver must not drive a motor vehicle unless the driver has a clear view of the road, and traffic, ahead, behind and to each side of the driver.
ADR 14/02 also has diagrams of the areas to each side that must be viewable from the drivers seat.

I cannot insert the diagram that goes with this but as I understand it the ADR requires a driver to be able to see along the side of the vehicle "by reflection" and that is a national requirement.

Mirrors can not legally be replaced by any cameras at this stage.

frank

AnswerID: 531768

Follow Up By: Neil & Pauline - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 13:12

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 13:12
In the national road rules, the road safety gurus advise the rules the driver must be able to see vehicles to the rear and both sides. The diagram is an example of how reflective devices may be set up, but this does not make up part of the actual design rules rather an example of one method.
The design rules don't stipulate reflective devices must be used.

The whole design rules thing is too confusing for me, so over 2 years of investigation in WA and NSW I decided I could confidently use the camera as the rear vision device. Do carry a set of mirrors in case the camera fails. Hasn't happened in 6 years, yet.

This is an issue that should be taken on board by a caravan organisation so that fellow travellers can use cameras with as much confidence as I now do. Sorry did, we have a motor home now.

Neil
FollowupID: 814925

Follow Up By: K&FT - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 14:25

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 14:25
You may like to have a read of this document.

AUSTRALIAN VEHICLE STANDARDS RULES - REG 35
Rear vision mirrors
(1) A rear vision mirror or mirrors must be fitted to a motor vehicle as required by this rule so that a driver of the vehicle can clearly see by reflection the road behind the vehicle and any following or overtaking vehicle.

Please note that you must be able to see "by reflection"

this subject has been discussed at length with several authorities in most states and because this is an Australian rule it applies everywhere in Aus.

frank
FollowupID: 814935

Follow Up By: Neil & Pauline - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 15:49

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 15:49
You are correct Frank re vehicle mirrors.
With the regulations regarding towing trailers it becomes referred to as "rear vision". Makes the whole thing quite confusing for the average joe blow, me included.
To me the Road Safety Council and Police Dept are knowledgeable enough to make that determination.

Just another road rule that someone needs to publish in layman's terms.

Neil
FollowupID: 814946

Follow Up By: K&FT - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 16:35

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 16:35
Hi Neil, mate you are not the only person to be confused by all the legalspeak.
I spent a lot of time chasing this stuff mainly so I could understand just what was required and secondly so I could help others understand and possibly avoid and accident or a fine or both.

I have corresponded with a Victorian HWP officer and he told me(he is a caravanner) he gets behind caravans/campers etc and looks to see if he can see mirrors if not guess what?

He says he does ask for an explanation before he hands over the ticket.

I hope this helps you too.

frank
FollowupID: 814950

Follow Up By: Nev (TAS) - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 13:36

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 13:36
Hi Neil,
If you carry mirrors with you wouldn't it be wise to use them as well as your camera. I use both and they actually combine well to give me full coverage. Just my experience.
Rgds
Nev
FollowupID: 815425

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 10:48

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 10:48
Bloody hell..........

"foul mouthed bogans"
"trucks that can't maintain the speed"
"speed limit is not the compulsory"
"maximum speed is not safe for all rigs"
"when they go to revhead heaven"
"what are we talking about here, 5-10-15 minute delay out of your day"
"I never put mirrors on the car when I tow the caravan so I can't see all the truckies behind me"
"I think it irresponsible to pull over"

I realise common sense isn't that common these days and everyone doesn't agree on what common sense is, but I would have thought If you didn't have good vision behind you, you need to change what your doing so you can, with a camera or better mirrors, and If your holding up a heap of traffic for whatever reason, show a bit of courteously and let them past when safe and convenient!!!!

Sounds like the general consensus these days is " I'm all right Jack, Bugger you!"

Remember the bumper stickers Rotary put out years ago?
"Courteousy is Contagious"
Maybe its time they had a re print.................................

AnswerID: 531795

Follow Up By: K&FT - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 11:04

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 11:04
Unfortunately Hairy you are quite correct.

these days people seem to think a highway is their personal express lane and everyone else should just get out of the way.

I take the line that whatever happens, happens. If I get held up so be it. So what if my trip takes 3 min longer or even a half hour. This amount of time is infinitesimal compared to a normal lifetime.

If I am holding traffic up I will be considerate and move out of the way when it is safe for me. I don't want to be at the front if someone else wants to go faster they can. No skin off my nose.

Whatever happened to common courtesy on our roads?

frank
FollowupID: 814900

Follow Up By: Nev (TAS) - Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 13:39

Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 13:39
Hairy correct?
Come now let's be serious.... :D :D
Crikey next thing you will be telling me he has moved to WA......
FollowupID: 815426

Reply By: Tony H15 - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 11:31

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 11:31
Bloody hell....... When are people going to learn their opinion is just that - their opinion. One man's common sense is another's nonsense. We all have opinions and with that a right to express them. Unfortunately, a few seem to think they need to lecture others on their brand of right and wrong. In the words of someone else on this thread - 'Chill'.
AnswerID: 531802

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 12:53

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 12:53
One of the problems is that a lot of people don't understand the difference between opinion and fact or opinion and law.

Opinion and reason...well that is a much harder concept.

There are a lot of parts of this debate where people have strong opinions that are in conflict with the facts or the laws......or are just unreasonable ( but that is a harder concept)

One example is that people think there is no law about traveling too slow.

Well there are several.
You can be prosecuted for obstructing traffic.
You can be prosecuted for dangerous driving.
You can be prosecuted for not traveling in the left lane unless overtaking

all matters that could come into play in some cases of behavious associated with caravans

Another catch all offence that is not as popular as it once was is, "failing to show due care and attention".

Which could be braught to bear on those not paying attention to their rear vision.

A person who has is traveling way below the speed limit ( say 75 in a 100Kmh zone) while has a long line of traffic behind and fails to pull over and let people pass when there is a reasonable & safe oportunity could be prosecuted for obstructing traffic and failing to show due care and attention.

If they slowed down because some one was tail gateing them they could be prosecuted for obstructing traffic & dangerous driving.

FollowupID: 814919

Reply By: The Bantam - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 11:41

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 11:41
On the matter of enforcement.
Yes I agree that there should be more done about enforceing other than speeding, red lights and drink driving.

MMM...YEESSS.....and in QLD it does happen from time to time.

There is one location in a working class suburb I travel thru, where the police and transport inspectors regularly mount operations.
Ive seen the car pack packed with vehicles that have to be towed or fixed before they move any further.
Blokes with car trailer, tow trucks and even groups of young fellas wheeling tyres down the street.

QLD transport and the coppers have mounted regular oppertions at the QLD NSW border turning back over weight caravans and illegal 4wds.

A year or two ago they mounted an operation comming off the beach at Teewar ( lot of the fraser island traffic comes thru Teewar when the tides are right) at the end of a long week end.

They had heaps of 4wds parked up and having to be towed home...some of them as far as the NSW border...and that was on top of the hunderds of drive away offecneces they wrote.

My sister and her husband drive Tville-Bris-Tville fairly regularly....there are a coupe of transprt & police teams that make regular appaerances complete with mobile scales.

Far from unusual for there to be a mobil scale and transport inspection near the Witsunday turnoff...specifically trageting caravans during "turtle migration season".

As far as the tail gating cowboy truckers.....there seem to be less and less of those ......I've heard other heavy vehicle drivers give the cowboys a big ear full.

As far as the self righteous that try to enfrorce their own rules on truckies...like slowing down till they back off....fellas you are very likley to get ye heads punched in, or get ye self rear ended.
some of those agressive guys are still using marijuhuji, yippe beans or high doses of caffene and combined with their personal mental instability can not be relied upon to to behave anything like reasonably.

All it would take is for a gentile tap on your rear bumper and you are in the ditch and they are gone.

If they pass you then block the road...you have nowhere to go...they don't care if you have their number plate..its your word against theirs.

While there are less and less of the coyboy truckers out there...weeded out by company polocy, police checks and regular drug testing......there are still a small amount of people driving trucks you realy don't want to be on the bad side off.

Marijuana usage is still high in the transport industry, particularly outside the big companies.
One bloke I was doing some service work for, pulled in for his sheduled slot at Mt Isa in his road train...there was abloke there who had arrived way early for his slot ...he had driven Toowomba to Mt Isa direct with no breaks and looked real twichy.

For Gods sake...if one of these blokes is up your tail.....get out of the way, when it is safe to do so.....that is the safest thing you can do..

AnswerID: 531805

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 12:12

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 12:12
So by your logic we should just let the bullish tactics of the cowboys go unchecked. IMO totally irresponsible. Fancy that, a different opinion that must be wrong - correct? For God's sake, be responsible, stand up, be a man!
FollowupID: 814909

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 12:13

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 12:13
A good example of how good enforcement has improved things the the Mulbrough stretch, between Rockampton & Mackay.

In times past it was a free for all with very little police enforcement.

You could be sitting on 120Kmh in the 110 zone ( the speed most traffic traveled at) and be passed like you where standing still.
Back before speed limiting was compulsory in heavy vehicles some of the trucks and busses traveled very quickly along there indeed.

Its 3 1/2 hours between towns.

These days there is a constant police presence on the Mulbrough stretch.
The general speed is just a shade over 110 in the 110 zone, and the amount of over taking is dramatially reduced.

Last trip I sat pretty well on the speed limit, didn't get held up by anything to be concerned about and only got passed twice in 3 1/2 hours.

The police presence is very visable.....commonly a prado and a bike......and they aren't being picky......but they seem to have plenty of work to do.

BTW they both carry UHF CB and they will speak to you if they feel the need.

FollowupID: 814910

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 12:29

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 12:29
Tony mate.

If you are doing those sort of things YOU are as gulity of a traffic offence as they are .....you can be booked for obstructing traffic or for dangerous driving.

All you are doing is making the problem worse.

You are not the police and you have no rights of enforcement.

Remember these guys have their opinion too....and they will be every bit as strong in their conviction.

The thing is they are bigger & ugglier than you and they probably care less about the consequences.

They could swat you with their back trailer, put you in the ditch and not feel a thing.....good luck getting a number plate.

Remember, you don't know who they are, what they are thinking or what drugs they have been on.

If they where reasonable people they would not be tail gateing you.

Get out their #$@!% way...they are dangerous.

The best place for em is disapearing into the distance.

FollowupID: 814913

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 12:47

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 12:47
"Stand up and be a man"
Yeah wind the idiot up even more until he does something really stupid and kills you, and some poor family coming the other way oblivious to the whole situation.....Mmm real manly?
If you want to be manly ask him to pull over and sort it out off the road and don't involve everyone else.

FollowupID: 814918

Reply By: Tony H15 - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 13:19

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 13:19
Bantam mate:
Firstly, if I'm sitting on 100 in a 100 zone and observing all the road rules, how can I be booked for anything?????? Not sound logic.
Secondly, I'm not enforcing anything - simply obeying the road rules????
Thirdly, if their opinion is they have the right to break the road rules or use their bullish tactics to force you to do the same, then their opinion is most definitely 'WRONG'.

Hairy. If you don't report them they will definitely kill someone, stop them before they do.
Be responsible, sticking your head in a bucket of sand will not stop them: Stand up, be a man, do something about it - report them.
AnswerID: 531814

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 13:35

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 13:35
I reckon this is getting completely off track........The point I was making was about the lack of caravan mirrors and courtesy........Now its about being a man and standing up to a lunatic truck driver??????????
Im too busy ........see ya
FollowupID: 814928

Reply By: gerard m2 - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 13:54

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 13:54
Got to say we had terrible experience on the Indian Ocean drive on recent long weekend. what a night mare, caravanners driving at 70 and 80 kph in a 110 zone. OMG what a bunch of selfish tossers.

One family towing a van had about 16 vehicles held up behind them and just drove past numerous rest stops. Seriously people, if your towing a van and you cant maintain 100kph should you be towing?
AnswerID: 531817

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 14:56

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 14:56
Gday Gerard,
Yep....Indian Ocean Drive over Easter.
One bloke was down to 70kmh going up the slight hills and up to 110kmh on the down hill and straights were people could have got past, and he was driving a V8 Landcruiser! Just conserving fuel I reckon.

FollowupID: 814938

Follow Up By: gerard m2 - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 15:32

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 15:32
G'day Hairy,

I've vowed never to use the Indian Ocean Drive again.
FollowupID: 814942

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 15:43

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 15:43
Seriously people, if your towing a van and you cant maintain 100kph should you be towing? Unfortunately we can't all have twin turbo cruisers or 6 litre V8s. There are a lot of cars that can't maintain 100 up hills, presumably they shouldn't be on the roads either.
FollowupID: 814944

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 15:51

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 15:51
No one is talking about people who CANT maintain speed......Read the posts. My case is someone who presumably didn't want to and also didn't want to let people get around who did..................
FollowupID: 814947

Follow Up By: gerard m2 - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 15:53

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 15:53
Tony,

I think we all understand that some vehicles may have issues on hills and can accept that, however if you want to drive 30 - 40kph below the posted speed limit on a consistent basis, hill or no hill then I think you need to take long hard look at the suitability of your vehicle and your skills as a driver.

It all comes back to common sense, if you want to drive that slow then at least pull over and allow faster vehicles to pass.
FollowupID: 814949

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 18:19

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 18:19
Couldn't agree more: if you choose to drive way below the speed limit, you should pull over (or get the hell out of the right lane). I don't think because a driver chooses to drive slowly his skills are wanting, after all the speed limit is a limit, not a target. Having said that, I believe the ones who drive at 60 in a 100 zone should be booked for blatant ignorance.
FollowupID: 814959

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 18:27

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 18:27
Beg to differ, last sentence and I quote:

"gerard m2 replied:
Got to say we had terrible experience on the Indian Ocean drive on recent long weekend. what a night mare, caravanners driving at 70 and 80 kph in a 110 zone. OMG what a bunch of selfish tossers.

One family towing a van had about 16 vehicles held up behind them and just drove past numerous rest stops. Seriously people, if your towing a van and you --- cant maintain 100kph --- should you be towing?"

Read the post!
FollowupID: 814960

Reply By: Skulldug - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 18:10

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 18:10
Hairy,

Your OP got a bad response from a lot of people who tow, and are sick of people telling them they have to sit on the maximum speed limit.

Comments on a grumpyforum can be ignored, but a cowboy a metre behind you at 95kph regardless of road conditions pisses people off and they react to anti-caravanner posts like yours.

I tow a caravan at a speed I decide is safe. In good conditions, that's 100kph. If I'm travelling slower, I use ch40 to let them know I will let them past when I can.

Despite this, I still get idiots who pull out to pass knowing I will break hard to avoid being run off the road.

No wonder people get annoyed when the "must drive at the speed limit" brigade come out.

Skull
AnswerID: 531842

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 18:30

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 18:30
My sentiments exactly. Hope you're prepare for a caning!
FollowupID: 814961

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 20:41

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 20:41
Yes it did, didn't it?
And considering I never said people should sit on any speed, only be a bit courteous and have good rear vision, shows that there probably is a few issues that need addressing judging by the response.
Comments like "I never put mirrors on the car when I tow the caravan so I can't see all the truckies behind me. I also don't put the UHF on so I can't hear them complain" just show the intelligence out there????? And by thr way.....Im not a truckie......
I have no hate for caravaners as I spent most my holidays as a kid in one and are now considering buying one as I get older, So your assumption of that is completely wrong.

I was going to go on but couldn't be bothered putting everyone else through it because I really think your just trying to wind me up because I disagreed with you on a previous topic? Get over it!
FollowupID: 814985

Follow Up By: gerard m2 - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 20:44

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 20:44
G'day Skull,

I don't think anyone said you had to drive at a certain speed. And I commend you for using ch40 and allowing them to pass, it's just that you would appear (from my experience at least) to be in the minority.

The roads are clogged at the best of times (we don't need more blockages) we need more courtesy from everyone, particularly if you are going to be driving slower than could be reasonably anticipated.
FollowupID: 814987

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 23:33

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 23:33
I think you'll find those comments were meant to be humorous - worked for me.
Sad but true, everyone disagrees with me, tis the bane of my life
I would never wind anyone up, just don't have it in me??? Jocularity is the go!
FollowupID: 815020

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 23:42

Sunday, May 04, 2014 at 23:42
AnswerID: 531878