Hideous low profile tires

Submitted: Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 13:43
ThreadID: 108912 Views:2431 Replies:16 FollowUps:17
Is it me or are low profile tires on cars and SUV's ridiculous?

I find the ride inferior; harder than using higher profile tires.

It's like we're losing a smooth ride for little other reason than appearance. Salesmen go vague when I talk to them about it.

Is it just me or does anyone else think this way?

Reply By: disco driver - Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 14:31

Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 14:31
Some people like the look, not me.
Very expensive alloy rims to go bang on rough going.
Very expensive tyres to do the same

Must be the "Wank Factor" having an effect.

Disco.

AnswerID: 536723

Follow Up By: Member - Justin O (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 22:11

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 22:11
I think you'll find disco driver that they don't go off the bitumen
FollowupID: 821114

Reply By: allein m - Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 14:43

Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 14:43
so many companies have them now but what concern's me is the tyre pressure and the ride

Some one said they need to be 38 to 45 psi in them is that so ?

I have one disk removed S1 L5 and the disk above that is torn in 6 places according to last MRI

My last car a magna they had normal tyres and they put them up 38psi and in 15 minute drive i can say my pain level went through the roof , so what sort of damage is doing to the people out there

I just bought BA Ford Fairmont with 215/60 profile tyres and I run them at 32 and my pain level has dropped the ride is good and it is automatic less stress on the back joints but I think 60 profile is my limit no more
AnswerID: 536725

Follow Up By: allein m - Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 16:03

Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 16:03
One thing I should say was it not Range Rover one of the first to have low profile 4x4 tyres to improve handling

now do them mean

Out on the AUtoban doing 160k pluss

or

Great certral hwy with miles of ruts and dirt road

I am sure I know the answer but can some one tell me which.?

FollowupID: 820945

Reply By: Ross M - Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 15:28

Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 15:28
Mick T3

Have no worry, you are a completely sane individual. It is not you.
Uninformed fools have low profile tyers. They know not what they do. Great for pose value, like long eyelashes, used to impress the unwary.

It isn't much use talking to salesmen or women (gotta love gender equity) about the issue as they haven't been programmed with the appropriate software to recognize your wisdom.
Have you actually found a salesperson who knows anything about such things?

A wide tyre cannot conform to road imperfections like a thinner tyre can and the wider tyre will in many cases have less grip. SMOOOOTH roads the only exception. Great for aqua planing and on icy roads makes driving so much more interesting.
AnswerID: 536729

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 16:19

Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 16:19
Ross
"It isn't much use talking to salesmen or women (gotta love gender equity) about the issue as they haven't been programmed with the appropriate software to recognize your wisdom."

Love those sweeping statements. This woman thinks low profile tyres look ridiculous!

Val

FollowupID: 820946

Follow Up By: Penchy - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 07:31

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 07:31
You haven't indicated what salesperson you consulted. If you asked a bathroom salesperson then the result is predictable. If you asked a reputable tyre salesperson I doubt you would get that response.
FollowupID: 820979

Reply By: Kevin.Hutch - Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 16:10

Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 16:10
Wheel manufacturers love them, as any car that ever drives off road or even into a pothole with low profile tyres bends the rim if there steel or wrecks it if its alloy.

Low profile tyres are for the hotmix racing circuit where compromise in road surface is not an issue and multistage shock absorbers reduce the risk of tyre wall damage.

Kevin H
AnswerID: 536732

Reply By: NeddySmtih - Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 16:12

Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 16:12
Low profit tyres on 4x4's and SUV's are just terrible...
AnswerID: 536734

Reply By: rocco2010 - Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 16:55

Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 16:55
Gidday

Out an about an hour or so ago and spied a shiny black Colorado dual cab that looked like it had been to the ARB shop and the owner had ticked all the boxes.

Crowning glory was some of the flashiest alloys I have seen shod with rubber bands. Would not have been bigger than 50 profile.

Just great for the gravel, not to mention some corros.

AnswerID: 536735

Reply By: mikehzz - Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 17:01

Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 17:01
I think they are ridiculous in every way. However, some 4wd's are so powerful these days, many of them need the big rims so that the brake calipers can fit. That is the case with the Range Rovers.
AnswerID: 536736

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 18:05

Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 18:05
Yep, big diameter to fit the brake rotors which give excellent braking and low profile tyres to enhance road manners .

Off road about as useful as a concrete parachute, but that's not what the manufacturers had in mind to cater to.

FollowupID: 820949

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 19:30

Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 19:30
You blokes have got it all wrong
These things are built for purpose, just not the purpose you have in mind LOL
They sell a lot more to the general public that have no intention of going off-road so why cater for the off-roaders who are only a small percentage of their target audience
FollowupID: 820957

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 18:29

Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 18:29
Saw a brand new 100 series a few years back at the local servo with the lowest profile flashy chrome rims and two of the same on the wheel carriers at the back. Was going to post something, but thought someone might take exception to me deriding someone else's choice.

Silliest thing I'd seen for ages. Obviously useless for off-road, but the thing that stuck in my head was ..... how fast are you going to drive a 100 series to the point where you'd get any perfromance benefit out of them ??????? Flipping thing wouldn't corner anywhere near the performance potential of those tyres...get it on a Maserati or a Porsche or a Ferrari ....... but a 100 series ???
AnswerID: 536740

Follow Up By: Echucan Bob - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 14:45

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 14:45
Scott

They were probably mounted on the tailgate because with the lowered suspension the underslung spare would have dragged on the ground.

FollowupID: 821001

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 18:11

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 18:11
Bob, you're probably right.

Still you'd probably roll it before the tyres would let go ....
FollowupID: 821014

Reply By: Member - johnat - Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 19:30

Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 19:30
"Tires" is another word for getting tired. We actually have tyres on our vehicle, and low profile is all about "wank factor" as mentioned.
AnswerID: 536746

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 22:56

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 22:56
Expect someone will be along shortly to tell you that the original word was actually tires Johnat. Don't like it myself but thems the facts I believe. Don't like the look of low profile full stop but they're probably not the silliest item put on blacktop 4WDs.
FollowupID: 821042

Reply By: 671 - Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 19:52

Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 19:52
I can't see how anyone could think those things look good. They always remind me of a stagecoach wheel i.e all spokes an no wheel.
AnswerID: 536747

Reply By: Rangiephil - Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 21:20

Monday, Jul 28, 2014 at 21:20
It really shows how little the Europeans think about Australia .

All of the Europeans have ridiculous tyres.

When I bought my 2002 Discovery 2 it had 18 inch rims and 55 series tyres which were soon replaced with 16 inch rims and 70 series , which IMHO are about the lowest sensible profile, I would rather have 75s.

Now with a D4 you cannot fit anything below 18" and those 18" are from a bankrupt UK comapny and cost $500 or so each. OEM is 19inch.
Ahhh the stories I hear about damaging rims and multiple punctures.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 536752

Follow Up By: Graeme - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 11:44

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 11:44
I am sure you will find the "bankrupt" company is not as they are still making and selling the rims.
I have toured places like Chambers Pillar and the Bungles on 19" rims and driving to conditions; ie. looking at the road and selecting an appropriate speed and I have had no problems with Cooper Zeons.
In the Patrol I had previously with 75 profile tyres I certainly would have been able to maintain a higher average speed on the previously mentioned tracks.
Like other posters here I am amused when I see 35 profile fitted to Jeeps and Landcruisers etc, but they are only displaying the owners tastes, or lack thereof.
FollowupID: 820997

Reply By: Rangiephil - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 12:03

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 12:03
Quote I am sure you will find the "bankrupt" company is not as they are still making and selling the rims. Unquote

My information as at 1 week ago from customers seeking to buy, is that Compomotive is operating at a low level under administration and that delivery times are uncertain.

The wheels certainly look good as they should at $500 each, with their indentation to allow disc clearance with a corresponding increase in material inside.

BTW at the same club meeting we were informed that an Australian wheel that is supposed to fit, doesn't, without grinding the disc caliper.

But isn't the issue LR offering only 19 and 20 inch wheels on D4 and RRS?
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 536781

Reply By: allein m - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 15:42

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 15:42

what sort of tyre pressure would you have to have in this type of tyre and rim set

cannot see any thing good in driving some thing with such a low profile tyre
AnswerID: 536789

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 17:48

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 17:48
My young bloke runs 40psi in this.

GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 821008

Reply By: allein m - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 17:54

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 17:54
what is the ride like ? at 40psi

as i said before with a back injury kid put my magna up to 38 and it was driving steel rims so give

painful experience

thank you
AnswerID: 536799

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 18:08

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 18:08
The 40 psi isn't bad but the extra heavy springs are murder on my back, there is bugger all give in the suspension but corners like it's on rails
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 821012

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 20:52

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 20:52
Who cares how it rides????!!!!
Your sons car looks bleep hot I reckon....Im jealous!!!!!
FollowupID: 821029

Follow Up By: allein m - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 08:56

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 08:56
Yes so some one like me you would need a morphine drip in the car when driving ouch

or may be like last time I was in hospital i got one of those machines that give a continuous feed of pain medication i had that for a week

you did not get high it just stopped all the pain big time but you had to have 2 specialist Senior nurses to set it up each time the thing needed filling up because it was narcotics
FollowupID: 821054

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 09:48

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 09:48
just for you Hairy. http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e68/DG1818/HSV/232323232fp93232_uqcshlukaxroqdfv_847ot_95785933XROQDF_277_536724_ot1lsi.jpg
The one on the left was just bought & the one the right is up for sale.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 821059

Follow Up By: allein m - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 10:53

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 10:53
Just spoke to guy at the shopping center here in Broken Hill soft top brand new Jag defiantly out of place here no where to put the roo bar on and take the sheep to town o Friday night

His first trip here from sunny surfers paradise

any way he said he runs his on 40 PSI but the ride is soft and very good

so there must be some thing in the suspension that works with the tyres

FollowupID: 821065

Reply By: Mick T3 - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 11:26

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 11:26
Thanks to everyone who replied to this thread topic. It is relieving to see that I am not a deluded eccentric. Every salesman I talked to from Toyota, Hyundai and Kia implied that all was well with low profile tires. They were a bunch of deceivers.

I now won't go with the flow and buy a new vehicle with inappropriate rims and tires, but instead will find something, probably used, that has smaller rims and higher profile tires.

Thanks, everyone.
AnswerID: 536843

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 14:14

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 14:14
Mate, I went to a tyre place because my car had 17" rims. The first thing they said to me was do I want 20" or larger... I said no, I want 16" steel and they looked at my like I was crazy. Couldn't help me either. I think there are 4 wheel drivers, and there are other people. :-)
FollowupID: 821077

Reply By: Member - Justin O (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 22:10

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 22:10
Wankers in show ponies. They look good on street machines but not on Hiluxs and the like.
AnswerID: 536878