Cameron corner to Innaminka ? How many hours drive ? Please.

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 17:47
ThreadID: 108937 Views:5534 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
Hi everyone. I've just began planning my next trip, writing an itinerarie.
Using my smartphone maps to help workout how much time from point to point.
It tells me it takes 11h 49 mins to drive 264kms from Cameron corner to Innaminka.
Then 15h 21mins to drive 412kms from Innaminka to Birdsville.
I have experienced outback travel before, and I'm not in a hurry.
Just seems a little slow ?
How long has it taken you to drive these tracks ?
I originally thought 4 to 5 hours from Cameron corner to Innaminka.
And 8 to 9 hours from Innaminka to Birdsville.

Thank you.

Reply By: Les PK Ranger - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 18:11

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 18:11
As soon as Google maps or other such maps software goes off bitumen, they like to double or triple times.

I would just head off up the Old Strz Track, should take you no more than half a day, taking it easy.
We left Inna one morning, down the Old Strz, new Strz, and had lunch at Montecollina Bore (quite a way down the Strz Track from Merty Merty).

Just watch for closed road signs, after we did it in late April coming down, someone posted on a forum thread the Old Strz was closed, but could have been temp roadworks or oil well maint etc.
AnswerID: 536802

Reply By: Les PK Ranger - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 18:13

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 18:13
Sorry, same for Inna - BV, either by Walkers or Cordillo, about 3/4 of a days drive.
AnswerID: 536803

Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 19:38

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 19:38
We just did it last week. Nine vehicles towing vans did it in six hours total, including morning tea and lunch stops. Grey Nomads on a tag-along so we weren't in a hurry. Actually left Tibooburra one morning and camped near Merty Merty then continued on to Inna the next morning.
AnswerID: 536812

Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 19:43

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 19:43
That should have been left Milparinka one morning,
If you are really interested you can see our track on EOTrackMe.
FollowupID: 821021

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 21:34

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 21:34
Rod
See you have just been to Milparinka, did you camp there or stay on one of the local stations and can you tell me if the hotel is open or not. I'm heading that way in Sept and are planning to stay there or Tiboobura. If you stayed at Milparinka where did camp.

Cheers Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 821034

Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 21:53

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 21:53
G'day Murray. The hotel is definitely open and serves very good meals. We camped on the lower level near the (dry) creek. A number of individual sites have been leveled out. There is also the high level near the hotel.
FollowupID: 821039

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 20:47

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 20:47
Rod
Thanks for that, we are heading north to Windorah before turning around and heading to the national gathering via Innaminka.

Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 821107

Reply By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 19:52

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 19:52
You can drive CC to Birdsville via Innamincka and Walkers Crossing quite easily in a day if you have to. It's best not to though. There's driving time, and there's stop and look at things time.
AnswerID: 536813

Follow Up By: rumpig - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 20:04

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 20:04
Did that drive in less then 5 hours last year towing a camper trailer. We needed to get to a Birdsville in a bit of a hurry so weren't going all that slowly, but we did stop quite a few times along the way to take plenty of pics at the same time also...so easily done in a day with good weather conditions
FollowupID: 821024

Follow Up By: rumpig - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 20:05

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 20:05
I meant to write Innamincka to Birdsville we did in that time frame.
FollowupID: 821025

Reply By: tommo05 - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 21:03

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014 at 21:03
Mate we had lunch at Cameron Corner and were having a beer at the Innamincka Hotel by maybe 4pm. It was a few years ago so not 100% sure, but I reckon not more than 3-4 hours and that included going the wrong way for about an hour when we missed a turn off.

That was going through Omicron/Epsilon etc because the Merty Merty track was closed.

Roads to Birdsville were closed at the time too so can't help with that unfortunately.

AnswerID: 536821

Reply By: Mtb rule- Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 09:43

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 09:43
G'day Bob W5,

I'm just home 8 days from our trip which took us through the Flinders Ranges, up to Birdsville, Longreach , down to Innamincka, Cameron's cnr, Broken Hill and home.

We left Innamincka on the Strzelecki track, turned left (50km) South, past bore track no.3 and boot tree (great to see all the boots and shoes up in tree) to Epsilon station turnoff, down past Omicron station, right turn and then 37kms into Cameron's cnr. I took just over 3 hrs (approx 240 km).

We had a Hilux dual cab, no trailer or van. Roads around Innamincka were corrugated with bull dust holes from road trains down as far as the last gas/ oil rig near the border, then track ok.

Take the time to see the dig tree and and other Burke and Wills points of interest. Make sure you visit the Innamincka pub, great coffee (the real deal), cold beer and a I can't recommend the steak sandwich and chips enough. After tenting and free camping for 20 days, could have stayed for a couple of days.

I'm already looking and planning next years trip, but what to buy, off road van or camper trailer, all for another forum.

If you need any other info on camping spots, fuel cost etc let me know.

Take care,

Mtb
AnswerID: 536839

Follow Up By: Bob W5 - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 11:44

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2014 at 11:44
Thanks Mtb, Sounds like you guys really had a great trip !
Thanks for the tips.
FollowupID: 821067