Motor Vehicle Insurance

Submitted: Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 08:33
ThreadID: 108972 Views:2677 Replies:12 FollowUps:24
some one in a post made a comment No time for some without car insurance and that is ok they are entitled to there own opinion.

This is a major problem into today,s motoring there are a lot of people out there who drive with out insurance for many reasons ,

Should it be made legal that you must have some form of motor vehicle accident insurance .

they can offer

some form of discount on registration if you have some form of motor vehicle insurance that may help get more insured .

you can have 3rd party accident l or full insurance

I live in a remote town with a 50 k speed limit and I have 3rd party with RAA

I am happy to take the risk of loosing my car. I am on a pension and have limited funds but I am happy to make sure if I am at fault the other driver is covered ,

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 08:53

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 08:53
I’m not inclined to think it should be legal as it is a choice that people are entitled to make.

Perhaps it is prudent though given we live in an age when someone is always going to be looking for someone to “pay” for the damage.

It really comes down to your assessment of risk, the risk of not having insurance in an “at fault” accident is that insurance companies will look to recover costs from you – could mean losing your house or other assets.

But insurance is one of those things that you never need it until you need it, and if you don’t have it when you need it, it is far too late to remedy that!

My two bob’s worth…
AnswerID: 536937

Follow Up By: allein m - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 09:15

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 09:15
Hello and how are you I hope all is well bloody cold morning here in downtown broken hill

FollowupID: 821210

Reply By: Rangiephil - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 09:12

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 09:12
IMHO the ones who take the risk on no insurance don't have any assets to seize!

The people I really despise are ones who don't register their car and therefore have no third party insurance so if they run over someone, the victim is left with nothing.

I really applaud the police forces checking number plates for this.

I recall a couple of months ago , I was in a line of traffic and heard a bang. looked behind and an old Camry had rear ended someone , then made a dash for it. Bet no insurance there and probably no licence either

Not to mention the issue of people in fire areas who don't insure their houses , then are given money by the government if it burns down.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 536938

Follow Up By: allein m - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 09:20

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 09:20
Last year one of our ex mayor and shire Councillor had been charged with not having a motor vehicle driver license for ten years

he got a slap on the wrist due and so it is not always young kids or drop outs who do this
FollowupID: 821211

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 15:52

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 15:52
No-one is left with nothing in CTPI Phil. In the cases you mention the Nominal Defendant (which we all pay for) is responsible.

Plenty of people have vaild reasons for not having insurance, the most obvious being the unwillingness of insurers to cover them - again for a variety of reasons. Councils allowing development (usually under pressure from developers and the public to be sure) in flood and fire prone areas are often the real "culprits" if we want to apportion blame. The small amounts governments and donors provide to some unlucky home owners in disasters is usually a pittance compared to their losses.

One of the small pains of living in a society is that we all bear the costs of individual misadventure. Overall there are huge benefits in doing so even if a few don't share the load. As the saying goes: "there but for the grace of God go I".

I don't agree with the oft heard generalisation that if you can afford to drive/build/etc then you should be able to afford insurance but there's no excuse if you're well off and insurable.
FollowupID: 821227

Reply By: Tony H15 - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 10:13

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 10:13
Third party should be compulsory. I think it irresponsible to drive without third party - everyone should pay for their mistakes... If you cant afford third party, what makes you think everyone else can afford you.
AnswerID: 536950

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 10:51

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 10:51
I agree 100%,
If you cant afford third party insurance you cant afford to run and maintain a car.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 821216

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 11:03

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 11:03
Agree also.

My wife is Canadian. She tells me that over there every vehicle must have the equivalent of our third party property insurance, and that rego and insurance papers must be in the car and available for inspection whenever the car is on the road.

FollowupID: 821217

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 14:37

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 14:37
Have often said if I was King of Australia, the first thing I'd do is make both CTP's compulsory. Comprehensive is your own business, but what you do that impacts other innocent drivers...

Got rear-ended on my motorbike by some lady who had no insurance and no fixed address either. Spent 6-12 months chasing her all over Sydney and gave up in the end as it was more than it was worth....
FollowupID: 821226

Follow Up By: Tony H15 - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 17:43

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 17:43
Many years ago a woman rear ended the wife in our brand new LIte Ace. That night I got a call from the woman's hubby asking me not to report the accident for a couple of days and to change the accident date. Seems he let his policy lapse - when I refused, he abused the hell out me, telling me I'd never get any money out of him. The mind boggles: I'm insured, he's not, and I get abused. Still I suppose, you never know other's situations.
FollowupID: 821230

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 20:58

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 20:58
Pretty sure if your abuser had a good record of payment and renewal he would've been okay Tony. Can vaguely recall a court/tribunal ruling in regard to that a few years back.
FollowupID: 821237

Reply By: olcoolone - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 12:46

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 12:46
Yeap agree 100%, everyone who drives and owns a motor vehicle should have 3 party insurance as in the UK...... no insurance no rego.

https://www.gov.uk/vehicle-insurance/overview

And as said above if you can not afford insurance you can't afford to run a vehicle.

If everyone had insurance our premiums would be lower.

Maybe it should be part of your license fee that way everyone is covered and for many it may even be cheaper that way..... have 3 vehicles registered under your name and you only pay comprehensive for the one your driving at the time of the accident and the other two not getting driven are covered for fire and theft whilst sitting at home.

AnswerID: 536954

Follow Up By: Member - Rosss - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 14:10

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 14:10
That would be an excellent idea, but can't see the insurance companies liking it, they could only rip you for one premium, better way is pay insurance on licence fees, that way don't have to have policy for the vehicle and everyone is covered no matter what vehicle they are driving, but that would be to simple.

Cheers ross.
FollowupID: 821224

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 14:34

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 14:34
Has a similar debate with NRMA over my road-side assist. Own 2 vehicles, am single with no dependents, 4wd sits garaged in the country, while I use my daily hack (the Subie) around Sydney.

Roughly 46-48 weeks a year I drive the Subie, and 4 weeks or so a year I drive the fourty, but NEVER at the same time. Try and get conjoined policies - Nope ! - you pay full bottle for both.
FollowupID: 821225

Follow Up By: allein m - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 16:10

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 16:10
I am with RAA and it covers me not the car and I now RAC in WA only cover a single car as well

yet one more problem why cannot we have one road service in Australia with the same rules for each state.

FollowupID: 821229

Reply By: Member - Odog - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 18:50

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 18:50
G'day all.. My thoughts on the subject.. All rego costs, motor cycles, cars, boats, the hole lot, including insurance... For all.. Should be put into the price of fuel.. Pay more at the bowser, every one is covered.. And best thing, user pays.. The more you drive, ride, or on the water, the more you pay.. Even put money towards road works and improvements, user pays... Simple and fair.. If your retired, and use your car once a fortnight to do the shopping.. Or doing laps, if you have one car, or three.. You pay for how you use your vehicle, It sounds fair I recon
Can't argue with that! I'm sure someone will.. Ha. Cheers n safe driving. Odog
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

AnswerID: 536969

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 19:44

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 19:44
Ok I will bite hahaha

The downside of your scheme is that the people with a poor driving record ( high risk) do not pay more as a result and good drivers who do not have accidents but a high road user get penalised
FollowupID: 821233

Reply By: Member - Odog - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 20:15

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 20:15
Maybe some kind of excess payment, I guess.. Suppose you would get people that didn't give a rats about running into you, if it doesn't cost them in the hip pocket..
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

AnswerID: 536975

Reply By: OutBack Wanderers - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 21:48

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 21:48
Just a thought on the subject, there are over 30,000 unlicensed drivers in NSW at any given time, so what can society do? They haven't broken any laws until they get behind the wheel, punishment is usually 3 months of loss of licence, like that's really going to hurt them.

Remember when the ex-wife of James Packer, was caught drink-driving, smashed into 3 vehicles and flipped hers, the police suspended her suspended licence, I'm still trying to figure that one out, its like cancelling a cancelled licence.

I would like to see unlicenced drivers driving unregistered vehicles have their mode of transport crushed, no more problems

AnswerID: 536980

Reply By: BunderDog - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 22:55

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 22:55
And then something like this happens and you have to wonder.............

AAMI pays out.

BTW, I don't think AAMI are liable.
AnswerID: 536983

Reply By: fisho64 - Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 23:11

Friday, Aug 01, 2014 at 23:11
what is actually the issue?
The only way someone will be left out of pocket is if two uninsured drivers have an accident.
If an uninsured driver hits you, you just give his details to your insurance company.
Why would you need to "chase him all around town"?
AnswerID: 536984

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 07:36

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 07:36
I was wondering that as well. Your insurance company will pay for your repairs and chase the other guy like a rabid dog for you.
FollowupID: 821250

Reply By: allein m - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 09:54

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 09:54
Fascinating thank you for your thoughts i do think the put into fuel might be a good idea I am sure the experts could work out a system that covers all types of drivers

May be if we all pay the insurance costs might be a much more manageable amount but then again bit like banks now you really cannot get away from having a bank account and look at the profits they are making.

so I am not sure what is best
AnswerID: 536991

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 10:07

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 10:07
I'm pretty sure the ctp greenslip equivalent in NZ is included in the fuel tax so it can be done.
FollowupID: 821257

Follow Up By: allein m - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 12:34

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 12:34
true it just need to have a fairer working system worked out so all are covered.

But like NSW who went to 3rd party accident part of your rego handed it over to private insurance company

so when you register your car you get a pink slip saying the car is roadworthy and then you go to different insurers to get the green slip or 3rd party

the covers you when you have a accident and pays hospital but it is a joke the total system prices between insurances can vary hundreds of dollars and some now only cover if you are not at fault

the entire NSW system is a total joke and needs to scraped I have seen cars that should not pass because it was a mate who did the check

we need to look at a Australian wide registry system one price for all

we get so many people in Broken Hill with SA rego or Vic rego to by pass the system they have family there so they use there address

FollowupID: 821263

Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 13:59

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 13:59
ok, I'm obviously missing something here? If you have no 3rd party insurance (green slip) you cant rego your vehicle and I thought it was illegal to drive an unregistered vehicle.
AnswerID: 536997

Follow Up By: allein m - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 14:09

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 14:09
I am sorry I was going off subject in my last post

the post is about having car accident insurance different thing

you can have 3rd party accident cover for a motor vehicle accident that covers you if it is your fault.

In NSW you have to have 3 rd party accident cover for personal injury two separate type of insurance and yes it confused the hell out me when I moved to Wagga and got my first rego lol

Only NSW have a separate system of pink slip and 3rd party personal injury and then you pay your rego to RTA

All other states I think you just pay rego and that is it

FollowupID: 821266

Follow Up By: allein m - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 14:11

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 14:11
the one I am talking about is damage to the motor car

green slip is for personal injury broken arm ect

dam confusing
FollowupID: 821267

Follow Up By: Steve - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 14:16

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 14:16
ah, I'm in NSW and thought everywhere the same. I know a few people who rego in other states but thought it was just cheaper. Didn't know they didn't even need 3rd party insurance at all. That is a bit silly IMHO.
FollowupID: 821268

Follow Up By: Steve - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 17:19

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 17:19
NSW 3rd party covers you for any at fault injury (I think?) and vehicle damage to any other vehicle(s) but not your own as I understand it. If you want to cover yourself for at fault car damage (to your own vehicle) you need comprehensive cover as well.

`About a year ago, I was quoted a figure for 3rd party (CTP greenslip) by an agent (mechanic who tested) and because I had one point for a driving offence on my licence, insisted that my premium would be a fair bit higher as a result. I enquired there for convenience as he had just tested the car and I then decided to stick with my current one. Only yesterday, in querying the detail on another matter, I just happened to put this to my insurer (APIA) and he said he was very surprised and that they did not use this as criteria to arrive at a premium. Having said that, I have shopped the online comparison website and there is little difference in their offerings.

I am paying $401 for my CTP and I know it varies according to location, age, experience, record etc but I'd be interested to learn what others pay. On the caravanners forum, they have a thread where everyone gives the cost of their premium and type of van. Quite interesting.
FollowupID: 821272

Follow Up By: allein m - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 17:46

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 17:46
I have no idea what mine is as it was paid by the dealership that got I got my car from .

So I just got a on line quote

cheapest $371

most expensive $580

so what a difference for 3rd party NSW green slip

I am 59 and no demerit or accident and live in Broken Hill
FollowupID: 821273

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 17:53

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 17:53
"NSW 3rd party covers you for any at fault injury (I think?) and vehicle damage to any other vehicle(s) "

In NSW COMPULSORY third party insurance (CTP, the green slip) covers you only for injury to other persons if you are at fault. Some but not all cover you for injury to yourself. NONE cover you for damage to property. It appears from this thread that this insurance may be included in the rego in some states. Every state has it in one way or another, but in NSW it is separate from rego but must be in place before a vehicle can be registered. For my Prado my annual NSW CTP premium is $567 and rego is $484, total $1051 to renew rego every year. (Plus a roadworthy inspection fee, of course, currently $37.40)

I would be interested to hear what the total annual bill for rego renewal for something like a Prado is in states that don't have a separated CTP system like NSW - ie where it is included in the rego fee.

You can buy third party property insurance. This is completely different from NSW's compulsory third party insurance, is voluntary (but IMO should be compulsory) and covers you against damage to another person's property if you screw up. It may or may not also cover you for loss of your vehicle through fire or theft. It is much cheaper than comprehensive because it does not cover you for damage to your own vehicle.

FollowupID: 821275

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 17:57

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 17:57
PS
I'm 65, no demerits, clean record for over 5 years. My CTP insurer covers the driver as well as third parties for personal injury if the driver screws up.

Cheaper premiums without that coverage for the driver are available.

FollowupID: 821276

Follow Up By: Steve - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 18:02

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 18:02
my rego pretty much the same as Frank's - car is a late 2008 Prado but a 120 series d4d (same?) and ctp well below.
FollowupID: 821277

Reply By: The Landy - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 14:32

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 14:32
Reading the thread it looks as though different types of insurance are being referred to in a generic way.

For example, CTP Greenslips are a requirement in New South Wales to enable registration of a vehicle, and this covers personal injury.

The other form of insurance is where someone else, an insurance company, will assume the risk of having to pay someone else for damage that you cause. This could either be third party property where you may not be covered, but the damage you cause will be. And then comprehensive where you can purchase, for an agreed price, protection across a whole range of risk that includes damage to your vehicle, damage to someone else’s vehicle, and property, and also cover you for loss through theft or fire.

So putting aside CTP Greenslips as they are required by law, whether an individual chooses to take insurance protection or not is up to them, but the cost of not doing so may far outweigh the cost of purchasing a policy that provides protection – but surely, that is up to an individual to decide?

For those calling for a levy at the fuel pump to pay for insurance, I’m not sure how this would work given the risk of insuring one individual compared to another will be quite different. Where they live, driving record, vehicle being insured, age, these are all factors that are taken into account when determining the cost of a policy. In practice, how would this work?

And those advocating compulsory insurance for all, do we extend this to health insurance, and home buildings and contents?
AnswerID: 536999

Follow Up By: allein m - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 15:15

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 15:15
yes as I said before my first rego in NSW was totally confusing and what is so annoying is with the green slip you need to rego done is the vast difference in costs

I played around with green silp on line once

I started off with the truth live in Broken Hill and I am 60 and got a price and the six prices vairied over $200 from cheapest to most expensive

I added demerit points and the price went up a lot

I then changed post code to Sydney and that was $300 more

I see why so many out of state cars are being driven in NSW places like wagga and here in Broken Hill have so many

I have not done the same with car accident covering the motor car damage but I guess that is the same it all depends on age location ect '

It really is a mine field out there so many insurance company's out there and the poor driver has to find cover that suites him and his vehicle

We live in a free country and I suppose it is up to each individual on what they want to do with there life some like to take more risks than others , there is no perfect solution to the problem
FollowupID: 821269