NEW 200 SERIES CRUISER TYRES SUGGESTIONS

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 14:11
ThreadID: 109206 Views:3846 Replies:11 FollowUps:4
g'day guys and girls,

Ive just purchased a new 200 series and wondering what peoples suggestions on tyres are, I currently have micky's (atz) on my 100series. Cars going to be a tourer more than a full on 4wd!

Reply By: Gronk - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 14:50

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 14:50
Any good brand A/T tyre will be fine..

But, get a deal done now on a trade in for the old/new ones.....might have to shop around till you find someone that will trade them, but saves throwing away/ storing some tyres..
AnswerID: 537932

Reply By: Shaver - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 14:56

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 14:56
Try joining LCool as you are more likely to get this info from there !
AnswerID: 537933

Follow Up By: cookie1 - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 19:33

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 19:33
Just don't ask a question that has ever been asked before, most unfriendly and gestapo site I've been on - never got an answer to my question

FollowupID: 822195

Follow Up By: John and Regina M - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 21:24

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 21:24
Yes they're a bit anal.
They expect u to have checked whether yr question has already been asked and answered before submitting.

Gasp

Not like this forum that doesn't care if you ask a question identical to one below it....

Newtriton is the same. It's an incredibly lean and we'll organized forum as a result.

But if u follow the rules on lcool they will bend over backwards to help.
FollowupID: 822209

Follow Up By: cookie1 - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 22:06

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 22:06
...but I never got my question answered on there only a hell of a lot of grief, some were even mocking the site to me daring to ask a question that someone had asked but not in regards to my particular question, they expected me to extrapolate information from disjointed and irrelevant posts.

Even talking with the Moderators seemed pointless and terribly arrogant, so gladly retired my account and haven't missed it one bit.

Got my answer on 4x4earth.

FollowupID: 822215

Reply By: christopher l2 - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 15:00

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 15:00
cheers, hopefully I can do a swap somewhere otherwise i'll just sell the old rims and tyres!
AnswerID: 537934

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 15:21

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 15:21
I went through the same exercise last month. After a lot of research and advice I decided against changing the tyre size and decided to stick with the 285/65/17 OEM size.

There is a lot of debate about changing sizes I wont go into the pros and cons there is plenty to read on the net.

I chose Toyo Open Country Series 2 A/T........In the past I have run both BF Goodrich AT and also have Coopers ST max on another vehicle....both excellent tyres and I would have stayed with either had they the exact size........

They didn't and Toyo did....simple decision for me as Toyo's have an excellent reputation on and off road...they just don't push the advertising and propaganda like the others as much...a mate does the same harsh off road country as me in the goldfields and always runs Toyo with great reliability

The road noise is basically negligible from the OEM but there is no doubt they are gripping the road much better....haven't used them off road as yet

Be aware that muddies (whatever brand) have more road noise

Still got the Grandtreks...no one wanted to trade them...wonder why???
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 537936

Reply By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 18:05

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 18:05
We use Cooper ST Maxx's in 285/70/17 and are really happy with their performance and comfort, we weigh in at constant 3800kg and run 45 fronts and 48 rear on most terrain..... tyres have worn great.

AnswerID: 537950

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 19:08

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 19:08
I have a set of 265 / 70 17 AT's as my touring tyres on the OE rims and 285 / 70 17 Muddies on steel rims for the high country.

The 265 / 70 17 are the same outside diameter as the 285 65 17 OE tyres but a lot easier to get in many brands. Surprisingly the tred width is almost the same despite the theoretical 20mm difference ( the OE tyres are wide but less so on the actual tread section)

The OE, and 265 / 70 17 is about 804mm diameter and 285 / 70 17 is about 840mm diameter.

Here is my experience. The 200 is very sensitive to tyre size and will use 3 - 4 l/100km more than the smaller size despite only a 4 % difference in daimeter. It would eb a big mistake to go the bigger size for touring. The reason is that it is right on a threshold of where 6th gear kicks in ( or not) and where the auto locks up ( or not).

I swap them over every month or so and reliably repeat the fuel consumption going up and down every wheel / tyre change.

Your 200 may have 18" rims but the relative outside diameters would be the same.

In other words get the same diameter as OE unless you have a real need.

Having said all that I had Mickey Thompson 4 ribs and hated them, so many chips.

I recently got Goodyear wrangler adventures which seem ok but they are only 5000km old. My advice is wait for the new BFG AT KO2 due out in a month or 2.

AnswerID: 537954

Reply By: cookie1 - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 19:31

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 19:31
I have the 2011 200 GX Cruiser and swapped the 285/70/17 Mickey Thompson ATZ 4 Rib that were on the Patrol straight onto the new cruiser and love them, on my second set. Yes they chip but they are very strong. I haven't had one let me down during any of my trips which have included multiple Simpson Desert & Robe - Beachport - Canunda runs, Canning Stock Route, Red Centre & Kimberley / Talawana Track.

I am not a light driver either and we go loaded.

Would go ATZ 4 Rib again but they stopped making them for the P3

AnswerID: 537956

Reply By: christopher l2 - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 20:03

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 20:03
Thanks heaps guys! That has helped a lot!!!!
AnswerID: 537959

Reply By: disco driver - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 20:32

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 20:32
Hi Chris,
Here's a novel idea.
If you are only touring, blacktop and/or normal gravel or light 4wd work, why not leave the original tyres on till they are due for replacement.

100's of landcruisers have done 1000's of kms on the OE rubber, and as others have said the Grandtreks are worth nothing as a new trade so why not wear them out and then replace with the tyre of your choice

Sounds logical to me.

Disco.
AnswerID: 537962

Follow Up By: Les PK Ranger - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 20:45

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 20:45
Yep, the Grandtreks are a great AT tyre, although not great to look at, almost like a road tyre tread.
But, they do like all terrain apart from mud . . . they actually excel in sand and Flinders type driving, and they are quite a tough LT (light truck) construction.
FollowupID: 822199

Reply By: dublediff - Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 22:54

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014 at 22:54
Just sold my almost new at22 grand treks for $100 each!!! Didn't want to store them. Couple of people I have spoken to swear by the grandtreks on and off road, probably not talking mud here though. One bloke told me he buys his tyres off stupid blokes like me....lol and hasn't had a problem.
AnswerID: 537971

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 21, 2014 at 00:02

Thursday, Aug 21, 2014 at 00:02
Those GrandTreks are a heap better than Grandtreks in the past. They look the same, but the casings are heavier. They are the quietest tyre and roll easily, so good fuel consumption.
Had a laugh recently when someone weighed a grandtrek and found it was 1kg heavier than their new beaut A/T's!

If you really want to change, then I upsized to 285/70R17 in the Bridgestone D697 which gave me an extra 15mm clearance. Helps a lot with an IFS vehicle.
AnswerID: 537974