60 litre Fridge Slide

Submitted: Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 10:24
ThreadID: 109504 Views:4178 Replies:9 FollowUps:5
Looking for a fridge slide for my 60 ltr Engel fridge & have narrowed it down to either the Black Widow (6 weeks del) or the Engel 560Slide. (Avail ex stock)
Not really worried about the quality of the Black Widow but am interested to hear from anyone that has the Engel 560Slide.
As the 60 ltr fridge is one heavey bugger I don't want any cheap rubbish .
I dont really want to wait the 6 weeks for BW. If the comments on here are favourable to the Engel might go that way.
Thanks in advance

Reply By: Old 55 - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 10:35

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 10:35
I've got the engel slide for the 40ltr fridge and it is built like a brick outhouse. It will do the job for you with no worries. Only thing I had to do to it was a piece of rubber packing at the rear of the slide to stop a small rattle.
AnswerID: 539104

Follow Up By: pmk03 - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 10:52

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 10:52
Thanks OL55
Good info.
I have a no name one for my 40lt also was good has lasted 15 yrs so far.
Just a bit worried about the 60lt though. A lot heavier to start before you load it.
Still would like to hear from some 60ltr owners
Cheers. Paul
FollowupID: 823711

Reply By: Member - Wayne B - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 12:20

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 12:20
Have a look at off road systems
We got one for our Bushman fridge
No problems with it , good quality
AnswerID: 539106

Follow Up By: pmk03 - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 12:56

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 12:56
Thanks Wayne,
Just had a look at their site, looks good & in the price range of the others.
Going to come close to not fitting as the overall lth is 885mm & I only have about 875 to play with. Might need to very carfully check my measurements.
Do you have the FSL007? If so can you please advise the measurements the tray height (where the fridge sits) above the mounting height for the base? - I have limitations with overall height as well !! I cant find anything on this on the site.
Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 823713

Follow Up By: Member - Wayne B - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 21:49

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 21:49
Hey Paul
Our tray measures 765mm x 470mm and with fridge in it 630mm high
Not sure about model number
It cost $344
FollowupID: 823753

Reply By: rumpig - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 18:41

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 18:41
if you think a 60ltr is heavy then imagine how my fully loaded 80 ltr Engel fridge is at times. Mine runs on an Engel slide and has done so since 2006, no real issues with mine i can recall.
AnswerID: 539134

Follow Up By: pmk03 - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 19:05

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 19:05
Hi Rumpig,
Heavy for the slide I reckon that's why I'm asking about peoples experience the slide quality, Thanks for your input.
The Engel slide was looking good until I found that it extends 150mm less than the tray size. With my set up that wont clear my campers fridgebox. I could turn the fridge around but then the door opens the wrong way for me.
I think my old slide for my 40Ltr Engel is a genuine Engel slide & I have no complaints with it after 15Yrs.
So now I'm looking for one that at least extends to 100% as the Black Widow does.( but has a 6 week delivery)
Or the Off Road Systems as suggested by Wayne B over extends 50mm further so It's a serious consideration now. & ex stock in Vic & looks a quality item.
Thanks for your input
Cheers Paul
FollowupID: 823732

Reply By: Mick O - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 20:50

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 20:50
Paul,

are the drop slides an option for you? Been using the Platinum slide for a few years now to great effect. Heavy but distinct advantages. Don't know what vehicle you're mounting it in but thought it might be a consideration

Drop slide review

Mick

AnswerID: 539140

Follow Up By: pmk03 - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 21:11

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 21:11
Hi Mick
Had a look at these but height is not one of my problems as the fridge is in a fridge box on my camper trailer.
Also a bit pricey for features I don't really need. Would solve my clearance problems though. But outside of the budget.
Think I'm going with the ORS one I mentioned earlier.
Thanks for the info. A great write up as usual
Cheers. Paul
FollowupID: 823751

Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 23:55

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 23:55
For my 57l engel combi, I use the waeco slide (to suit the 80 I think). The engel isn't as long as the slide, so it extends out nicely...
AnswerID: 539148

Reply By: pmk03 - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2014 at 11:57

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2014 at 11:57
I have settled on the ORS Slide. Mainly becuase it can overextend 50mm.
It also looks like a well built quality product, Time will tell.

Thanks All for the replies & info

Cheers Paul
AnswerID: 539163

Reply By: Member - kyle46 - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2014 at 20:40

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2014 at 20:40
I got made one for my 60 lt c/w 22 lt two zone. didn't think the engel one came out far enough to clear my canopy door.got base folded up with a bit more depth, got some bearings for rollers. job done
AnswerID: 539191

Reply By: Member - reggy 2 (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 18, 2014 at 20:59

Thursday, Sep 18, 2014 at 20:59
HI not sure where you are from but there is a 60lt fridge in classifieds on EO it is a good solid slide as I have used it.
AnswerID: 539264

Reply By: Batt's - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 00:17

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 00:17
Have a look at Matesratestools in the accessories section their products are a lot cheaper than some. I haven't bought one of their fridge slides yet but I have 4 of their under body ute tool boxes and I also just bought a canopy they are well built products and deliver as well.
AnswerID: 539662