how to cool a 600ml coke

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 11:13
ThreadID: 109566 Views:3475 Replies:10 FollowUps:7
35 degress, red dust baby porcipine tyres growing into maturity quickly.
Slap my face just to try and gain some humour from watching the storm of insects fly around the cab.
No one around havent seen anyone for days. Dogs looking at me funny.
Gee im thirsty.
I notice the bottle of coke rolling around on the floor. mmm if only it were cold i could slam that one real quick.
My last bottle of coke. Yummy warm coke, dam.
What can i do?

Right so I turn the ac on recirc, alter the flow outlets to feet setting, windows up, position the bottle with camera bag dunny roll warm water unused ceareal boxes directly under the left outlet so the flow goes straight on to the bottle.
And wait.
Actually i quite enjoyed the coolness off the cab while i waited as i norammly drive windows down with whatever temp of air just happens to blow by.
Continuing to bash through scrub trying to minimise build up of forieng material in the cooling coil it was a long wait.
After an hour and a half it was ready. That first sip of nice cold coke just made my day. I didnt slam it though, savoured the joy of this single remaining processed beverage as if all my worries of the world were in times past.

Back Expand Un-Read 4 Moderator

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 12:39

Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 12:39
Ive found putting drinks in the fridge another option..........
AnswerID: 539333

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 13:36

Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 13:36
Hahaha..yeah, right on
FollowupID: 823963

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 14:29

Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 14:29
So true that Hairy, I havent got the room though. There would also be a bit of apathy in having what you want all the time - wouldnt taste the same i reckon :-)

FollowupID: 823964

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 12:46

Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 12:46
You definitely need to buy that fridge off John! :-)

AnswerID: 539334

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 14:54

Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 14:54
Must be something wrong with it lol

FollowupID: 823965

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 17:03

Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 17:03
There's nothing wrong with it and you could have frozen the damn Coke!

Seriously, you are missing out on the fundamentals of travel......a cold drink :)
Even Massie would appreciate a cold drink of water out of the fridge once in awhile.

FollowupID: 823970

Reply By: Member - Geoff B (WA) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 12:59

Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 12:59
Nothings nicer than an ice cold coke. Have you checked if there is an outlet for your air-con in the glove box. Not sure if it is common or not these days (our 100 series cruiser doesn't) but my little town car does!
Sue B
AnswerID: 539337

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Sep 22, 2014 at 08:25

Monday, Sep 22, 2014 at 08:25
Hi Sue, great idea but mines just a plain boring normal glovebox

FollowupID: 823997

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 13:47

Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 13:47

Years ago we buried a carton of beer outside a community for our trip home........When we returned for it we thought we would try the old trick of lighting a fire over it to cool it down..........no difference in temperature I don't reckon!
So we headed off down the road with a hot slab of grog!!! The plan was to try and con a bag of ice out of the roadhouse down the road but the longer it took the thirstier we became..........I came up with the brilliant idea of putting it in a sock, dipping it in petrol and holding it out of the window while travelling at 120kmh. You know how petrol feels cold when its on your skin and you blow on it?
Nup.....just made the hot beer taste like petrol!!!!!!! Hot piss it was!
Another time we put the cans in a bucket and opened up on the with a co2 fire extinguisher.
AnswerID: 539340

Reply By: ian.g - Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 14:50

Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 14:50
Do what they used to do in Birdsville prior to refrigeration at the racecourse, 40kg bag of urea in a 44 of water and dump steel cans of XXXX in,had two fold benefit of cold beer and the cans rusted away before the next years races. Beer had a funny taste until the urea flavoured moisture disappeared but after the second one made no difference
AnswerID: 539346

Reply By: Ron N - Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 19:12

Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 19:12
Surely you haven't forgotten the old CO2 fire extinguisher trick?? It would take less than 2 minutes.

Of course, you could always invest in a Cooper Cooler Rapid Beverage Chiller as an alternative!
AnswerID: 539364

Reply By: Member - Ross N (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 19:30

Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 19:30
No doubt you had a pie wrapped in foil in the engine bay as well
I love innovation.
Ross
Ross N

AnswerID: 539365

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 20:01

Sunday, Sep 21, 2014 at 20:01

Unlikely ...he didn't have a fridge to keep it frozen/cold prior to heating up (I wouldn't eat an "un-cooled" pie over a day or two old) Can of coke is different, can roll around in your car for years (plus they dont taste that bad Kimberley cool :).

My understanding is that (based on his previous posts) Alan eats canned/packaged food when on holidays - good plan in my opinion (i.e no need for a fridge despite claim of "no room").

and...Car fridges were an innovation, once. Now pretty standard so not so novel..but hard to knock. Driving around in an air conditioned 4WD drive could also regarded as a bit un-inovative..but pretty bloody handy.

Suppose it's just case of where you choose to draw the line.

FollowupID: 823980

Reply By: Member - David G (WA) - Monday, Sep 22, 2014 at 09:18

Monday, Sep 22, 2014 at 09:18
Hi Alan been there done that many years ago but no A/C or fridge in the truck and then had an old truckie mate with me for a week and he put a slit in the top of a couple of water bags hanging on the bull bar and in one was our butter and bacon wrapped tightly in newspaper and a couple of king browns in the other [purely for medicinal purposes],topped up with water every morning.
We carried a few old newspapers under a seat and the butter got re wrapped each time after use and lasted ok for 4 days, the K/Bs were bitterly and there after I often used the same method for cans of coke.
If you can still find a couple of the old canvas water bags you have the solution until the Engle arrives.

Cheers Dave
AnswerID: 539390

Reply By: Ron N - Monday, Sep 22, 2014 at 11:54

Monday, Sep 22, 2014 at 11:54
The old stations of the late 1800's and early 1900's all had thatched broombush-walled coolrooms fitted with a water tank on the roof, constantly refilled via a windmill - and the water trickled down the broombush via carefully placed piping and spray holes, keeping all the broombush thatching wet.

When a 50 deg Easterly wind blew out of the desert in Summer, those coolrooms were the solace of everyone who was feeling the heat - and they nearly equalled an air-conditioned room of today.

I seem to recall the first Alice Springs hospital was built with water troughs that ran under the width of the building floors, and the cooling effect when the wind blew reduced the hospital rooms temperature by a large amount.
AnswerID: 539393

Reply By: Ron N - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 12:21

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 12:21
I had a great deal of trouble trying to find the precise description and layout of the first Alice Springs Hospital (Adelaide House) - and my memory played tricks on me - it wasn't cooling troughs the hospital had - it was wet hessian bags (that's burlap sacks to our U.S. friends!) hung in the cellar, that provided the water-assisted hospital cooling.

The hospital featured a central "lantern" raised roof section, and all doors and windows were closed on stinking hot days - whereupon the air flow through the building was upwards, due to the hot air rising - and this action drew the cooled air (via the wet hessian), from the cellar, into the rooms via ventilators, then up through the building, and out the central roof vent.

This provided the equivalent cooling effect of todays roof-mounted evaporative cooling systems, and it was very effective.
The first link is the description of the layout - and the second link is an article about Flynns achievements, where it cryptically describes Flynns "innovative cooling system" for the building (page 22), and it shows a pic of the building partly-constructed (page 15).

What makes Adelaide House special?

Following in Flynns footsteps
AnswerID: 539423

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 17:58

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 17:58
Thanks Ron, smart fella was Flynn.

FollowupID: 824072