Grand <span class="highlight">Jeep</span> Cherokee Limited

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 19:44
ThreadID: 109599 Views:4990 Replies:16 FollowUps:42
I have recently purchased a 2014 Grand Jeep Cherokee Limited with quad lift and full ECB roo bar (amongst other things). The vehicle has only done about 2500k"s. The quad lift compressor was replaced last week because of a loud grating noise coming from it when the car was lowering. The noise continued after the replacement compressor and the service manager now tells me that this noise is a characteristic of the vehicle and that the noise is there in all cases although it is magnified by the addition of the roo bar. The noise is most evident when I stop the vehicle, turn off the engine and get out and close the door. The quad lift then continues to lower the vehicle to exit height. The noise maybe there whilst I am driving however I cant hear it because of engine noise. Can I have some feed back from owners of similar vehicles please? Regards Quentin

Reply By: 08crd - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 20:41

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 20:41
Take it to a suspension workshop and get their opinion.
It is under warranty, so if an independent specialist says it has a problem, Jeep will fix it.
A mate had a similar problem with a Land Rover Discovery, it was repaired under warranty no problems.
AnswerID: 539460

Reply By: olcoolone - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 20:51

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 20:51
I would check out other Jeeps wit this suspension first before taking it to suspension specialist....... Chances are they are not familiar with it.

You might find it is normal.
AnswerID: 539461

Follow Up By: 08crd - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 21:06

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 21:06
I would have thought he would have already gone to a jeep dealer and tested other ones.
If it was normal they wouldn't have changed the compressor, one would think.
I assumed the basics were already carried out and the dealer is washing his hands of the problem.
Maybe I'm a bit ahead of the curve.
FollowupID: 824085

Follow Up By: Quentin S - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 22:43

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 22:43
Yep your right on. No curve ball there, just straight through to the keeper.
FollowupID: 824087

Follow Up By: 08crd - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 00:20

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 00:20
Sounds like you are on the ball Quentin, I'm sure you will get it sorted.
FollowupID: 824088

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 08:11

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 08:11
I have learnt over the years never to think someone has done something until they say they have and then still doubt if it has been done.

A dealer can not simply wash their hand of it, if it outside the dealers capabilities then the problem can be escalated higher up in Jeep for a solution.

There may be a problem that Jeep are working on a long term solution to fix it.

Taking it to a suspension specialist; that chances are they have never seen one before will only add confusion to the problem and cost him more money.

Don't think a suspension specialist is a specialist of all types of suspension.....especially non standard OEM.

Quentin Quoted [Yep your right on. No curve ball there, just straight through to the keeper.]

What does that mean? I'm not very good a deciphering code nor mind reading.

1) Have you checked it out against another identical vehicle with this suspension?

2) Is it normal for this model with this suspension?

3) What is the dealer going to do about it?

FollowupID: 824092

Follow Up By: Emerging I.T. - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 18:14

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 18:14
I would have to agree with Olcoolone, forget the curve ball and concentrate on the pitch. It is a brand new car, you don't take a new car to a suspension specialist unless you want to spend money on upgrades. Sounds to me they changed the compressor and the problem is still there so they tell you that's normal, then why did they change it? Quentin if you are not getting anywhere ask for Jeep's involvement rather than the dealer.

FollowupID: 824120

Follow Up By: Quentin S - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 22:48

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 22:48
Thanks for that. Spent a mind numbing time with Jeep Australia today. Spin doctors at the best. I could only talk with a resolutions person as technicians "are not equipped to talk to the public".
Spoke with the managing director of ECB (Roo bar supply) and he too drives a similar jeep to mine with same roo bar and quadra lift and is all but silent in opperation. I am advised that Jeep will not become further involved unless asked to do so by my dealer, John Hughes Group - Perth. I will pick up my vehicle tomorrow and if not satisfied I will look at talking with Motor Traders Association WA or Consumer Affairs.
Thanks for your input
Quentin
FollowupID: 824138

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 09:49

Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 09:49
Quentin

You said the magic words, John Hughes. Have you tried speaking to the man himself. I know of several people who had problems with issues, actually rang and spoke to him and got them resolved.
At a customer service level he is extremely good.

FollowupID: 824150

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 09:53

Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 09:53
Instead of going in with all guns blazing and taking it to the Motor Trades Association that will offer you no help ( they are their to protect the industry) and consumer affairs I would be taking it up with Jeep Australia customer support first.

Not having a dig at you as I am only hearing one side of the story but from past experiences the customer is the blame for dealers digging their heals in mostly because the customer is on the attack from the word go.

What you have to understand is the dealer is controlled by Jeep Australia's decision and what they can do, they are not authorised to do anything other then what Jeep asks them to do. jeep Australia makes the decisions whether right or wrong.

The dealer is a representative of Jeep Australia only and have very limited powers to act outside of Jeep Australia.

If they do unauthorised work they are liable for costs and warranty.

But the dealer is the go between between you and Jeep Australia, treat them right and act logically and you get results.

Asking someone over the phone about a problem is not the best way, what one may see as a concern and a problem someone else may not. Best for you to hear it for yourself and make a decision and not through someone else's ears.

FollowupID: 824151

Follow Up By: Quentin S - Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 11:10

Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 11:10
I spent all day yesterday talking with Jeep Aust. They indeed tell me that I am unable to talk with a technical person directly and that they are unable to escalate this until the dealer agrees that there is a potential problem. I reckon I am demonstrating that I do not go in with all guns blazing by the wide ranging consulting that I am doing on this and other forums and with owners of similar vehicles I know and others that I have just approached on the street and at shopping centre car parks.. This is the third time this vehicle has been in the workshop in 10 weeks. I reckon I am showing good control and patients but thanks for your advice, I have taken it on board.
FollowupID: 824161

Follow Up By: Ron N - Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 12:22

Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 12:22
After nearly 50 years in business and many years of buying and running substantial amounts of high dollar value machinery, vehicles and equipment - I can tell you this much;

1. No matter what the brand or make, the standard technique of all dealers/manufacturers is to fob you off when a customer rolls up with a complaint.
They will deny everything, claim there is no problem, use the other party as a foil (dealer says manufacturer won't act, manufacturer says dealer is the problem, Australian agency will say parent company in the U.S. will not approve/listen/deal with complaint.)

2. They will collectively deny there's a problem.
They will never agree to independent analysis of the problem, stating that outsiders have no understanding of the engineering involved.
They will insist its all in the customers mind.
They will produce the classic; "You're the only one having this problem!"
Then you start asking around and find 50 others with the same problem.
They use divide and conquer tactics, fobbing off tactics, delay tactics, obfuscation tactics, and every other corporate act of deviousness, to ensure that you lose interest in pursuing your complaint, and it ends up costing them nothing.

3. You will find you will have to fight tooth and nail to get even basic consumer rights. The dealer service manager is under constant pressure to ensure that his workshop does not involve itself in any job that costs the workshop/dealer money.
Workshop service managers are there to ensure that they extract a minimum of $1000 from customers wallets every time they walk through the door.
Workshops have huge cost inputs and someone has to be paying out big dollars every day. That's the customers job.
"Re-do's", "comebacks" and "warranty repairs" are horror words to service managers. They lose money on every one of these problems - if the customer wins. They have to ensure that the customer pays, every time a spanner is produced.

4. Manufacturers don't want to know about problems with their product - until the gripes become an overwhelming roar.
Look at Toyota - the U.S. Govt had to drag them through the courts for years before they extracted a confession that Toyota knew about faults and QC problems with their vehicles - and Toyota did everything in their power to hush up its problems, fob off complaints, and brow-beat Toyota owners who complained.

5. You're dealing with some of the most devious corporate people around with U.S. companies.
I know, I've spent time in boardroom discussions with senior execs and CEO's and seen the lack of ethics and morals.
I'm not alone with that experience, my stepdaughter works in an important position in the oil and gas industry, and she produces stories of the same lack of ethics.
You need to consider engaging a Rottweiler lawyer if you can't get any satisfaction with a serious consumer complaint.
These corporate people only understand you're serious when you start to make it look like it will cost them serious money, if they don't come to the party.
Warranty and consumer complaints are so often based on "good faith" in contracts and agreements.
Unfortunately, "good faith" is seriously lacking in many of these corporate operations and their contracts.

I agree with the bloke who said you will do well with contacting John Hughes directly.
He's known as a straight-shooter and is a rare find amongst car dealers - he's actually honest, and interested in resolving customer complaints, if it's humanly possible.
FollowupID: 824164

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 12:29

Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 12:29
As we delve further into you post you start painting a better picture, Coming from the motor trade I always take a logical approach to posts and problems and play the devils advocate...... It gets to the bottom quicker without jumping to conclusions.

How ever annoying it can be you have to prove to the service manager this is not normal and he has to escalate it, do everything by email and CC in the sales manager who sold you the vehicle and the dealer principle plus if they have a customer service person; them as well. Corresponding by email is the best option as it keeps an accurate paper trail if you have to take it further.

It might pay to take it to another Jeep dealer as they may be more helpful.

One other option is to email a large Jeep dealer un the USA, chances are they have come across your problem before.

Forums can be a good source of information but take any comments with a pinch of salt as many are not correct and it's only one side of the story.
FollowupID: 824165

Follow Up By: Emerging I.T. - Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 13:45

Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 13:45
If you want repeat business you look after your customers. If Jeep doesn't want people like Quentin to buy another vehicle then treat them accordingly. And old wise man told me it costs you more to find new customers than to keep current ones.! If that's the case get used to "I bought a Jeep" . Doesn't say a hell of a lot does it? It won't be long before it says "I bought a JEEP, but only once.!"

FollowupID: 824168

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 21:34

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 21:34
I was going to suggest the noise was valve "clatter", but apparently the air doesn't escape, but rather is transferred back to a holding tank, for re-use later on. I also notice the auto parking, of only 1.5" drop, can be turned off, by using controls on the video screen. Plenty of reading in the link below, Quentin.

http://www.wk2jeeps.com/wk2_quadralift.htm

No wonder you can't hear the clatter on road. With 9 speakers and 500 plus watts, it's a wonder you can hear anything. :-)

AnswerID: 539463

Follow Up By: Quentin S - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 22:41

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2014 at 22:41
Thanks Bob, the noise is a mechanical noise similar to a ratchet or chain on a sprocket. This mechanism is an air compressor and an electric motor. I reckon "The shoe doesn't fit the foot".
Yes I can turn this option off but in my old Holden FJ, removing the globe in the red oil warning light doesn't fix the low oil level.
My Grandkids tell me that the sound system is "awesome". Havent been game to turn it on yet but the Deltones would sound OK me thinks. Thanks for your considered input. Regards Quentin
FollowupID: 824086

Follow Up By: Quentin S - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 00:45

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 00:45
G'day Bob, Just had a look at your photo's. I reckon you are a good man. Thanks for your contact and thoughts.
Quentin
FollowupID: 824089

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 18:50

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 18:50
That 'valve clatter' Bob suggested sounds a bit like the cavitation noise I am experiencing in my Pajero ABS system - air under pressure through a valve system restricting from a faulty valve perhaps, where the Paj is oil under high pressure - with bubbles in the accumulator - the noise was difficult to pinpoint initially - thought it was the fan blades 'clattering' against the cowling.

I would be nagging them until they fix it Quentin - good luck.

Regards - Phil
Phil 'n Jill (WA)

FollowupID: 824124

Follow Up By: Quentin S - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 22:56

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 22:56
Thanks Phil, I am not going to give this up. Jeep Australia has advised me that are unable to do anything until my dealer, John Hughes - Perth puts in a fault report and they are not willing to admit to a fault. I am struggling to find an owner of a vehicle which is the same as mine to compare and am surprised that out of over 1000 looks at my initial request not one has surfaced. I know there is a problem and so do the service dept of my dealer but I reckon this vehicle is too technically advanced for their comprehension.
Quentin
FollowupID: 824139

Reply By: Rod W - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 08:36

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 08:36
Get rid of it.
AnswerID: 539476

Follow Up By: Emerging I.T. - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 18:20

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 18:20
Any other advise Rod..? LOL
FollowupID: 824121

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 08:36

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 08:36
As an aside to your issue, I've been looking at that Jeep too - interested in which motor you chose... and what is your intended use of the car ? When I'm next at a dealer, I'll get a demo of the air suspension and listen closely.
AnswerID: 539477

Follow Up By: Les PK Ranger - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 08:53

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 08:53
Those SRTs with the 6.4 hemi would be awesome.
Checked them over in Brissy with my brother last year, though he might have bought one by now :)
FollowupID: 824094

Follow Up By: Quentin S - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 23:15

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 23:15
G'day Darian, I chose the 3lt turbo diesel. This a good motor linked to a brilliant 8 speed auto transmission. I have returned a genuine 7.4lt/100km albeit most in country driving. The vehicle tonks along at 100km/hr at about 1500 rpm. The claim is that it will pull 3.5 ton which it probably will. However I'm not convinced that the weight of the vehicle will stop 3.5ton. We pull a Cub offroad camper trailer at about 800kg loaded so this is not an issue. We also have a patrol which we have driven across most Aust deserts and then some. We tend to travel alone and into very remote areas and have done for well over 30 years now. The jeep may take over from the patrol if I can be convinced that it absolutely reliable.
We are headed to the Kidson track next year and then onto the Kimberley and I am now thinking that the Jeep may stay home.
I have had the jeep since mid July and it has been in the workshop three times now but, lets see.
Quentin
FollowupID: 824140

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 09:49

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 09:49
Quentin,

It would seem that this noise is not uncommon.
Google "Jeep quadralift noise". There are a number of 'results'.

AnswerID: 539479

Follow Up By: Quentin S - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 11:52

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 11:52
Thanks Alan, these all seem to talk about a thumping noise from the rear of the vehicles. Mine is more of a ratcheting mechanical noise from the front where the compressor is situated. Thanks anyway
Quentin
FollowupID: 824102

Reply By: Ron N - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 12:21

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 12:21
When you buy a Jeep, the thumping, rattling, and grating noises are factory installed, free of charge.
It just costs you thousands to find them and have them removed.
AnswerID: 539481

Follow Up By: Emerging I.T. - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 18:46

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 18:46
Wow Jeep Story you should read..!

Wow this is taking it to extremes..!
FollowupID: 824123

Follow Up By: Axle - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:11

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:11
Ron !!!, .....A Bit Like Landrover Defenders, But as a old sheila told me when the sex stopped ..." You get used to it".....LOL.

FollowupID: 824125

Follow Up By: Ron N - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:16

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:16
Emerging I.T. - Ooooh, that's one amazing story, and I like that blokes attitude.
It looks like he needed to employ some Rottweiler lawyers, though.

And I do admire his attitude in refusing to sell his lemon back to the dealer for the offered price, because he knew they'd just make money selling it again - and some other poor sucker would end up with it!

There's a lot to said for America's Lemon Laws. Unfortunately, if you read Product Review, it looks like Jeep produces more lemons than most manufacturers.

There's nothing worse than a manufacturer who won't stand behind the product they make and sell.
FollowupID: 824126

Follow Up By: Ron N - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:22

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:22
Axle, I remember a story from the '60's about car factory workers who found out that a hated manager had ordered a new car.

They found the order sheet and the car was built with empty coke bottles welded inside the sills, rocks installed in other hidden panels, a dead animal or two left inside the headlining and upholstery, and bits of leftover metal chunks from the presses left inside the doors.

They all had a good laugh about it, but the manager probably quit the car pretty rapidly - and some other poor bugger ended up with it!

FollowupID: 824127

Reply By: Krooznalong - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 13:03

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 13:03
G'day Quentin
It's probably just a Jeep thing!

Seriously - I suggest you visit the Jeep forum and ask on there.

AnswerID: 539483

Reply By: Emerging I.T. - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:02

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:02
Grand Jeep Cherokee fails moose test. What's also interesting is they play with the quadra lift and then fill the car with people, bloody scary.

Grand Jeep Cherokee Moose Test
AnswerID: 539492

Follow Up By: Ron N - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:48

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:48
Emerging I.T. - No, the testers didn't fill the car with people for the test.
Stop the video as each test ends and you'll see there's only a driver in the LH seat.

What they do say is "Jeep-Chrysler then loaded the car with 470kgs (1,036lbs)".
This is obviously sandbags or some other static test weight.
There is no-one in the test car but the driver.

The interesting part is how, "with the driver and 4 passengers there is hardly any margin (in the manufacturers load specifications) for luggage."

I'd have to say the swerve test reveals more about Chryslers poor choice of tyres, and poor rim construction, than anything else.
However, the Jeeps handling and swerve response is still poor for a $50,000 luxury 4WD.

Bottom line is, most people who swerved like that - in any car - would end up rolling it, because of a lack of vehicle control skills.

One thing that amazed me was, I've been at the car auctions and checked out the Wranglers specifications in their handbook - and their maximum rated tow capacity is 500kg!

Says it all really. If a manufacturer doesn't trust their 6 cyl 4WD to tow more than half a tonne, it shows a lot of marginal construction in the build.

FollowupID: 824129

Follow Up By: Les PK Ranger - Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 10:44

Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 10:44
Apparently old news . . . and refuted by Crysler / Jeep, also NO other agency has been able to repoduce thos same results ??
Jeep thinks the vehicle was loaded incorrectly.

One story I found, Google might find others to clarify.
FollowupID: 824158

Follow Up By: Les PK Ranger - Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 10:45

Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 10:45
Oh for an EDIT BUTTON . . . here is that link Chrylsler defends JGC Quadra
FollowupID: 824159

Follow Up By: Emerging I.T. - Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 11:02

Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 11:02
What's interesting is Mercedes had a similar issue with the same test, they denied it too. Mercedes then re-called the car and modified it, see below. With this in mind one must take the Jeep test with face value imo.

"The Grand Cherokee was also awarded a four-star safety rating by Euro NCAP in November and local affiliate ANCAP in December, missing the maximum five-star rating because of structural issues with the driver’s seat and average child occupant protection.

The Jeep controversy comes 15 years after Teknikens Varld hit headlines for its infamous rollover test of the first-generation Mercedes-Benz A-Class, which caused Merc’s then-brand-new small car to flip. Mercedes initially denied there was a problem with its car, but later recalled all vehicles sold to date and stopped distribution until it corrected the problem by modifying the vehicle’s suspension and adding electronic stability control.

Read more at http://www.caradvice.com.au/181108/chrysler-defends-jeep-grand-cherokee-rollover-criticism/#T4UbajOpQ7JdQLzI.99
FollowupID: 824160

Follow Up By: Les PK Ranger - Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 13:08

Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 13:08
Yes, that's the link I posted above.
Looking at the dates of the Car Advice story and the upload of the Swede testing, I'd say it was early 2012 that was done ?
I noticed in the Swedish youtube vid, the link to the full story . . .
http://teknikensvarld.se/jeepmoosetest-part4/ is broken.
Maybe removed for some reason ?
Who knows.
The Youtube thing was pretty damning of the handling in general, especially under load (but within max limits set by Jeep).
FollowupID: 824166

Reply By: bazz - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:30

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:30
How about taking the same model for a test drive , then you will have some thing to compare it with .... Barry
AnswerID: 539493

Follow Up By: Emerging I.T. - Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 09:53

Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 09:53
Great Idea Bazz.! Easy as Quentin go to another dealer and ask for a test drive. Record the sounds made by the Quadra Lift and bingo you have a reference.
FollowupID: 824153

Reply By: mikehzz - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:45

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:45
I asked on the Jeep forum and most owners reported a mild ticking sound when its raising or lowering.
AnswerID: 539494

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:48

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:48
Here's a link to the replies

http://www.ausjeepoffroad.com/forum/showthread.php?p=1493957&posted=1#post1493957
FollowupID: 824130

Follow Up By: Member - Rosss - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:54

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 19:54
Well we know JEEP stands for "JUST EMPTY EVERY POCKET"
FollowupID: 824131

Follow Up By: Quentin S - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 23:38

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 23:38
Mike thanks for your help and unselfish time that you gave my request. I am very much appreciative to you.
All input on this forum talks of a minor ticking noise at worst. This is not what I am hearing but what is more concerning is the difficulty I am experiencing with the service department of my dealer - John Hughes Group Perth and with Jeep Australia. I am advised by Jeep Aust that they are unable to react until my dealer raises a technical fault with them and my Dealer will not admit there is a fault even after replacing the compressor. I have spoken today with the managing director of ECB who provided the roo bar that John Hughes service claim causes the problem and they refute that this could be possible. So much so that he ( ECB MD) has a vehicle the same as mine with the same roo bar and the same Quadra lift which is silent in opperation.
I am retrieving my vehicle from John Hughes tomorrow and if not satisfied I will raise this issue with Motor Traders Association and Consumer Affairs. My view is that there is a problem, however the vehicle is too technically advanced for service departments and that the link between Jeep Australia, service departments and the consumer is flawed.
Thanks again for your time and input
Quentin
FollowupID: 824142

Reply By: Bigfish - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 20:31

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 20:31
Geez Quentin....you asked for some informative feedback and half the tossers from around Oz jumped on board.

Site is certainly going downhill...
AnswerID: 539496

Follow Up By: Quentin S - Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 22:37

Wednesday, Sep 24, 2014 at 22:37
Chaff from the wheat probably. I am amazed that I seem to be the only owner of a Grand Jeep Cherokee Limited with Quadra lift. Over 1000 looks at my request and not one answer from an owner and wont this statement draw the crabs.
I am very grateful for the sincere feedback from some.
Quentin
FollowupID: 824137

Follow Up By: Jarse - Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 06:51

Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 06:51
Quentin, the haters are just gonna hate.

Mine (Laredo, but the same suspension) makes a barely perceptible sound when raising or lowering. You get a faint sound of a relay 'click', then the compressor sounds like a small servo motor (faint buzzing sound). It'll run occasionally after the car's locked up, too.

When I'm outside the car I can't hear the pump running when the engine's on, but I can hear it with the engine stopped. Very faintly.

So, based on your description Quentin, there possibly is a problem there....

One thing also worth checking is the nitrogen tank (behind the back seat). There have been a few reports of the tanks being loose in the brackets (mine was). Just tighten the small clamp bolts and all's good. While you're at it, check the pipe fittings are tight. I reckon the fittings could work loose, resulting in a loss of nitrogen if the tank was allowed to move around in its brackets.
FollowupID: 824147

Follow Up By: Slow one - Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 07:29

Thursday, Sep 25, 2014 at 07:29
Quentin,
what Jarse wrote about the nitrogen accumulator is interesting. It may be worth having the accumulator pressure checked.

Hope they find it.
FollowupID: 824148

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Friday, Sep 26, 2014 at 09:31

Friday, Sep 26, 2014 at 09:31
Geezzz Bigfish........ I can see 46 replies to Quentin's original post and I could only pick out 3 posts that were non contributing to this discussion and a waste of time and effort, all the rest seemed sensible and logical with good advice.

BTW Bigfish...... Your post was one of the 3, so whats that thing about "tossers"?
FollowupID: 824186

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Friday, Sep 26, 2014 at 16:26

Friday, Sep 26, 2014 at 16:26
Think I,m just getting sick and tired of reading replies from idiots that should just stop being a keyboard commando with a subject that was started in good faith and turns up with these idiots writing dribble.

I am not the first, nor will I be the last person , to point this fact out....
FollowupID: 824197

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Friday, Sep 26, 2014 at 17:45

Friday, Sep 26, 2014 at 17:45
You have an option not to read the posts so don't read them, I just ignor most and get on with my life.

With open forums you have to take the good with the bad........ Don't let it get to you......... Breathe in....... Breathe out.

Yoga is a good form of stress relief.
FollowupID: 824200

Reply By: Mick T3 - Friday, Sep 26, 2014 at 12:55

Friday, Sep 26, 2014 at 12:55
I test drove a Jeep Patriot yesterday. It seemed clunky and noisy like an old American car.

Regarding getting the quad lift fixed, I had a problem with a Mitsubishi dealer over $800 I wanted refunded. They played the usual pantomine beginning with sadness then whining then threatening and refusing.

I told the two of them in a quiet voice, in the manager's office, that if the money wasn't refunded I would return that afternoon with a placard and sit in front of the dealership.

The manager said he wanted me to leave, but as I got up he half jumped over his desk as if he was going to attack me.

Marking pens cost $10, corflute placard from Bunnings is $8 and the cornice wood, 2.5 metres high is about $12. Take a lawn chair so you're relaxed. They may threaten to call the police, but usually won't. If they do the police will insure you're not blocking the footpath or on private property. What will probably happen is that they will become very obliging and do what you want, which is what happened in this case.

After the manager told me to leave his office I phoned the Mitsubishi head office and told them what I was going to do. Thirty minutes later the manager's assistant phoned and said they would refund the $800. The cheque was in the post the next morning, and it didn't bounce.

This works because most people are too bound by social convention to hold up a placard.
AnswerID: 539550

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Friday, Sep 26, 2014 at 16:28

Friday, Sep 26, 2014 at 16:28
Good one Mick. Just shows how much contempt for their customers some dealers have...
FollowupID: 824198

Reply By: Elvin D1 - Friday, Sep 26, 2014 at 15:46

Friday, Sep 26, 2014 at 15:46
Quentin s

Hope you get to the bottom of your problem.

I looked up the archives on a Jeep forum and couldn't see anything like you describe.

I also bought my Jeep from John Hughes and i can assure you that you will be satisfied with your dealings with him.There would be no harm done to drop into another dealer to get another service managers opinion though.

You will find your Jeep has no peers in it's towing ability ,handling and superb economy
without having to carry out any modifications that others seem to need to do.

You dont become the biggest selling 4wd wagon in Australia without good reason.

Something for Emerging IT to watch to the end.The Jeep has to be one of the best handling 4wds out there and also watch the other one as well.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Fs5M8GuvcU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCzPEBclQ9k

Won't get any comment on the last one because it's a Toyota. "Oh what a Feeling"

Elvin
AnswerID: 539557

Reply By: Ron N - Friday, Sep 26, 2014 at 22:53

Friday, Sep 26, 2014 at 22:53
Here's a link to the Product Review, user reviews of the Jeep Grand Cherokee.

2005-2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee user reviews

Taking out the new owners gushing reviews, who have only owned their vehicle for 5 days - and taking out the Jeep salespeoples reviews - who all give the Grand Cherokee 5 stars, and who've all been around Australia 5 times towing 3.5 tonnes, and done 50,000kms without missing a beat - then there's some sad stories and unhappy owners there.

Common themes are:

Lack of spares held in Australia (this has been a recurring theme since Jeep came back into Australia in the 1980's)
Dealers unable to fix problems, despite access to all the manufacturers service info, and having all the specialised tools.
Exceptionally expensive spare parts (I mean to say - $2800 for a rear window glass?? Yes, I know my 80 series rear window glass was $800 in '94 - but $2800??)
A total lack of communication from Chrysler Australia when unhappy owners try to get assistance with problems.
Constant electrical, ECU software programming, and assembly faults.

I don't know about others - but if I spend $50,000 or more on a new vehicle, I expect that new vehicle to perform like a new vehicle, be virtually 100% reliable, and not have any problems of consequence.

After all, you buy a new vehicle to get new vehicle performance. You get rid of old vehicles because they aren't reliable and because they won't do the job any longer.

It's pretty sad when you spend good money on a new vehicle and it performs like an old one.
AnswerID: 539574

Reply By: Quentin S - Saturday, Sep 27, 2014 at 01:14

Saturday, Sep 27, 2014 at 01:14
72 hrs ago I detailed a perceived problem that I have with the Quadra Lift on my newly purchased Jeep Grand Cherokee hoping to receive feedback from owners of similar vehicles that may or may not have had like issues. I have had over 1800 views at my post . Thanks you all for your time, thoughts and advice which all have been very much valued. Significantly, I have not received 1 post from an owner of a similar vehicle with similar observations.
I met with my dealers Service Manager and Foreman yesterday. They are still of the view that the very audible noise heard from the Quadra Lift is a "characteristic of the vehicle" despite the fact that they had previously replaced the original compressor as, in their estimation, it was faulty. I also spent almost a day, on and off, with Jeep Australia and this experience was worrying. My confidence in them is not strong however I will continue to pursue them for an answer or a resolution.
I have taken on board all views given on this forum and on others and I again thank you all for your input.
I now note that some are turning on each other. Please do not do this. My intention was to seek informed views and not to turn those who have very similar interests against each other.
Quentin

AnswerID: 539575

Follow Up By: TomH - Saturday, Sep 27, 2014 at 07:52

Saturday, Sep 27, 2014 at 07:52
Without being nasty in any way, perhaps there is a reason why no one else has one. If you Google vehicle reliability guides in USA you may see why. Chrysler has a dismal record in the USA and for a reason.

Also read some time ago that the auto suspension was not the best idea if towing.
In saying that we had a new 300C as a rental in the USA and it was a beautiful car but a bit like driving a boat.
Was harder to park than a Landcruiser. LOL.

Lemons come in various flavours I guess.
FollowupID: 824214

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Sep 27, 2014 at 11:57

Saturday, Sep 27, 2014 at 11:57
Quentin,
I drive a 10 year old diesel Grand Cherokee and I reckon it's the constant harping from non Jeep owners that sows the seeds of doubt in your mind about reliability because mine has never done anything to warrant concern. I did actually have to replace the water pump though last year...outrageous in a 9 year old car. How can Jeep executives sleep at night?
Reliability surveys don't mean much, it depends on what the faults are and whether they are just annoying or actually stop the car. I've had Nissans and Toyotas but I actually like my Jeep a lot more than them even though it has some annoying characteristics sometimes...like the farting noise that the climate control makes after you turn the car off sometimes. Some people could get annoyed at that. It seems that your issue falls into that category as well and yes you should be chasing them for a resolution.
After owning one I will say I steer clear of dealers once warranty is over. Mine has a Mercedes motor and Merc parts for it are cheaper than Jeep parts. I found that out with the water pump. :-) Good luck with your battle.
FollowupID: 824217