18 female and just bought a troopy.

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 19:31
ThreadID: 109650 Views:4432 Replies:13 FollowUps:16
Yes you read that correctly.

Let me start of by saying I know nothing about cars. I know what look I like and what type of drive I like. Troopcarriers are it. So my parents bought me a troopy (No I'm spoilt I worked hard for it) They did so with a diesel mechanic and its all sound. Its an ex ambulance to engine is in great condition. Its also only done 150thousand its a 1992 model.

I have someone who's going to show me more about cars and mine in particular and I want to be as involved in everything done to it as possible. What I'm trying to say is for me to be able to use this rig to travel oz what am I going to need and if possible for the more technical things if you could try and explain the reason for it.

Thanks in advance.

(For any rude people you can kiss my spare tyre) ;)

Reply By: Zee M - Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 19:32

Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 19:32
Was meant to say *not spoilt*
AnswerID: 539642

Reply By: Member - Paul K - VIC - Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 19:46

Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 19:46
The first thing to do is join a local 4wd club to learn about using and driving your 4wd
AnswerID: 539643

Follow Up By: Zeezee - Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 21:07

Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 21:07
I actually don't think there is one locally will have to do a bit more searching. Theres a bunch of blokes who do locally 4wd but wouldnt be able to go to them for help. Its not a "girl" thing apparently haha
(Not one of them own a troopy either all new off the shelve cars )
FollowupID: 824290

Follow Up By: Penchy - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 07:29

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 07:29
I disagree. 4wd clubs are not for everyone. There are rules and politics involved that can take away from the experience. This is probably not the best forum for an 18yr old as most members are "mature aged", I would suggest the 4x4Earth forum. It is run much the same as this one only each state/area hold regular day trips and weekend trips 4wding where new people can learn the practical skills from those more experienced in all areas of 4wding and recovery.
FollowupID: 824308

Reply By: Gary.L - Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 19:50

Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 19:50
Good choice of vehicle, in my opinion, built tough as, and will take you anywhere you would want to go.

I would replace the bottle jack, with trolley jack. When you get a flat, they're heaps easy to lift to change the tyre.

There are a heap of things that you could do to the troopy, but they're pretty awesome as is.
AnswerID: 539644

Follow Up By: Zeezee - Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 21:10

Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 21:10
Thanks Gary!
Yeah got a bit excited today and decided I would see how long it would take me to take all the tyres off and put them back on. Took one look at the jack and chucked it. Probably older than the car and would take almost an hour for me to get it high enough.
FollowupID: 824292

Follow Up By: Member - Fab72 (Paradise SA) - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 09:54

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 09:54
Woah....Gary! Have you ever tried using a trolley jack on dirt/sand? The jack wants to move as the car goes up in height. They're also quite heavy and awkward to store and get out (pinch points).
I'd advise against one other than for the home garage.
Fab.
FollowupID: 824311

Follow Up By: Gary.L - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 11:42

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 11:42
Hi Fab, I have been using the trolley jack on my troopy for the last 4 years, travelling extensively (30 weeks + per year) in the Kimberley, including trips out into the Great Sandy Desert. There are pro and cons for all types of jacks, but in my situation its my favourite jack to use.

You will need a base plate for the trolley jack. The trolley jack moving when it increases in height, doesn't worry me as much as if the vehicle was moving. The troopy is a big vehicle, you will find room for it, if you want to. It does weight more than other types of jacks, but it's lightier than the tyre Zeezee will be lifting.

Biggest plus for me, is that I can change a tyre in under 10 minutes using the trolley jack. With the bottle jack it requires about 15 minutes and also some digging to fit the bottle jack under the jacking point. When it's 40 degrees, this is very significant.

I do understand that all jacks have pro's and con's, depending on personal preference and vehicle that they drive, the trolley jack isn't for everyone. However for the troopy, I do recommend it.
FollowupID: 824322

Follow Up By: Member - Fab72 (Paradise SA) - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 16:15

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 16:15
Fair call Gary. I have a mate with 75 series ute who uses a trolley jack all the time. I've witnessed how cumbersome it is for him to use and the associated swearing that goes along with it.
I guess there's plenty of options from an exhaust bag, scissor jack, bottle jack, trolley jack and a high lift.
My personal preference is the factory scissor jack with a home made longer handle and an add in block to take up the extra height since my lift. The jack stows nicely and it cleans up easily. Few parts to fail either.
No right or wrong I guess.
Fab.
FollowupID: 824343

Follow Up By: Member - Laurie K (WA) - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 23:14

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 23:14
A little trick I use is this. If the tyre is punctured, but will hold air and releases slowly, I use my compressor to pump up the flat tyre. I then slide my HYDRAULIC jack under the spring centre and find that I only have to lift an inch or two to lift the wheel off the ground. Very quick and EASY.
If the tyre is split, back to square one…. If the tyre is mounted under the rear of the vehicle, and you are travelling in sand, get it out and place it high on the vehicle. Trying to get it out when replacing a tyre in loose sand is nigh on impossible

Tips ….. first purchase …. compressor ….. second purchase …. hydraulic jack

If it's on split rims and tubed tyres, replace with steel safety rims and tubeless tyres. In my experience, Tubes have a habit of puncturing thru tyre rub. And make sure that your tyres are Light Truck construction.

I was a newbie 10 years ago, and 320,000 kms later, this is some of what I have learned in my time.

Laurie
FollowupID: 824356

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 08:34

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 08:34
jacks and tyre are a subject for much discussion.

a lot of issues to do with tyre changing and jacking vehickes are to do with technique...some people make it very hard on themselves...remember jacking vehicles and changing tyres is very different off road than it is on a hard flat surface.

On the matter of factory jacks......if they have been lying arround for some time, they can get stiff and unco-operative...a good clean and lubricate can change that completely.

making better and extended handles can also make all the difference.

remember the factory jack is as cheap as it can be and still do the job.

I don't know about carrying a trolly jack......but a good hydraulic jack may be a good investment.....there are a lot of variations so look at the lowered height and the lift range.

No one has mentioned a high lift jack yet......there are completely useless unless you have bar work all round and there are those who think they are wonderfull and those who think they are a dangerous PITA.

regardless if you are going off road you need to carry a jacking plate to put under the jack so it does not sink into soft ground.
I carry a piece of 10mm steel plate 300mm square.... it can double as a cooking plate on my butane stove.

as for the split rims........that is another matter of debate.....there has been a lot said against split rims.......there are plenty still running them and prefeer them.......at least one tour company insists all vehicles run split rims on remote tours..I can see their reasoning.

as for the first purchase after the vehicle manual.....the Gregories-4wd survival guide......make sure its the gregories one......it is aligned with the national 4wd training curiculum and many 4wd training courses use it as their text.

it addresses many of these issues and much more.

FollowupID: 824361

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 20:05

Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 20:05
Zee,

Ideal vehicle - you will love it. As already said, suggest join a 4WD club offering training. A Troopy will do almost anything you ask, but training helps you know what to ask! It's a lot more than you'd expect.

For ideas, check out our blog Our Troopy Setup. It details what we've done to ours to make it our home for trips (so far) of up to 3 months.

AnswerID: 539647

Reply By: The Bantam - Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 20:16

Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 20:16
Good to see more girls and ladies getting in for their share.

Females that own a drive utes and 4wds are getting more and more common..good thing too.

First thing to do is go and buy a workshop manual for that particular vehicle....lots of girls will think it is dry reading...but if you like troopies you might enjoy that sort of reading too.

The manual will tell you all sorts of stuff.

You might find 4wd magasines interesting too....but remember they are all trying to sell something.

remember too...there are lots of guys that think a girl that drives a 4wd and does her own oil changes is realy hot.
best start carrying a stick to beat the boys off with.

Power to ya.

AnswerID: 539648

Follow Up By: Zeezee - Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 21:17

Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 at 21:17
Thanks Bantam,

Will source a manual, a friend gave me some magazines but had the instant urge to buy a bleep tone of uneeded extras and a seriously burning pocket. This was before I even had the rig!

Ahaha oil changes ay ;) Right big stick and bigger dog required!

Thanks ! I feel like a kid at christmas!
FollowupID: 824293

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 14:52

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 14:52
oil changes are actually a 2 minute job (not including time to let it drain)

all you need is a 10l 15/w40 diesel oil (dont get sucked into getting the best any name brand is fine)
a $2 bucket and a $5 funnel and a filter

first thing you do is after driving it drop the oil into the bucket
while its draining remove the oil filter (this could be the hard part as the averadge boofhead tightens them up to 100000000 ft pld tourque)
but subsequesnt changes just put the filter on and off by hand tight

then get your funnel - most super cheap funnels come with 2 parts one being a bendy bit that screws onto the funnel part - unscrew this part and throw it in the bin - then push out and remove the metal filter at the base of the funnel , this is now your dedicated oil change funnel
the funnel luckily enough will now screw straight into your oil filler with the cap off so you dont have to hold it
now after replacing the filter and the oil drain plug pour the whole 10 litres in in a steady not too fast action

finally remove funnel replace cap and use funnel to pour used oil from bucket back into the now empty container for disposal
FollowupID: 824339

Follow Up By: Member - Laurie K (WA) - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 23:18

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 23:18
When changing oil in the bush, you need to climb under the vehicle to remove the sump plug.
Tip ……. check the wind direction …. I didn't ……. very messy …LOL

Laurie
FollowupID: 824357

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 08:52

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 08:52
if working with a diesel in particular a 6 cylinder...remember that most of the commercial plastic drain pans are designed arround petrol passenger cars and may not hold the whole sump full in a diesel.

they are cheap enough...buy 2 and have the second one ready well before the first one is full.

Remember used diesel oil is BLACK...so black even the white bits are black.....if your female experience requires you to have nice clean looking hands.....serioulsy think about rubber gloves....blue high risk surgical gloves are good......I get mine from my auto refinish supplier...spray painters use em.

now here comes the cracked record.
when you go to buy oil and filters......you have a diesel...shop where the truckies do and buy what the truckies buy.

in all but the latest diesels you will be lloking for 15w40 diesel spec oil, preferably a JASO DH1 spec oil.

Mobil Devlac, Shell Rimular or Caltex Dello in no particular order.....they are the to 3 mass market diesel spec oils....if you must Castrol RX super.....its a good oil but one step behind.

Buy it by the 20 litre and if you are not paying arround the $100 for a 20 you are not shopping well.
look for a fuel depot, truck stop or diesel spares shop that supplies truckies.

Likewise buy your filters at the diesel spares shop.....you will buy a better class of filter and pay less..look for Sakura, fleetguard or Donaldson brands.

FollowupID: 824364

Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 18:22

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 18:22
bantam I wouldnt by 20l of diesal oil for the sheer convenience.
10l costs around $40 one drum one fill and you have a sealed container to store the used oil... doesn't get any simpler. as for oil change pans... waste of money when the cheapest plastic bucket works....
FollowupID: 824393

Reply By: Crusier 91 - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 06:32

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 06:32
Try and do a 4wd and recovery course. They are a bit expensive but worth every dollar. It could save you thousands in the long run.
AnswerID: 539666

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 15:10

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 15:10
+1 with Cruiser - you'll learn more about both your and the vehicles capability in one course. Important to know.
FollowupID: 824340

Reply By: Wayne's 60 - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 08:51

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 08:51
Hi Zee,

As Cruiser 91 said.........

Do a 4WD course and it WILL save you money and give you information on the "will need" rather than a whole heap of stuff you won't use. We still don't understand why people will spend $XXXXXX on a vehicle, and NOT do a course??

BTW, good to see that you have tackled the wheel change task :-)

As above,

Workshop manual, jacking plate, long handled shovel, tyre repair kit, tyre pressure gauge and a compressor.

Welcome to the wonderful world of 4WDing.........and have fun.

Wayne & Sally.
AnswerID: 539671

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 09:29

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 09:29
Hi Zee,
You haven't bought a car, you've bought a lifestyle!

One of my daughters bought an older diesel (HZJ80) Landcruiser when she was in her mid 20's, joined a 4wd club, did the training and was encouraged to become a trainer herself. With my initial help, she does most of the servicing (she has since married and her husband is happy to watch on!).

The Gregory's workshop manual is pretty good. If you buy tools, then buy something that will last - I've been happy with Sidchrome and Stanley, and they are affordable.
AnswerID: 539674

Reply By: Les PK Ranger - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 09:46

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 09:46
Welcome to the great World of 4WDn Zee.

A few comments about replies above.

Yes, join 4x4Earth.com.au very easy to get involved with trips and learn from others.
The forum is great, and most states / regions have trips, day, weekend, longer quite often.

Bottle jack is likely best for you, just get a good one, multi stage might be needed. and carry a larger thick board for a base plate on soft soil / sand, and some other blocks of wood to help where needed for height etc.
A shovel will get you a bit more depth if needed to get a bottle underneath (ie wheel in a hole etc).
A trolley jack is great in some circumstances, but you need a large thick board for it to roll on, it's just the way they work rolling as they lift, and this won't generally work on rough ground, gravel track etc.
A high lift jack may be good for some recoveries etc, but they need careful use to avoid dangerous situations.

Don't go out spending lots of cash too soon.
The troopy will be more than capable as it is, sure you might benefit from some mods, but you don't know what yet.
For 99% general touring, you will likely just need to basics like a fridge, some sort of 2nd battery setup, some basic camping gear, maybe some inbuilt storage (drawers etc), and everything else you may or may not need depends on what you have on it now, and what you want to do.
Eg. it may have a really good rear suspension now from the ambulance role, or it may be sagged and need a few $ spent on it.
That may be as simple as a couple of extra leaves in the pack and new shocks.

Enjoy, get out on some weekenders and plan and make your trips around Oz.
AnswerID: 539676

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 16:36

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 16:36
Hi Zee

You might like to take a look at the following link. Similar to yourself, about a Girl and her Troopy.

A Girl and her Troopy

Good luck with your adventures, and my advice, just get out there and travel...

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
AnswerID: 539692

Reply By: Member - Russler - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 18:14

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 18:14
Hi Zee,

Good for you getting your own wheels and joining the 4WDing community.

As others have suggested, I'd start with a beginners 4WD course, then look at intermediate and possibly advanced courses in due time. During the beginner course I would expect the instructors to show each owner the relevant things to check on each of their vehicles, including the rated vehicle recovery points.

Firstly I'd recommend learning how to change a tyre, and find out where the appropriate jacking points are for your vehicle.

As for accessories and toys to begin with, in no particular order I'd suggest the following:
UHF radio,
Long handled shovel,
Base plate or jacking plate (used when trying the jack the car up op soft sand - hardwood or metal),
Leather gloves,
Air compressor,
Snatch strap - the beginner course will teach you how to use one of these safely,
Tool box with tools suitable for your vehicle (yours should be metric).

The items above a relatively cheap compared to a lot of the toys, are transferable from one vehicle to the next, and can be used to get you out of many sticky situations. You'll probably find that the shovel and gloves actually get more use when tending to the campfire, rather than recovering your or other vehicles from bogs.

I'd suggest doing a course and a few easier trips before looking at vehicle upgrades (eg. suspension, snorkels, bullbars, winches, etc). These are bigger ticket items and aren't always necessary.

Hope you have as much or more fun as we've all had in this great land of ours.
AnswerID: 539696

Reply By: Member - Michael A (ACT) - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 18:57

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 18:57
have a look at newlandcruiser.net.au a fairly new site focussing on LC only at this stage mainly 70 series but building up with other models.

AnswerID: 539698

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 20:33

Monday, Sep 29, 2014 at 20:33
Zee,

Most of us have suggested doing a course or joining a club which provides training. We haven't actually said why. A few of the very important reasons -

1. Tyre pressure and dropping pressure to get a bigger footprint so as to improve traction when the going gets tough - in round figures, halving the pressure doubles the footprint, but how low can you safely go? Depends. That's where you benefit from the sort of guidance you'll get from a good club or instructor. This is also why Russler has included an air compressor in his list. (I agree with his list as a good starting point too.)

2. You need to learn when to sit back when faced with a serious challenge and ask "Do I really need to do this?" It's much cheaper to learn how to answer that one by drawing on other people's experience!

3. Troopies of course don't misbehave (!), but you may have to use a snatch strap to help some other vehicle. These are wonderfully effective but used wrongly can be horribly dangerous. They are a very good recovery tool but don't attempt using one without first learning about them from a reliable experienced user.

4. High lift jack - avoid if you can as they can be very dangerous too. I'd stick with the standard Troopy bottle jack initially, but carry a bit of 16mm ply or 3mm steel plate (30cm square is big enough) for it to stand on.

5. Just how much side slope is safe?

There is much much more that you will gain from a course. Maybe others would like to add to this list.

AnswerID: 539706

Follow Up By: Wayne's 60 - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 10:25

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 10:25
Hi John,

Some of your points are valid and others did put forward basic equipment suggestions.

Zee,

Do a 4WD course because it will save you big money in the long run.

Any competant 4WD instructor will advise the best basic equipment list and how to use it.

Wayne & Sally.

FollowupID: 824372

Follow Up By: Steve - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 13:51

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 13:51
definitely join a 4x4 club which will provide training, which in itself is great fun and chances are, there might be others with the same vehicle to compare notes with. If you only join the club for this purpose only, it will be worthwhile - otherwise, pay for one of the commercially run courses. They don't cost a fortune.

FollowupID: 824382