D40 canopy

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 12:05
ThreadID: 109668 Views:4413 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
Hi. Have a 2012 navara dual cab. I want to remove well body and fit a tradies type canopy. It seems they all bolt onto a tray back. Can anyone point me in direction of canopies that bolt straight onto chassis or someone who can make me one. TL engineering want ten grand for one which I think is a bit pricey. Thanks.

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 14:21

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 14:21
Kirk
For a robust ute tray only you will pay $2500 plus'
2007/8 I paid $8200.
Very well made with internal lights, top grade hinges and latches and central locking.
This WA firm was at Caboolture Qld. at the time.
Dont go for narrow pillars other wise there is a possibility of a collapse 'like a parallelagram' if a roof load is on the agenda.
http://www.roscos.com/
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 539724

Reply By: tojo - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 16:53

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 16:53
l have one that l may sell, got it made 4 years ago but doesn't really suit what I need now, Im looking to go back to a standard tray.
Its all powder coated inside and out, but white in colour
AnswerID: 539728

Follow Up By: Member - Kirk L - Thursday, Oct 02, 2014 at 08:22

Thursday, Oct 02, 2014 at 08:22
Thanks Tojo. I will get you to send some details to me and I may consider. Where a outs are you.
FollowupID: 825431

Reply By: Member - johnat - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 19:53

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 19:53
Kirk,
I see you are in WA, so my experience is likely not relevant, but I'll plough on regardless (I'm like that!)
When we bought our D40 Navara, we specified that the dealer took off the tub (what I assume is your "well body") and do what they want with it - I believe that they sold it, but care factor = 0! - and install a Michel tray body with drop sides. It is not a tradie tray, as the structure is steel with timber floor and it will withstand a nuclear blast! (at least, I hope it will!)
Just because they are up the road from here, we have spent a while watching them and talking to them about processes etc. They do a top job, and I guess you'll have seen some "Michel" trays about.
In fact, I have NFI what the "changeover" cost to us was, but it was worth everything we spent on it, the tray carries everything from bales of hay to a scoop of crusher dust/loam/sand/concrete mix/whatever and is still as good as it was brand new!
AnswerID: 539737

Follow Up By: Member - johnat - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 19:56

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 19:56
BTW, for a slip-on pod for the tray, we have been quoted a tad over 6k to fit the tray, to our design. Commercially available are a bit less, but you take the build as it is.
Why we went with a custom build is so we can transfer to another vehicle when the time comes to sell the Navara, and go on-the-road full-time.
FollowupID: 824397

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 22:06

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014 at 22:06
We had an aluminium slide on camper built in Hervey Bay Qld, Kirk.

The basic price for one, with 2 side doors, and front & rear windows, was about $8,200. By the time we added our options, the price had swollen to over $25K.

Most of the tradie type canopies, that bolt direct onto the chassis, seem to have front and rear tool boxes fitted, either side of the wheels too. Reckon with the extra work involved in fabricating chassis mounts, ten big ones wouldn't be too far off the mark. Any options will inflate this too.

If you could get something done on the east coast cheaper, then the savings might pay for the fuel to go and pick it up. Some time spent with Mr Google might aid your search?

AnswerID: 539745

Reply By: Member - Kirk L - Thursday, Oct 02, 2014 at 08:20

Thursday, Oct 02, 2014 at 08:20
Thanks everyone. I will analize all that good info. Couldn't get on yesterday. Think site was down. Cheers.
AnswerID: 539781

Reply By: Cyberess - Saturday, Oct 04, 2014 at 22:02

Saturday, Oct 04, 2014 at 22:02
2 years ago, I had a reason quote for a steel chassis mounted gull wind doored canopy at a reasonable price from Stallion Transport Industries "http://www.stalliontrans.com.au/tradesman-canopies" -- they quoted me $6000 for a steel canopy.

In the end I went for a alloy canopy from MW toolbox mounted on a tray (alloy tray came with vehicle as original purchase), with central locking as setup with my vehicle's central locking. Defiantly the alloy canopy was one of the best items that I have added to my vehicle setup..

I have documented my Mahindra vehicle setup which includes the canopy setup on the the Myswag camper forum"http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=17679.msg375083#msg375083"

You might as well have a few pictures of the canopy and the plan that I used to get the quotes

The plan that was used for the quotes

This is what I ended up with..

AnswerID: 539936

Follow Up By: Member - Kirk L - Sunday, Oct 05, 2014 at 12:14

Sunday, Oct 05, 2014 at 12:14
Much appreciated. Thanks.
FollowupID: 825614