2007 V8 landcruiser ute warning lights

Submitted: Monday, Oct 20, 2014 at 18:05
ThreadID: 109873 Views:6971 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
G'day just after a little advice. Went through a bit of water just below bonnet yesterday and three warning lights have come on Fuel filter, oil level low and battery. At first they where just flickering now have become constant does any one have any helpful info ? It's booked into go in for a service in a few days but just wanna know what I might be dealing with cheers !

Reply By: Ross M - Monday, Oct 20, 2014 at 18:29

Monday, Oct 20, 2014 at 18:29
It sounds like the water has frozen the alternator brushes in their guides and they have lost contact hence no charging and lights will come on because the charging normally truns off those lights after startup and when charging commences, Try tapping the alternator with solid hits to loosen the brushes.

If not, disassembly may be required to free up the brushes so they can operate normally.
AnswerID: 540594

Follow Up By: Rick R1 - Monday, Oct 20, 2014 at 18:41

Monday, Oct 20, 2014 at 18:41
Thanks mate I'll give that a whirl and see what I come up with
FollowupID: 826504

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Monday, Oct 20, 2014 at 21:05

Monday, Oct 20, 2014 at 21:05
X2.........
FollowupID: 826508

Reply By: Ron N - Monday, Oct 20, 2014 at 18:52

Monday, Oct 20, 2014 at 18:52
Most current model alternators have the combined voltage regulator and brush holder just held on by two Phillips head screws.
Unscrew those two screws and carefully pull out the voltage regulator and check that the brushes are moving freely, aren't broken, and the slip rings are smooth and shiny.
You can also check for damaged connection contacts and wiring while you're at it.
Be very careful about hitting alternators, it's too easy to break something.
AnswerID: 540596

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Monday, Oct 20, 2014 at 23:01

Monday, Oct 20, 2014 at 23:01
When they do your service ask them to check or dry out water around the starter motor as this can hold water and cause failures in the future.
AnswerID: 540618

Reply By: disco driver - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2014 at 02:00

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2014 at 02:00
Oh What a Feeling Toyota

I suspect that the water levels were well above design speci's.

Disco.
AnswerID: 540622

Reply By: Athol W1 - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2014 at 16:25

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2014 at 16:25
Rick R1
I recall seeing on lcool.org where it was suggested that after going through deep dirty water you should then apply copious quantities of clean water to the front of the alternator whilst the engine is running at low idle speed. Apparently these vehicles will withstand being quite deep in clean water (as I have done with mine up to 750mm in a 200 series) but they do not like the mud through the alternator. They also have an issue with dirty water laying in the V, as the starter motor is also in this V and can be immersed in mud and water for some time, and not so easy to get to.

Athol
AnswerID: 540654

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2014 at 20:38

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2014 at 20:38
Couple of years back, was talking to a bloke from Windorah, who'd had a problem with his early model V8 Landcruiser, after doing a bit of wading. Most of water round Windorah is pretty dirty as well.

Anyway, after some dramas with alternator, the vehicle sat in Longreach for 3 months waiting for a new wiring loom to arrive from Japan. Don't remember if the alternator needed replacing or not.

Might pay to try Athol's suggestion, as well, in case the mud etc chews out the guts of the alternator.

FollowupID: 826553

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2014 at 17:22

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2014 at 17:22
Hi Rick

Whilst I agree with all the replies so far I can also tell you that combination of all 3 warning lights is also every common for absolutely no apparent reason!!!

A google search will show you how common and unsolved this is.

My experience with this combo is the following

1) First time I was on the way home from the goldfields...the vehicle had not seen water for months...they just suddenly appeared on the dash and frightened the beejessus out of me...........I pulled over...visually the oil level was normal...the multi tester ( and dash gauge) showed charging.......I changed the fuel filter.....all lights still on...I disconnected the battery.....I re connected etc....all still on........I hopped underneath and tapped the alternator to free up anything maybe sticking...no joy

Out I dragged the sat phone and I called a Toyota dealer and my diesel mechanic at home and an auto sparky I knew ...they could not help

So I reasoned that I had verified that all the systems were ok......oil level....fuel and charging....I was many hundreds km's from any town...so I simply drove on waiting for a disaster to happen.........vehicle performed faultlessly.....

After a few hundred km's they simply went out!.......this has since happened 3 or 4 times over a 2 year period........

Google showed this is common...there is no answer I have found to date.......they eventually (so far)...go

Very disconcerting for sure........but your not alone.....don't fret if Mr Toyota cant find it because I doubt they will....just drive and stick some black electrical tape over the lights if you cant handle it :)

I just hope they don't charge you for something that might fix itself before you get the vehicle in there....or fix itself while its in there.........might be gone before you take it in even

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 540691

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2014 at 17:59

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2014 at 17:59
Should have added that my scan gauge showed no code faults !
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 826589

Reply By: Rick R1 - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2014 at 18:26

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2014 at 18:26
Thanks for the feed back. My batt isn't charging and as motoring along it seemed to put a blow out noise out of the turbo around 2000 rpm and sort of struggle. So is this cause of lack of charge to run computer or something ?
AnswerID: 540693

Follow Up By: Ron N - Sunday, Oct 26, 2014 at 01:08

Sunday, Oct 26, 2014 at 01:08
I trust you mean, "my battery isn't being charged"?
Have you run a multimeter over your alternator and battery to see what the voltages are?
The alternator should be putting out around 13.8V at a little over an idle, if it's working properly.
Your battery should be holding around 12.2V to 12.8V if it's in satisfactory condition, and being charged properly.

I worked on a Camry the other day where the engine was refusing to start.
I was suspicious that it could have been a dud battery - although the battery was near new, and a top quality Exide.
I ran the multimeter over the battery, and it read 10.8V - way too low, and indicative of a flat battery or an internally shorted battery.

I jump started the car and checked the alternator output and it was 11.1V, when it should have been 13.8V at least.
So, the problem was a faulty alternator that wasn't charging the battery properly.

However, even with the battery getting down to around 10.8V, the Camry had been running just fine, until it refused to start because of inadequate battery charging.

I replaced the alternator, charged the battery, started the car, and the alternator was putting out 13.8V, and the battery was then holding 12.8V.

The engine computer isn't reliant on the alternator charging to perform satisfactorily - but it is dependent on a supply of electrical current, of a voltage range that is set at the factory. I can't tell you what those voltage parameters are, but usually they are reasonably wide - generally in the range of 10V to near 15V.

If the battery was failing to supply enough current to meet the computers lower voltage parameter, then you wouldn't be able to start the engine, because of that excessively low voltage and lack of current-producing ability.
FollowupID: 826755