Where to go???

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 28, 2014 at 21:27
ThreadID: 109968 Views:2418 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
G day all,

I am a young 27 y.o that is about to settle down in the next couple of years with the better half but before this happens i just want to have that 1 big trip to see a small part of this magnificent country of ours!
Going to be taking my swag and kitted out '04' GU patrol. The more off road camping the better and would love to spend a bit of time on the coast camping.

This was only decided yesterday and where abouts around this magnificent country to head is the big question... I live in Melbourne and would be taking up to 6 weeks off. would ideally like to head north (maybe even as high as The Cape).

Is this do-able in 6 weeks?

If there are any recommendation's as to where, what time of year, how much roughly, places to definitely stop, and detours that may be worth a visit then i would love some feedback.

Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2014 at 21:49

Tuesday, Oct 28, 2014 at 21:49
G'day Luke M1,

I reckon you should just go for a drive.

If you like the coast, head up the Princes Hwy and poke around everywhere.
Get the Wikicamps app on your phone and when you feel like you're a couple of hours away from pulling up, check out the app for your place to camp.

Head west for a while and check out country Vic/NSW/Qld. Go to some old pubs for what is often a unique experience. Check out the Vic High Country on the way through, head out to Cameron Corner then out to Birdsville.

The World is your oyster....... Have fun.

AnswerID: 541008

Follow Up By: Member - tommo05 - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2014 at 22:32

Tuesday, Oct 28, 2014 at 22:32
Agree with all of this. From Melbourne I have gone for a drive up the coast for 2 weeks, only got as far as Northern NSW but it was a magic trip. I have also been out west VIC/NSW/QLD and fully recommend that experience, and have ducked over to Cameron Corner, Innamincka and Birdsville as well. I went to Uluru and back via the Strzelecki and Oodnadatta tracks in two weeks, and I have just been up to the tip of Cape York and back down the coast in four weeks - not nearly enough but it was all the time I could get off work so I can attest that it is do-able, however wet season is approaching so I wouldn't recommend doing that until mid-next year. You could also jump on the Spirit and go for a drive around Tassie - I spent 3 weeks doing that and could have used another 3.

I could not possibly pick a favourite out of all of them, they were all magic trips and I wish I could have spent 6 weeks on each of them. There is bush camping wherever you go so don't worry about that. How much depends on how far you go, because fuel will be your biggest expense if you are bush camping. Other than that you really only have to worry about food and beverages.

Where to go is the question we all ask ourselves here... there are too many options..

FollowupID: 826942

Follow Up By: Member - tommo05 - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2014 at 22:37

Tuesday, Oct 28, 2014 at 22:37
Oh, and don't discount heading west either...

FollowupID: 826945

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2014 at 22:48

Tuesday, Oct 28, 2014 at 22:48
It's hard to say where specifically because there are so many great places to get to in 6 weeks.

Just jump in the Nissan and choof off.....
FollowupID: 826946

Reply By: The Bantam - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2014 at 22:51

Tuesday, Oct 28, 2014 at 22:51
Remember Luke, the best thing about Victoria is the road heading north.

Doing the cape at short notice without preparation is not clever.

BUT hell there is plenty to see short of there.

It would be reasonable t have a good look around ( actually see and do stuff)and get to Cairns and back in 6 weeks.

SO..what is "ya thing"...surfing, fishing, rock climbing, spelunking?

Are you into the desert, the mountains or the beach?

How do you cope with the heat?

Then people may be able to make some sensible recommendations.

Is the better half comming.

Carefull though...you may find that there is more to the world than Melbourne.

Lots of people head north and never come back.

AnswerID: 541014

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2014 at 06:21

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2014 at 06:21
Similar view to what others have said
I would head up through the corner country Innaminka birdsville etc and then head over to the East Coast and poke around working your way north until you run out of time and need to head home
I would not spend too much time on the NSW coast simply because it is not too far from home and can be explored another time in a shorter time frame

Enjoy your trip and don't cut it short unnecessily, it may be a long time until you get to do something like this again with a carefree state of mind
AnswerID: 541018

Follow Up By: Kilcowera Station Stay - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2014 at 08:59

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2014 at 08:59
Agree with this comment and another that said to simply choof off. I would get a couple of big driving days done first up and then start exploring. You know, anywhere within 7 or 800 kms form your home you can do another time in just a couple of weeks but if you have 6 weeks now you can go a long way. But don't make the mistake of rushing everwhere and trying to go too far. You'll get back home frazzled, confused and wishing that you had of spent a bit more time here and there really exploring the area. Have a great trip!
FollowupID: 826962

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2014 at 10:04

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2014 at 10:04
Hi Luke

We found out the best way to travel and find places that just do not come up on a normal map and would require local knowledge is to be a 'Geo-Cacher'.

Geocaching is a world wide sport of using a GPS to find stashes (like a small lunchbox) that has been hidden by another geocacher. You sign the paper and report on the internet you found their hidden cache. It is free to join.

The best part is the hidden caches are in the most amazing places and only take a few minutes of your time while travelling. Give it a try.

http://geocaching.com.au/

AnswerID: 541024

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2014 at 11:52

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2014 at 11:52
Luke,

I too like eighty's suggestion, to just "choof off". :-)

Throw the swag in and head up to Bourke, Cunnamulla, and onto Longreach, Winton and up to Hughenden. You could head out to Cloncurry and the Isa, but it's getting warm out there at the moment. (Not exactly cool around Longreach, Hughenden & Winton either, being in low 40's at the mo')

From Hughenden, head up the Kennedy Developmental road, to the Lynd, and have a beer in the smallest bar in Australia, at the Oasis Roadhouse. From here head up to Ravenshoe(highest town in Qld), Atherton and Mareeba, with plenty to see on the Tablelands.Kuranda's worth a look, as are trips on the railway and skyway while there. Good coastal highway up to Port Douglas, and spend a few days in Cairns. You'll probably have to send for the better half while there.

Then meander back down the coast, or move inland a bit, as the mood takes you.

Have fun,

AnswerID: 541027

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 16:45

Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 16:45
Check out Mt Mulligan too, if you get to North Qld. Good scenery, and some history.

FollowupID: 827089

Reply By: gotha3ltr - Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 19:50

Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 19:50
G day guys,
Thanks very much for your replies! They have all been mighty helpful and have also given me a few ideas.
I will be probably heading off mid next year some time, just as the weather starts to turn here i think.
Have googled a few of the places that you have all mentioned and some of them are defiantly on the list of places to visit.
Again thanks to all of you for your insight and will let ya know how it all goes!
L
AnswerID: 541085