80 series 1hdt motor

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 14:08
ThreadID: 109989 Views:5771 Replies:3 FollowUps:5
to all the owners of these carsI would do a Bearing roll on them at 200,000 kms and 400,000kms as both times I've replaced them they had signs of wear and this is heaps cheaper than a rebuild motor so good luck with your 80s people

Reply By: Life Member - Terry 80FTE - Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 21:04

Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 21:04
The bigend bearing failure on those engines is what started LCOOL really,
100,000km was the usual replacement with genuine bearings, ACL's did much more, but was limited by not having "Select fit" bearings,
What shells did you use as I believe ACL's are no longer available,
Did you measure the oil clearance on the ones that "Had signs of wear"?
I checked my 1HDFTE bigends when I fitted the engine it had done 260,000km and were still fine, replaced them anyway with genuine ones as I wanted the select fit advantage.
Justify Your Existence
VKS 737 mobile 2458

AnswerID: 541089

Reply By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 21:51

Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 21:51
This early bearing failure and the concept of having select fit bearing shells has me a little incredulous.
If the crankshaft grinding procedure regarding size and finish was held to easily achievable modern standards, why would you have a range of sizes to select from?
Have a look at the parts catalogue. I am pretty sure you won't find a selection of bearings when you grind the crank undersize. Are they assuming that the machine shop that does the grind are going to be able to hold the dimensions within tolerances? If our little machine shops are capable of achieving this standard, why not the Toyota Motor Company?
I have a 1HD-FT, the non electronic fuel pump model, fitted to my ute. The engine came from a 1997 80 series that was a statutory writeoff. Before installation, among other procedures I dropped the sump to inspect the bearings and replace if required. I did replace the con rod bearings although they could quite easily have been re-installed and the crank pins looked like brand new.
The engine had done something like 190,000 k's.
So what is it with the 1HDT an otherwise excellent motor?

AnswerID: 541094

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 21:53

Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 21:53
I used ACL bearings for the replacements. The bearings that came out were the original Toyota.
FollowupID: 827105

Follow Up By: Life Member - Terry 80FTE - Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 22:50

Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 22:50
Toyota is just a bit fussier than most,
If there is 0.0007" difference in crank grind sizes from min. to max.
and 0.0007" difference in the con-rod bores, that probably wouldn't worry the average crank grinder,
but with 5 sizes of shell to pick from covering 0.0006" min. to max. you should be able to have 6 B/ends all running the same/optimum clearance.
Most engines I've seen usually only have a couple of different size shells in.
then depending on what marking sizes you started with and what if any wear, you can most likely jump a couple of sizes down with the shells to keep it at optimum.
I think the 1HDT's initially, may of had some suspect bearings coupled with an engine that was a bit harsher firing. add too long an oil change intervals, using less than adequate oils and there you go.
Justify Your Existence
VKS 737 mobile 2458

FollowupID: 827113

Follow Up By: Ron N - Friday, Oct 31, 2014 at 02:00

Friday, Oct 31, 2014 at 02:00
I read some time ago that Toyota reputedly had a batch of "crook" bearings that caused the problem.
The bearing metal wasn't up to scratch, and it was pitting or peeling off.
It was a random problem as I understood it, so it caused some headaches within Toyota.
I bought a new HDJ80 (turbo auto) in July 1992 and flogged it mercilessly over 3 yrs and sold it with 170,000 kms on the clock in October 1995, and it was still purring like a Swiss watch. It spent more time on the wrong side of 110kmh than it ever did on the right side.

Many Toyota engines are prone to sludging when used for short runs and oil changes are drawn out.
You don't do your Toyota diesel any favours running it for short trips around town.
FollowupID: 827119

Follow Up By: swampfox - Sunday, Nov 02, 2014 at 08:59

Sunday, Nov 02, 2014 at 08:59
HI
Toyota has many bearings and head gaskets used to get there engines exactly right within a relatively tight tolerance .

OEM/factories have been making .00025,.0005,.001 bearings for years . Even using 2 different bearings on the same journal ,to get that in between size

Turbo engines place a greater load and have greater wear on big end bearings than the non turbo versions . This happens on petrol and diesel . LPG does also wear big end bearings quicker than normal . This is because of the by product chemicals of lpg being left in the oil .

swampfox
FollowupID: 827240

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 19:15

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 19:15
the hdt in particular, has low oil pressure. 35psi hot at 2000 rpm vs a 1hz running 60 at thesame revs....good for economy, bad for bearings.
Add to this fact, that Japanese CD oil spec (minimum oil for hdt) is nothing like sae CD spec which we use...and your getting closer to the cause...no Jap motors had bearing issues....their Jap CD spec oil had heaps of calcium in it, like castrol cjx oil, now not available in oz.
Id be changing bearings with every cam belt.....$400 extra for peace of mind.
FollowupID: 827443

Reply By: peter r14 - Tuesday, Nov 11, 2014 at 11:50

Tuesday, Nov 11, 2014 at 11:50
100% agree with Dozer and I suspect the motor will possibly do a million kms
AnswerID: 541540