Rusted rim

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 19:46
ThreadID: 109992 Views:1791 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
G'day all, On my 6x4 trailer, the spare tyre kept going down and found that the air was escaping around the rim at the bead. Got the R and R bed breaker out and removed the tyre and found a bit of rust around the area where the bead seals. Removed the rust (not excessive) and gave the area round the bead sealing area a coat of rust kill paint.
Will refit the tyre tomorrow and hopefully have cured the problem.
Do you guys think I have wasted my time.
I also replaced the valve while I was at it.
Des

Reply By: disco driver - Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 19:52

Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 19:52
Tomorrow will tell you that.

Good luck with it.

Disco.
AnswerID: 541086

Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 21:04

Thursday, Oct 30, 2014 at 21:04
Mate

As long as you got it as smooth as the proverbial babies bum you could have a show.
However, it seems to me that if it's pitted, I doubt you'll have much joy in the long run.

With the brand spankers steel rims on our camper, the first thing I did was run a bead of fisholene around the join between the inner and rim.

But now that I think of it I didn't do the tyre/rim interface, so I guess I'm more or less in the same boat. Must check.
AnswerID: 541090

Reply By: Ron N - Friday, Oct 31, 2014 at 01:46

Friday, Oct 31, 2014 at 01:46
Des, I have HT Holden wheels on my tandem car-carrying trailer, and they kept going down.
I found the centre section of the wheel was heavy spot-welded to the rim in about 12 or 16 places (the centre material is about 3.5mm thick).
I also found that the spot welds had been "working" (flexing) under cornering forces, and the spot welds had cracked the rims in small semi-circles, where they'd been spot welded.
I installed tubes and the leaking stopped.
Many later rims have the centre and the rim welded in several places. This is a far better idea than spot-welding.

Good used, common model rims, are cheap, it's hardly worth the effort to try and repair rust damage. In the case of my car trailer, to properly cure the leakage/cracking problems, I'll have to replace the hubs and wheels with later Holden or Falcon hubs and wheels, as the HT pattern is pretty much obsolete now, and good HT wheels are very hard to find.

Also - be aware that there is often a difference in rim construction between car wheels and heavy commercial wheels on the common brands, such as Holden and Ford.

For example, the HQ-WB Holden rims on the 1-tonners have a much thicker centre section for heavier loading, than the standard rims fitted to the sedans and wagons of the era.
Similarly, Ford produce a heavier rim which is used on their Falcon utes and their high performance vehicles such as the police cars and the performance V8's.

AnswerID: 541100

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2014 at 18:43

Saturday, Nov 01, 2014 at 18:43
"Do you guys think I have wasted my time."
Hey Des,
Time in the shed is never wasted!
I would have done the same, and if it didn't work, buy a new rim.
In years gone by, I brazed a rim centre when a small crack from offroad use caused a chronic leak. Was a bit tight on money 35 years ago!
AnswerID: 541185

Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexic - Saturday, Nov 01, 2014 at 20:26

Saturday, Nov 01, 2014 at 20:26
G'day Phil, been getting plenty of shed therepy lately amd thoroughly enjoying it. Still to put the tyre back on the rim but if it doesn't work, I will get a tube ond give that a go.
cheers Des
FollowupID: 827231

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2014 at 20:33

Saturday, Nov 01, 2014 at 20:33
Good stuff - sounds like you've backed off work a bit! Just what I'm about to do!
I had an old 1960 model Treg trailer - rims were a bit rusty, so I cleaned them up and painted them, thinking replacement rims (originally 1960 Dodge rims) were unobtainable. Then one cracked, so I went down to Tregs at Underdale to see what my options were - I was guided down the back to meet Gordon Tregonning who had a stash of them out the back under a lean-to. They had been sitting there since 1960 waiting for someone like me to come along!
FollowupID: 827232

Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexic - Sunday, Nov 02, 2014 at 17:41

Sunday, Nov 02, 2014 at 17:41
I backed off work permanantly 11 months ago and really enjoying it. Have spent as much time away as we have been home. Been giving theTvan a real workout LOL
Hope to see you out there somewhere sometime.
FollowupID: 827266

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2014 at 18:29

Sunday, Nov 02, 2014 at 18:29
Sounds great!
I was planning the same. But had to cancel all our trips for the last 2 years. Son was on chemo for Testicular Cancer last year and my wife was on chemo for Ovarian Cancer this year - finished 2 weeks ago.

Looking forward to a better 2015! I started LSL last month, and will be on LWOP until Feb 2016. As soon as she picks up after the chemo, we'll be off in the Tvan! Will spend a fair bit of time in Queensland as we are expecting our 3rd grandchild in Brisbane in March. With any luck we won't see much of Adelaide next year!

FollowupID: 827272

Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexic - Sunday, Nov 02, 2014 at 21:07

Sunday, Nov 02, 2014 at 21:07
Geez Phil, you have had a tough time of it. Sincerely he 2015 is much better.
we spent 4 month's in Qld this year if you need to know any of the good spots.
FollowupID: 827288