accomodation north perth

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 18:51
ThreadID: 110258 Views:1913 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
we intend to be in Perth in mid February for the birth of our son's and his partners first child and are looking for 2 weeks unit style accommodation somewhere around north Perth. we have looked on the internet but conflicting reviews about the same premises have made us very wary. Does anyone know of a location they could recommend
Thanksjohn y
I will go anywhere as long as it's forward

Reply By: wizzer73 - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 19:04

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 19:04
Maybe a cabin at Karrinyup Waters resort.
Short 10min drive to north perth from the resort.

Wizzer
AnswerID: 542209

Follow Up By: Member - johnat - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 21:19

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 21:19
Yup, Karinyup Waters is great! We were there a few weeks ago, in a whizbang, and they were very helpful. Nice spot too!
FollowupID: 828460

Follow Up By: Ron N - Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 11:42

Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 11:42
WTH is a whizbang?? Is that something you drive, or something you camp in?
FollowupID: 828480

Reply By: rocco2010 - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 20:11

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 20:11
Gidday

sorry to be picky but you be a bit more specific? Do you mean the suburb North Perth or anywhere north ofPerth. That covers a big area

February is a great time to be here, fine and warm and great beach weather

AnswerID: 542210

Follow Up By: Member - john y - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 20:34

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 20:34
G'day rocco , mean the suburb of north Perth or anywhere thereabouts. Not tied to north Perth as such.. Regards john y

FollowupID: 828458

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 20:43

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 20:43
No worries John

I know some people who use the Northbridge Hotel, but not for two weeks and I see you are looking for unit accomm.

FollowupID: 828459

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 20:11

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 20:11
Hi John,

Have you thought about doing a house-sit? Free accommodation in return for looking after someones house, pets, potplants. No requirement to be home all the time. Here is a site that we use to find sitters when we are away. aussiehousesitters

Val

AnswerID: 542211

Reply By: Rob J8 - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 21:54

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 21:54
Hello John,
as regulars at Karrinyup Waters we recommend cabins there.
Easy access to the freeway.
Good pools, Good owners.
Regards Rob J
AnswerID: 542215

Follow Up By: Member - john y - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 22:21

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 22:21
G'day Rob, As a matter of interest was your stay for a period and do they have a weekly rate thanks john y

FollowupID: 828461

Follow Up By: Rob J8 - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 23:03

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2014 at 23:03
Hello again John,
we live in Busselton and unless we are staying before going overseas, we take our caravan. We have stayed for up to three weeks at different times in our van. Cabins usually overnight.
They are a Top Tourist Park so if you belong to that organisation you get the discount.
Their phone number is 1800 633 665
or 08 9447 6665

I have found them to be a very well organised park and have had no problems over the past 15 years or so.
we haven't stayed there since June as we are on a round Oz lap; currently at Yeppoon. Hope this helps.
Rob J
FollowupID: 828462

Follow Up By: Member - john y - Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 09:56

Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 09:56
G'day Rob, Many thanks for your reply,we will follow up. Safe travels and continue to enjoy your trip Regards john y

FollowupID: 828469

Reply By: Road Warrior - Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 11:30

Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 11:30
When you say "north Perth" do you mean the actual suburb North Perth, or the general region to the north of the city..?
AnswerID: 542226

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 11:31

Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 11:31
Ignore me, I should have read the thread. Nothing to see here, move right along lol
FollowupID: 828477

Reply By: Ron N - Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 11:31

Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 11:31
G'day John - Accommodation is not easy to find between North Perth and quite a few kms North of Perth.
If you stay in North Perth or Leederville, there's plenty of accommodation, but be prepared to pay CBD accommodation prices.
Once you move out of North Perth, accommodation isn't easy to find, until you get about 20kms North.

Here's a small house in Woodvale that may suit you. It's about 20kms North of North Perth, but it's highly suitable for a couple, and it has easy access to the Mitchell Freeway, which makes for a fast run into North Perth.
The owner lives in the rear house on the same block and he seems to specialise in weekly rentals. The rental cost is $130 a night, which is pretty reasonable pricing for Perth.

The accommodation has a rating of 5 out 5 from 8 reviewers. It appears to be a very nice spot, with parkland/bush over the road. The owner is pretty strict, no smokers, no pets, and suitable only for a couple. I find that apartment/house owners who set strict rules, usually makes for a pleasant stay.

With the Stayz site, you deal directly with the owner of the accommodation.

1 Bedroom house for rent - Woodvale

I think you're well advised to move fast, February is the high season and accommodation is very rapidly booked out from now on.

AnswerID: 542227

Follow Up By: Ron N - Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 11:37

Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 11:37
P.S. I trust the birthdate of the bub is spot-on! We got a new grandchild last April, and we flew from Perth to the Gold Coast to see him - but he didn't want to make an appearance!
We sat around for 10 days, waiting and waiting - and he still didn't appear, so the docs had to induce him!
So it ended up, instead of having a fortnight with new bub, we only had 4 days, before we had to come home again!!

FollowupID: 828479

Follow Up By: Member - john y - Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 14:35

Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 14:35
Thanks Ron, I trust we may have better luck with the arrival time but as it is their first who knows? As long as they are fit and healthy that's all that matters but I am sure Grandma will make sure she gets some quality time. Good luck and thanks again Regardsjohn y

FollowupID: 828492

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 14:11

Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 14:11
As a Perth dweller, I concur with all the recommendations you've been given here. I will just add one more - that may/not interest you. We've had visitors stay at Sorrento - there are two options here - either the Quality Resort or inside the marina at Hillarys Harbour Resort. Obviously, quite a bit more upmarket than a cabin at the caravan park but I'm not sure what you're after. It's a big trip to come to Perth and Sorrento is absolutely stunning. Everything you need will be in walking distance and its 25 min drive to North Perth. We don't have all day traffic here - just peak hour blockages and only in the direction of the city.

Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 542235

Follow Up By: Member - john y - Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 14:42

Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 14:42
Thanks Michelle we will have a look. With regard to traffic we live in a fairly isolated part of the Victorian High Country. 5 cars in 5 minutes in the local village outside of holiday times would constitute peak hour...Regards john y

FollowupID: 828494

Reply By: Member - john y - Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 18:48

Thursday, Nov 27, 2014 at 18:48
Many thanks to all who replied. We have been able to make private arrangements. Thanks again Regardsjohn y

AnswerID: 542249