How to find the gvm for my <span class="highlight">caravan</span>?

Submitted: Friday, Dec 19, 2014 at 07:21
ThreadID: 110462 Views:2099 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
G'day all, I have just registered my old caravan after taking it over the weighbridge & it weighs 950kg - how can I find the gvm for the van? thanks
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Dec 19, 2014 at 07:28

Friday, Dec 19, 2014 at 07:28
The GVM should be displayed on the Van compliance plate.
If your van doesn't have one you may need to obtain an Engineering certification.

AnswerID: 543131

Follow Up By: aussiedingo (River Rina) - Friday, Dec 19, 2014 at 07:37

Friday, Dec 19, 2014 at 07:37
Thanks Bill, the van is 40 years old & doesn't have a compliance plate

FollowupID: 830022

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Friday, Dec 19, 2014 at 07:40

Friday, Dec 19, 2014 at 07:40
We had an old 70's Golf van which had no Vin or compliance plate, built long before such things were thought of. It did have as was the norm a number written with a welder on the A frame. All that was required in those days.
The tare was on the rego papers and no GTM was given or required.
I guess as long as you don't exceed the capacity of the lowest rated component be it tyres, hitch, axle capacity etc then that is all that is required.
AnswerID: 543132

Follow Up By: aussiedingo (River Rina) - Friday, Dec 19, 2014 at 07:43

Friday, Dec 19, 2014 at 07:43
Thanks Peter, that's the way I am looking at it as well, norm

FollowupID: 830023

Reply By: bluefella - Friday, Dec 19, 2014 at 16:43

Friday, Dec 19, 2014 at 16:43
I reckon the GVM would be about 1250 kg, maybe a bit less, most of the older vans had a recommended pay load of about 300kg. It still didn't deter my dad from packing it to the hilt. How it survived is beyond me. Insurance is another issue if overloaded.
AnswerID: 543150