Poly diesel fuel tank with pump kit

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 13:08
ThreadID: 110479 Views:4834 Replies:8 FollowUps:15
Hi. I'm looking at getting a 200 litre poly diesel fuel tank (that comes with a pump, hose, nozzel and lockable lid) that you carry in the back of a ute. They cost a bit under $1000. Anyone got one that can provide some feedback?

My reasoning: I need to carry the extra fuel because my ute only has a 70 litre tank. Last big trip I had to use 5 x 20 litre jerry cans between available fuel stops - and I wasn't towing the camper. When I tow the camper trailer, the back of the ute is usually empty except for jerry cans. Even when I leave the camper at home and take the swag, I would have ample room in the ute for a big fuel tank. Seems a 200 litre tank with pump may be an easier setup (plus save me some $$$ on outback fuel prices).

200 litres seems a lot, but there's minimal price difference between a 100 and 200 litre tank. I probably want to carry an extra 120-150 litres of fuel.

I'd add a bigger (or extra) diesel tank under the ute, but most I'd end up with is 120 litre fuel capacity for $1400.

Reply By: Member - Bigred13 - Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 14:18

Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 14:18
Hi Jos ,Sounds like a no brainer,cheaper,more fuel than a tank underneath ,I have not used one myself,but a lot of earthmoving contractors use them,only thing you need to use the fuel regularly or otherwise it may go stale.
AnswerID: 543192

Follow Up By: Echucan Bob - Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 15:02

Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 15:02
To me the jerries make so much more sense.

Advantages of jerries: cost, can be easily removed when not needed, full jerries can be removed from the vehicle if load needs to be reduced, can be shared with others, a load of contaminated fuel is restricted to the affected jerry and not the whole tank.

Advantage of the 200L tank: less fiddly than tipping jerries into the main tank, unless stowed well jerries can move around

FollowupID: 830102

Follow Up By: Member - Peter H1 (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 15:05

Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 15:05
I have installed a 50 L poly tank in the tub of my Ford Ranger. As it [Ford] has a pressurised tank, I cut into the breather which is just inside the fill point. Fitted a "T" piece and a line to the poly tank and a valve at the tank. When needed I just stop, open the filler cap [Ford] which depressures the line and then open the valve takes about 5 minutes to transfer by gravity. I top up when the low fuel light comes, then I know it won't overflow. meantime I've had a rest/reviver time.

PeterH
FollowupID: 830103

Follow Up By: Tony F8 - Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 18:33

Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 18:33
Give Enmach in Bundaberg a call, I have a 60lt wedge tank with 30lph transfer pump from them, very good service and very reasonble pricing, if they haven't got what you want in their standard range, they will happily make one to suit your requirements.
FollowupID: 830109

Follow Up By: Member - Barry P (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 18:57

Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 18:57
to peterh1 where did you get your poly tank from,details etc thanks barry
FollowupID: 830113

Follow Up By: Member - Peter H1 (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 21, 2014 at 07:36

Sunday, Dec 21, 2014 at 07:36
It's two years old now but I got the tank from TJG Port Macquarie. They had a catalogue and I picked out what I wanted and would fit where I wanted it to. They also installed it the way I wanted it.
PeterH
FollowupID: 830132

Reply By: Ozrover - Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 19:28

Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 19:28
I got one from the Watershed in Alice last year for the Landcruiser Dual Cab, fits nicely in the tray between the tool box's.

Quite easy to use, I fitted a 2 pin 12 volt plug in the back to run the pump, just fill it up at the bowser when needed, 200 litres in the poly tank + 130 litres in the main = 330 litres total.

I put some D rings in the tray & ratchet strap it down, when not needed I can lift it out on my own with no problems, the only issue is that it does get a bit grubby with dust sticking to the spilled diesel, I'm a bit sloppy...
AnswerID: 543196

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 19:29

Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 19:29
Sorry, I paid $1050 for it.
FollowupID: 830114

Follow Up By: Ron N - Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 20:30

Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 20:30
Watershed no longer exists. They went broke around September this year, and the auction to sell off all their assets was held in late October.
Probably something to do with Bunnings building a Superstore in Alice.
The Mitre 10 went broke, too. [:-(

FollowupID: 830115

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 20:36

Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 20:36
Bugger! Alice Bolts has them, ask Scotty...
FollowupID: 830116

Reply By: Hoyks - Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 19:45

Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 19:45
200L would give you a good sized tank, but the footprint of a 200L tank is a bit on the large size and would take up most of the usable space in the back. I don't think the tanks are baffled either, so if you filled it up and did one re-fill to the vehicle then there is a fair amount of mass sloshing around back there, not really an issue when it is full or empty, just any time in between.

Is it a tray or a style side body?

Here are a few tank options.

or GT Campers do one that fits over the wheel arch in the back of the ute.
https://www.facebook.com/255848204492064/photos/pb.255848204492064.-2207520000.1419065030./713136215429925/?type=1&theater
AnswerID: 543197

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 20:52

Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 20:52
This mob have 100 l tanks that fit across the front of the tub (site was down when I posted, don't know when they will be back.)

AnswerID: 543201

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 21:34

Saturday, Dec 20, 2014 at 21:34
People like Atlas tanks (and others) will custom make a rigid plastic (High Density Polyethylene) tank of any shape or size.
With some practice and the loan of a hot air welder, you could easily make your own (with baffles) for a couple of hundred bucks, tops.

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 830119

Reply By: jacent - Sunday, Dec 21, 2014 at 04:18

Sunday, Dec 21, 2014 at 04:18
Hi mate we have one of these on our work ute, it's a grey poly one with lift up lid and under neath had a hose, pump nozzle/ handle like the servo, ours was 800ltr strapped down with ratchet straps. They are really good and would highly recommend! Yes they are baffled I looked inside and it has numerous honey comb spirals inside to stop fuel splashing around. Our ute gets absolute hell on the mine site and no issues apart from breaking suspension from too much weight! I would highly recommend it!
AnswerID: 543207

Follow Up By: jacent - Sunday, Dec 21, 2014 at 04:23

Sunday, Dec 21, 2014 at 04:23
Btw 200ltr tanks don't take up too much room we have one on a hilux dual cab and takes approx 1/3 of that small tray, I wouldn't bother trying to make one if u have the money these are great and fuel transfer is just as quick as the servo. Our small tank is mounted sideways so you can access the pump and hose from the side of the ute and fuel yourself or gen sets etc
FollowupID: 830127

Follow Up By: Jos - Sunday, Dec 21, 2014 at 16:01

Sunday, Dec 21, 2014 at 16:01
Thanks Jacent. Exactly the sort of feedback I was after. I did a measurement of the tanks and you're exactly right - it will take up about 1/3 of the ute tub space (no more than the current jerry can set-up I use).

To me, the convenience of not having to lift full 20l jerry cans out of the ute plus having plenty of fuel on-board far outweighs the cost. As I'm usually in dusty country, I also like that the pump and nozzle are hidden under a lid.
FollowupID: 830160

Reply By: gbc - Sunday, Dec 21, 2014 at 08:53

Sunday, Dec 21, 2014 at 08:53
Www.enmachind.com.au

If you can't find something that fits a ute here you aren't trying hard enough.
AnswerID: 543212

Reply By: garrycol - Sunday, Dec 21, 2014 at 11:59

Sunday, Dec 21, 2014 at 11:59
As a slight diversion can you get similar tanks to what Jos is enquiring about but for petrol.

No legal discussion please about how much fuel you can carry etc - just interested if you can get similar tanks but for petrol.

Garry
AnswerID: 543218

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Sunday, Dec 21, 2014 at 14:13

Sunday, Dec 21, 2014 at 14:13
All of the ones that I've seen have been for diesel, but when I was looking for a removable fuel tank for the V8 disco I looked at some marine fuel tanks for boats.

FollowupID: 830148

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, Dec 21, 2014 at 14:24

Sunday, Dec 21, 2014 at 14:24
Thanks was hoping someone might have spotted a suitable one around as it might be a better option to 44 gal drums.

Garry
FollowupID: 830150

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Dec 22, 2014 at 17:37

Monday, Dec 22, 2014 at 17:37
Garry,

While you could probably cart petrol in one of these tanks, doubt if the 12v pump would be rated to dispense petrol. If you could rig up one of those hand power rotary pumps instead, it would be just as efficient, albeit minus the auto shut off hand piece.

I made up a steel tank, 400L capacity, that I used for diesel, but it would have been okay for petrol, with a hand pump. 200L drums are a PIA, though they are light to move around, once they're empty.

FollowupID: 830216

Follow Up By: garrycol - Monday, Dec 22, 2014 at 20:38

Monday, Dec 22, 2014 at 20:38
Yes I agree - part of the reason I was enquiring if there were petrol specific systems.

Garry
FollowupID: 830221

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2014 at 09:50

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2014 at 09:50
The devise at the top is my "pump" for 200L drums........
Just add hoses.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 543291