What's to see in mid-west WA?

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 28, 2015 at 20:53
ThreadID: 110900 Views:2203 Replies:10 FollowUps:3
A friend of mine from O/S wants to do a 2week trip from Perth to Geraldton then east through Mullewa, Mt Magnet, Meekatharra, Wiluna and southward through the "Goldfields Hwy" to Kalgoorlie and back to Perth via Gt Eastern Hwy in a diesel dualcab
The proposed time frame is from early August on.

His query is; What apart from wildflowers and old towns is there out there.

I have a few ideas about Cue/Daydawn but would appreciate any help you all can offer

Tony
aka Disco Driver

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2015 at 22:06

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2015 at 22:06
There's a lot to see and I'm sure many others will contribute replies.

Here's one suggestion: Granite Loop Trail

And another: Kwolyin Rest Area

AnswerID: 545003

Reply By: equinox - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2015 at 22:24

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2015 at 22:24
Hi Tony

Coalseam Reserve and Jokers Tunnel would be good to see early on.

Instead of the bitumen from Wiluna, going through Sandstone to Menzies would be a good option, and your friend could visit the statues at Lake Ballard.

Kalgoorlie is almost a must see really for overseas people, however if you want to bypass you could go Evanston Menzies and Bullfinch Evanston Road and come out at Southern Cross. This option not really advisable in wet weather.

AnswerID: 545004

Reply By: rocco2010 - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2015 at 23:34

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2015 at 23:34
Gidday

I reckon wildflowers, old towns, wide open spaces, and camping out under a million stars is enough for many of us.

Checkout the Golden quest discovery trail which is a loop through the goldfields that will cover the more interesting and easily accessible places.

I hope he enjoys the trip.

AnswerID: 545006

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jan 29, 2015 at 01:12

Thursday, Jan 29, 2015 at 01:12
Unless there is special reason to go to Meekatharra and Wiluna, better to include the lovely and now tiny town of Sandstone on the road between Mount Magnet and Leinster. There is a heritage trail which includes the well known "London Bridge" as well as mining and pastoral history of the once much bigger town. My blogs from 2008 cover this area. Alternatively go from Meekatharra direct to Sandstone on a good unsealed road skipping Wiluna.

I have a blog from 2007 on the Goldfields Discovery Trail. The trail requires a booklet to read the history of the area; the trail is about the history rather than the scenery. Many large goldrush towns are now just memory, maybe a cemetery remains, otherwise just broken glass on the ground to indicate that someone once lived there. We found the Woodlines the to south of Coolgardie and the history and roles they played during the gold rush a better drive than the Goldfields Discovery drive to the north.Burra Rock and the larger Cave Hill Rock are of interest. They were used for water collection, as were rocks in the wheatbelt tour Gone Bush has directed you to.

AnswerID: 545007

Follow Up By: 08crd - Thursday, Jan 29, 2015 at 20:15

Thursday, Jan 29, 2015 at 20:15
I agree with you Motherhen, bypass Wiluna. Visiting Gwalia just out of Leanora is a must, the museum is brilliant, also you can stay overnight in Hoover House, which is an amazing experience. Then Niagra Dam and Lake Ballard. Travel down the North Coolgardie road and visit Ora Banda, then cut back to the main road for a beer at Broad Arrow. Take a texta to leave your name on the pub wall.

The trip up could also include New Norcia, Ellandale pool, Walkaway, the Sattelite tracking station 20k's east of Geralton and a trip through the Chapman Valley.
FollowupID: 832524

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jan 29, 2015 at 21:16

Thursday, Jan 29, 2015 at 21:16
Hi 08crd

Can you visit the satellite tracking station? We didn't know what it was when we saw these domes for ages, until we passed the sign at the turn off.

FollowupID: 832528

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 29, 2015 at 07:32

Thursday, Jan 29, 2015 at 07:32
I always find such places full of interest. If your mate hasn't ever been out west then everything will be new for him. Even if he thinks there is nothing out there - the nothingness is something to see and experience.

I am sure the trip will be great experience for your overseas mate.

AnswerID: 545011

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Jan 29, 2015 at 19:34

Thursday, Jan 29, 2015 at 19:34
Try this website.

AnswerID: 545034

Reply By: get outmore - Thursday, Jan 29, 2015 at 19:35

Thursday, Jan 29, 2015 at 19:35
I have seen this with overseas visitors before , id venture to say if hes asking if theres anything else out there besides wildflowers and old towns theres little chance he will enjoy the experience.
ive seen more than a few eropeans who if they dont have something entertaining them they just dont get it
I had one ruin a trip for me where wed pull up somwhere like a hahn inscribed tree and they wouldnt even get out "because its just an engraved tree" or complain at visiting a gorge because the last place we went was a gorge or show no intrest in coming accross a Black headed Python "because its just a snake"

entertainment to them is bands pony rides, ferris wheeels and plenty of people
the great out doors is not interesting and they just dont understand it.
yes some embrace the difference to what they are used to but many can not
AnswerID: 545035

Follow Up By: disco driver - Thursday, Jan 29, 2015 at 22:45

Thursday, Jan 29, 2015 at 22:45
I don't think there will be any problems like that with this guy.

Last time he was out here (a few years ago) he did the South Coast and Gt Southern. He just managed to get the ute back to the hire place before his flight left.
In his working life, a farmer and post retirement, a mad keen amateur Flora and Fauna photographer, so I don't think lack of interest will be an issue, more likely late back once again.

Disco.
FollowupID: 832535

Reply By: Rob J8 - Thursday, Jan 29, 2015 at 22:16

Thursday, Jan 29, 2015 at 22:16
Hi Disco, if it's been a good start, the crops will be up and the whole wheat belt will be green; might even be green around the goldfields, but do the granite country plenty to look at. All the suggestions are great. Tell him to check out the Dowerin Field Day.
Rob j ex MBL
AnswerID: 545043

Reply By: Member - Twocrowsdown - Friday, Jan 30, 2015 at 15:08

Friday, Jan 30, 2015 at 15:08
A few more suggestions : Hutt River Provence near Northamptom, Agnew pub near Leinster and maybe the section of the Holland Track between Coolgardie and Hyden-Lake King rd. Don't forget that searching out a few Geocaches can help to make the trip a bit more interesting.
AnswerID: 545071

Reply By: Member - Geoff B (WA) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 12:03

Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 12:03
There is so much to see out there. See if you can lay your hands on a copy of the book "Gascoyne Murchison Outback Pathways" . It was printed in 2006 but it gives a lot of info and history of the area.
AnswerID: 545109