GPS Unit Recommendations?

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 11:08
ThreadID: 110924 Views:2963 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
Hey all,

Today my mother in law sprung on me, that she needs to get her husband a GPS unit to mount in their car for his Birthday which is today.

My first preference would be to go in to my local dick smiths or good guys.

http://www.dicksmith.com.au/navigation-travel/in-car-navigation?icc=navigationtravel_category_tile_incargps&icn=_bau_categorytiles&price=100-200

http://www.thegoodguys.com.au/gps?cm_cr=No+Campaign-_-Web+Activity-_-featured_category_product-_-Widget_CategoryRecommendation_3074457345618260721-_-GPS-productNameLink

What recommendations does everyone have?

I was thinking free map updates would be a must.

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 11:39

Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 11:39
Lewie,

Have a couple of Garmin GPS units, a Nuvi 255W that still works, and a Nuvi 1390 with free map upgrades, that only lasted 18 months or so. You can get even larger size Garmins now for less than $200 at JB and other retailers.

Reason I went with Garmins was that was the brand used in all the light aircraft/helicopters, that I'd been in. No doubt Tomtom and the other brands are just as good.......all comes down to what suits you.........or the MIL. :-)

Also have a Hema but they're probably a bit exxy for just general use?

AnswerID: 545105

Follow Up By: baznpud (tassie) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 13:54

Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 13:54
garmin x 2.
baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 832638

Reply By: Member - Taxi Driver - Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 15:38

Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 15:38
Hi Lewie
I have a Navman and TomTom and reckon the TT bests the Navman hands down. I have a Via620
AnswerID: 545115

Reply By: get outmore - Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 17:13

Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 17:13
I no longer use GPS units for navigation. my phone has 2 free apps to do this and works alot better than navman tom tom etc
Ive been frustrated with these POS in the past when entering an addy and not knowing the suburb or the suburb in nthe addy is apparantly wrong and is actually in the neighbouring suburb
google maps still works out the suburb for you and never needs map updates
and no it doesnt suck data --- far from it.
I would have thought now pretty much everyone has a smart phone it would have killed these dinosaurs off but not yet?
AnswerID: 545122

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 19:39

Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 19:39
Yep, would agree. been caught out few times in the wrong car and did have a navigator, I just used Google maps and it works fine, and all free.
I do have Igo on a cheap Chinese android tablet, only use Igo now because of the better mount.
But for the sort of use I have I wouldn't buy a straight street navigator gas.

FollowupID: 832662

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 23:10

Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 23:10
Yes ..if you have a smartphone, are on phone plan that includes data download and only frequent areas with phone coverage, a purpose built navigator for the average punter is close to unnecessary. Occasionally, just for fun, I use the street directory prior to a trip to the big smoke. Strange concept - printing out all those maps and making a book you can carry and look at :)

FollowupID: 832673

Follow Up By: urbanus - Sunday, Feb 01, 2015 at 00:54

Sunday, Feb 01, 2015 at 00:54
I have been using a smartphone for GPS for about two years and yes it works ok for the most part but can be infuriating when it does not get the instructions correct. The issue I find is that you cannot listen to anything else on the in-car system and hear the GPS app announcements as a voice over when the smartphone is connected to the in-car audio system. Consequently I have been thinking of getting a standalone GPS device although I prefer paper maps for planning.
FollowupID: 832676

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Feb 01, 2015 at 01:19

Sunday, Feb 01, 2015 at 01:19
No worries - my comment was fairly generic and appreciate your issue, nothing worse than being told to turn left halfway through a Taylor Swift song :)

Greg.

FollowupID: 832679

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 17:44

Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 17:44
The garmin 2797 , it has a 7 inch screen for old codgers with aging eyes! I have one, its great! Michael

AnswerID: 545125

Reply By: TomH - Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 18:31

Saturday, Jan 31, 2015 at 18:31
I have a Tomtom GO 630 5" screen which was the top of the line when I bought it.
It is still better than the Via model I bought for an overseas holiday.

You can buy a Go 500 or Go 600 now with lifetime free maps which is what I would go for if I was updating.

For what its worth it is a far better navigator than the built in rubbish in my VW which cost over $3000
AnswerID: 545130

Reply By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Sunday, Feb 01, 2015 at 08:40

Sunday, Feb 01, 2015 at 08:40
Your first preference is 100% WRONG , all they want is your money and see the product go out the door then pounce on the next buyer.

Go to Johnny Appleseed GPS store in person or buy on the net from their website, this way you get all the warnings added free, and top after sales service and info if needed. and get her a product that works , GARMIN.

Here's the JA website link.

This one shown would be a good unit and well priced for someone new to GPS

NUVI-55lm

AnswerID: 545148