Dashcam recommendations

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 12:28
ThreadID: 111236 Views:4157 Replies:14 FollowUps:24
Hi folks,

Any recommendations out there as to a good reliable dashcam? I will be doing a lot more driving for work as of next week and with the amount of bloody idiots I already encounter on the roads I think this will be a wise investment.

Reply By: milkieboy - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 12:49

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 12:49
Will come down to your budget but I have this one https://dashcamsaustralia.com.au/shop/dashcams/vicovation-marcus-4/

I am very happy with it. The image is amazing 2560X1080.

AnswerID: 546547

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 13:01

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 13:01
Looks good thanks mate, good size as well. Tax deductible so happy to pay this amount for quality.

FollowupID: 834280

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 13:19

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 13:19
You need to look at a BlackvueBlackvue
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 546549

Reply By: TomH - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 14:42

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 14:42
I have several In the Passat have a Blackvue DR500HD GW and a Blackvue Dr350 in the rear.

In the Polo have a DR400 HDG.
The 500 connects to a smartfone or a laptop by WIFI and the video can be viewed in realtime. ( Why you would want to is another thing)
Both record in true HD and there is a viewer that you can install on a computer to view the video.
They use microsd cards and can record 9 hours on a 32gb card. When full they overwrite the oldest first.
They also event record and overwrite those files last.

They are small and unobtrusive. Using a Power Magic power unit they can record in park mode for up to 12 hours or more.

Cost in excess of $200 each.

Well worth it

My old 400 in the Passat

[img]
[/img]
AnswerID: 546551

Follow Up By: TomH - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 14:45

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 14:45
The 500 is the same size but is black and now you can buy models with front and rear cameras as one integrated unit.

http://www.blackvue.com/en/main/main.asp
FollowupID: 834285

Follow Up By: TomH - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 14:49

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 14:49
[img][URL=http://s376.photobucket.com/user/Hillbilly123_2008/media/20130801_082118_N1_zps9d07f36b.jpg.html]

Shot from the 500 Forgot to say it has inbuilt GPS which can be viewed on Google maps built into the viewer
FollowupID: 834286

Follow Up By: Zippo - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 20:33

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 20:33
Tom, does it not put the GPS coords into the video? (I used to use a cheap DOD-Tech GS600(?) and date/time/speed/coords were all in the pic).
FollowupID: 834331

Follow Up By: Member - johnat - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 21:46

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 21:46
Zippo,
My "older" Blackvue model has several options, one of which is to disable some of the "display" detail. Coords are not always displayed, but are available in the file.
FollowupID: 834338

Follow Up By: TomH - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 22:10

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 22:10
Johnat is correct However if you use the viewer on your PC and use Myview it shows the coordinates above the video and can also show your whole trip on the map in the viewer.

I only have whats shown in the pic above.

If you need it for evidence is readily available when you play it back on the PC
FollowupID: 834342

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Thursday, Mar 05, 2015 at 15:38

Thursday, Mar 05, 2015 at 15:38
Brilliant, thanks for taking the time to post that info up. There is quite a few to choose from but I have narrowed it down to 3 now. Your help is much appreciated!

Craig
FollowupID: 834850

Follow Up By: TomH - Thursday, Mar 05, 2015 at 21:51

Thursday, Mar 05, 2015 at 21:51
Which ones
FollowupID: 834873

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 14:53

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 14:53
I bought a GoPro Black edition, Craig. Not cheap, but solidly built and clarity is very good on the few videos I've done. Some of the "necessary" options aren't cheap either, but some of others are.

Have set mine on 24 frames/sec, & 1080 (whatever that is? :-)), and at 90 clicks it's not bad viewing. Think the Blackvue mentioned above has had some good reports, from earlier threads on this subject.

OT, have you heard about a shark repeller thingy a WA bloke has designed? Read about it a few days ago, and has done testing on most of the top "feeders". Is mounted on the board, powered by a rechargeable battery.........that is one battery one would be charging daily!!! :-)

AnswerID: 546552

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 15:21

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 15:21
Haha! Funny you should mention that Bob. I actually already own a GoPro hero 4 Black edition and use it a lot for surfing. As you are probably aware unless you have it plugged into a constant power source the battery life of these units isn't great and I usually use one full charge (with a battery backpack) in one session. Not great if you want to use it as a dashcam on the way home. I tend to have it set to 2.7k in the water so it uses a lot of memory too which is why I was looking for something dedicated as a dashcam. That way I am not fiddling around with the GoPro all the time.

I live in Margaret River so you probably know we are no stranger to the "man in the grey suit" down this way. The shark repeller looks good and he's definitely onto something. I think I will still take my chances without one until it's been more thoroughly tested and used by other surfers. It may be a myth but I've heard that these devices can potentially attract sharks as they are naturally curious creatures. Either way if the worst happens it will be all over youtube when they find my GoPro!

Craig
FollowupID: 834287

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 16:31

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 16:31
Hey Craig,

You said ........."I've heard that these devices can potentially attract sharks".......
So OK, buy your mate one!!! lol

FollowupID: 834297

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 18:33

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 18:33
The inventor of the "SurfSafe" is a friend of ours! Lives just over the road. I went to mummy's group with his wife when our bubs were born 15 years ago. His name is Dave Smith - boardshaper, owner of Katana Surf in Osbourne Park.

Here's the article from our local paper.
It was also featured on the the TV show "Shark Tank" this week where they pitch the idea to a panel of investors. I just realised I missed it (never get time for TV).
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

FollowupID: 834318

Reply By: Stephen_L - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 16:48

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 16:48
Can highly recommend the MOBIUS action cam. Tiny and light and the picture is amazing. I actually bought one for use in my quad copter to take aerial video of my upcoming trip around Australia but have since though it would make a great dash cam.
One feature I particularly like in the loop feature which means you can simply set it to record and when the memory card fills up you it erases and starts to record over earlier footage, most good dash cams can do this and it's a must have feature. So if nothing interesting happens you let it keep recording.

At only $90 its a good buy.

Can be mounted upside down if you want and the image can be flipped in the setup.

Has two lens options and the wide lens is great for dash applications. The camera is so small and light that a simple bit of Velcro will hold it on the dash easily.

Hard to imaging such a small camera gives such a goo picture. Plenty of sample footage on Youtube as it is a popular camera for radio controlled enthusiasts.

AnswerID: 546560

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 17:23

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 17:23
I got a Navman MIVUE560 for Christmas,has been very good so far easy to use touch screen, gps, etc.
No S/D included though.

Link >MIVUE560

Rob
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 546562

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 17:56

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 17:56
Cruiser,

The dashcam won't protect you from the "bloody idiots" on the roads. Just potentially help with any litigation following a prang, if it's not your fault.

Better to practice defensive driving techniques mate.

AnswerID: 546563

Follow Up By: TomH - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 18:18

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 18:18
A very shortsighted view of things. Lots of stuff goes on that doesnt include you.

Read the NZ papers and see the bad tourists driving 4 have either killed themselves or others in the last two weeks.
One got fined a total of $20,000
Video of one car on wrong side of road for a long way with cars coming.

Driver who took the video removed their keys and dropped them into a copshop. Tourists had to charter a plane to continue journey.

Defensive driving didnt come into it.
FollowupID: 834312

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 19:01

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 19:01
I subscribe to a facebook page called "Dash Cam Owners Australia" but don't often have time to look properly but it seems so many people use them. They have a website too and this is a page of reviews that might be useful for you? See Dash Cams
Michelle Martin

AnswerID: 546572

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Thursday, Mar 05, 2015 at 15:42

Thursday, Mar 05, 2015 at 15:42
Thanks Michelle! There are quite a few to choose from, I didn't realise there were so many different types on the market!
FollowupID: 834852

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 19:03

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 19:03
Same mob also have a YouTube channel - Dash cams. Might be worth looking at the various footage that the different units record to make an informed decision. If it were me, I'd be looking at high quality so that if you need to reply you can capture the details of that all important rego plate, or facial features that could make all the difference between an interesting but useless bit of footage and one that could be used to convict a criminal or solve a crime.
Michelle Martin

AnswerID: 546573

Follow Up By: TomH - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 19:10

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 19:10
Unfortunately You tube frequently downgrades the quality and what you see is not what you get.

Actually very few, mine included will let you read the pates in the video unless car is stopped or video is paused.
The BV has a magnify facility that somewhat enlarges a portion of the screen as the mouse hovers over it. Not always perfect.
You can read the plates in my pic above. That is just a screen grab.
FollowupID: 834321

Reply By: Member - bbuzz (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 20:55

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2015 at 20:55

This one is on the cheaper side but has 1080 resolution and is small so it does not dominate the windscreen.

I have two in different cars and am happy with the detail shown.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/181475741636?ssPageName=STRK:MESINDXX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1436.l2649

bill
Bill B

AnswerID: 546583

Reply By: Jackolux - Thursday, Feb 26, 2015 at 11:03

Thursday, Feb 26, 2015 at 11:03
I haven't read all the above but I see someone mentioned GoPro , I have 2 a Hero 2 and a Black 3 , yes they are very good cameras but I would not recommend a GoPro for a dedicated dash cam .

AnswerID: 546603

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 11:14

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 11:14
Jackolux,

Interested in why you would'nt recommend a GoPro as a dashcam.

FollowupID: 834433

Follow Up By: TomH - Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 14:46

Friday, Feb 27, 2015 at 14:46
1 Too obvious

2 Only some models auto start

3 Some also dont overwrite when card is full

4 Most cost a lot more than a dedicated Dashcam

5 Not all have GPS or G sensors for accidental bumps.
FollowupID: 834452

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Thursday, Mar 05, 2015 at 15:47

Thursday, Mar 05, 2015 at 15:47
For me the worst thing about a GoPro is it's battery life. I always seem to be charging mine, swapping batteries etc. The later models have improved somewhat but they are not an ideal dashcam unless you permanently want a charger attached to it while it's mounted in your vehicle. I have too many bloody cords for things as it is!
FollowupID: 834854

Follow Up By: Member - johnat - Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 21:55

Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 21:55
Go-Pro are not intended for use as a dash cam because of the limitations mentioned plus the fact that they are not easily linked to an in-car power supply through the 12v supply socket.
That makes them less than useful in this application. The Blackvue (which is the only dedicated dashcam I am familiar with) has a power supply from the cig lighter socket (now known as a 12v power supply socket to avoid any possible condoning of that filthy habit) and does auto start, and records over older files, and has an option to record when the vehicle is moved - provided it is on constant power, and you need to be careful because it does consume some battery power in this mode.
FollowupID: 834975

Follow Up By: TomH - Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 22:21

Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 22:21
You fit a Power Magic and it will turn off either after a set time or when the battery discharges down to a set level ( mine is at 12V).

Allows you to record movement when parked.

Mine are powered through the PM from spare fuse sockets in the end of the dash, The only wire you can see is a short length from the roof to the camera behind the rear view mirror. The one in the rear has hidden wiring as well. Is also run off the PM and wires under carpet and up through right rear quarter
FollowupID: 834979

Follow Up By: Smooth - Thursday, Mar 26, 2015 at 07:47

Thursday, Mar 26, 2015 at 07:47
Hey TomH, Im new to the scene so Id just like to ask a few things if I may.

Is the power Magic a necessity, could I not wire it up direct with an on off switch, Ill have a look but how many Amps are these things using in general, understanding we all have different available options when it comes to power but just wondering if I could do away with the extra cost of what I can only assume (for my application) is an on off switch, I am also aware they provide constant power when power fails, engine starting etc so not having to reboot, If I wire it direct to my Aux battery Ill never need to worry about that, hence my mentioning that (for my application) to me its simply an on off switch.

FYI,
I'm looking at the Blackvue 650 2ch

FollowupID: 837073

Follow Up By: TomH - Thursday, Mar 26, 2015 at 09:38

Thursday, Mar 26, 2015 at 09:38
It depends on whether you want the camera on when parked and if so for how long.
The PM is adjustable for the shutdown voltage and length of time for parking mode.

They do NOT provide any power if car battery should fail

If you only want the camera on when driving you dont need a PM.

Best way is to either find a spare fuse socket that is only powered when ignition is on and buy one of thesehttp://www.jaycar.com.au/Passive-Components/Circuit-Protection/Automotive-Blade-Fuses-%26-Holders/Wire-Tap-Mini-Blade-Fuse-15A/p/SF5122

or this onehttp://www.jaycar.com.au/Passive-Components/Circuit-Protection/Automotive-Blade-Fuses-%26-Holders/Double-Blade-Fuse-Socket-Wire-Tap/p/SF5115

And one of thesehttp://www.jaycar.com.au/Interconnect/Plugs%2C-Sockets-%26-Adaptors/Automotive/CIGARETTE-LIGHTER-INLine-Socket/p/PS2003 Solder two wires to it one positve and one to an earth bolt near fuse box and plug the ciggy plug from the camera into it The camera has a 2 amp fuse in the connector.
It needs at least 1 amp to run I have installed 6 cameras using this method and all are still running after 3 years for the oldest Blackvue

It will run your battery down if connected direct and you forget to turn it off. Also it will fill the card up with unnecessary rubbish.

A 32Gb card will record about 9 hours at highest resolution
FollowupID: 837079

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2015 at 11:38

Thursday, Feb 26, 2015 at 11:38
Have just installed a HP F310 dashcam. It has GPS etc to record exact position and time of viewing. Time date speed and coordinates are across the bottom of the video.

Test shots are very clear but have not used it very much yet.

AnswerID: 546604

Follow Up By: TomH - Thursday, Feb 26, 2015 at 12:00

Thursday, Feb 26, 2015 at 12:00
http://www.bestdashboardcameras.com/hp-f310-car-camcorder-review/
FollowupID: 834360

Reply By: Member - Ian F (WA) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2015 at 20:04

Thursday, Feb 26, 2015 at 20:04
Hi, I have a VisionDrive HD Black Box VD-8000HDs, I find it excellent even though some may question the price.
AnswerID: 546637

Reply By: Member - Twocrowsdown - Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 13:02

Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 13:02
I have a Blackvue DR600GW I put in the Western Star I drive for work. With a 64gb micro SD card I think it stores close to 14hrs of footage at the highest resolution and frame rate. I bought a second mounting bracket and power lead I put in my 4WD so I can easily swap it between the two vehicles. Happy with the dashcam and because I'm on the road constantly I've collected quite a library of "WTF!?" video clip moments.
AnswerID: 546826

Follow Up By: Member - johnat - Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 21:57

Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 21:57
Some of them are funny, some are downright scary, but most of the footage is just plain boring!

The funny stuff is great, the scary stuff is exactly W T F ? and the rest is in the bin!
FollowupID: 834976

Follow Up By: TomH - Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 22:26

Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 22:26
Unless something happens I never even look at the video.

The exception was on holiday in the USA I saved the video each day for later viewing of what we might have missed and to show friends what driving in the traffic over there was like.

On Cruise control at 90MPH out in the desert LOL
FollowupID: 834980