Suzuki

Submitted: Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 13:27
ThreadID: 111298 Views:3343 Replies:6 FollowUps:15
I was over at Bunnings on the weekend and seen this Jimny, Don't see many small 4x4 with a decent bar and a winch.

Reply By: bruce b2 - Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 14:37

Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 14:37
Bullbar, i can agree with that, but a winch ? Surely you can still just pick the thing up and carry it under your arm. Also he probably has to carry a couple of bags of cement in the back to keep the back end on the ground ?
bb
AnswerID: 546831

Follow Up By: disco driver - Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 15:17

Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 15:17
Bruce,
The winch is NOT for self recovery, Suzuki jimmy's and similar do not get bogged. As you say, just lift it out if you do manage to bog it.

Most times the winch is used to recover Toyota's and Nissans whose drivers thought that their vehicles could replicate all the misleading activities shown in the crap called advertising.

Disco.
FollowupID: 834651

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 15:33

Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 15:33
I was in the PNG highlands about 30 years ago and the little Suzuki's were the preferred vehicle over the bigger Landcruisers etc.

Much easier to use manpower to push them out of a bog than the bigger vehicles
FollowupID: 834656

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 16:39

Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 16:39
Yeah they do get bogged just like the rest of us even on the beach.
FollowupID: 834662

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 17:37

Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 17:37
Pretty good looking bulbar not to bulky and heavy lookig, maybe they're saving up for a lift kit now because it certainly lacks in ground clearance.
FollowupID: 834668

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 14:55

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 14:55
Hey Alby

I was in PNG 30-years ago...!

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
FollowupID: 834718

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 17:18

Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 17:18
Wasn't Willem (remember him?) running around the bush in an earlier version (LJ50) of these once?

AnswerID: 546838

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 17:28

Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 17:28
Yes, he was Allan.

Last century, as I recall..... :-)

FollowupID: 834666

Follow Up By: Shaver - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 12:44

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 12:44
What happened to Willem ? Did he pass away ? I seem to remember he was either into painting or photography.
FollowupID: 834707

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 14:30

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 14:30
Think he's still going, Shaver?

He called in for coffee and a yarn, maybe 3 or 4 years ago, while he and Judith were camped just outside of Winton.

Someone made mention of him within the past 12 months.....he frequents one of the other forums now. Judith was the artist, as I recall, and Willem liked his photography.

FollowupID: 834713

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 15:09

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 15:09
Willem moved on from here a couple of years back. Seems his errr 'manner' was not entirely acceptable although his inimitable style would be missed by some here.
I have seen him on another 4WD forum but I have forgotten which.

But he is certainly still 'alive and kicking'. Here is a link to his personal website with recent entries.

FollowupID: 834719

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 16:37

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 16:37
Willem was one of the very first to welcome us to explorOz. He was a very kind & helpful man. I believe he was also a very knowledgeable man.
Not all people have the same ideas & at times all of us will make mistakes.
As we get older mistakes can become more frequent. I miss Willem but last I heard he was still around being kind to people both he & Judith.
Take care, safe travels Ma.
FollowupID: 834732

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 17:33

Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 17:33
G'day Doug,
I toured the Outback & High country in a Suzuki LJ80 that was kitted out with all that including Roll Bars, roofrack & dual battery. Also had a Canadian chainsaw with 3 foot bar on the roof for those fallen trees!
Just carried an Esky & a bit of gear & slept under a tarp.

All my mates in Landies & Cruisers gave me a hard time but after a few trips most of them had a pretty high opinion of my rig when they saw where it would go.

I will admit the 800cc engine was somewhat lacking & there were occations that the passenger was made to get out & walk to give me a little more power up the steep hills!!!

The little beast was even my wedding car when we got married in the bush. Still happily married to that good woman too.

Stu
AnswerID: 546841

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 17:47

Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 17:47
Ahh the memories of travelling in my Light Blue "mini" rig in th mid 70's.
Used to love getting down my 100cc + chainsaw & saying "thats not a saw, this is a saw" to my mates with their tiny Green Poulan saws.
FollowupID: 834671

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 22:25

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 22:25
So how did it feel to know that your 100 cc chainsaw not only out gunned your mate's chainsaws but also packed more HP than the car that was transporting it.....lol

The father of one of my mates had one of the old 2 stroke 3 cylinder Suzis. LJ80??

The mate and I took it out shooting one rainy night and got it stuck in a creek. No worries, he just gave it a few revs while I used those two lifting handles thoughtfully fitted to the back to give it a bit of a lift and a little encouragement. Out she popped.

(;-))

FollowupID: 834774

Follow Up By: alhow - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2015 at 10:17

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2015 at 10:17
Pop, the 3 cyl 2 stroke was the LJ50
FollowupID: 834785

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2015 at 18:00

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2015 at 18:00
Yep it sure was the LJ50.
500cc 2 stroke. Drove one of those a few times & it felt like it was powered by a sewing machine motor!

Pretty funny about the chainsaw having more grunt than the vehicle. Never occured to me at the time. :-)

Still remember the heater control was under the bonnet in my LJ80. Just a simple tap on the heater hose. Wouldn't put up with that these days.
FollowupID: 834816

Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 18:29

Monday, Mar 02, 2015 at 18:29
Doug, I am pretty sure it is like a bar I saw the other day, PVC piping, looked good too............................. Tongue in cheek...............

AnswerID: 546845

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 14:53

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 14:53
Don't tell Mrs Landy I saw this picture...!

We just bought one.

Psst...I bought a Suzuki Jimny

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
AnswerID: 546880

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 15:27

Tuesday, Mar 03, 2015 at 15:27
Baz think of the street cred you will get with a bit of gear hanging of her :)
FollowupID: 834724

Reply By: alhow - Wednesday, Mar 04, 2015 at 10:21

Wednesday, Mar 04, 2015 at 10:21
The winch contradicts the side steps, or is it that the winch is fitted due to hangup by the steps?
AnswerID: 549412