Arrg!, Age sucks!.

Submitted: Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 19:18
ThreadID: 117145 Views:3154 Replies:10 FollowUps:18
Could drive all day and half the night Yesterday!!,...Now,Last weekend a 6hr drive had me Yawning,hungry,and argumentive with you know who,..lol...I still like winding rough roads over freeway conditions,..keeps me awake!.

Cheers Axle

Reply By: Swaggie - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 19:25

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 19:25
That's why in New Zealand most the crosses are on straight roads, not that they have many..
AnswerID: 551281

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 21:24

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 21:24
Not many what? Crosses or straight roads?

FollowupID: 836779

Reply By: pop2jocem - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 19:27

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 19:27
Yeah, I know what ya mean mate. I prefer back roads, even gravel and corrrrrugated if corrrrugations don't go on for tooooooo long.

AnswerID: 551282

Follow Up By: axle - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 19:56

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 19:56
The corrugations can be a nightmare, at times Pop!..The Toyo 100s soaks them up very well ( Wifeys Machine) But when things cant get scratched the defender is used and she just cant get used to the different ride!, Cant' understand it myself ...LOL.

FollowupID: 836769

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 19:41

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 19:41
Gday Axle, how are you going you old bugger? I can still drive long distances but cant drive distances like I used to! But its nice to stop and have a break and enjoy the surroundings, unlike my younger days of driving non stop until my destination. Michael

AnswerID: 551283

Follow Up By: axle - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 20:02

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 20:02
G/Day Mike,.. Yeah my 16hr drives are done!!,God its comes quick!!!, But Just enjoy what you can do is my thing these days, Still working but that's another story..lol.

FollowupID: 836771

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Mar 21, 2015 at 18:14

Saturday, Mar 21, 2015 at 18:14
Yes Axle, Ageing is not for the feint hearted! Michael

FollowupID: 836817

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 19:49

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 19:49
Yes I noticed for the first time this year that it wasn't easy to lift the 33's onto the spare wheel carrier Axle.

Hint - Knitting keeps the other half occupied over those longer hauls.

AnswerID: 551284

Follow Up By: axle - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 20:09

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 20:09
G/Day Robin,..,Forget the lifting mate!, one wrong move and the drivings done for ever!!,..Cant have that.

FollowupID: 836773

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 21:27

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 21:27
Try lifting one onto the roof rack Robin!!

FollowupID: 836780

Follow Up By: Member - mark D18 - Sunday, Mar 22, 2015 at 08:41

Sunday, Mar 22, 2015 at 08:41

Just put my 2 spares up on the rack of the Troopie yesterday,
I was telling my mate that it is the first time I have needed my sons to help .
Yep getting old and hopefully smarter.

FollowupID: 836841

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Mar 22, 2015 at 09:06

Sunday, Mar 22, 2015 at 09:06
Mark, I have a small block & tackle to haul the spare up.

FollowupID: 836845

Follow Up By: Member - mark D18 - Sunday, Mar 22, 2015 at 09:22

Sunday, Mar 22, 2015 at 09:22

When I am on the road if needed I use A boat hand winch.
I bolt it on the front of the roof rack , fortunately I have only needed to use it once so far

That's the smarter part , the age thing I cant do anything about.

FollowupID: 836848

Reply By: SDG - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 19:53

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 19:53
Straight roads are suppose to be safer.
Yep.
set the cruise control. Sit back, and have a snooze from boredom.

Prefer the back country roads any day.

Heard many a truckie complaining how boring the roads are now. Especially when many now drive autos with cruise.
AnswerID: 551285

Follow Up By: axle - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 20:11

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 20:11
"Aint That the Truth".

FollowupID: 836774

Reply By: Fab72 - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 20:14

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 20:14
I'm hearng ya Axle.
I once drove from Adelaide to Singleton and back with only a 30 minute coffee break (and a few wee stops) straight after a 10 hour shift at work.

On another occasion I drove from Birdsville to Adelaide and would frequently do Adelaide to Alice Springs.

Now I look forward to a red light for a nap...lol.
Fab.
AnswerID: 551287

Follow Up By: axle - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 21:11

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 21:11
Hi Fab,...I think some of us are the same..lol, ..Like below the black top bores the Be jesus out of me!!.......Hahahahahaha.

FollowupID: 836777

Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 21:52

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 21:52
hey fab, when you see them red lights, the beds are for bonkin on, not nodding off

FollowupID: 836782

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 22:35

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 22:35
Haha..... not sure the missus would agree though.
FollowupID: 836788

Follow Up By: Ron N - Saturday, Mar 21, 2015 at 19:54

Saturday, Mar 21, 2015 at 19:54
I can remember from my much younger Green Machine days (1970), I drove my 179 powered HD Holden sedan from Bathurst to about halfway between Cdeuna and Penong - in one day!
A total of 1175 miles or 1891 kms in one day!
I left Bathurst at 7:00AM and pulled up to camp at 10:30PM that same night!

I was sitting on 135-140kmh all day long, and I only ever stopped for a quick bite for lunch, and a couple of stops for a leak.
I think I averaged about 112kmh for the actual travel time that day!
The roads were pretty ordinary back then, but luckily the traffic wasn't as heavy as it is today!

Last October, I did Warakurna to Leonora in one day (911kms), and I was totally stuffed when I got to Leonora!
The old body just can't cope, like it used to!!

Nowadays, it's the crouching that gets me. Crouch for 15 or 20 mins, and when I straighten up, the joints and muscles tell me I shouldn't be doing this any more!! LOL

FollowupID: 836827

Reply By: cookie1 - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 20:49

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 20:49
and I thought was just me... used to think nothing about taking off after work to the Flinders or to Birdsville. The blacktop just bores the bejesus out of me, can drive all day on the dirt though.

at least we don't push bad situations I guess, get worried about some young ones that drive to exhaustion though or drink those "keep awake" drinks, have had a couple coming at me on the wrong side of the road doing 110 - closing speed 220

AnswerID: 551292

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 21:19

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 21:19
Can still do a 14 hr "day" in a truck, Axle, and even the odd all-nighter, but I'm R/S for a few days after.

It's the other "bits" wearing out I don't like..........they never work when I want them too, or do work, when I least expect it.

There's no future in this old age thingy!!!

AnswerID: 551298

Follow Up By: axle - Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 21:30

Friday, Mar 20, 2015 at 21:30
Hahahaha,Bob!,... I'm not impressed with the the things that are wearing out either mate!

FollowupID: 836781

Reply By: noggins - Saturday, Mar 21, 2015 at 12:04

Saturday, Mar 21, 2015 at 12:04
There's no future in this old age thingy!!!

Your right there , Old Age ............. I'm sick of it !

ZZZZZ ( Nanna nap )
AnswerID: 551327

Follow Up By: Member - Bookleaf - Saturday, Mar 21, 2015 at 19:04

Saturday, Mar 21, 2015 at 19:04
Your sick of it

I'm Stuck in it!!!!
FollowupID: 836819

Reply By: mack c - Saturday, Mar 21, 2015 at 20:49

Saturday, Mar 21, 2015 at 20:49
Old age.

73 here.
Drove Patrol from Yeppoon to Adel in 29hrs 2 yrs ago. coupla pisses
and 1\2 hr quickie.(nap)
Used to run 3 log books on Semi's yrs ago.
one for law. one for boss and one for your wages.
>Then they put those clocks in the cab. Thank god for the spare key.

Nowadays Yeppoon to Rocky I want a nap halfway there.

I used to do Adel to Darwin. or chuck a rightie at Three Ways for Townsville.
all in one hop. Quite often a bike too.
Several times a yr.
And since I stopped paddling the outriggers at 68.
I've lost 40% of muscle mass too. Fat looks a lot bigger though
and weighs less.

2 x 25kg bags of pool salt up steps to pool, one in each arm.
Whistling.
Nowadays I carry one and glad when I get there.
amd the 14 stairs up to lounge at home get longer every week.

Roll on second childhood I reckon. Puleeeez.
AnswerID: 551358

Follow Up By: noggins - Sunday, Mar 22, 2015 at 12:01

Sunday, Mar 22, 2015 at 12:01
I know what you mean with that.
In my younger and fit days the super phosphate was delivered in bags , stored at the back of the shearing sheds , or any place with a loading dock.

I used to be able to grab 2 bags , stroll down to the truck, rip open the bags and throw- spread the super in the hopper.
Then go spread it on the places the boss said.
Then go back and do it all again several times a day till all the paddocks were done ( or we ran out of super )

Now a-days I'd struggle to lift one bag to put it on the trolley.

And as to loading Hay Bales onto a truck any more .................
FORGET IT !

I can feel the time for another nap coming on just writing about it

ZZZZZ
FollowupID: 836857

Follow Up By: mack c - Sunday, Mar 22, 2015 at 14:00

Sunday, Mar 22, 2015 at 14:00
Yea that hay thing.
Back in my mid 50's. Horses.
Lucerne by the truckload. We used to stack 8/10 bales high.
I used to swing one off the truck turn round. Balance on my forearms and throw it up to the top layers.
Hmmm. I doubt I could even lift a bale of lucerne nowadays.

And my Mainsail on yacht had a 42ft sail track,
8/9 oz cloth sail with battens.
I used to hike that thing up to the mastcap in one go. Just hauling on main Halyard. Cranking last coupla turns on winch to tension it.
Oh to be young again.
FollowupID: 836866