<span class="highlight">Caravan</span> Weighing

Submitted: Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 13:28
ThreadID: 117285 Views:2821 Replies:9 FollowUps:3
Has anyone heard of the Authorities weighing caravans in the Newcastle area.
Is it true or jst heresay?
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

Reply By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 13:47

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 13:47
Hi Dodg,
I don't think it has to be just Newcastle.......it could be anywhere..... I've heard that Qld Transport are active also active at the moment.
Surely you have been driving and seen RMS or other state equivalents on the side of the road doing inspections usually on heavy rigs...... but I spose if things are slow old farts like us are fair game.
Something I think about a lot..... as I tow a 'heavy' Kedron with a 200 series
Insanity doesnt run in my family.... it gallops!

AnswerID: 551809

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 21:51

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 21:51
We know some folks living on the road, kedron and Patrol ute. They decided to do a weigh in themselves = over 8.5 T
They now keep a container in Darwin for when they visit each year
:-)
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 837346

Reply By: baznpud (tassie) - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 13:50

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 13:50
Have heard of it happening in Queensland, but as yet have never spoken to anyone who has been weighed.
Have also heard stories of inspectors going into cvp's and looking at vans then saying the tug isn't by law able to tow the van, can't move it till you have the correct vehicle.
Again could all be a furfy as haven't actually spoken to anyone who has been caught.
baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 551810

Reply By: swampfox - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 13:59

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 13:59
HI
I thought it would be responsible ownership to beaware of your ball weight and the fully laden weight of your van . Having these correct makes for a far more enjoyable towing experience and a far safer holiday etc . Having these correct has always [touch wood] been a great great advice I have followed .

swampy
AnswerID: 551811

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 14:25

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 14:25
As a responsible owner I do weigh My van and vehicle before any long trip. However I have been pulled up for a breath test and the young constable went around the vehicle and caravan checking things and She said all was in order. Whilst this only took a couple of minutes a full weigh in would be an inconvienance.
The reason for my question was to find out if this was true or false.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 837326

Reply By: Bigfish - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 14:58

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 14:58
I don't know about the Newcastle area specifically but you can bet your life they are out and about and not publishing where they will inspecting. As stated. .Do the right thing and your have no worries.
AnswerID: 551815

Reply By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 15:48

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 15:48
Dodger.

About 3 weeks ago, Caravans were stopped by the Police and RMS to be checked near Marulan just south of Sydney. Apparently, there were a fair number stopped.

My friend, Rob, who also has a Kimberley Karavan towed by an Amarok was waved through.

Duncan
AnswerID: 551817

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2015 at 09:19

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2015 at 09:19
G'day Dodge,

Certainly the QLD one was proven to be an urban myth with a lot of finger pointing as to who started it. I don't know about Newcastle but my guess is it's just the same.

AnswerID: 551843

Reply By: Slow one - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2015 at 10:26

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2015 at 10:26
It's ok now there targeting farmers now and leaving vans alone.

Load restraint
AnswerID: 551845

Reply By: toffytrailertrash - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2015 at 14:35

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2015 at 14:35
With the number vans that have come unstuck over the Xmas period it would not be very surprising.
AnswerID: 551851

Reply By: DiscoTourer - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2015 at 22:20

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2015 at 22:20
The mermaids (not a Police issue) over here in WA often pull caravaners aside and check their weights. Mostly Carnarvon northwards.

With the number of public weighbridges out and about, it's always advisable to check your weights...and for your Fourby too.
AnswerID: 551874

Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Apr 01, 2015 at 01:10

Wednesday, Apr 01, 2015 at 01:10
Sorry, the heavy haulage group is an arm of the Police and has the same powers.

Disco.
FollowupID: 837414