Ironbark <span class="highlight">Solar</span> Panels?

G'day all, have done a search on here but nothing comes up on these panels, they are being offered as a special by Ironbark, which was CTEK, has anybody used them, any good or bad comments? Seem pretty reasonable at the price.........
Ironbark 120watt folding panel specs

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, May 11, 2015 at 21:20

Monday, May 11, 2015 at 21:20
The link you posted says they are Rich Solar panels. Bit Deals sell the same panels, and I don't think I've ever heard a bad report about them..........on this forum anyway.

Price seems pretty close to Bit Deals, though they sell at that price, or less. And not on special.

AnswerID: 553610

Follow Up By: Member - John - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 05:15

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 05:15
Thanks Bob, I did look up Rich Panels, says they are stocked by Autobarn, but not shown on the Autobarn website. Thanks once again.

FollowupID: 839494

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 08:47

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 08:47
No worries, John.

Prior to our trip at Easter, I bought a similar unit, a Powerwize 120w folding unit, for $299 from Autopro in Longreach. It has the reg mounted on one of the legs, rather than glued to the panels. It performed okay so am happy with it.

Noticed this morning that Ironbark has free shipping so that's a bit of a carrot for anyone away from usual suppliers. Specs seem pretty good too. Had a look at their site.....they have some good stuff!

FollowupID: 839501

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, May 11, 2015 at 22:47

Monday, May 11, 2015 at 22:47
Hi John

One thing that I can see that all major producers claim in no good, and that is the regulater is on the back on the panel itself , allowing no air flow to stop it from long term cooking.

There are some very well educated guys here on the forum that will give you the pro's and con's.

Don't be fooled into thinking that a so called cheap panel will produce the claimed output, as there are many factors that come into play. I recently went through this process and ended up paying far more than I had intended to pay on a top quality, high output Kick Ass solar panel. The quality is first rate, high quality, heavy cables and a high output panel.

Look around before you buy.

AnswerID: 553614

Follow Up By: Member - John - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 05:18

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 05:18
Thanks, what panels did you end up getting? I would remove the reg and put it near the batteries being charged.

FollowupID: 839495

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 07:29

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 07:29
Hi John

I went for the 200 w Kick Ass panel. And another great thing is that when I rang up to order, you get to speak to a real Aussie as it is a family run business up in the Sunshine Coast.

Check out their video to show you just how great they are. A mate of mine purchased a 160 w eBay so called special that was pure crap and was damaged. He returned it after a big fight with the supplier and then did what I did and paid the extra for a a Kick Ass and now is also a very happy customer like me.

FollowupID: 839499

Follow Up By: cruiser 3 - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 09:09

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 09:09
I've had panels from bit deals mounted on the roof rack of my Landcruiser for about 20,000 ks and they have performed fine. they are quality at a reasonable price.
Higher priced items are often no better than their lower priced counterparts.
FollowupID: 839502

Follow Up By: Member - John - Thursday, May 14, 2015 at 09:44

Thursday, May 14, 2015 at 09:44
Thanks all, have gone with Bit Deals, saved $69.00, better in my pocket. Thanks once again. John

FollowupID: 839623