Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

95 GQ Gearbox oil

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 03, 2004 at 22:41

Ferret

Righto, I changed my gearbox oil recently and put in what the book said,85/90 i think, but it seems too thick, especially with the colder mornings. It's a bit sticky shifting and I seem to have introduced a new "rotatingyy" type noise when it's cold.
What oil should I be sticking in a 95 EFI gearbox ( manual) in Perth? Brand and specs would be good.
Scott
Advertisement
ThreadID: 11799 Replies: 5
Views: 794 FollowUps: 1
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 53110   Submitted: Saturday, Apr 03, 2004 at 23:50

Coops (Pilbara) replied:

gearbox is best with a 75w/85, GL4 is what I have been recommended for my 96 80 Series. Should be similar.
This recommendation came from Russell at Synforce (Advertiser on this site) and you can contact him personally or order online.

Click Image to Enlarge
"Some cause happiness wherever they go, others, whenever they go...."
Reply 1 of 5
AnswerID: 53119   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 04, 2004 at 08:03

Savvas replied:

Ferret,

You may have misread the manual and put in an oil that's too heavy.

Castrol's lube guide recommends VMX-M 75W/85. Penrite recommends Manual Gear Light 80W/85. Penrite goes on to mention good cold shifting characteristics with their oil.

Check their online guides -

Castrol's guide

Penrite's guide
Reply 2 of 5
AnswerID: 53127   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 04, 2004 at 09:41

fourstall2000 replied:

Ferrret,I have owned 3, GQ models,petrol and diesel,you must use GL4.
The tolerances are too tight in the gearbox for anything else.
If you use GL5 (even some Nissan dealership use this more common oil)
You will find gear changes harder on cold mornings,I have checked this with castrol and GL4 is specified and must be used in these boxes.
Reply 3 of 5
AnswerID: 53149   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 04, 2004 at 15:30

Russell from Synforce Lubricants replied:

ferret, 75w/85 GL 4 is the correct one for you, 80/90 is too heavy and GL 5.
we are currently trialling a more suitable gear box oil with some forumites, may be one of those could comment even at this early stage.
russell
Synforce Lubricants
Member: Lapsed Membership
Reply 4 of 5
FollowupID: 314905   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 04, 2004 at 17:27

Roachie posted:

G'day Russell,
Sorry mate, haven't had a chance to put it in the Patrol yet. We're off to Coffin Bay for Easter, so I'll probably under the old girl ( and maybe the truck too....LOL) the following weekend.
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Beginner Surfing Course (3.5 hours) Beginner Surfing Course (3.5 hours)
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
Learn to surf in the best waves on Byron Bay's Beaches. Small groups.
Balloon and O Balloon and O'Reilly's Vineyard Breakfast
Gold Coast - QLD
One of the Gold Coast's TOP 3 things to do is to float in a hot air balloon and after enjoy champag
High Rider: Skydive x1, Harley Tour and Seafood x2 High Rider: Skydive x1, Harley Tour and Seafo
Sydney - NSW
This ultimate day experience for one to two people includes: a Harley Davidson return transfer from
Tower Bungy Jump Tower Bungy Jump
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
Climb to the top of our tower to experience the bungy jump of a lifetime!
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 53174   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 04, 2004 at 19:36

Martyn (WA) replied:

Scott,
My book says 75W / 90 and I run a 75 / 85 in the GU, don't forget the Autran DX 2 in the transfer case, have you checked that yet? Sorry I didn't catch you last week the week just got away from me, are you back in again before Easter I'm off on Thursday.
Keep the shiny side up

Reply 5 of 5

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions