A sign of things to come?

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 10:50
ThreadID: 119648 Views:3410 Replies:9 FollowUps:14
A pastoral station in Western Australia's Pilbara region plans to lock its gates to the public from the start of next month and employ guards following poaching and arson attacks.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-07-29/pilbara-pastoral-station-to-ban-public-after-poaching-arson/6654892

Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 10:59

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 10:59
Mate

Your link doesn't seem to work, but regardless and I accept the large drongo element out in the bush, are we talking about gazetted roads here? If so they can't legally be closed, as I understand it. Sometimes the track wanders off the road reserve which is a different case altogether.
AnswerID: 557500

Follow Up By: Hilux fan - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 11:18

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 11:18
The link got halved when I pasted it.

Try here
FollowupID: 843836

Reply By: Member - KBAD - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 11:30

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 11:30
About time people need to respect others if you want to go on pastoral land contact the landholder and ask permission, just as you would expect of anyone entering your property, lease hold or not.
AnswerID: 557503

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 15:46

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 15:46
Here is the whole article:& link

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-07-29/pilbara-pastoral-station-to-ban-public-after-poaching-arson/6654892

Pilbara pastoral station to ban public after poaching, arson attacks

By Ebonnie Spriggs and Lucie Bell

Updated about 4 hours ago

Station ban
Photo: Mundabullagana Station will close its doors to to the public from August. (supplied)

Map:Port Hedland 6721

A pastoral station in Western Australia's Pilbara region plans to lock its gates to the public from the start of next month and employ guards following poaching and arson attacks.

Michael Thompson from Mundabullagana (Munda) Station, south-west of Port Hedland, said he was fed up with trespassers cutting his fences, lighting fires and shooting his stock and native animals.

For the past eight years, Mr Thompson has also leased part of neighbouring pastoral station Boodarie, which is owned by miner BHP Billiton, to graze his cattle.

He said trespassers on both stations, particularly at night, were causing him stress both financially and emotionally.

"I think it's as bad as it's ever been," he said.

"At the moment we've got three different shooters, shooting at night on Boodarie and Munda.

"I lost somewhere around 100 weaners [young cattle] last year. At $700 or $800 each, it is a lot of money.

"I've tried my best to give the public a fair run but to lose close to $100,000 worth of stock from Boodarie alone... enough is enough."

In the past 12 months, Mr Thompson said his crew had fought five deliberately-lit fires on the stations, which led to a significant loss of pasture and feed for his stock.

After lighting the fires, poachers would then return to the burnt-out scrub to shoot native bush turkeys, which have become increasingly rare.

"Regardless of colour or creed, you need to seek permission from the station owner to use firearms," Mr Thompson said.

Syringes, bottles, nappies discarded

The leasing arrangement struck between BHP Billiton and Mr Thompson over parts of Boodarie Station allows for public access to a popular fishing spot near Port Hedland.

"We honoured that, we put arrows in the direction of the fishing and other arrows saying 'don't enter' because these are pastoral activity areas," Mr Thompson said.

"It hasn't worked. People think they can drive all over the stations.

"You go out there and see beer bottles, cans, syringes, dirty nappies, you name it.

"You think, well, that's the respect you get for trying to do the right thing by the public.

"It's always the minority that wreck it for everyone else."

Mr Thompson said a meeting had been organised this week with the miner to discuss limiting access to Boodarie, starting next month.

"I've asked BHP to have a meeting to discuss people travelling around on Boodarie at night," he said.

"I'm happy to leave one entry and exit point open for fishermen during the day, but as far as I'm concerned anyone there at night is there illegally.

"And anyone I catch on Munda [day or night] will be a trespasser and will be dealt with by the police accordingly ... because all the boundary gates will be locked."

In the past, locked gates had been cut or run-down by trespassers, as had boundary fences on both stations, Mr Thompson said, adding he was concerned his cattle would stray onto the nearby North-West Coastal Highway.

"A cow is worth $1,000 to me, so why would I want to let the fence go down?" he asked.

Pilbara police support pastoralist

Local police said they would be supporting Mr Thompson's decision to ban the public from entering Mundabullagana Station.

Acting Sergeant Lauren Tamblyn said the unlawful use of firearms on the private property was a major concern.

"If they are going to be using their firearms unlawfully and discharging unlawfully on someone else's property, it's very serious," she said.

"No person can know at any time exactly where the station hands are, or the managers of that station.

"It's worrying that they could be checking fences or wells or doing something and there are possibly people shooting in the vicinity."

Under the firearms act, major penalties could apply to anyone caught doing the wrong thing, Acting Sergeant Tamblyn said.

"For example, carrying a loaded firearm whilst affected by alcohol has an imprisonment term of two years and a $8,000 fine," she said.

"There have been numerous alcohol cans sighted around near where the [shot] carcasses have been found, so that's quite alarming that they are possibly drinking alcohol while making their kill."

Acting Sergeant Tamblyn said roaming stray cattle could put drivers' lives at risk.

"A cow can weigh anywhere between 400 to 800 kilograms," she said.

"So hitting a beast of that size, at speed, especially in the dark, could have catastrophic results for the members of the car."

Police are encouraging members of the public to respect the rules at all local cattle stations.

"By cutting gates and leaving fences open, you are exposing the greater community to possibly striking a cow at speed on the highway, which has the potential to cause a fatal car accident," Acting Sergeant Tamblyn said.

"You do not have authority to use firearms on other people's property, and if you are going to breach the firearms act we will be looking heavily at the offences."

AnswerID: 563325

Follow Up By: bigden - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 18:05

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 18:05
Doesn't sound like travellers to me.
Burning grass and coming back later to shoot? Nappies and beer?
I think the police need to look locally for the problem.
FollowupID: 843857

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Thursday, Jul 30, 2015 at 10:33

Thursday, Jul 30, 2015 at 10:33
Yes....That is exactly what I thought...the trash list spells it out...hard to see the most likely perpetrators clearly in the dark
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 856190

Follow Up By: Member - Munji - Thursday, Jul 30, 2015 at 13:06

Thursday, Jul 30, 2015 at 13:06
I grew up in that neighbourhood (30 yrs) and I can tell you it will be the residence.
Years ago, mid sixties, Boodarie used to let locals come out and slaughter their own sheep for $4.
FollowupID: 856196

Reply By: mountainman - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 17:07

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 17:07
This isnt in WA alone, its across this whole country..
always some twats in any recreational pursuits people take up.
Its going on in country NSW as well
AnswerID: 564351

Follow Up By: Hilux fan - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 17:51

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 17:51
It happens regularly in National Parks, with a recent report from the ACT. I also know someone in northern NSW who does a lot of wildlife monitoring in parks using camera traps. He loses a lot of cameras to illegal hunters, who carry portable angle grinders to cut the cable locks. He tried enclosing them in steel posts but they took those out too.
FollowupID: 843854

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 17:08

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 17:08
This is the full link, using the Insert Link button at the bottom of the reply window . . .
Pilbara pastoral station to ban public after poaching, arson attacks

I just emailed Michael offering my thoughts on this matter, sympathising with hime about the issues with illegal shooters, but pointing out that closing it off won't stop them, it will be just keeping out the genuine caring visitor.
Mundabullangana Station
AnswerID: 564352

Follow Up By: Hilux fan - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 17:41

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 17:41
Just closing it off won't stop them, but arresting and charging a few will certainly deter them. Unfortunately, they'll just relocate their activities to somewhere else.
FollowupID: 843853

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 18:05

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 18:05
For sure mate, just like the ban on many types of guns has taken them from the genuine legal owners, and of course the criminals can still access them on the black market.

This would similarly affect the genuine people doing the right thing, but the shooters will still cut fences and gate locks and go in to shoot.
Reckon the old hanging might deter them, they are shooting and taking cattle / calves ffs, obviously a black market for beef.

I said in my email I can understand his deciding to close it off.
Anyone caught there, especially with guns, can then be prosecuted to the full force of the law.

Hopefully it will reopen when the problem is sorted.
They will get caught one day no doubt, if there is monitoring happening, only a matter of time.
FollowupID: 843856

Follow Up By: Hilux fan - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 20:08

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 20:08
PK Ranger, you must be clairyvoyant.

Illegal hunters caught in Kinchega

Mind you, I think the fines are a bit low. Hope they had their hunting gear confiscated too.
FollowupID: 846611

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 20:14

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 20:14
Wow, that's a decent wild pig across that quad !

Those fines are pretty low all right, not much of a deterrent to people that will hunt anywhere they can get into.

Suppose the judge may consider they have been shooting feral pigs, but obviously without authority that sort of thing could lead to some innocent person being shot.

Expect that if the Pilbara scum are caught shooting peoples stock the fines will be WAY higher, as so they should be.
FollowupID: 847162

Follow Up By: Hilux fan - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 20:18

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 20:18
Don't know if there were firearms involved, which is why the fines were so low. Only dogs and knives mentioned in the article. Part of the wacky mob that gets their dogs to catch and hold the pig while they run up and stick it with a knife.
FollowupID: 847457

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 20:28

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 20:28
Like fisheries offences, maybe taking peoples vehicles used to access properties could be worth considering in all / some cases.
FollowupID: 848391

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 22:37

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 22:37
Looking at another aspect of the Kinchega incident, the national park should be cleared of feral pigs (using licensed hunters or suitable trained parks staff), then there would no no pigs for the poachers to hunt.

FollowupID: 851803

Follow Up By: Hilux fan - Thursday, Jul 30, 2015 at 08:17

Thursday, Jul 30, 2015 at 08:17
Motherhen, while that would provide some short term relief, feral pigs would soon end up back in the area. It is a long standing problem that people will transport feral pigs to provide themselves with hunting opportunities, and bugger anybody else's problems with it. Our local National Park in Vic is normally pig free, but occasionally a pregnant sow appears from nowhere.
FollowupID: 856188

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Jul 31, 2015 at 09:33

Friday, Jul 31, 2015 at 09:33
Not only transport feral pigs in , but let the dogs down the small young ones , then mark the ear and let them go to grow to a reasonable size for the 'chiller box' ….. $$$$$$
FollowupID: 856227

Reply By: Mick O - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 20:39

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 20:39
Ran into a similar siuation a year ago at Mulgaria. Thoughtless actions of a few caused that track to be shut down as well.

Closed for all time!

Mick

AnswerID: 573120

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 22:39

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 at 22:39
If they are public roads, the station cannot exclude the public from transiting. If they are private station roads, none of us would have any right to be there without permission.

AnswerID: 579162

Reply By: vk1dx - Thursday, Jul 30, 2015 at 06:58

Thursday, Jul 30, 2015 at 06:58
We got access to a property after much talking and emails. It was closed but we came to an agreement with some very strong conditions including one not to say where etc etc. They had similar issues and the owners closed it off. Some beautiful country lost to the public.

There will always be a bad apple in a barrel. All we can do is lead by example and dob them in if we see anything.

AnswerID: 588109

Reply By: Pattio - Friday, Jul 31, 2015 at 00:14

Friday, Jul 31, 2015 at 00:14
Good on them. Would you allow a bunch of yobos to come on to your 1/4 acre block or apartment in the city and drop crap all over the place and shoot whatever they wanted? Suck it up morons and learn to be respectful of other people and their property. Chris Patterson
AnswerID: 588153