LC76 Series Snorkell

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 20:15
ThreadID: 130584 Views:3059 Replies:9 FollowUps:5
G'day All,
I am taking the lazy way out here but in regards to the LC 76 series I am concerned about the join in the snorkel just above the bonnet. I have been told by Toyota that don't worry there is a sleeve inside the snorkel. I recently had the vehicle serviced and mentioned it to the mechanic who thought it was quite amusing and stated there was no such sleeve so essentially once the water goes above the bonnet it can enter that join point. I can certainly confirm by undoing the bolts and having a look but wondered if anybody out there could confirm before I do so? Plan on doing the Cape next year so it might be time for a Safari snorkel?
Any info would be appreciated.

Reply By: Batt's - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 21:42

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 21:42
Over the yrs I've read on other sites about this some people pull it apart and seal it with silicon others just replace it with a better quality brand so there's one less thing to worry about I think you're on the right track changing it with a Safari.
AnswerID: 591567

Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 22:04

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 22:04
Will

A lot of people go on about it and the noise, and the this and the that and invest in an after market jobbie for a not insignificant amount of $. I tried a scoop inlet in lieu of the std top and there was no appreciable difference in fuel usage over a 5000KM trial.

Ours has a 2" std type lift and sure we've had a wave of water over the bonnet, but when you check out the inlet level on the side, it would be a dangerously deep stretch of water to become an issue.
AnswerID: 591569

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 22:05

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 22:05
Be interesting to know what brand of snorkel this bloke had fitted?

Have a mate who changed to a Safari on his dual cab 79 series, because of the joins. I've travelled over the odd creek where the water was running over the bonnet, and no engine damage occurred.(not as far as the photo above though)

Have just purchased a 79 series ute and just measured the height of the join in the snorkel, and it is 1300mm. Not sure Herself would let me drive through water deep enough to top this. Think a lot would depend on the circumstance that you would be........err, testing the snorkels integrity. Direction of water flow, height, velocity and probably most importantly, the time spent in said water body.

Certainly change them over if you're at all worried, it'll be a lot cheaper than an engine rebuild, and the necessary recovery involved.

AnswerID: 591570

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 22:11

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 22:11
Probably a DRONGO SPECIAL. Certainly isn't worried about the inlet level as prior discussed.
FollowupID: 859587

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 22:26

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 22:26
There was a video of his effort, Rosco. Probably still on YouTube, and towing a tinny, as well.

FollowupID: 859589

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 22:33

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 22:33
Mate

I recall that now you mention it. Didn't the fool have a young lad with him? May have been in W Qld if I'm correct.
FollowupID: 859590

Follow Up By: mike39 - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2015 at 08:19

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2015 at 08:19
The last time I was at Toyota purchasing a new timing belt and idler there was a v8 trayback right next to the door with a for sale sign.

The bonnet was up and I was peering at the complicated looking setup when I noticed that where the snorkel pipe comes through the guard to connect to the air cleaner was a gap of around 100mm.

Next was a voice over my shoulder enquiring was I interested. It was the owner and I said no, but why is there a gap between the snorkel and air cleaner?
He turned a not good colour and said he had never noticed it before.

It would not affect the air filtering, but a deep dunk in the water like the one shown here would have been catastrophic.
mike
FollowupID: 859598

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 22:31

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2015 at 22:31
If it is the OEM part it isn't a snorkel, but should only be considered a raised air intake, the following video demonstrates it.

I know people have tried to seal, but success has been mixed.

I replaced my with a Safari Snorkel.

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
AnswerID: 591572

Reply By: Kenell - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2015 at 11:57

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2015 at 11:57
I have a 2011 76 series that I purchased new. I couldn't understand why people found it necessary to replace what appeared to be a perfectly good OEM snorkel. So I asked around and very quickly decided to replace the "elevated air intake" with a Safari. Yes - noise does increase but I noticed a significant increase in responsiveness too. It also sucks in some dust and I have noticed many using the sock arrangement or turning the top around particularly on the cape. The supplier who fitted the snorkel was mortified with the OEM. As others have said the gap is a fair way up the tube and no one goes looking for that sort of depth but as we all know sometimes the best laid plans come unstuck and a hole appears out of nowhere and a wheel drops in. It is nice to know the engine will still function beyond such a fright.
Kenell
AnswerID: 591595

Reply By: Member - Will 76 Series - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2015 at 17:48

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2015 at 17:48
Thanks very much for the replies. The snorkel I have on the 76 series is factory Toyota so hence the join just above the bonnet. As said the height is pretty good but still a chance of dropping into a whole so I am keen to put one piece snorkel on give the cost of a new engine etc.
A pity Toyota didn't spend a few more $ and put a decent snorkel on as I notice a few other brands out there like Landrover are putting great snorkels on their vehicles now fitted new.
AnswerID: 591599

Reply By: craigandej - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2015 at 20:51

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2015 at 20:51
I have a LC 78 series troopy. Before my first Cape trip in this vehicle, I completely dismantled the factory snorkel, and sealed each join with black automotive grade silastic. The joins were fairly tight anyway, so no huge spaces to worry about. I also run a uni filter sock over the air ram.

While you do that job, consider extending the diff breathers also.

If your vehicle has Toyota lockers, the locker housings have their own breathers which also need extending. Other forums cover this subject well.

Stay dry
Craig
AnswerID: 591602

Reply By: Parso - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2015 at 21:52

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2015 at 21:52
It is an absolute no-brainer. If you are doing any sort of water crossings or dusty situations get rid of the OEM snorkel.
When I pulled mine off the foam rubber seals on the outer guard were not even 'sealed'.
One thing to remember is when you install the Safari snorkel seal the plug in the bottom of the air box with silicon to prevent water getting in. You cant miss the screw-off plug.
Parso
2012 Toyota Landcruiser 200 Series Sahara.

AnswerID: 591606

Follow Up By: Parso - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2015 at 21:54

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2015 at 21:54
Obviously this was on my 76 Series and not on the current 200 series!
Parso
2012 Toyota Landcruiser 200 Series Sahara.

FollowupID: 859652

Reply By: Member - Will 76 Series - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2015 at 22:03

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2015 at 22:03
Yes, indeed the video clip by The Landy and the comments I certainly agree do make it a no brainer. Essentially the factory snorkel joined is an air intake at the moment rather than a snorkel. I will be getting a safari snorkel. Appreciate the advice and comments.
AnswerID: 591608