GU Coils

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 10:40
ThreadID: 130967 Views:2803 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
Hi All. Just back from our trip, 18,762 Ks round Oz. Found some great camps and had a great time. But, Gu rear coils just don't carry the load with a camp trailer as well. Question for you all. Dose anyone know of a GU Patrol rear coils being converted back to leaf springs, and if so, where? In Perth preferably. Cart say we were overloaded, but with fuel and water, we were up there. Cheers Errol

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 11:01

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 11:01
Your not being serious are you Errol ?

Its more likely you have junk or inappropriate coils, or shocks.

You can get air bags to assit but you should not need to consider this unless overloaded.

First thing would be to get car on a weighbridge and get some real figures on weight and weight distribution.

AnswerID: 593071

Follow Up By: Zippo - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 11:55

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 11:55
This. And the weight on the towbar.
FollowupID: 861253

Reply By: Old 55 - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 11:39

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 11:39
Impractical to even think of converting back to leaf springs, Heavy duty coils are readily available for your GU and even a set of CoilRites will help. But a weight check is essential first so you know what your dealing with. I had OME and CoilRites on my 80 series and believe me it was way over GVM on many a trip with the trailer on but the Coils handled it just fine.

Rod
AnswerID: 593073

Reply By: Dr Hook - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 12:19

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 12:19
Errol: crazy to change!
Just buy replacement heavier-duty coils, (very inexpensive) (-plenty of carry capacity and a bit of lift for the same price) and you could get some extra minor lift (blocks) added at the same time, for a few bucks more.
Dr Hook
AnswerID: 593075

Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 12:27

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 12:27
Yes, I am serious Robin. 21mm coils and airbags in already. Keep in mind that this has been altered from a ute to an extra cab ute. Which has pushed the load back further back to the rear creating weight overhang at the rear. I have already moved as much of anything heavy forward as I can, (recovery gear is in the cab) but I carnt move fuel tank or spare tyre. Besides changing coils to springs, the only other way is to cut the chassis and add 2 to 300mm and move the rear axle back. Errol
AnswerID: 593076

Follow Up By: Ron N - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2015 at 01:18

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2015 at 01:18
Errol - Add the 200-300 mm to the wheelbase or add another axle. The Patrol is already too short in the wheelbase from the factory, without adding an extra cab and moving the tray back!
Had a mate with a 3 axle Patrol, it was a great setup - drove like a charm, carried a huge additional amount - and the added axle made the whole lot look like a factory build, because the standard rear axle is already close to the front axle.

FollowupID: 861287

Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 12:29

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 12:29
Already dun Dr Hook. Please read reply th Robin. Errol
AnswerID: 593077

Reply By: 508 - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 12:44

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 12:44
hi Errol,

If replacing heavier springs or fitting airbags to compensate for carrying large loads consider fitting Superior Engineering Chassis Tower Brace Kit.
Check the web for cracked chassis and tower for Patrol, there is quite a bit of information on the subject.
Alpero
AnswerID: 593078

Follow Up By: 508 - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 13:11

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 13:11
Hi Errol,
Just read your follow up, If you have already beefed up your suspension and judging by photo of your tail heavy rig, adding 200-300 mm in the wheelbase is a logical way to go. Also looking at the tray on your rig there could be a hint of chassis bend, a good inspection would be warranted.
Alpero.
FollowupID: 861256

Follow Up By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 13:41

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 13:41
Tower's been fixed, that will never bend again. Have had a look, all good. Errol
FollowupID: 861259

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 13:58

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2015 at 13:58
Sounds like you need an extra axle! Saw a nice conversion in Tassie a while back.
AnswerID: 593079

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Nov 26, 2015 at 15:38

Thursday, Nov 26, 2015 at 15:38
Sounds like you are flogging your truck too hard. I don't think you need a suspension upgrade, you need a larger truck.

AnswerID: 593150

Follow Up By: Batt's - Friday, Nov 27, 2015 at 15:25

Friday, Nov 27, 2015 at 15:25
Kind of agree with this you can only carry so much stuff maybe need to reduce the amount of gear and carry only what you really need and not enough to build another troll or upgrade to an F-truck or something. If you keep loading up the troll which would probably already be overloaded something is going to break which might be the rear axle or housing or chassis which has a load limit that may have already been exceeded. Depends if you like doing a lot of off roading or not a lazy axle would help but they have their downfalls as you probably already know.
FollowupID: 861385

Follow Up By: Batt's - Friday, Nov 27, 2015 at 15:40

Friday, Nov 27, 2015 at 15:40
Also looks like your rear axle is not in the best place for load carrying my GQ patrol twin cab has the axle near the centre of the tray and can support a lot of weight with the polyairs pumped up. I have the spare wheels in front of the cab because they weigh 35 kg each and also kept the weight down by buying an alloy canopy, under tray tool boxes and mud guards alloy tray a compromise to the strength added by steel but the weight difference is a fair amount. I would have preferred to have made everything from steel but I would probably need another 30 grand or more to convert it to a proper six wheel drive to carry it all so I compromised.
FollowupID: 861386