which suspension

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 12:25
ThreadID: 131001 Views:2271 Replies:6 FollowUps:5

This ones probably been bashed around a bit, so ill throw it out there again for you all to have a dig...
Im in the process of looking at lifting the Patrol with a 2" kit. We tow a van with it ocasionally, and it has the winch and bar on the front, and a draw/fridge constantly full at the rear. ARB and OL have told me the heavy duty springs 200-300Kg in the rear and heavy duty on the front, they have also mentioned a poly bag to help with the van.
Not sure which way to go, just the 40mm or the 53mm adjustable big bore or even type...
Some short stories or advice will help

Reply By: Batt's - Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 14:31

Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 14:31
I have TJM extra heavy duty springs on the front and heavy duty on the rear and refitted the old polyair bags which were 7yrs old when I upgraded the suspension. I have Tough Dog adjustable shocks which TJM also label as their own as well it gives a comfortable stable ride I'm very happy with it. It had pedders springs and shocks before that and it was a very hash bone jarring ride. My vehicle is a GQ patrol converted to a twin cab 850mm chassis extension, steel bulbar, winch, alloy canopy, alloy under tray tool boxes, 150 ltr long range fuel tank, 60 ltr water tank, air compressor 18 ltr air tank, fridge, lots of recovery gear etc and the springs support the weight very well I did work for TJM for 3yrs about 8 yrs ago. Before I fitted the canopy I had carried a few loads of garden rocks on the tray up to 730 kg and it handled it well with the polyairs pumped up. The polyairs are 9yrs old now and one split recently so I don't use them now but the springs by themselves still support the canopy etc without any problem I would recommend their suspension kits. Also I have used OME before on another vehicle and it offers a very good ride.
AnswerID: 593226

Follow Up By: Member - Chippie - Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 20:50

Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 20:50
thanks Batts, sounds like your rig is kitted to the max...I have recently had a chip 3"exhaust and pedal torque fitted by TJM, which they butchered the exshust side of it had problems in which they had no issues in discussion to get it back in and replaced it without an argument.
Thanks for the heads up
FollowupID: 861421

Reply By: Sigmund - Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 15:27

Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 15:27
Where will you be driving?

How much sag do you have at the moment fully loaded?
AnswerID: 593227

Follow Up By: Member - Chippie - Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 20:59

Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 20:59
this year done Vic high country, Fraser, Tom Grogin, lots of little ones Hill End, The Newnenes, Watagans, Chitesteser state forest.....
Next year The cape, and where ever the time allows us to go...
Sag fully loaded, not sure but a lot
FollowupID: 861422

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Sunday, Nov 29, 2015 at 11:38

Sunday, Nov 29, 2015 at 11:38
OK. If you're doing a lot of corrugations or rough roads at speed it's worth investing in remote reservoir or big bore shocks to address the fade problem.

To address the sag it sounds like you need higher rate springs. I'd suggest you go to a specialist suspension place and get the wagon assessed. There are a lot of suppliers putting out a range of lift kits with all sorts of performance claims but don't get sucked in. And be prepared to pay.

As for dealing with load variation, there's the air bag option or the adjustable spring preload option. For the end user, air bags are easier to adjust.

The whole system needs to be designed with the load and the roads in mind. Don't try and mix and match.
FollowupID: 861433

Reply By: Member - wicket - Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 16:20

Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 16:20
if you're anywhere nearhttp://www.ultimatesuspension.com.au/index.php you should really give them a try, they will tailor make a system for your specific needs.only ever heard good things about them.
AnswerID: 593228

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 17:52

Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 17:52
If it was me I would forget the polyair bags, they're a dead set way of breaking your chassis, I had them and found that I never needed to use them, in fact they are still in the OME springs I just pulled out in favour of an Ironman heavy duty set all around, if youre near here you can have them! Ironman are value for money, but you can spend a whole lot more, King Springs are PDG.

I found even with the OME springs didn't need to inflate the bags, and still don't with the Ironman springs.

If you've got a GU I would look into strengthening your rear top mounts, there's a few kits about but I reckon the ATOC kit is the best.

AnswerID: 593229

Follow Up By: Batt's - Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 20:22

Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 20:22
Dead set way of breaking your chassis ? So according to you there must be thousands of coil sprung 4WD's that have broken chassis due to air bags that only pump up to around 30 psi So how do vehicles go that have factory fitted self adjusting air bags that have a higher load rating. I think you're mixing your misunderstanding of how to use them correctly and possibly you dislike for them and myths circulating on the net that are miss informing people about how destructive airbags are. If they were that bad they would have been taken off the market and there would have been thousands of people sueing suppliers. My neighbour has Boss airbags on his leaf sprung BT50 amazingly no broken chassis, my patrol has had them for 9 yrs and no broken chassis must be the only 2 vehicles that survived this epidemic. Yes there have been people cracking their chassis but most have been the softer type of 4WD utes the owners have been overloading their vehicles especially one's that have too much tray overhanging the rear axle and towing heavy loads sometimes as well. Also driving on rough or corrugated roads loaded up to the eyeballs with your bags pump up to the max is asking for trouble there is absolutely nothing wrong with airbags when used correctly. With the correct suspension setup in the first place in most cases airbags are not required but when they are required common sense plays the biggest part in the failure of this product and not the product itself as you are insulating.
FollowupID: 861420

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 29, 2015 at 08:33

Sunday, Nov 29, 2015 at 08:33
Hiya Batts, you may be right, I reckon your comment "Also driving on rough or corrugated roads loaded up to the eyeballs with your bags pump up to the max is asking for trouble there is absolutely nothing wrong with airbags when used correctly......." pretty much sums up what I meant. The overloaded situation is the chassis killer, is it OK to mention that?

I sort of got the feeling that the OP was running a heavily loaded situation from my reading of the thread. So an airbag, well if it was me I would forget the airbags.

I wasn't talking about air suspensions or helper airbags like those fitted to assist with leaf springs, just talking about Patrols specifically and airbags, there's heaps of stories of the mounts breaking, brakes failing when this happens too as the brake lines run above the drivers side spring mount. Things like this page shows.

And you're spot on, with the correct setup suspension airbags probably aren't required.

Bonz

FollowupID: 861425

Reply By: Idler Chris - Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 20:53

Saturday, Nov 28, 2015 at 20:53
Ah common sense, what a wonderful thing.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

AnswerID: 593233

Reply By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Sunday, Nov 29, 2015 at 06:59

Sunday, Nov 29, 2015 at 06:59
Way back in 2005 I fitted OME springs and Dampers at Rockhampton ARB, I have towed a Van all over the country, driven the Gregory NP, Gibb R.R. and Googs Trk , today the old Troopy is near 800,000 Ks and just roams around the Orange area and on the farm and the OME are still working fine, No air bags, and adjustable Dampers were needed.

AnswerID: 593242