4wd and <span class="highlight">caravan</span> phenomenon

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 24, 2016 at 20:09
ThreadID: 131682 Views:3478 Replies:8 FollowUps:12
Wha'ts going to slow it down? Over time the industry has just kept growing, the economy can slow , interest rates on investment are very low , doesn't appear to make any difference.Look at the price of a new sahara 200s landcruiser, would put a dent in some . super funds!, but there still selling plenty of them.Its not bad news, I'm just wondering what the next 10yrswill bring in this industry, is it going to be bumper to bumper from the East coast to the West coast? ..lol.

Reply By: Michael H9 - Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 07:09

Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 07:09
I had the money for the winch, bull bar, spotlights, dual battery system, lift, suspension upgrade, lockers, awning, drawer system, fridge slide, rear bar, roof racks and deluxe camper trailer but I didn't have enough left over for the car....
AnswerID: 596631

Follow Up By: axle - Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 08:37

Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 08:37
LoL! Yep its a bit like that!
FollowupID: 865530

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 08:15

Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 08:15
I was talking to a caravan sales place a while back. They reckon the Caravan surge is over.

Prices of second hand vans have fallen dramatically and new vans sales have gone off!
AnswerID: 596632

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 10:55

Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 10:55
Salesmen always say times are tough, and we believe them?
Not me.

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 865537

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 13:32

Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 13:32
Yes, I guess there is that element. The same dealer said that the consumers are changing. Younger families wanting vans that can sleep more that two people. The Baby Boomers have all bought the vans now as well so definitely a changing market.
FollowupID: 865547

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 10:32

Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 10:32
Its recession proof - a bit like beer, hobbies and 200series :-)
I think the "need to have an ensuite" is helping to drive sales as people upgrade, so older vans without ensuites are not worth much. And want modern finishes - not tacky woodgrain.
But there's too many caravan manufacturers out there producing the same product - and the small ones are going under. Very competitive.
I think the older vans are becoming spare rooms for the house or shack so hopefully not clogging the roads.
AnswerID: 596639

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 11:03

Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 11:03
It is a cottage industry, even at Jayco who have half the business.
Some day someone will seriously invest in some modern materials and production techniques and wipe out 80% of the other manufacturers.
If no one here does it, the Chinese will & goodbye caravan manufacture.

OKA196 Motorhome

FollowupID: 865538

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 20:48

Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 20:48
Its amazing that the caravan industry is thriving despite the poor construction methods and lack of technology. If a vehicle manufacturer started making caravans it might be game over - all those nice pressed panels, aerodynamic, rustproof, waterproof, good seals and reliable mechanically without a weight penalty.
FollowupID: 865569

Follow Up By: Baz - The Landy - Sunday, Feb 28, 2016 at 10:28

Sunday, Feb 28, 2016 at 10:28
Spot on Peter!

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 865713

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce B5 - Thursday, Mar 10, 2016 at 15:04

Thursday, Mar 10, 2016 at 15:04
Like to comment on what you have said PHIL G (SA) I don't know the difference is a old caravan on the road to a new one except the new one has more modern goodies in it and are heavyweight just because you have a older van like myself does not make you better than me I have owned a 2007 paramount 25 ft van fully self contained sold that now have a 1980 model viscount supreme it has stood the test of time lets see if these modern vans will Too then make a comment like this because they probably will be clogging the road as you have put it
FollowupID: 866240

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Mar 10, 2016 at 22:38

Thursday, Mar 10, 2016 at 22:38
Gday Bruce, I posted 2 comments above and I think you and I agree on most things!
FollowupID: 866247

Reply By: Member - wicket - Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 12:07

Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 12:07
Wha'ts going to slow it down?

Pretty obvious I would have thought......................once the baby boomers are all dead and gone!
AnswerID: 596641

Reply By: garrycol - Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 12:14

Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 12:14
Yep spend all the superannuation on the tug and van and when you come back live on the pension rather than the super.

I can see the logic of going on the trip of a lifetime but $70K on a van that gets used a few times is a nonsense. A good second hand van for a 1/4 of the price is a better proposition.

I know a few people have have blown all their super to get their assets down so they can get the pension - seems to be false logic to me.

Garry
AnswerID: 596642

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 14:26

Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 14:26
A fancy caravan and tug is still an assessable asset from a Centrelink point of view.
Only your home is exempt.

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 865550

Follow Up By: Member - Blue M - Friday, Feb 26, 2016 at 05:05

Friday, Feb 26, 2016 at 05:05
I retired in October 2014 when I reached the age of 60, as I was going to be not needed in a few months anyway.

I had owned two houses at different times previous to this, and both Ex. wives are now happily living in them now, rent free :(

I did some sums and after a long hard think what would be best for us, the Lady I have now (she actually likes me), we bought a new Cruiser and decked it out, ($90,000) a new Caravan ($70,000) and a cheap House ($92,000) in the west.

All this cost me less than a house in places like Rocky or Mackay for example, where our kids/grandkids live.

I owe nobody a cent, and I am happily supporting my bad habits and travels from my Super until I reach the age of 66, and then "maybe" I can get a pension, assuming the Government on the day has a few bob left to give.

Over my working life I have paid around $1.1 million in income tax, so just on that note I think (but not sure) I am entitled to get a little back from the government for the few miserable years I have to live after the age of 66.

It is not unreasonable to want to enjoy yourself, and have some comforts after working 45 or 50 years.

Just my thoughts on this subject.

FollowupID: 865579

Follow Up By: Idler Chris - Friday, Feb 26, 2016 at 09:17

Friday, Feb 26, 2016 at 09:17
Good onya Blue. With a rig like you have got I would rent the house and get on the road for awhile. Maybe get the odd job here and there. You can have a ball just wandering around this great country. You never know it may take 10 years to do the big lap, and if so you would not be the first.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

FollowupID: 865587

Reply By: Member - John G - Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 13:20

Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 13:20
G'day Axle

You raise a very good question.

I thought the GFC would slow the industry down for retirees, but it didn't. If you sit down, put emotion to one side, and do a cost/benefit analysis over a 10-year period, the cost of rig + van + rego + maintenance + insurance + depreciation + replacement vehicle at some point, leaves you with the realisation that the benefit is in the 'lifestyle'.

It's a complex issue with too many variables, but maybe the combination of fewer caravan parks, more vans on the roads, and the ever-increasing costs of tow vehicle and vans, might lead to a slow down. The latter will probably lead to folks not looking to upgrade existing rigs, but hold onto them.

AnswerID: 596644

Reply By: Crusier 91 - Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 18:51

Thursday, Feb 25, 2016 at 18:51
Over the last year when we only have the time to go away for a day or two which means no more than 50km radius from where we live, we see more and more people camped with cheap 30+ year old caravans being done up on the cheap. Many have purchased for $400-$800 and spent another $2k on them and their done. Sign of the times but great to see.
AnswerID: 596658

Reply By: Geepeem - Friday, Feb 26, 2016 at 09:09

Friday, Feb 26, 2016 at 09:09
The demand for new caravans will eventually peak but that is a little way off. The baby boomer generation is defined as those born between 1946 and 1964. So the last of this generation will not retire until 2020-2030. As the years go by the retiring generation is retiring more affluent due to more years of compulsory super. There might be caravan manufacturers in the "middle range" doing it tough but those in the higher price "off road" category still have the orders coming in. Some still have a 6 month to a year wait after ordering their van. As an investment a new 4x4 plus top of the range van is probably a poor decision. But its not about an investment as such, its about doing what gives you enjoyment and satisfaction in your retirement. If you can afford a new 200series and a new $150,000 off road van, then go for it. There is no point in leaving a lot of money to your kids to waste.
AnswerID: 596679

Follow Up By: xray tango - Sunday, Feb 28, 2016 at 11:42

Sunday, Feb 28, 2016 at 11:42
I think the end is in sight for many of the Australian caravan manufacturers that are not seeing the immediate future - more and more of the new caravans simply weigh too much and cars are getting less capable at towing. Remember when you could put the van behind your Holden or Falcon, put the kids in the back and drive to the beach with a $10 per night caravan park? Now you are towing 3 tonnes and $70k+ behind a V8 diesel 4WD priced at $80k+ and paying up to $45 per night!

More and more imported caravans are finding their way to our shores priced at $50,000 or less, and weighing in at well under 2 tonnes which you can tow easily behind your Camry or X-Trail. They also are far more modern in construction with one piece walls, roofs and floors providing the structural integrity (have you seen the ads where the roofs are strong enough to walk on and even park a car up there!)) and high quality insulation as well as a freedom from leaks.

It's all very well having a 3 tonne "off-road" palace on wheels, but just how many of us actually need that capability? And the Falcon and Commodore, both with a decent towing capacity are about to leave the scene.

FollowupID: 865716