<span class="highlight">Battery</span> query

Hi all, I know this has been thrashed out before.. But I need to replace the auxiliary battery, located under the bonnet, behind the drivers side head light to be extact, in a 150 prado..
I have read that it is possible to make another bracket, to move an air con pipe slightly, giving a little more room, to be able to fit a slightly bigger battery..
Currently running a 40amp redarc bcdc charger, but only a 65ah century lead acid (wet cell) due to room.. If I move the air con pipe I may be able to fit a full river 85 ah, in there.. This battery is an AGM type.. The fella at the shop recons it is built to be put under the bonnet, and the heat will not affect it.. I have read that they don't like heat... Your thoughts and wisdom, would be appreciated at this point.. Cheers guys/gals.. Odog
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 18:15

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 18:15
-
Hi Odog,
Fullriver are a quality battery but at a corresponding price.
No battery likes heat and the Fullriver's specifications for the DC series that you are considering is a maximum ambient of 40c during charging and 50c during discharging. Engine bay temperatures typically run up to 70c on even a moderate day but located behind the headlight where you described may be a bit cooler.
For your "fella at the shop" to say they are "built to be put under the bonnet" is simply not true.
The following is an extract from a Fullriver brochure..............
"There are a number of factors that will affect the length of cyclic service of a battery. The most significant are ambient operating temperature, discharge rate, depth of discharge, and the manner in which the battery is recharged. Generally speaking, the most important factor is depth of discharge."
Shielding the battery from radiant engine heat and arranging for cooling air that has not passed through the radiator will prolong your battery life considerably.
Sorry, can't assist re moving an aircon pipe but be careful that you do not restrict the available movement of any flexible pipe connected to the a/c compressor.

AnswerID: 599242

Follow Up By: ChrisGU - Friday, Apr 29, 2016 at 16:09

Friday, Apr 29, 2016 at 16:09
I've had a fullriver agm deep cycle battery under my bonnet in a nissan patrol, for about 5 years now and not had an issue. It runs my 80litre fridge/freezer still for 2 days before needing a recharge. I'd definitely get another one. Before this I was replacing non-agm deep cycle batteries every year.
FollowupID: 868551

Reply By: 9900Eagle - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 18:35

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 18:35
Mate have a look at ssb batteries. They are agms that have a 42 month guarantee used under the bonnet. SSB batteries
AnswerID: 599245

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 18:56

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 18:56
Eagle, perhaps you could point us to where SSB Batteries use the words "AGM", "42 month guarantee" and "Under the bonnet" in a relationship.

Incidentally, SSB do not manufacture batteries. The sell a variety of styles of several manufacturers.

FollowupID: 868431

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 19:24

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 19:24
Try here and all will be revealed. I know a few who have these and have had no problems.

More info for some
FollowupID: 868432

Follow Up By: Member - Bigred13 - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 19:33

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 19:33
Hi Allan, If you read the article on SSB batteries ,it explains it there under Dry Fit it explains that it is AGM and also can be used under the bonnet and no matter where you fit it their warranty still stands,I have one and it is written on the battery 3 year warranty
FollowupID: 868433

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 20:14

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 20:14
It would be most interesting to test that warranty in the event of a failure.
Reading the discription on the sellers/makers advert I must admit I have never seen an AGM DC given a CCA rating and being recommended for starting, deep cycle, marine and standby all in the one battery, but then again battery developement like so much else marches on.
Personally I would characterise that particular battery as a hybrid.
Having said that, that may be exactly what the OP is after.
The problem with high temps for any AGM is that there is no way to replenish any lost electrolyte water.
FollowupID: 868436

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 20:22

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 20:22
Pop,
yellow top optima batteries are the same, both deep cycle and starting.

There has been many changes in battery technology and design in the past few years.

FollowupID: 868437

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 20:46

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 20:46
Eagle, your link took me back to where I started..... the whole SSB catalogue.

Put your finger on the sentence that uses the words "AGM", "42 month guarantee" and "Under the bonnet" in the one sentence. Perhaps you could copy and paste it?

FollowupID: 868440

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 21:02

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 21:02
G'day Allan

I have been running one of these batteries under the bonnet for 3 years now and have had no issues whatsoever and I'm very happy with it ! Somewhere down the bottom of what I copied and pasted it says rated for under bonnet applications.

Gazz

• Ultra High Performance
• Advanced AGM Battery
• Extreme Vibration Resistant
• 42 MonthsWarranty

In response to climate change, governments around the world are increasing environmental regulations on vehicles to reduce emissions and improve vehicle fuel economy. As a result an increasing number of vehicles have Start Stop Technology which helps achieve this by automatically turning the engine on and off while idling at traffic lights or in heavy traffic thereby improving fuel economy and reducing emissions. The engine starts again when the driver accelerates. Stop-start vehicles typically offer up to 10 per cent reductions in both fuel consumption and CO2 emissions - an important factor for manufacturers when trying to meet mandated global carbon emission reduction goals.

Gone are the days where you will be starting your car once or twice a day. With Start Stop systems your car will likely start in excess of 50,000 times during its life. Whenever the vehicle is standing still, all electrical devices receive energy from the battery putting the battery under additional load. The engine restarts after each automatic stop, which also results in a significantly greater number of high-rate load cycles during the battery life. Unfortunately this type of use will quickly destroy a conventional or MF battery. SSB i-Start AGM Batteries uses the latest innovative technologies to deliver a Genuine AGM Start Stop battery with exceptional performance and longer life no matter what you drive.

SSB i-Start have been specifically engineered for advanced vehicles featuring Start-Stop technology with regenerative braking and additional fuel-saving technologies. With regenerative braking, once the driver lifts their foot off the accelerator, the starter-alternator immediately converts the vehicle’s kinetic energy (rotational speed of the alternator) into electrical energy, which in turn recharges the battery.

Using the lastest OE Technology for Advanced Start-Stop Vehicles including High Compression Fleece Separators, this Ultra High Performance AGM battery boasts up to 4 times the cycle life of flooded MF Car batteries and is 100% Leak Proof and Spill-proof and is exempt from Dangerous Goods classification.

Other features include Powerful Cranking Power (even with a low state of charge), High Charge Acceptance (for absorbing large surges of electrical energy generated via brake energy recuperation) and Extreme Vibration Resistance.

Although this Advanced battery was designed for vehicles that use Start Stop Technology, its features also make it a perfect choice for other High End Luxury and Performance Vehicles and it is capable of supplying power to a wider range of other applications including Taxis, Ambulances, Police Cars, Boats and cars with high powered sound systems. Its battery housing is manufactured using advanced plastics for durability and heat resistance. SSB i-Start Batteries are also rated for Under Bonnet use and their VRLA design enables the battery to also be used inside the vehicle.

Whether you use SSB i-Start as a Start Stop Battery or as an Ultra High Performance AGM Battery for regular vehicles (no Start Stop Technology), the battery will deliver exceptional performance, flawless reliability and longer life. SSB i-Start batteries are manufactured to Quality Assurance Standard ISO 9001 and come with 42 Months National Replacement Warranty.
FollowupID: 868441

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 21:05

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 21:05
Bigred13, I can't find your "Dry Fit" even using the sites Search facility.
But I did find a heap of claims under their 'Fusion' range. A most amazing battery. Does everything........"Cyclic,Deep Cycle, Starting, Standby, Marine, Backup Power." Rated for Under Bonnet use.
Its an AGM with "Extended 3 Year warranty......WHEN USED AS A BACKUP POWER SUPPLY FOR FIRE PUMPS."
3 years is not "42 months" and Fire Pumps is not Under Bonnet.

FollowupID: 868442

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 21:12

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 21:12
Eagle,
Yes Optima do make a high quality product range commensurate with pricing.

Note the word "range". and yes their yellow top is their, what I would refer to as a hybrid i.e. capable of both DC and cranking applications.
They do however make a blue top which is their marine grade battery.
Also a red top which is a dedicated high draw capable cranking battery.
Neither of the latter 2 are recommended or warranted for DC usage.
Personally I doubt a company such as this, or for that matter any other would go to the trouble/expense of manufacturing 3 batteries if 1 covered all applications with the same delivery and lifespan expectations in all usage scenarios.
I guess we still don't know what the OP's primary usage is. If a battery capable of both cranking and DC then a hybrid would be the go. A low amperage long draw time i.e. fridge, lighting, etc a dedicated DC style is what I would choose.
Just a standby cranking battery I would use a screw top non sealed for under the bonnet.

FollowupID: 868444

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 06:18

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 06:18
Here is a link that may or may not keep you happy.

Batteries direct SSB spec
FollowupID: 868457

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 11:33

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 11:33
I have the 130 amp , laying on its side in the rear of my vehicle. 18 months old and no worries. I have just purchase the 80amp stop/start battery 1030CCa as my start battery. Both can be used under bonnet as advertising states, both can be used as strt/deep cycle batteries. I am unsure if the stop/start can be used upside down (the 105 amp deep cycle can). So I reckon SSB are a bloody great battery. Fair price, good qualities and reliable.

12 VOLT 105AH AGM DUAL PURPOSE BATTERY

105AH DEEP CYCLE & 780CCA

• Powerful Long Life Performance
• Non-Spillable Sealed
• Superior Quality
• Genuine AGM Battery

For those enthusiasts who expect even more, we introduce the Ultimate in High Performance batteries that were built for the most discriminating buyer who is looking for only the Best. This Ultra High Performance range is a Genuine AGM Battery that features unrivalled power & durability and is a true All Rounder. Not only can it be used as a deep-cycle battery, it can also be used as a starting battery or for backup power supply.

We claim SSB DryCell to be the best starting / deep cycle battery in Australia. These batteries are completely sealed and can be used upside down or on their side and is the only AGM battery in Australia (that we know of) that is made using Fire-Retardant ABS Plastic making it the safest and most reliable battery available. It does not emit gases and can be used in enclosed spaces.

Unlike most other AGM brands, SSB DryCell Batteries are suitable for under bonnet use meaning that they can also be used in cars, 4WD’s, motor homes, trucks, buses and commercial equipment. They are also the perfect choice for dual battery systems, caravans, boats and even camping. The fine print of almost all other AGM brands exclude under bonnet use. Whether you use SSB DryCell batteries as a starting battery, deep-cycle battery, marine battery, back-up power supply battery or a combination of any of the above, our National Replacement Warranty is unconditional of use.

We use cutting edge technology to ensure that SSB DryCell batteries not only outperform other brands but also remain in a class of its own. Some of this technology includes using a special alloy that significantly increases cycle life and allows the battery to be deeply discharged not to mention the state-of-the-art Thermal Management System that keeps the battery cool especially during charging thus increasing the life of the battery and making it better suited to hotter climates like in Australia’s top end.

We also use unique fluid displacement technology to stop separation of fluid from the plates which is caused by vibration and prevents overheating of the battery. This increases the cycle & service life of the battery even further and makes them extremely resistant to vibration.

Whether you are looking for a multi-purpose battery, a starting battery, deep-cycle battery or marine battery, SSB DryCell will outlast and outperform almost any other brand available.

Don’t be fooled by the price of these batteries. Some of our competitors sell inferior batteries for up to double the price. Higher prices do not mean that they are a better battery. SSB is an Australian company and we experience the increases in cost of living just like most Australians on a daily basis. For this reason we keep the price real and affordable without sacrificing quality, making this Ultra High Performance Battery by far the best value for money too.

SSB has made many different batteries over the years, however the SSB DryCell range has been one of the most successful yet. This battery is literally so good that many of our competitors have attempted to copy us with only limited success.

Developed here in Australia, the SSB DryCell range has been engineered to meet the rigorous demands of the modern performance vehicle/equipment and it is truly in a class of its own.

When failure is not an option, use only SSB DryCell.
FollowupID: 868474

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 11:37

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 11:37
Info for 130 amp SSB

12 VOLT 130AH / 1000CCA DEEP CYCLE & DUAL PURPOSE START HVT86LD

• Powerful Long Life Performance
• Non-Spillable Sealed
• Superior Quality
• Genuine AGM Battery

For those enthusiasts who expect even more, we introduce the Ultimate in High Performance batteries that was designed with High Performance Vehicles/Equipment in mind. The SSB DryFit range has been built for the most discriminating buyer who is looking for only the Best. This Ultra High Performance range is a Genuine AGM Battery that features unrivalled power and durability and is a true dual purpose battery. Not only can it be used as a deep-cycle battery, it can also be used as a starting battery making it the perfect choice for 4WD’s.

Through state-of-the-art design and construction, the SSB DryFit range is packed with more power than any other battery in Australia. Also developed here in Australia, the SSB DryFit range has been engineered to meet the rigorous demands of the modern performance vehicle/equipment.

The SSB DryFit range is truly in a class of its own and is one of the most powerful of its kind in Australia.

MAINTENANCE REQUIREMENTS:

Despite this being labeled as a "Maintenance Free" battery there is still some minimal maintenance requirements. The battery industry generally uses the term "Mainteance Free" when you are not required or cannot add acid to the battery because it is sealed. Like all Maintenance Free Batteries (no matter what brand), it is essential to preiodically service the battery to ensure maximum life. As a general rule of thumb this should be done each time your vehicle / equipment is serviced by your mechanic / technician.

Service requirement include:

Check electrical connections to ensure they are clean & tight
Do not overcharge battery. Maximum recharging voltage is 14.6 Volts.
Keep battery clean & dry. Use only bicarbonate of soda & water to clean. Rinse afterwards with clean water.
Ensure that unused battery is charged every 3 months or when voltage is below 12.6 Volts.
Failure to follow these instructions will void warranty.

SAFETY PRECAUTIONS

Lead-acid batteries generate explosive gases.

Keep sparks, flames and lighted cigarettes away from battery. Keep metal objects away from terminals. When charging or using in enclosed spaces, provide ventilation. The battery contains sulphuric acid.

Should acid spill from the battery, Avoid contact with skin, eyes, or clothing. In event of accident flush with water and call doctor immediately.

PART NUMBER HVT-86LD
BATTERY TYPE AGM VRLA - Cyclic Use
VOLTAGE 12 Volts
CCA:(cold cranking amps) 1000
AH (20hr): 130
DIMENSIONS
Length 330mm
Width 173mm
Height 212mm
Terminal Height 220mm
TERMINAL TYPE

Satin Forged Brass
TERMINAL ASSEMBLY
OTHER FEATURES
WEIGHT 31.40 KG
REGULAR CHARGE 13.0 Amps
MAX CHARGE 36.0 Amps
PLATE TYPE Die Cast Grid
SEPARATOR TYPE Absorbed Glass Mat
USAGE Starting
Deep-Cycle
Marine
Standby
WARRANTY
Private use
3 Years
Commercial Use
Taxi Use
FollowupID: 868475

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 12:46

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 12:46
Look, SSB batteries may be quite good but they make such extravagant claims that it is surprising that any other battery company is still in business. It causes me to distrust anything they publish.

The latest posted above being.... SSB "is the only AGM battery in Australia (that we know of) that is made using Fire-Retardant ABS Plastic ...."

Without extensive searching I find this from Fullriver(Aust) DC series AGM...."Case and lid in ABS material...." and they have always been so.
If you have a good product you attain a good reputation and do not need to tell porkies.

For the record, I do not use Fullriver batteries.
?

FollowupID: 868477

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 15:00

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 15:00
Never assume Allan. You have infered that the SSB crew liars because you have assumed that they know Fullriver has an abs case. I also did my research before buying and I couldnt find any battery (AGM Deep cycle) that was approved and warrantied for under bonnet use, and which did not cost a fortune. I have three SSB batteries (2 agm and 1 Lithium). Lithium is 2 years old and brilliant. The other 2, I am very happy with.

Their advertising is no different to century, super cheap or Cat batteries. Of course they will laud up their product. Its obvious you have had no experience with the batteries or wholesalers yet you are infering they talk lies and are to be distrusted.

You asked a few questions and got definitive answers. I think calling SSB crew liars was a little rich and uncalled for.
FollowupID: 868483

Follow Up By: Zippo - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 16:20

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 16:20
Bigfish, I'm in the same boat as AllanB here with that statement "is the only AGM battery in Australia (that we know of) that is made using Fire-Retardant ABS Plastic".

They clearly haven't looked very far to see what material others use, or choose to live in ignorant bliss in their own bubble. The Yuasa AGM's that I have had for about 5 years now state ABS Flame retardant to UL94-FV-0. So it's not as though others have suddenly started using this material very recently.

I manufacture and direct market a product (without making any claims of uniqueness), and I regularly scour the interwebs seeking competing products. Not having found any doesn't stop me searching. Without passing comment on the quality or performance of SSB's actual product, claims like that - with the wiggle-wording out "that we know of" - doesn't impress me as particularly professional.
FollowupID: 868490

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 17:09

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 17:09
Century Yuasa also state that their agm batteries are not suitable under a car bonnet. This from the website. I visited the yuasa website and could find no mention of what the deep cycle battery shell is composed from. Century was the same. I,ll take your word that it is indeed an ABS plastic material.

As I said, I tried to find an underbonnet agm battery and everyone that I looked at, recommended NOT fitting under bonnet because of heat concerns. Several on here are happy with the product, as am I. I know the local battery business in my city has been doing a good trade with the batteries and has informed me that there have been very few warranty issues over the years. Facts and not assumptions decide a products fate.

THIS IS ALANS STATEMENT...

"Eagle, perhaps you could point us to where SSB Batteries use the words "AGM", "42 month guarantee" and "Under the bonnet" in a relationship."

I think that he has been shown the facts and maybe accept that he has learnt a little more wisdom.
FollowupID: 868491

Follow Up By: Zippo - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 18:31

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 18:31
Just did a quick look. From the Century Yuasa website the specs of the ones I have/use (page 2) for your enlightenment.
FollowupID: 868494

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 19:03

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 19:03
It's on the opening page of Yeast's website Bigfish.......

"Polypropylene cover and container thwart damage from gas, oil, and impact."

FollowupID: 868497

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 19:10

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 19:10
Bigfish, I make no apology for suggesting that SSB are a little careless with the truth. If you consider that "century, super cheap or Cat" are no different then you seem to agree. But we weren't talking about them, we were discussing SSB.
It is not really difficult to run a good business and be truthful at the same time. Plenty do it.

But "Liars"??? Your word, not mine.

FollowupID: 868498

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 19:17

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 19:17
Bigfish, I know what you mean. I just posted a battery that suited the OP's situation and then it all started. Electrical stuff sure sucks, guess it must be driven by Patrol or Toyota.

I know of 4 people that have ssb under bonnet batteries and just have no problems at all. Maybe those who don't like, believe or trust in anything that is not 20 years old should buy one and test the warranty.

Beats me why we suggest a battery and cop an interrogation. I can remember when Optimas were first available and it was just the same crap. First thing I got was SSB don't make batteries even though I never said they did.

Have a look at the 4wd ads that proclaim unbreakable but that seems ok.

I might be getting on but at least life to me is not just one big old negative journey and I look forward to new technology, not backward.

FollowupID: 868500

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 19:46

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 19:46
FollowUp 17 of 20
FollowupID: 868494 Submitted: Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 08:31
Zippo posted:
Just did a quick look. From the Century Yuasa website the specs of the ones I have/use (page 2) for your enlightenment.

These batteries are not made to go under the bonnet of a car. The same type of Yuasa batteries we used in Telstra exchanges and radio tower rooms. All air=conditioned.

I know where you are coming from Eagle...The negativity .Reminds me of an old saying...

When your dead , you dont know it. Those around you are affected. The same when you are ignorant..
FollowupID: 868502

Follow Up By: Zippo - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 21:46

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 21:46
Bigfish, try to stay on topic. I was pointing out that the SSB product was far from the only AGM to use ABS etc as per the SSB quote.

The Yuasa I gave as an example is, from your own response, one you have familiarity with so I figured you'd be aware of its case material. I never claimed its suitability for under bonnet application.

It happens to also be the type I use as I can't squeeze a second battery under the bonnet. It was acquired because of - apart from being AGM from a reputable manufacturer - its slim physique makes it a great fit where it lives (on its side under the passenger seat).
FollowupID: 868512

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 23:12

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 23:12
Bigfish/Eagle,

Way back I clearly said "SSB batteries may be quite good". I have not suggested that they do not perform well. I simply expressed astonishment at some of their extravagant claims. And I did not say that they were alone in this.

You are at liberty to reject my view but now you are making personal insulting expressions and I object to that.

FollowupID: 868518

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Friday, Apr 29, 2016 at 08:32

Friday, Apr 29, 2016 at 08:32
I am not getting into a slanging match Allan but you were the one saying that extravagant claims were being made and that you only had distrust for the company and they were telling "porkies" An inference that they were lying. You were presented with facts that showed their product is creditable, advertising is not over the top and I used the word liars as I do not do wishy washy garbage like porkie pies. Speak staright and to the point.

We will carry on our merry ways and one day we may even meet and have a beer.

FollowupID: 868525

Reply By: skulldug - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 21:18

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 21:18
Hi Odog,

I just sold my Prado 150 after close to 6 years with a perfectly healthy 100ah AGM under the bonnet on the driver side. No special installation required, just the correct sized tray. Lots of towing and hot weather travel so I'm not convinced about the "too hot under the bonnet" argument.

Why not find a reputable auto electrician who sells battery systems rather than ask here? Sometimes you get yesterday's advice and it scares everyone.

Even better - look at Lifepo4. I am exceptionally happy after 3 years in my van. Don't see why they won't work under the bonnet at a fraction the weight and size for much better performance. Expensive, yes.

Skull
AnswerID: 599252

Follow Up By: Member - Odog - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 16:15

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 16:15
G'day Skull
There would be no way I could fit a 100ah in there. Not without getting the air cond pipe totally moved. The 65ah dc has about 10mm clearance from the pipe.
I know of people, moving the pipe by changing the bracket, and allowing a century ns70t which is a dc lead acid 75ah to squeeze in there.. The full river agm is the same size, physical, but 85ah, this is why I'm thinking of the full river..
It's running a Waco 50 fridge, and I can plug my cpap machine into the Anderson plug, when camping..
The 40 amp redarc is a bit of over kill, but works a treat when we go away with the camp trailer, which has two full river batteries in it.. Just trying to find a balance, as next trip is 5 weeks and 8000km without the camp trailer. Won't be many days that we won't be driving. Just like to fit the most AH under the bonnet I can.. The full river is 260Lx169Wx211H that's about maximum physical size I can fit, providing I can move the ac pipe 30/40 mm without damaging it.. Cheers Odog
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

FollowupID: 868489

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 00:02

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 00:02
Your 40AMP Redarc has too much grunt for a small battery in a hot environment. The 85Ah fullriver specs state an initial charge current of no more than 30Amp. And the charging voltages are at 25 degrees, so need to be reduced at higher temps.
I went through the same dilemma with my daughter's 150 Prado, and went with an Optima Bluetop. Less Ah in numbers but tolerates deep discharges, and copes better with high temps and high currents. And just used a simple redarc isolator.
AnswerID: 599258

Follow Up By: Malcom M - Friday, Apr 29, 2016 at 07:05

Friday, Apr 29, 2016 at 07:05
So your alternator current limits its battery charge to 30 amps? interesting.
FollowupID: 868522

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Apr 29, 2016 at 09:05

Friday, Apr 29, 2016 at 09:05
Nope, thats not what I said.
FollowupID: 868527

Reply By: Malcom M - Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 08:33

Thursday, Apr 28, 2016 at 08:33
Apart from all their other virtues, Yellow top Optimas are also very heat tolerant.
Run them in my Prado and 100.

There are also various possibilities for shielding the battery from heat. You can get/make heat shields in the form of bags or sheets, metal or foil etc.
Do a google and see what might suit you.

Also, don't firget that teh 120 and 150 (90s ok) suffer from inner guard cracking from battery additions. Have a good look around for any sign of this.
AnswerID: 599261

Follow Up By: cruza25 - Friday, Apr 29, 2016 at 17:41

Friday, Apr 29, 2016 at 17:41
The guards crack due to bad design not extra batteries. Its bumpy roads and corragations that cause the cracks.
Many 120 and early 150 crack even without extras being fitted.
Toyota redesigned and strengthened the inner guard in recent years.
A reinforced patch kit is available for owners with cracks but toyota refuse lots of warranty claims due to fitting bars winches hd springs and other extras.

Dont bend the pipe for the air conditioning as they can crack or rub on other parts and its a very expensive pipe $800 i think.
FollowupID: 868555

Follow Up By: Malcom M - Friday, Apr 29, 2016 at 18:42

Friday, Apr 29, 2016 at 18:42
you don't think another heap of lead would compound the problem then?
FollowupID: 868557