How Old is Too Old

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 29, 2016 at 16:26
ThreadID: 133528 Views:4143 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
Hi all. Have just put our beloved Prado and Kimberley into the EO Classifieds in readiness for the next stage of our lives. If anyone is interested in a great combination, check out the classifieds.
We have had some magical moments exploring this great country of ours but have decided that as we are just about to enter our 70’s, we need a few more creature comforts. We reckon we are still young enough at heart and fingers crossed, still fit and healthy enough to continue travelling so we are lashing out on a larger van and larger towing vehicle. Reckon we still have another 10 years travelling in front of us and another 2 or 300,000k.
Are there many of you out there that are still actively exploring Oz in your late 70’s or early 80’s? Are you still handling the remote travelling ok? We would love to get your feedback.
Back Expand Un-Read 2 Moderator

Reply By: Old 55 - Thursday, Sep 29, 2016 at 16:45

Thursday, Sep 29, 2016 at 16:45
Yep in mid 70s and still travelling. Still got all the good gear swag, tent, camper trailer and caravan so just use whichever is suitable for our destination. Our 120 Prado is still travelling like new so haven't considered an upgrade yet.
AnswerID: 604748

Reply By: Member - neville G (QLD) - Friday, Sep 30, 2016 at 07:43

Friday, Sep 30, 2016 at 07:43
My wife and I are in our eighty,s and still enjoy our Phoenix, will be hitching up and travelling south in the next few weeks for an extended trip. I guess we are lucky as neither of us have any great health issues.
Cheers, Nev and Pat
AnswerID: 604760

Reply By: baznpud (tassie) - Friday, Sep 30, 2016 at 11:41

Friday, Sep 30, 2016 at 11:41
Ya never to old to travel this great land, unless you are horizontal, we are in our 70s, just got home from a 15,000k trip to West Oz, and now planing our next trip.
Have L/Cruiser with 275,000 on speedo, 2011 Lotus Van which has just clocked 77,000, they, and us still going strong.
baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 604770

Reply By: Baz - The Landy - Friday, Sep 30, 2016 at 12:13

Friday, Sep 30, 2016 at 12:13
Perhaps another way to look at age is to ask the question "how old would I be if I didn't know how old I was".

Just keep on going!

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
AnswerID: 604772

Reply By: ohdeer - Friday, Sep 30, 2016 at 16:42

Friday, Sep 30, 2016 at 16:42
We are both in our mid-seventies and I continue working part time. In the past year we have bought a Troopy V8 and had it knitted out with a new suspension, front and rear bars, spotties, roof rack, drawers, fridge etc.
Towing an early model Kimberley Karavan and in our first 10 weeks of travelling have found it to be just perfect for a couple of oldies.
Also have an Oztent RV2 for where the Karavan cannot go or is not allowed.
Looking forward to getting away a lot more and spending time exploring and having fun!
Health and attitude is everything, maintain them both and nothing will stop you!
Best wishes
Sam

AnswerID: 604777

Reply By: mepvic - Friday, Sep 30, 2016 at 17:34

Friday, Sep 30, 2016 at 17:34
Thanks to all you oldies. I'm only just 70 and the lovely lady hits 70 next year. Both in good health so look forward to our 70's and 80's by the sound of it.

Hope to see you on the road or track somewhere out there.
AnswerID: 604778

Reply By: splits - Friday, Sep 30, 2016 at 21:25

Friday, Sep 30, 2016 at 21:25
My wife and I are both 71 and have been travelling since 1974. We started with a tiny caravan but have come down in recent years to a camper on the back of a single cab 4x4 ute. It has taken us into many places where we could not go with anything larger and many of them have been areas where we probably should not have been on our own.

We are off again next week for a month and have no intention of stopping until we are well and truly clapped out. We are only half clapped out at the moment.
AnswerID: 604787

Follow Up By: mepvic - Sunday, Oct 02, 2016 at 14:46

Sunday, Oct 02, 2016 at 14:46
Thanks Splits. We'll be the other half clapped out camping nearby.
FollowupID: 874627

Reply By: Member - Ups and Downs - Monday, Oct 03, 2016 at 10:52

Monday, Oct 03, 2016 at 10:52
Camping recently there was a couple near us in a tent, but also had a VW whizbang with them.

He apologised to my wife for holding her up while going down some stairs, saying, 'my 88 year old legs aren't too fast these days'.

So forget the early 80's and aim for the late 80's !

AnswerID: 604859

Follow Up By: mepvic - Monday, Oct 03, 2016 at 11:23

Monday, Oct 03, 2016 at 11:23
You've just reminded me of an old fellow we met at Kulgera several years ago. Sleeping on a stretcher under a tarp and he would have been late 70's, early 80's. Only had one leg and would hop to the showers with his prosthesis tucked under his arm. Would put it on after his shower.
Think you are only as old as you think you are. Trouble is I think I'm in my 30's sometimes and can't understand why I can't do the things 30 year olds can do.
FollowupID: 874656

Follow Up By: Member - Ups and Downs - Monday, Oct 03, 2016 at 11:44

Monday, Oct 03, 2016 at 11:44
PS He was with his missus who was around his age too.
FollowupID: 874657