new caravan diesel tow vehicle: Ranger or Colorado?

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 19:39
ThreadID: 133626 Views:5549 Replies:14 FollowUps:34
will be pulling the trigger in the next few months on either a Ranger or colly from MY 2013 onwards.
would be interested in peoples experiences with either. although am leaning towards the Ranger for its slightly superior power, its not the only thing that makes a good tug.
would also like to hear views on the various gearboxes on both, manual and auto.
I'm a manual GB person mostly, not having been impressed with the few experiences of towing with an auto, but they have advantages also

Reply By: Idler Chris - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 19:55

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 19:55
Do yourself a favour get a D-Max auto, they are a truck built to tow.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

AnswerID: 605218

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 20:20

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 20:20
X 2 on the D-Max or if you want a wagon try the MUX.

I would never have another manual, autos are much more advanced these days.
FollowupID: 874979

Follow Up By: RMD - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 20:38

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 20:38
Why would you consider a troublesome Colorado. Go onto 4wdaction and look at the Colly problems section. You will be stunned. Even die hard Holden folk can't work out why the problems happen. Colly wobbles doesn't only belong to Collingwood.

Yes, Dmax and it's auto is very good for towing.
They aren't a truck but they do perform well. Power isn't everything unless you want to haul at the speed limit all the time.
Have a search for the problems each vehicle has created, ie known faults they have developed. Isuzu has the least problems by far.

I have a 2011 manual, when changed for another it will be an auto, specifically for towing reasons.
FollowupID: 874980

Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 20:49

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 20:49
Auto D-Max for me too. Looked all the others a couple of years ago and the D-Max had more bangs for bucks,
FollowupID: 874981

Reply By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 20:45

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 20:45
Paul,

I have also been a manual gearbox bloke all my life but having recently tried a couple of later autos I would say they have come quite a way from the old 3 speeds of yesteryear.
As far as brand of vehicle goes, I am looking around at the various dual cabs and while I am in favour of another brand I have been getting a fair bit of positive feedback on the Ranger/Mazda from many owners I have spoken to.

AnswerID: 605221

Reply By: Mazzy1 - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 21:48

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 21:48
I have had a colly for the past 6.years and now have 300,000 on the clock and around half of that has been with a 2 ton van in tow and have travelled most of the usual tracks and a lot of off-road tracks as well.
Have not put a spanner on it as yet with only the usual tire and break pad changes
We have kept records or all our travels and the average fuel consumption with the van in tow has been 15 litres per 100 ks would not hesitate to get another one
Regards mazzy1
AnswerID: 605222

Follow Up By: Member - Allan L2 - Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 06:50

Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 06:50
If you have had your Colly for 6 years it would be powered by the Isuzu 4JJ1 motor. The later model with the engine problems was released in 2011.
FollowupID: 874989

Reply By: Paul E6 - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 23:49

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 23:49
DMax is not on the table this time round.
What's the difference between the dmax and colly- are they not both built by Isuzu?
AnswerID: 605223

Follow Up By: Idler Chris - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 23:55

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 23:55
Not these days.

FollowupID: 874985

Follow Up By: Paul E6 - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 23:58

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2016 at 23:58
I notice the dmax of that time period still uses the 4jj1 motor - getting a bit long in the tooth?
FollowupID: 874986

Follow Up By: Member - Allan L2 - Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 06:45

Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 06:45
If it aint broken, why fix it?
FollowupID: 874988

Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 12:15

Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 12:15
There are strong rumours that a new Dmax is imminent. A new twin turbo motor is on the cards to comply with the latest emission rules.
FollowupID: 874995

Follow Up By: Member - wicket - Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 14:02

Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 14:02
............."There are strong rumours that a new Dmax is imminent. A new twin turbo motor is on the cards to comply with the latest emission rules.............

Let's hope they lead the pack by giving us more payload instead of the typical paltry offering of most utes.
FollowupID: 874996

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 15:04

Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 15:04
............"Let's hope they lead the pack by giving us more payload instead of the typical paltry offering of most utes.".....

Simple, have a GVM upgrade done, mine gives me another 270kg payload.

None of these current dualcabs should be towing to there stated maximum rate. My 2500kg van behind the D-Max is comfortable, 3500kg would be dangerous.
FollowupID: 874997

Follow Up By: Kyle H - Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 at 09:27

Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 at 09:27
Do they upgrade the chassis with that upgrade?
FollowupID: 875059

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 at 09:32

Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 at 09:32
.....Do they upgrade the chassis with that upgrade?....

No, they upgrade suspension components, mine which was done by ARB ended up giving me around 40mm lift.

The chassis is obviously considered strong enough.
FollowupID: 875060

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 at 15:17

Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 at 15:17
Dmax and Colorado now have different engines and gearbox's. Colorado has a VM Motori (Fiat/Chrysler) 2.8 litre diesel almost the same as the diesel Jeep Wrangler. An Isuzu dealer told me the Colorado also has the Holden Commodore 6 speed gearbox but I wouldn't know if that's true.
The Dmax still has the 3 litre motor and gearbox that it's had for quite a while.
FollowupID: 875068

Reply By: Rob J8 - Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 00:52

Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 00:52
Hi Paul,
We have a 2012 auto 5 cylinder Ranger; has covered 106,000 km's and pulls like train, towing a 2012 21ft Jayco Sterling around 2700 kg's.
Haven't had any problems so far and in a couple of years intend to upgrade to another newRanger.
I have had the transmission oil changed at 60,000 km's and will do so every 60,000 km's that I own it.
The oil gets changed every 10,000 km's with fully synthetic Fuchs 5w-30 as do the fuel filter and air cleaner element.
The auto box on good authority is a very capable box if driven properly.
This Ranger is without doubt the best vehicle I have towed with. We towed a 16ft Coromal with a v6 Forerunner and a v6 Prado; An 18ft Jayco Heritage with a 3 litre Patrol all manuals The first auto was a 2008 Diesel Prado and now the Ranger.
Hope you find the vehicle of your dreams.
Regards Rob J
AnswerID: 605227

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 07:01

Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 07:01
Paul,

Whilst being an owner of a 2009 built Colorado, I'm not going to push any particular Marque.

Either the Colorado, the DMax, the Ranger or it's sibling the BT50 are all capable towing vehicles. Throw in the Pajero and you have the option of whatever vehicle you can buy for a price that suits your budget.

My vehicle is an auto and I wouldn't use anything else, but manual drivers will have their own views.

The only recommendation I will offer is to consider a Diesel powerd tug and you won't look back.

AnswerID: 605228

Follow Up By: Paul E6 - Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 18:32

Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 18:32
thanks sandman, I currently tow with an RA diesel.
your model Colly is based on the older RA, albeit with more output, and mines towed vans twice round this country so far, despite its underdog status with the tojo/Nissan crowd.
I would keep mine for 20 years, but a new and bigger van has taken the RA out of its weight range. Ive been an Isuzu man for years.
FollowupID: 875000

Reply By: Gronk - Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 18:36

Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 18:36
Power isn't everything unless you want to haul at the speed limit all the time.

Umm, I thought that was the general idea ??

The OP hasn't said what van he wants to tow, but I wouldn't buy a 4wd if it couldn't tow at the speed limit.....up hill and down !!
AnswerID: 605238

Follow Up By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 21:43

Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 21:43
I tend to agree. As someone who occasionally drives road trains across the Nullarbor or in the WA Eastern Goldfields & Pilbara, it seems to me those tootling along at 80 or 90 get themselves into far more strife than those at 100 because they encounter far fewer big trucks going the same way.
FollowupID: 875003

Follow Up By: Paul E6 - Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 22:34

Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 22:34
Can't say I've had a problem with trucks and road etiquette at 90.
It is a safe efficient speed for towing, the returns quickly diminish any faster.
FollowupID: 875006

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 at 17:49

Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 at 17:49
Paul B,

Please enlighten me. What is the strife that those of us who choose to sit on 90 get themselves into.
Personally I have been doing that for many a long year and never had any hassles
with any truck or it's driver so far.
Maybe I'm just plain lucky or maybe I haven't had the pleasure of your acquaintance just yet.

FollowupID: 875070

Follow Up By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Sunday, Oct 23, 2016 at 15:17

Sunday, Oct 23, 2016 at 15:17
I didn't particularly mean it as a criticism but rather an observation of the reactions of slower drivers to a semi or road train looming up behind them at the speed limit.

To overtake, especially in a 53 or 36 metre road train you have to stay pretty close behind, which many drivers find intimidating and they tend to wobble a bit. If you can talk to them on the UHF you can generally reassure them but they're not always contactable.

The worst thing is when they drop their left wheels off the tarmac when you can't possibly get past them because the road isn't straight enough to see ahead or because it's up hill and you haven't got the power to get speed up to get past them. This leaves them a bit unstable, half off the road, which if they're towing a van or trailer can get them into strife as well.

Generally what you do as a truckie in these circumstances is back off for a bit and hope you'll get a better opportunity to overtake up the track a bit, but unfortunately your schedules don't really let you sit back at 80 km/hr for too long otherwise you can fall foul of your compulsory 7 hour break when someone else would unload and reload while you sleep, but you're stuck in a truckstop 50 or 80km short.
FollowupID: 875092

Reply By: Idler Chris - Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 23:44

Thursday, Oct 20, 2016 at 23:44
The 4jj1 Isuzu motor is great, and mated with the 5 speed Aisin (same as in the Prado I think) auto box is a very good combination. Look at the Forums this combination is very reliable and does the job. Unfortunately this engine is a Euro 4 engine so next year new vehicles have to be Euro 5 so some change will have to be made. Europe is currently on Euro 5 standards and the D-Max there has a 2.5 litre twin turbo motor. Most people think we will get this motor here in the next model but I am not so sure. My money is on a 3 litre motor, possibly the 4jj1 brought up to Euro 5 standard.
I have driven all the latest utes and the definite trend is to higher reving diesels with 6 or more auto transmissions. The Isuzu develops its torque at lower revs and is more suited to a 5 speed transmision IMHO. It depends on your driving style but I do not like the constant gear changing in the newer vehicles being sold today. The Isuzu motor is a truck motor (its used in most Isuzu's light trucks) and performs like one. It relies more on torque than revs to do its job. Offroad it is a dream to drive. It always seems to be in the right gear, and while you can use sports mode and drive it like a clutchless manual, you soon get sick of doing that and just leave it in "D".
I have just spent nearly 5 months touring outback Australia, 23,000 kilometres (see my user treks for details)(about 17,000 kilometre "offroad") in a D-Max which had a GCM of about 3.5 tonne. It was a very tough trip with a lot of mud (unintentional), and even more heavy sand, at 11.3 L100K, never missed a beat, and did everything asked of it, simply a great touring vehicle.
Having always had Toyota's in the past it was a huge change for me to consider anything else. Because of where I go (as remote as possible) reliability is the most important factor in any vehicle purchase for me. The D-Max is tried and tested as is evident from looking at the Forums for the various makes.
I suggest you test drive the vehicles mentioned, preferable under the conditions you normally drive, and see which suits your driving style.

AnswerID: 605247

Follow Up By: Paul E6 - Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 00:12

Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 00:12
Good feedback, thanks
FollowupID: 875008

Reply By: gbc - Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 05:44

Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 05:44
We have both rangers and colorados at work. The colorados are using 2l of oil between services. One just had a motor replacement at 40km. Do your research. Nothing in the class tows like an auto ranger/bt. If towing is its primary use, there is no competition. Mine is coming up on 90 km of hard graft. All good. Just returned from towing a 1.8t camper all over Fraser. The long wheelbase makes it very stable and the engine/gearbox are built to tow.
AnswerID: 605250

Reply By: 9900Eagle - Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 07:54

Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 07:54
Have a 2012 3.2l auto px ranger. 58000K of towing with no issues. It tows effortlessly and is very comfortable and capable off road and the gear ratios are excellent for all occasions.

The only thing that annoyed me was the driveshaft damper mounted on the rear of the driveshaft, it tended to catch grass and mud so I relocated it to the front of the driveshaft, as this is a approved location from the manufacturer.
AnswerID: 605252

Follow Up By: Winner W - Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 09:06

Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 09:06
Eagle . was the damper easy to relocate as I want to move mine too. Love the Ranger after 4years.
FollowupID: 875010

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 12:25

Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 12:25
Yes it was but I had the advantage of using a friends hoist. You have to install all new bolts which cost around $70 from Ford and the torque is 110nm.
You can download the manual for them and the page is 205_01

I can't remember where I got mine from but you can by them on ebay or try this.

The link does work!!!

Go to this link & join up.......... http://www.ford-ranger-forum-uk.co.uk/index.php

Go to this lin & click on "Download Here" http://www.ford-ranger-forum-uk.co.uk/s ... hp?tid=503
Now you will have your 2012 Ranger workshop .pdf including your wiring diagrams.
FollowupID: 875026

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 16:42

Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 16:42
Eagle,

Can you please repost the links using the Link button in the Follow Up window. In their current form they don't work.Well, if you copy the first link and paste it into the address bar it works, but the second does not.

FollowupID: 875038

Follow Up By: Paul E6 - Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 19:30

Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 19:30
great feeback guys
FollowupID: 875043

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 20:55

Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 20:55
Frank, I will try to find where I got my manual from and then do what you advise.

FollowupID: 875048

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 21:14

Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 21:14
Still can't remember as I have had a big week behind the wheel, but try this.

Ranger manual
FollowupID: 875049

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 22:20

Friday, Oct 21, 2016 at 22:20
Thanks Eagle. The link works but it has older Rangers, not the 2012. If you can find a link to the 2012 or later models I'll owe you more than one beer :-)

FollowupID: 875050

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 at 04:45

Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 at 04:45
Frank, try this linkManual

If it doesn't work they are available on ebay for a little over $10
FollowupID: 875055

Reply By: Member - graeme W (WA) - Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 at 00:55

Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 at 00:55
As one reply has already said collys use bucket fulls of oil and the ranger and maza have major problems with oil changes. If allowed to drain to long after draining the oil and removing the oil filter the oil pump is not picking up the oil after filling resulting in ruined motors. Quite amazing that in the year 2016 major brands have these problems. I am also looking at replacing my aging hilux which is 11 years old and done 225000 klms. Think I will keep it given the choices in the dual, extra cab models out there. As I want an extra cab auto which hilux does not have there is not much left. to choose from. Apart from the hilux the others don't seem to have enough ground clearance for me as well. A mate just bought an xlt dual cab and it is very low compared to my bus.
cheers Graeme.
AnswerID: 605275

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 at 04:53

Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 at 04:53
A revised oil pump was fitted to all px rangers after the 30/6/2012.
FollowupID: 875056

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 at 07:44

Saturday, Oct 22, 2016 at 07:44
G'day Paul E6

My PX Ranger had it's 4th birthday recently and now has 146,000 trouble free k's on the clock ! No problems whatsoever with oil changes if you follow the instructions. It's smooth, quiet, extremely capable off road, great to drive and a fantastic tow vehicle !

I was also a manual gearbox man but so glad I got the auto - especially with the sports shift - couldn't be happier !

Some of the later Rangers are having a few very very minor niggles with the "Tech Pack " and it's modern computerised technology but I'm sure other models also have a few niggles.

There are 22,000 plus members on NEWRANGER with 99.99% of them extremely happy with the Ranger and many of them coming from Landcruisers, Hilux's and Patrols.

Good luck with your decision - and remember - getting a new 4wd is like getting a new wife - some blokes end up with a trouble free one that lasts for ever and other blokes end up with one that causes nothing but trouble and costs you a fortune lol !!

Happy travelling

Gazz

AnswerID: 605277

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Oct 23, 2016 at 13:36

Sunday, Oct 23, 2016 at 13:36
I wouldn't get either. Next month the new Amarok is being released with a 165kw 550 nm V6TD motor. Have a drive and you will be sold.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 605333

Follow Up By: Paul E6 - Sunday, Oct 23, 2016 at 21:45

Sunday, Oct 23, 2016 at 21:45
Would never give that company my money again, having already owned a VW. Its a principle.
FollowupID: 875103

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Monday, Oct 24, 2016 at 23:52

Monday, Oct 24, 2016 at 23:52

By what you wrote it must have been a pretty bad experience.

For what it is worth my second choice would be either the BT50 or the Ranger.

Tjilpi

FollowupID: 875127

Follow Up By: Paul E6 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2016 at 06:55

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2016 at 06:55
It was, and is still on going. The more people I can talk out of buying VW, the better I feel. Bit like that story of the jeep owner who demolished his car on vid,
but not quite bad as that yet.
FollowupID: 875131

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2016 at 16:27

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2016 at 16:27

Sorry to hear that. I hope you get it resolved to your satisfaction. I have been extremely pleased with my Amarok. The only problems I have had are with Darwin ARB stuffing up when fitting accessories. I now go to Opposite Lock. We all learn from our experiences with poor service.

Anyway in regards to your original question my Daughter and Son-in-law have a BT50 and love it. Ranger is basically the same vehicle. I recently did the northern simpson and there were two BT50s in the group. Both performed very well and I would highly recommend them as a vehicle.

Tjilpi

FollowupID: 875148

Follow Up By: Paul E6 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2016 at 20:27

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2016 at 20:27
thanks for the BT50 recommendation.
leaning towards the Ranger at the moment simply because of the greater power.
I certainly have read some bad reviews about the Colly.
every body has a different experience.
FollowupID: 875159

Follow Up By: Supersi - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2016 at 20:40

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2016 at 20:40
Paul, are you suggesting the Ranger is more powerful than the BT50? If so that's not how I understand them. Both using the same engine. And not my experience from owning a 2013 PX1 Ranger and now a 2015 (MY2016) BT50. Both are good vehicles, my preference is the BT, better value for money and once after market suspension fitted a superior ride.
FollowupID: 875160

Reply By: Nutta - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2016 at 23:50

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2016 at 23:50
I've got a 2012 colly, i despise it, nothing but minor issues including a water leak holden still cant fix after being in the shop 3 times! Stay away!
AnswerID: 605416