Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Digital clock in GQ

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 01, 2004 at 21:20

Brew69

Any one ever have one that worked??????? I have seen heaps of them now that are cactus. Nissan want over $200 for a newy. I think i'll stick to my watch.
ThreadID: 13372 Replies: 8
Views: 352 FollowUps: 4
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 61261   Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 01, 2004 at 21:27

Muzza replied:

Mine worked fine, took it out though to install a boost gauge (got a clock on the radio) Clock's wrapped up in the shed.

Muzza
Reply 1 of 8
FollowupID: 322794   Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 01, 2004 at 21:41

Brew69 posted:

How long did u have it before you took it out? Just curious as we have just got our GQ and i test drove quite a few and a mate has one and no clocks worked in any of them. You might have a fortune wrapped up in the shed.

Brew
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 61272   Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 01, 2004 at 21:50

Member - Roachie replied:

I had a 1990 Maverick from new til 1995. Clock worked fine all the time and the truck had 177,000klm on the clock.
Then I bought a 1993 RX Patrol and had it for 5 years....no worries with the clock and it had 280,000 on the clock.

Click Image to Enlarge
There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience!
Reply 2 of 8
FollowupID: 322807   Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 02, 2004 at 06:32

Eric from Cape York Connections posted:

Is that the clock with the time or the clock with the ks which clock does what may be asking to much from the clock doing time and ks.

Cape York ConnectionsCape York Connections
Member: Lapsed Membership
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 322815   Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 02, 2004 at 08:32

Member - Roachie posted:

Eric,
No wonder I needed a BEX and a cuppa and good lie down after I wrote that little response.....I confused the bejeezus out of myself; let alone anybody else.......too many clocks and no time for goin' bush!!!!!

Click Image to Enlarge
There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience!
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 61276   Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 01, 2004 at 22:17

flashnick replied:

Simple solution - the PCBs tended to have cracked solder on them - resolder it and it will work fine
Nick
Reply 3 of 8
AnswerID: 61300   Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 02, 2004 at 00:35

Wayne from the Pilbara replied:

My old GQ's clock used to reset itself when used on corrugations or rougher sections of track.

I took it apart, sanded down the contacts that you use to reset the time (from memory there are two on the face?) with some emery paper. Only needed to take off a bit and it worked fine from then until I sold it 8 years later!

If its totalled.. who needs to know the time when you're in the bush??

Click Image to Enlarge

Reply 4 of 8
FollowupID: 322805   Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 02, 2004 at 01:06

lazylcd posted:

as above take the clock out of the console and just re solder all the points on the back

Lazy
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
6 Day Flinders Ranges, Coober Pedy 6 Day Flinders Ranges, Coober Pedy
Flinders Ranges / Outback - SA
On this six day tour we visit South Australia's majestic Flinders Ranges and the vast outback.
Jenolan Caves and Blue Mountains Tour Jenolan Caves and Blue Mountains Tour
Blue Mountains - NSW
Imagine yourself walking through an underground maze of limestone tunnels, subterranean rivers and n
Morning Single Sea Kayak Eco Adventure Morning Single Sea Kayak Eco Adventure
Townsville Region - QLD
Enjoy the tranquillity of a kayak around beautiful Magnetic Island in a single kayak.
Luxurious Face/Body/Feet Treatment -  Sth Melb Luxurious Face/Body/Feet Treatment - Sth Mel
Melbourne - VIC
Give yourself a real treat and luxuriate with this gorgeous treatment for face, body and feet at the
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 61302   Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 02, 2004 at 01:15

Truckster (Vic) replied:

Check the archives.. Luke did a repair thing on these ages ago.. was used by about 12 and they all worked after.

Get from wrecker for $10
Reply 5 of 8
AnswerID: 61306   Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 02, 2004 at 06:45

Big Trev replied:

1989 Ford Maverick, the clock (that tells the time of day) works as good now as it did 15 years ago. Spot on!

The speedo is OK too, although not digital.
Reply 6 of 8
AnswerID: 61312   Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 02, 2004 at 08:20

Member Eric replied:

Mine was like a ghost clock , it would appear whenever it felt like it

Click Image to Enlarge
GO HARD OR GO HOME

Multi air bag Caddy
Reply 7 of 8
AnswerID: 61329   Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 02, 2004 at 12:24

Member - Mike (SA) replied:

"Ghost" describes mine exactly. Question. How doe one get the clock out to solder the connections - from the back? - I have put this operation off in the past, but for the moment I feel inspired following the posts above! Advice please.
Ta

Click Image to Enlarge
Too little time in the bush!
Reply 8 of 8

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions