AnswerID: 61577 Submitted: Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 21:58
Member - Roachie
replied:
Jemm,
Back in October 2000, I decided to upgrade from a 1993 RX 4.2 Patrol with safari Turbo, to a new GU.
I trotted in to the Nissan dealer and asked what was the story with the current range. The only demo he had that I could try was a 3.0l auto. I HATE auto's (but freely acknowledge their significant attributes) and I was sceptical about how such a small motor could push around such a heavy truck for 500,000klm. Anyway, I drove it and, yes, it went like a shower of sheet!!!
The driving position was comfortable etc. I went away and did some research on claimed performance.........
3.0ltr claimed 116 kw and 354nm
4.2ltr claimed 114kw and 330nm
However, when I looked at the torque CURVE of each vehicle; different story. The 3.0ltr hit peak torque around 2800 (from memory) and then dropped off.
The 4.2ltr hit peak torque at 2000 and carried this figure right through the rev range.
That was the 1st reason I chose to pay the extra dollars for the 4.2ltr
The 2nd reason was (ironically) the fact that it didn't have any computer/electronics that it would rely on. Okay, I guess there's some wizardry in the CD player and ABS etc......but nothing that, when it stuffs up (and it will!!) is gunna leave me stranded in the most inhospitipal of
places.
SUMMARY (in my opionion)....
3.0ltr is a great "town" car and goes VERY well (at least the series 3 does, anyway)
4.2ltr is THE best touring vehicle for the outback..........bar none!!!
Now, as for fuel economy, my figures probably won't be of much use to you. Since buying it new in 2000, I've done an "indicated" 125,000klm. The speedo is out around 8%, so the true figure is around 135,000klm. However, based on the odometer (incorrect) figures, I've been getting an average of 15.63litres/100klm.
Bear in mind that if the 8% error is taken into account, this figure would be around 14.4litres/100klm. Still not real flash, but then realise that the flaming great roof rack was fitted within the 1st week and has been on ever since. I estimate (from experience with my previous GQ which had rack I used to take off regularly) that it soaks up about 10% of fuel economy. Therefore, it would be fair to say I could get around 13litres/100klm if I took it off.
Tyres........
I got conned big time here, when I bought the truck. As somebody else mentioned in one of the above replies, I decided to fit BFG's from new. The Nissan bloke didn't want to know, but said I should strike a deal with a tyre place myself. I went and saw the tyre bloke and he said "Mate, I'll do it but I can't give you much for the Duellers.....it'll take me months to flog them, so I'll drop the price of the BFG's by $100- each. Okay, best I could do in a small country town (Cooma, NSW). The Nissan bloke took the Patrol to the trye place and I went and picked it up and paid for it that afternoon. I had previously noted a 2nd hand 2.8ltr Patrol in the lot of the Nissan place.....
tyres looked pretty shot.
Presto, when I went to collect my brand new truck; there was the 2.8ltr with brand new Duellers (you know; the ones that would take "months" to flog!!!)
Anyway, off the soap box to go and get my medication.
Good luck with whatever you decide to buy, mate.
 Click Image to Enlarge |
| There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience! |
Reply 11 of 19
FollowupID: 323065 Submitted:
Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 22:26
Member - Captain (WA) posted:
Hi Roachie,
The 3.0TD max torque of 354 Nm is at 2,000 rpm, the SAME as the 4.2. Below 1,500 rpm it is pretty lame (pre-Dtronic), but after 2,000rpm, its just as flat as the 4.2.
Now fit the Dtronic and the old MAX torque is now there at 1250 rpm - yes, it makes that much difference. The new max torque is now 420 Nm, an absolute ball tearer, and makes for fantastic towing.
I hear your concern about all the electronic gizmos, but even the good old faithful 4.2 TD now has an electronically controlled fuel injection pump. You just cannot get away from "progress".
Remember 10-20 years ago and all the "old timers" were bemoaning how electronic ignition would never last and points were "easily" repaired in the bush? Well, who would even contemplate a new vehicle with mechanical points these days. The electronics on vehicle these days are pretty much taking over!
But I would be FAR more concerned about simply losing my key!!! Even the old 4.2 TD cannot be started without the factory key now. Lose that in the bush and you really are cactus!!! No amount of hotwiring will get any new vehicle going these days.
Also, is is so rare for an engine to fail (ANY brand) in the bush, but at the same time ALL brands suffer tyre failures and this is perhaps the most common reason for a stranding.
Besides, no-one these days will EVER have the isolation like say Len Beadell did in his day. Worst case scenario, we break down (engine, tyre, front diff if 100 series;) and we call up on
sat phone or HF and give our precise location by
GPS. All that fails we flip the switch on the
EPIRB.
Roachie, I can fully understand your liking of the old dinosaur and it is a great reliable vehicle. But while reliability used to be a real life and death situation, the reality of that is simply no longer true for us 4WDrivers. I could never imagine you behind a 3.0TD, but hopefully we can catch up in the bush one day and over a beer crap on about the merits of the new 4.5TD Nissan (simply a 3.0TD with 2 more cylinders!!!) and the passing of the 4.2TD.
 Click Image to Enlarge |
| Its not what you drive, but how you drive it!
|
FollowUp 1 of 2