Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

What does the EGR valve do?

Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 20:39

Bonz (Vic)

Another question that perplexed me on the way home from Warrnambool. What does the EGR valve do? Apparently the Patrol has EGR valve seals that need replacing, and theyre metal I am led to believe. So over to the EO Knowledge base for elucidation. and thanx in advance

Click Image to Enlarge
Ever wonder what the speed of lightning would be if it didn't zigzag?
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
ThreadID: 14321 Replies: 5
Views: 584 FollowUps: 10
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 66193   Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 20:43

Member Eric replied:

Exaust Gas recerculator . Allows exaust gas into the combustion chamber ,was introduced in the mid or early 80's & used to cool down cylinders & suposibly burn some unburnt fuel

Click Image to Enlarge
GO HARD OR GO HOME

Multi air bag Caddy
Reply 1 of 5
AnswerID: 66196   Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 20:46

Baz (NSW) replied:

Bonz have a look at this.

Click here

Reply 2 of 5
FollowupID: 327026   Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 20:51

Member Eric posted:

Ok I remembered 2 of its 3 usess lol forgot the preignition lol

It was a long time since my aprenticeship

Click Image to Enlarge
GO HARD OR GO HOME

Multi air bag Caddy
FollowUp 1 of 7
FollowupID: 327028   Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 20:54

Bonz (Vic) posted:

THATS the problem my spark plugs have never been replaced in the 3.0l TDI..so whats it do in a diesel?

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 7
FollowupID: 327030   Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 21:06

Member Eric posted:

who said anything about spark plugs ?

Click Image to Enlarge
GO HARD OR GO HOME

Multi air bag Caddy
FollowUp 3 of 7
FollowupID: 327034   Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 21:09

Bonz (Vic) posted:

Baz's link.

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 4 of 7
FollowupID: 327042   Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 21:36

Baz (NSW) posted:

Sorry i don't know more about it, didn't cover this in my motorcycle fixing days, i'll be down your way soon leaving to go to Eildon tomorrow then after Eildon heading for JohnRs for a few days, maybe i'll see ya if tour not doing anything.

click here

FollowUp 5 of 7
FollowupID: 327048   Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 21:49

Bonz (Vic) posted:

Heading to Melb for Challenge Marshalls meeting Sunday and back there Monday arvo, back home Tues nite, drop me an email if you're about and I might be able to find Johns place and catch up say gidday, tell a few yarns and whatever. I memmsg you my mobile no.

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 6 of 7
FollowupID: 327053   Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 21:54

Baz (NSW) posted:

No worries, haven't been to this part of VIC before looking forward to it.

FollowUp 7 of 7
AnswerID: 66199   Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 20:57

Bonz (Vic) replied:

I have also heard that a failure of the valve renders the vehicle stationary? Is that correct?

Click Image to Enlarge
Reply 3 of 5
FollowupID: 327029   Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 20:59

GOB & denny vic member posted:

goodday bonz
which area of western vic do you live in we used to live at penshurst

steve with beard & hair???
Click Image to Enlarge
currently in broken hill for a week or so
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 327033   Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 21:07

Member Eric posted:

not so

Click Image to Enlarge
GO HARD OR GO HOME

Multi air bag Caddy
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 327035   Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 21:10

Bonz (Vic) posted:

Terang is the BonzAbode, just north of JohnR's place.

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 66205   Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2004 at 21:09

Moz replied:

Hi Bonz,
Its main role is (as has been said) to reduce the temperature in the combustion chamber. This reduces nitrogen oxides emissions (NOx) which are ozone depleting gases. With emission regulations becoming tougher overseas and locally, things like EGR systems are becoming more common.
The exhaust gas recirculation is controlled by valve with a small electric motor, this motor is ECU-controlled normally.
Reply 4 of 5
Activities Index
Dolphin and Seal Sightsee Cruise Dolphin and Seal Sightsee Cruise
Mornington / Bellarine - VIC
Join in on the fun and excitement of visiting Port Phillip Bay to experience our Seals and Dolphins
Overnight Opulence - A Unique Escape Overnight Opulence - A Unique Escape
Sydney - NSW
The perfect romantic getaway!
V8 SUPER RIDE - SA V8 SUPER RIDE - SA
Adelaide - SA
Experience V8 Racing / Driving at its best, with the best, one of our professional race car drivers
2 Day Cooktown Explorer 2 Day Cooktown Explorer
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
If you are into history, botany, adventure, getting away from it all, seeing the rainforest and the
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 67185   Submitted: Friday, Jul 09, 2004 at 21:34

mitch replied:

Just a bit more imfo on your egr valve.

When polutants became an issue to people it was discovered maybe 20odd years ago that while high combustion temps lead to a greater efficiency for petrol and diesel engines ( do any of you rember l think it was isuzu , had a ceramic engine , thats cylinders, a lined combustion camber and piston top ) high flame front temps ,remembering that your fuel burns in a controled fashon it dosnt explode , produced large amounts of nox so a meathod of lowering the flame front was done by introducing an inert substance , yourexhaust gas .

Early systems in the mid to late 70s yoused vacuum of the engine to this as high revs/vacuum produced high combustion flame front temps thus lots of nox.
High vacuum would open the egr valve thus introducing the gas that would delute the incomming charge of fuel,lowering the flame front temp and reducing the emmissins of nox.

N
Reply 5 of 5

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions