Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Lightforce 170's

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 08:19

DiesAl

Just installed a set of Lightforce 170’s on the hilux. When bolting them on the bullbar I noticed that the clear lens comes off very easily.
Has anyone had a problem with lens falling off over corrugations or other rough terrain?

Al
Advertisement
ThreadID: 15281 Replies: 8
Views: 1514 FollowUps: 5
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 71200   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 08:35

hoyks replied:

I have had mine for a year now and haven't had a lense come off, not even in a coles carpark which is where most bits seem to fall off. If you push them on the covers are tight enough to resist movement, and they hold water quite well I have found out too.
Reply 1 of 8
FollowupID: 331416   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 09:40

DiesAl posted:

Thanks mate
It's amazing how many bits fall off in carparks......Must be all those speedbumps...
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 71201   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 08:36

Truckster (Vic) replied:

If you are unhappy with them, lightforce have the best warranty service going... Call them, they will replace them.

I bought 18 pr of 240's when I did a bulk buy, and have had no complaints.

Interested in you go with this, and how you find them, as I have a pr of 170's on the way for wifes Pathfinder.
Reply 2 of 8
FollowupID: 331417   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 09:45

DiesAl posted:

Thanks Truckster.
The 240's seem to have a better fitting lens. I may just be paranoid but anyway I'll let you know how I go, I'm off this weekend to the Straddie Classic and then on to Inskip Pt. will be mostly beach work but will try to find a few bush tracks while I'm there...... 2 weeks R&R can't wait......

Al
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 331420   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 09:57

Truckster (Vic) posted:

You lucky *#($*(*$ !!!

Wish I was off for 2 weeks..
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 333775   Submitted: Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 13:52

DiesAl posted:

Gday mate, back from hols (worse luck) had a great coupla weeks not much fish to speak of but I said I would get back to you re the 170's......
Did the Kings Bore track.... only rough on a couple of sections, hit a bit of corragations on stradie and got caught out on a couple of creeks running high tide on the beach, lenses never budged, overall these lights s%$t on anything I've previously owned (narva's and the like), I can only imagine how good the 240's must be.....anyway they get my thumbs up.

FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 71202   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 08:36

Matt (W.A.) replied:

DiesAl,
I have a set of 240's and have never had a problem with the lens coming off ever and I have traveled over a fair amount of corrugations
Reply 3 of 8
AnswerID: 71209   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 09:18

Banjo replied:

Ditto - clips ons always stayed on mine - mine rotate at little at times, but they are quite snug as a fit - yours should clamp on tightly - if they are loose, they might be dodgy. ... as said they are good people to deal with.

Click Image to Enlarge
By the time I'm too old to go bush, I'll have all my gear set up just right !
Reply 4 of 8
FollowupID: 331419   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 09:47

DiesAl posted:

Thanks Banjo, I might compare with others in the shops and see if they are the same........and keep an eye on mine in the mean time..

Al
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Fraser Island - 2 Day Safari Tour Fraser Island - 2 Day Safari Tour
Brisbane - QLD
Only got 2 days to see Fraser Island?
Chill On - Ice Lounge & Ski Lodge Chill On - Ice Lounge & Ski Lodge
Melbourne - VIC
Visit Melbourne's Chill On - Ice Lounge for a truly chilling experience.
Master Barista Course - Sydney Master Barista Course - Sydney
Sydney - NSW
This master coffee course will turn you into a true barista.
Weekend Surf Camp for Beginners Weekend Surf Camp for Beginners
South Coast - NSW
Learn to surf at our weekend surf camp and see why people are so addicted to riding the waves.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 71231   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 10:46

Squid replied:

Al,

I am sure I read in a review that you can bend the tabs on the side in to make it a more snug fit. I do not have these lights though so do not know if this is plausible or not. Anyway hope it helps.

Reply 5 of 8
AnswerID: 71238   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 11:11

flappan replied:

Had my 170's for nearly 2 years. Never had a drama with the lenses.
Reply 6 of 8
AnswerID: 71263   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 13:59

DiesAl replied:

Thank you all for the replys............fears allayed !!!
Reply 7 of 8
AnswerID: 71268   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 04, 2004 at 14:40

Member - Chris M (QLD) replied:

Grub screws in covers into case of lights will hold them on even if in carpark and somebody would like some covers...sorry for the tip at the end of the post, but I learnt the hard way! Chris's covers : GONE!
Reply 8 of 8

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website
WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions