To have or not to have, that is the question

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 01:10
ThreadID: 17419 Views:1927 Replies:9 FollowUps:1

This has nothing to do with 4wds in one way, but everything to do with them in another. Basically, I am talking about private health insurance. If I didn't have it I would have $2500 extra each year to spend on the 4wd and camping/fishing.

I have health insurance and have had it for 15 years (got it really cheap when I first started working and when working for Mutual Community). Now it costs a fortune. Just had the first kid using it and it still cost us and estimated $3500 extra in obstetrician/ultrasound/paediatrician fees etc. The wife and I are planning another one and we are deliberating over whether we sould go public or private. Living in Adelaide. Any thoughts/comments or experiences with or without private insurance?

Sorry if this topics been done before, but I didn't even bother searching for it first!

D-JACK

Reply By: roscoe - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 07:37

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 07:37
We have had two ids in the last two years and we have private health cover, but we went public patients as it didn't cost us anything. If there were any complications or emergencies, we would have been treated in the public hospital anyway, but had to pay for it. Our first was an emergency c-section and our second had massive internal bleeding. Epidurals were used for both births. I would shudder to think of the cost involved paying for it privately.

Seeya,

Roscoe.
AnswerID: 82299

Reply By: Peter 2 - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 08:11

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 08:11
We've got three, first one private, cost a bomb as you said, last two public, same hosp, dr and midwife, no charge! no comparison.
AnswerID: 82302

Reply By: Smocky - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 08:50

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 08:50
G'day D-Jack,

There's abit more too it than that. W've got 2 kids, first private and second public. As other's have said, if there are complications, you'll be transferred anyways. At least if you are public, you are already in the right place. You have to make sure you like the Dr though.

Also, consider that their is a rebate for Private health insurance if you earn 50k per year as a family (I think it's family, might be individual). It's not quite a rebate, more the fact that will pay more tax if you DON'T have insurance.

Also, the way they have structured it now, it's cheaper to stay in it than to join it, so you might want to way that up as well.

Finally, I HATE health insurance as it is a massive rort. BUT, we have decided that Private HOSPITAL and ambulance is a good idea as it is almost free anyway and at least if one of the kids gets very sick and has to stay in hospital, it is covered. Anciliary is the biggest WOFTAM that I have ever seen (IMHO). You pay $1,400 per year for it and everything is capped. That's not insurance, that's called leeching.

Hope some of this helps, but rest assured many people go through exactly the same thing you are going through. It's a matter of deciding something you are comfortable with.

Smocky.
AnswerID: 82304

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 18:56

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 18:56
G'day Smocky,
you got to earn over 100k as a family before you get hit with the extra tax(1%medicare levy).

Blue
FollowupID: 341445

Reply By: Karsten from Birdsville Studio - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 09:13

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 09:13
Gidday D-Jack

We had our second child in July, as with our first, at the Womens & Childrens in Adelaide. The first was a great experience. The staff were so good we had to go back for the second. With the temporary closure of the maternity ward of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Womens & Childrens were taking up the difference. The waiting times for appointments were huge and then after the birth there were some complications and it took over a couple of hours for a doctor to turn up and stitch my partner Jackie up. In the meanwhile she had lost so much blood that she needed quite a large blood transfusion.

Having said this, we would definitely go back. The staff were really that good.
We feel if people don't support the public health system it will disintergrate further.
You are very lucky D-Jack to have such a good hospital so near to you.....we had to travel 1200km!

Best wishes to you and your family

AnswerID: 82305

Reply By: Member - Oskar (Bris) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 09:17

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 09:17
G'day Jack
Like others we dumped full private years ago. Recently we rejoined NIB with Basic Hospital cover only. Gives us full costs cover in a public hospital with our own doctor etc in a shared ward. The advantage being, having our own Doc. and all theater cost etc. covered.
We figured that was the best basic compromise at an affordable rate.
Oskar
AnswerID: 82306

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 09:24

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 09:24
G'day D-Jack

Horses for courses, as they say. I've had private cover for yonks. 2 years ago I was seriously crook. All up cost .. about $40K. My cost $150. I'd be a tad in front wouldn't you say.

AnswerID: 82308

Reply By: ev700 - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 10:36

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 10:36
Two terms more at least of the Liberals - maybe it is prudent to keep the cover.

As I see it, the public hospital waiting lists for elective surgery could grow very long.

Qld used to have a really good public hospital system supported by the Golden Casket lottery.

A problem with some(?) private hospitals is that they cut corners. Private entrepreneurs are efficient in making profits, not necessarily in making health delivery more efficient and effective. Anyhow, why be in a private shared room where the nurses can't effectively monitor your vital signs?

I'd go to a public and risk the elective surgery waiting lists however spouse likes the idea of 'private' and no waiting. Re keeping your own doctor, it's not such a bad idea to get others.
AnswerID: 82312

Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 13:20

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 13:20
We insure our houses, cars, boats and even the Engel but we won't insure ourselves ??!!!

Should we insure the house? Yes
Should we insure the car? Yes
Should we insure ourselves? Umm....

Doesn't make sense.

Like taxes you gotta pay.
AnswerID: 82321

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 19:16

Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 19:16
These are 2 examples of why I chose not to get it...

1. Sister in-law pregnant & due 2 days after my wife. We have our 2nd &3rd(twins), that afternoon who should end up in the room next to us? The sis in-law, no beds at her hospital of choice so she ends up in public sharing a room with 2 other new mums, we're next door in a single suite getting treated like royalty 'cause we had twins. Not so much as an apology from her insurer, she had to fight to get a credit out of them.

2. Father in-law had insurance for 15 years since he had a bypass, 2years ago he needed a hip replacement. At the consultation with the specialist, he is asked which insurance company he is with. After he tells, specialist hands him the phone and says cancel it and go public or your bill will be around the 10k mark. In his fine print there was a cap imposed on certain proceedures, joint replacement was one of them.

. I reckon it's probably worth it if you have ongoing treatment requirements for a specific ailment, just seems a bit like pot-luck having for "what if?"

Just my experiences, not trying to sway anyone.
Blue

AnswerID: 82338