4wd Clubs - your club info

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:07
ThreadID: 18265 Views:3222 Replies:14 FollowUps:19
I know theres a listing of clubs here, but most are either out of date, or are not current...

Post up some info on your club, lets see how far we can get, I would guess the majority of people here are in clubs?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Club: Nissan club of Victoria

Generation: Mainly old pharts 75%, and 25% youth.

Trip Types: Mainly longer desert type trips or long trips, longest in last yr was 8 mths! Trying to run more day and weekend trips.

Day trips. Mainly easy/medium runs, with hard runs on occasions.. Anywhere from Robe, Vic High Country, Cape York, Birdsville Races, Desert runs, etc.

How regular trips: Every few weeks there is a trip somewhere.

Where When etc: 1st Wednesday of month at Aline Burgess Hall, English Language Centre, cnr. Douglas & Thomas Sts, Noble Park. Melway Ref: 89 F3. 7:30pm.

Free Accredited Driver training given to new members.
Club also has its own property you can get a key to after 12 mths as a member at Heyfield.
As with most clubs you get discounts from certain places on stuff. Not really a club for hard core people, but a good club.
We also run several U35 trips a yr that are interesting.

Joining Fees Inc Association fees, Accredited Driver Training, and a key to the club property.
$100 to join
$80 a yr.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Reply By: fozzy - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:15

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:15
probably a stupid question but are there many other cars other than nissans in club?
was thinking of possibly joining even though own a toyota
would assume maybe would be some tojos in group
realistically how would that go down in group
AnswerID: 86919

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:02

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:02
Yes, we do cater for the lower class of car, such as Yotas, Mitz, etc..
>:-P~

We give owners of other cars a hard time, such as they would give me if I joined the Yota club.. But all in fun.

Anyone really is welcome.
FollowupID: 345540

Follow Up By: fozzy - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:22

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:22
ok
so pretty normal club then
lol
FollowupID: 345549

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:32

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:32
Yea pretty much normal.. Also the usual amount of bollox that goes along with clubs.. ;)~

http://www.nissan4x4vic.com/home.htm
FollowupID: 345553

Follow Up By: lc_120man - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:05

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:05
One of Nissan's Club Toyotas got a sticker "Nissan four wheel drive club
recovery vehicle" ;-) I guess no futher explaining necessary...
We need more toyotas to recover the nissans ;-)

Stan,
120 Prado GXL
FollowupID: 345602

Follow Up By: fozzy - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:12

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:12
got a couple of mates with nissans and its a bit of a laugh between us
especially when one of them gets stuck-its a race to see which tojo can get there first to tow em out
actually same other way but we wont mention that

mate cable tied patrol badge on front bullbar of my cruiser about 6mths ago as a joke and ive left it there-quite amusing i reckon(sorry if that upsets tojo boys)
got have a laugh i reckon
working on something for his bullbar-got any suggestions
FollowupID: 345605

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:08

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:08
lc_120man -Thats Tutors car which is now destroyed.. he rolled it and was promptly recovered by a fleet of Nissans...
FollowupID: 345615

Follow Up By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:20

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:20
Trukster - great pic of the Bloomfield River Falls on you Trips page. Whoever took that must have been there around the same time as me (Aug 2004) as the one I took is alsmost identical.
FollowupID: 345619

Reply By: Gajm (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:30

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:30
Is that $180 for the first year, or simply $100?...and what age do you classify old pharts at? and when you say not a club for hard core people what do you mean? Is hard core the people that find humongous rocks etc to try to get over?
AnswerID: 86923

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:05

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:05
>>> Is that $180 for the first year, or simply $100?...
First yr is the top $.. but includes accredited driver training, and key to club property after 12 mths.

>>> and what age do you classify old pharts at?
Over 50.

>>> and when you say not a club for hard core people what do you mean?
If your a tuff truck competitor it aint for you..

>>> Is hard core the people that find humongous rocks etc to try to get over
You know it.. :)~ http://www.tufftruck.com.au/ hard core people.
FollowupID: 345542

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 18:35

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 18:35
Thanks Bruce that makes me an "old phart" then. LOL
FollowupID: 345695

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:46

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:46
Toyota Land Cruiser Club Victoria Geelong branch.

MEETINGS:
The members of the Geelong Branch meet at 8.00 pm on the first Tuesday of each month except January & on the 2nd Sunday in November at the Girl Guides Hall in Myers Street, Geelong. Melways Map 452 A4.

Aprox 30ish members, mainly longer trips currently, but a recent influx of new members, club has active social calander, and the club has a property at Yark, and the Geelong branch is intertwined with the Melbourne TLC so a big range of trips available.

Free compolsary driver training for members.

web page

GO_OFFROAD
[TLCCA Geelong Branch Technical Officer]
AnswerID: 86927

Reply By: bushfix - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:09

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:09
G'day,

Hornsby/Ku Ring Gai club

hope I got posted that hyperlink correctly, not too computer savvy.

we meet 2nd Tuesday of every month. Tread Lightly and 4wd State Association affiliated. Plenty of trip variety, broad membership and a good vibe club. Training is right up there and we are lucky to have a good number of instructors and assessors. Variety of different vehicles. Just had our Kid's Christmas party up at Myall River with the Santa arriving on the Humvee. A great club with great people.

Jeremy.
AnswerID: 86930

Follow Up By: bushfix - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:11

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:11
woohoo I can do the link thingy!
FollowupID: 345545

Reply By: cruiser - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:14

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:14
Hello all,

link text

All details of club are in the link above (assuming it works)
AnswerID: 86931

Reply By: paulc_hilux - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:22

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:22
Club: Toyota Hilux Club of Victoria

Day trips - Each month anywhere around Victoria, but quite ofter within a couple of hours from Melbourne.

Weekend trips - Typically one or two a month. Usually around Victoria, but some longer trips usually planned. Varying difficulty caters for all types.

Meetings: 3rd Wednesday of the month - Plough and Harrow - Swanston St, Carlton.

Website: www.hiluxclub.org.au - Inlcudes photos, trip reports, and a calendar of upcoming events.

We're a fairly small club, with a wide age profile - but probably more younger members (under 40!). You don't need to own a hilux to join - less than half of the member own a hilux.

Fees: $60/yr + $10 joining fee incl Association fees. Feel free to come along to a couple of meetings and/or trips before deciding if you want to join.
AnswerID: 86933

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:44

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:44
Club: Sydney Jeep Club

Generation: Complete mix from young fellas and girls to sensible corporate types - but mostly everyone in between.

Trip Types: Day trips to local Sydney trails in the main. Some members also enjoy longer sojourns to places such as the Vic/NSW High Country. Quite a few are also heavily into the competition scene - where we have been very successful. The SJC team came first at the recent Woodpecker event.

Trip regularity: Nearly every weekend - good mix of medium grade and hard core. Calendar on the website.

Where: The Sydney Jeep Club meets at 7:30pm on the first Wednesday of each month at:

Suburban 4WD Accessories
Unit 1/3 Grex Ave
Minchinbury.

Visitors are welcome

Joining Fees: $50.00 per year.

AnswerID: 86938

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:30

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:30
Shame it's not open too other vehicle types !!
FollowupID: 345568

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:57

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:57
Baz - there has been some consternation over this fact from some quarters within the club. At the moment we have about a hundred members, and the great majority are happy with it and want to keep it all-Jeep. We have looked at changing the constitution a few times, but it seems that each time we review the situation - we get back to the current scenario by vote. I guess there aren't too many 4WD clubs that still operate in single-brand mode.

Given the comeraderie and level of knowledge of the brand within the club, we have done very well in competition. The SJC's win at Woodpecker last weekend is testamony to this. It wasn't so much how well the participating Jeeps were set up (which was pretty awesome anyway), but the cooperation between the team and club members that got us through.

FollowupID: 345575

Reply By: Rod W - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:44

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:44
Bush Camping - Perth WA.

All ages.

All types of vehicles.

Currently has 61 memberships and increasing

NO membership fees, infact NO fee of any description.

AnswerID: 86939

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:48

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:48
Yorke Peninsula 4 Wheel Drive Club Inc.

That's in SA for those of you who don't know!!! LOL

We meet at the Kadina Showground clubroom at 7.30pm, 3rd Thursday each month.

Joining Fee $20-
Annual Fee $65- (subject to change at each year's AGM)

Mainly into weekend trips within SA.

President is a fantastic bloke!!!!!
Trip Co-Ordinator is a bit of a "Pest (y)"
Secretary owns a "TD5/V8" Disco that hasn't turned a wheel for about 15 months as it is stuck in Nuetral in Adelaide while the poofessionals down there try to do an engine conversion.
We also have a "Gerk" (former President; actually he was the founding father of the Club).

Not a bad bunch of people....we are into family activities; nothing over the top (we can't really do anything too difficult as there are a number of Toyotas in the club and we have to cater for the lowest common denominator).hahahaha

All welcome
AnswerID: 86940

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:34

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:34
TD5/V8, are those in the same vehicle or does he own two seperate Disco's, lol.
FollowupID: 345570

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:13

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:13
"President is a fantastic bloke!!!!!"
Not from what I've heard. Drives a Hissan, Bank type, Promotes himself in 4WD mags. Bit of a Yuppie I think. I heard his wife is nice and obviously very tolerant and the kids are terrific but their poor father!!!
PS the 50 is travelling famously thanks Bill LOL
FollowupID: 345618

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 18:05

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 18:05
Onya Des,
Glad to hear the 50 series is goin' okay.
Both my mates (the ones I pay $50- to every fortnight just for the privilege of remaining my mate) reckon the president is a top bloke.
FollowupID: 345684

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:00

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:00
Land Rover Club of the ACT inc

Just celebrated its 35th birthday
Club for all Repeat ALL 4WD (most vehicles are Patrols, Cruisers, and Discos - there is a smattering of defenders, suzukis and other, and some members are also into the historic thing with Series 1, 2 etc Land Rovers)
Meets: Deakin Soccer Club in Canberra

Check out the website at link Land Rover Club ACT
AnswerID: 86973

Follow Up By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:04

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:04
ooooooops
FollowupID: 345614

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:01

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:01
Land Rover Club of the ACT inc

Just celebrated its 35th birthday
Club for all Repeat ALL 4WD (most vehicles are Patrols, Cruisers, and Discos - there is a smattering of defenders, suzukis and other, and some members are also into the historic thing with Series 1, 2 etc Land Rovers)
Meets: Deakin Soccer Club in Canberra

Check out the website at Land Rover Club ACT
AnswerID: 86974

Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:29

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:29
Riverland 4WD Club in S.A.
Approxinately 75 members with a large variety of vehicles.
We have day trips and weekend trips every month and extended trips frequently.
Caters for all age groups. A very well run, happy and relaxed group of members.
We meet 2nd Tuesday of each month in various Riverland towns.
Driver training available.
Phone 0427 100016 for further details
AnswerID: 86982

Reply By: Wok - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 15:02

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 15:02
??????????????????????????????????????????????????

Hmmmmmmmmmm.................any Toyo club in Brizie?
AnswerID: 86987

Follow Up By: beatit - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 15:50

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 15:50
Have to go south for that!!!!!!????? A toyo and leaving god's country?

FollowupID: 345651

Follow Up By: Moz - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 23:20

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 23:20
Agree
I was looking for a LC club but haven't found one yet in Brisbane.
I'd settle for any 4WD club on the Northside of Brisbane.

Moz
FollowupID: 345740

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 10:16

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 10:16
TOYOTA LANDCRUISER CLUB OF AUSTRALIA – QLD P O BOX 309 WOOLLOONGABBA 4102

http://www.4wdworld.com.au/clubs/qld.htm
FollowupID: 345784

Reply By: Earvin Johnson - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 20:51

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 20:51

Break-Away 4x4 Club

link text

Generation: Family orientated club - good mix of ages

Trip types: Day trips around Sydney, Central Coast region; MOU in conjunction with NPWS; Weekend Camping trips; extended trips.

See website for other info.

AnswerID: 87040