Turbo Timmers - what do you think?

Submitted: Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 15:17
ThreadID: 18975 Views:4341 Replies:14 FollowUps:16
I have recently been reading about turbo failures and the recommendation that all turbo owners should use a timer to avoid damage to their cars.

I raised this question with ARB here in Brisbane some 6 months ago only to be told that for general City and highway running you don't need one. It is only when you a towing, going up steep hills, off-road use and high speed highways do you need one.

What do other turbo diesel owners think about this. Should I install one??????

Patrick

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 15:29

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 15:29
Patrick
Most new turbo-ed engines will have liquid cooling for the turbo and for most driving will only need a small time to idle down, if under heavy loads at high rpm the engine will need a greater time to idle down this can be done by slowing down before you intend to stop or at the wheel. I have also hared that some insurance company's will not cover the vehicle if stolen when on the turbo timer, I don't know if thats true but I'm sore i read it somewhere
AnswerID: 90869

Follow Up By: Patrick - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 15:33

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 15:33
Hi Richard,

With mine being a 03' Patrol I would expect it to fall into the liquid cooling category??

Patrick
FollowupID: 349441

Follow Up By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 19:46

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 19:46
Couldn't agree more Richard. The timer is only rewuired if the engine has been under heavy load for some time and an immediate shutdown is required. Even if a heavily loaded vehicle arrives is a small town after going from the 100km zone to the 80 and ten to the 60 zone , all of which would be under little throttle , the engine would have ample time to cool down.. I think the turbo timer is another one of those clever marketting ploys.
FollowupID: 349870

Reply By: japmel - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 15:48

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 15:48
Patrick

I was recently told by the service manager at my local Toyota dealership that Turbo Timers are against the law.
The reason for this is that you are not allowed to walk away and leave your car running.

Also in the 100 series owners manual it says after highway driving or heavy towing at the most it should only take 2 minutes for the turbo to cool enough to shut the motor off,

japmel
AnswerID: 90872

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 16:04

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 16:04
G'day Japmel,
It's not the turbo-timer that's illegal, it's the use of the turbo-timer that's illegal (but even then, only if you leave the vehicle going and walk away from it). I've never actually heard of anybody being booked for this "offence".
FollowupID: 349444

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 17:44

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 17:44
Whatever another stupid Australian Law. Woo Hoo, now that I'm Australian I can say that.
FollowupID: 349455

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 19:35

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 19:35
AWwwwwwwwwwe come on Ray, you sayin we have silly laws.

Lookin at doin a few trips out EAST of Dargo area in new yr, Tom Groggin etc, havent been out there yet, but keen to.. You interested?
FollowupID: 349475

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 13:21

Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 13:21
Maybe, have a few things planned though. Not thinking too well today...one big mother of a HUGE night last night, the old bod is not operating up to spec today...not good at all
FollowupID: 349500

Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 13:37

Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 13:37
Hi ya Ray. What Truckster is suggesting is a good trip particularly if you can do the run up Mt Pinnibar and come across the Murray at Tom Groggin and then over Davies Plain. I reckon you'd really enjoy it. Watch the "hole" in the Murray River crossing....she'll put water over ya bonnet for sure. Congratulations on your citizenship????
FollowupID: 349503

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 15:49

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 15:49
Patrick
Sorry I'm not 100% on Nissan's I would like to think they are, if not coolant at least the engine oil should be cooled turbo technology has come a long way in the last couple of years.
I'm sure there is a lot of Nissan owners on this site who will know the answer

AnswerID: 90873

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 16:20

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 16:20
G'day Patrick

I had a timer on my GQ but haven't bothered putting one onto the GU (4.2T/D).

The turbo's on both the 3 litre and 4.2 litre models are liquid cooled (as well as having oil circulating of course).

I have recently installed a EGT gauge from Thermoguard and it has opened my eyes to what is happening inside my motor as regards temperatures. Around town the temp usually doesn't get much over 200c. Take it out on the highway @ 100klicks and that figure rises to 300 to 450 (depending on a range of factors such as headwind, load on board, acceleration, hills.......even a slight hill will see the temp jump 50c.)

But the real eye-opener (which really only confirms what i have previously read/known) is how quickly the digital temp read-out drops once you decelerate. On Xmas Eve we went down through Adelaide and up through the freeway. This is a long reasonably steep climb and we had the camper trailer on the back, roof rack loaded etc. The manifold temperature reached 567c going up there, but once I crested the top and started to back off going down the other side, the temp dropped VERY quickly back to 330c within 1 to 2 minutes. If I had of had to pull up going up that hill or immediately after going over the top, I would NOT have switched the motor off until I saw the temp go down below say 300c, preferrably 200c.

The same thing applies when I drive back into our small country town (Kadina), where our house is only about 2 klicks from the 60 k/h speed sign. By the time I reach our house, from highway speeds @ say 350c, she has cooled down to around 200c and i can switch the motor off with confidence.

I guess what I'm saying is "save your money, don't buy a timer".............just be aware NOT to switch your motor off immediately after you've been pushing your engine a fair bit. Even then only one or 2 minutes is required to give youself a margin of safety.

My advice........a timer would probably set you back around $150- plus fitting perhaps......why not invest in a EGT gauge ($300- plus fitting) and then you'll know when you need to exercise caution to protect your turbo. Works for me.
AnswerID: 90876

Follow Up By: Patrick - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 18:08

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 18:08
Rochie,

You present an very interesting evaluation. I have been sharing emails with Ian from Themoguard re his product in the past week but there is nothing like personal experiences from other users to put a case together for the EGT Guage. I like you temperature comparrisons as they seem to have a lot of comon sence about what to look for.

I am even looking at changing my exhaust system to a 2 3/4" mandrell style to evacuate fumes even quicker and maybe overcome the low rev problems I am having in 1st gear before the turbo comes in.

In Qld the turbo timer is legal as many have already pointed out, but you must stay with your vehicle otherwise the police may act.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Patrick
FollowupID: 349459

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 16:27

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 16:27
Most insurance companies wont insure you with them.
4 that I called wouldnt.. No, cant remember which..
AnswerID: 90878

Reply By: D-Jack - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 17:12

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 17:12
T-Timers - it is illegal - a defectable item if located on your vehilce if you come across a mean enough cop - in SA anyway
AnswerID: 90880

Follow Up By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 20:01

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 20:01
Didn't know that they were illegal.

It is odd however that I have owned trucks which have had them fitted as standard and many of the newer trucks have timers integrated into the ECM... So much for consistent ADR enforcement
FollowupID: 349872

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 20:11

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 20:11
Maybe there are different rules or exemptions for prime movers/articulated vehicles etc. I will find out for sure from a mate.

D-Jack
FollowupID: 349874

Reply By: Peter 2 - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 20:13

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 20:13
I have aturbo timer fitted to my petrol, intercooled turbo, 4 cylinder car as underbonnet temps are horrific in hot weather.
The turbo is water cooled and oil cooled too.
On a diesel I wouldn't bother just remember to idle down if you have been giving it a bit of work.
There is a safety aspect with manual vehicles and turbo timers too, how many have reached into the truck when away camping, turned the ignition on to see how the volts, temp, CB etc etc is going and accidentally nearly started it in gear, very easy to do. Now imagine if it had a turbo timer fitted it wouldn't be simply a matter of turning it off again quickly as the vehicle would be moving and you have to find the TT override button to stop it. I've seen it done and fortunately for the guys wife she was beside the car sitting in a chair reading not in front of it, she got knocked over by the door!
AnswerID: 90897

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 10:49

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 10:49
Any decent timer has a period (around 30 secs for the ARB one I think) before it actually commences working. Start up before that time and switch off and the engine stops. It would be a scary thing what you describe.

FollowupID: 349658

Reply By: Member - Peter (on the move) - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 21:46

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 21:46
Forget the timers. They are a pain in the A and a cause of accidents and downtime events. Use commone sense, let it idle for a minute or two at the max as per the manual.

Happy new year!!

AnswerID: 90900

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 22:17

Friday, Dec 31, 2004 at 22:17
I agree.. While you unpack the car, leave it idling...

When you are coming up to work, for the last 1-2klms just take it easy, same as a timer..
Then again I have a Ttimer in mine.. :D
FollowupID: 349484

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 10:52

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 10:52
hahahaha I THOUGHT you had one, I have one too and its not a PITA, nor has it caused any events. And also totally not this thread related but let me know if you and Ray decide to head east, I might tag along for a bit.

FollowupID: 349659

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 00:20

Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 00:20
Hi Patrick,

Have spoken to our mechanic about this on a few occasions after buying a TD myself. He mainains our fleet of 6.7litre GM TD & Merc TD vehicles, none of which run timers. And we do give them a very hard time until 230,000km - started from cold and straight to flat out without warm up time, routinely run at 140-150kmh out the highway to where the job is and just turned off, they are never idled down under any circumstances except maybe at an accident where they are left running so lightbars and worklights don't flatten batteries. I'm not aware of any turbo failures in the many vehicles here or any where else in our region in the seven years I have worked here, plenty of alternators and FSD's on the chev's though...

Anyway, I tend to subscribe to his school of thought. If the manufacturer was at all worried about failures they'd do something about it - after all they are going to pay for it. Given that they warranty the vehicle without it it doesn't need it.

By the time I come off the main drag in mine and wind down in the 50 zone to home it's fine anyway even if it was ever going to be an issue.

Just my opinion, spend the money on something else.

AnswerID: 90903

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 10:21

Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 10:21
"And we do give them a very hard time until 230,000km - started from cold and straight to flat out without warm up time, routinely run at 140-150kmh out the highway to where the job is and just turned off, they are never idled down under any circumstances"

I wouldnt treat my worst enemies car like that.
8 yrs drivin semis, always warmed up before taking off, and cooled down before shutting the engine down.
FollowupID: 349494

Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 13:45

Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 13:45
Hey Truckster I think you missed the point here.....if ya lying on the road full of trauma type injuries I'd not be pleased to find out the Ambo took an extra 2-4 minutes cos he wanted to warm up the ambulance first...they are there to be flogged in the interests of public health?? Do you really care??
FollowupID: 349504

Reply By: ianmc - Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 02:48

Saturday, Jan 01, 2005 at 02:48
Why dont U check with a reputable turbo installer/repairer?
I have a Triton 2.5td which has had a timer for all or most of its 240,000 kms
and the turbo is original & seems fine as does the motor. Usually have it set for 1 minute & cut it out sooner of water temp guage is low. Isnt there an issue on whether the turbo has ball bearings or plain ones?? One or the other can crack if too hot and after switching off the exhaust gets hotter before cooling & the bearings can dry out at high temps.
Had a cop query me while I was walking away with it ticking over on timer but he understood or was still thinking as I walked away.
AnswerID: 90906

Reply By: Chucky - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 09:49

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 09:49
Hi Patrick
I have a T imer fitted to my LC80, It starts at 30 sec and goes up to 5 minutes, not that I have ever used it over two minutes. Also if I start my car and turn it off within 30 sec, the TTimer won't work. So I can't get into the situation of start the car by accident when just checking gauges.
Also if it is illegal to leave the car while the engine is running, why do the cops do it all the time. Everytime they pull someone over they leave the vechile with the engine running. Or is just another case of do as I say! Not as I do.
AnswerID: 91073

Reply By: Patrick - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 10:33

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 10:33
Thank you to all of you who have taken the time to share your thoughts with me re Turbo Timers. It certainly is an area where individuals have strong views.

I have decided to continue with my warm up / warm down procedures and invest in an EGT Guage to keep an eye on the temperatures rather than a Turbo Timer.

A happy New Years to you all.

Patrick
AnswerID: 91074

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 23:04

Monday, Jan 03, 2005 at 23:04
Onya Patrick........

Good luck...I'm sure you won't regret the EGT Gauge. One thing though; I had mine fitted to the exhaust manifold. I did most of the job myself, but was not going to do the drilling and tapping of the hole cos it involved taking the turbo off so no swarf got into the turbine. That cost me $200- in labour etc.

I have since spoken to Denco Diesel by phone in Wagga Wagga (NSW) about their new intercooler set-up and was telling them about my new EGT. They said it is accepted practice to have the thermo-couple located BELOW the turbo; easier to install by all accounts. I'd be looking into that a bit deeper before deciding where to locate the pick-up, if I was you, might save you some $$$$.

Good luck mate
FollowupID: 349760

Reply By: Patrick - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 19:20

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 19:20
Your a champ Roachie, I'll check this out with Thermoguard when ordering their unit.

Patrick
AnswerID: 91310

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 20:27

Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 20:27
I use a Silicone Chip or Jaycar Kit turbo timer, I had one on my last TD and I've got one on the Surf, faultless, brilliant, keep the air con going when I lock the doors to go get the milk (great for the dog, I put a mod on to keep it going 10 minutes via a switch).

Go the turbo timer, great units IMHO!
AnswerID: 91324