Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

4-Ways Return To Centre Steering Damper

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 09:58

Member - Roachie (SA)

Removed my 14 month old, spring loaded steering damper yesterday to inspect. My suspicions that it had passed on to another life were correct. The piston moved effortlessly from end to end and it was covered in oil.
It has a 2 year warranty and I've taken it back to my supplier today.
I will look forward to posting on here (hopefully) that 4 Ways (Tough Dog suspension mob) have replaced it without question. If not, .........well, you'll hear about that too!!!!!!!!!
Anybody else had any problems with their RTC damper?

Click Image to Enlarge
There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience!
Advertisement
ThreadID: 19054 Replies: 4
Views: 639 FollowUps: 5
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 91244   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 10:06

Truckster (Vic) replied:

Bazzle on patrol list has 4 dead ones in his shed.. I was going to get one, but then lookin at these, just went with an average everyday damper.
Reply 1 of 4
FollowupID: 349810   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 10:39

Member - Roachie (SA) posted:

I had one on my old GQ too, but that one was still going okay after about 150,000 klicks when i sold it.

Click Image to Enlarge
There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience!
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 349909   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 21:53

Truckster (Vic) posted:

Luck of the draw, your GU one is already dead...
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 91249   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 10:27

Willem replied:

Are you still on holidays Mr Roach? or are you sneaking in on the office computer...hahahaha

You have been on some rough tracks with your truck. No wonder the steering damper passed on. I must look at mine and have the opportunity now whilst out here in the sticks as there is a ramp I can put the truck on

CYA
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to get a rabbit

Reply 2 of 4
FollowupID: 349811   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 10:42

Hey Willie,

My whole life is like one BIG holiday....hahaha

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 91261   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 11:20

ianmc replied:

I put a nonreturn damper on my Triton but doesnt seem to make much difference & I feel it upsets the natural action of the f/end a bit. Without it everything is fine with minimal kickback. Maybe the fat wheels with greater offset increase the need for other gimmicks!
Reply 3 of 4
AnswerID: 91270   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 12:22

Des Lexic replied:

Roachie, another option would be to replace the .42 with a 50. You'd be way out in front then.
It's not the years of your life that matters, it's the life in your years that count.
Reply 4 of 4
FollowupID: 349836   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 14:25

Happy New Year Des............I trust you did not over indulge over the festive season?????

Thanks for those words of wisdom............seems like the only things I am able to break on my truck are the bloody after-market thingos that I shell-out big bikkies for in the belief that I am doing myself a favour. I need someone to tell me how damn silly i am; i reckon you'd be just the right bloke for the job (but you may need some assistance from a pest controller too). hahahaha

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 349913   Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 04, 2005 at 22:30

Des Lexic posted:

G'day young Bill. I know what you mean as it is always the add ons that go kaput. I'll tell you how silly you are only if you promise to reciprocate. LOL
It's not the years of your life that matters, it's the life in your years that count.
FollowUp 2 of 2
Activities Index
Barossa Food, Wine & Heritage - for 2 Barossa Food, Wine & Heritage - for 2
Adelaide - SA
Experience this full day tour to the Barossa Valley with via the spectacular Adelaide Hills.
Noosa Surf Fishing Tour for 4 Noosa Surf Fishing Tour for 4
Sunshine Coast - QLD
This guided beach fishing trip will see you travel along one of Australia's best beaches, looking f
"The Ultimate Search" 14 Day Sydney Surf Camp "The Ultimate Search" 14 Day Sydney Surf Camp
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
This surfing odyssey is the best start to surfing possible.
Great Ocean Road Deluxe Tour K4 Great Ocean Road Deluxe Tour K4
Melbourne - VIC
AAT Kings' Great Ocean Road Deluxe Tour takes you on an amzing sight seeing adventure.
Book Now - Things To Do

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website