Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Warn winch repair job

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 01, 2005 at 22:03

MichaelR

I have a Warn 9000lb winch. Unfortunately the lever that allows the winch to free-spool has locked itself in the engaged position, seemingly never to move again. This does make spooling out the cable a rather time consuming process. Does anyone have any idea as to the problem's solution? As the winch is a few years and water crossings old it may be time for a bit of a service. Any ideas as to where I might find some info on DIY servicing? Thanks in anticipation
ThreadID: 20029 Replies: 9
Views: 3071 FollowUps: 4
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 96161   Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 01, 2005 at 22:05

Truckster (Vic) replied:

Where on the planet are you.

any 4wd place will service it. years without a service?
Reply 1 of 9
FollowupID: 354972   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 07:51

MichaelR posted:

Truckster
Did you get up on the wrong side of the bed or are you naturally a grumpy bloke? I did ask for information re DIY servicing. I understand that I could have it serviced somewhere but I do like to know how things work, am reasonably competant and don't mind saving the odd dollar if I am not compromising safety and reliability. Probably like many others on this site.
You may have a point about the length of time between services...
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 354983   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 09:03

Truckster (Vic) posted:

Naturally grumpy.
I was askin where you are to possibly give you some shops I know that are always willing to assist people in doing things DIY, and also would sell you any parts that you would need.

Rip out the winch.
Remove the cable.
Take the Motor end off
See how much rust is inside.
Buy new parts from anywhere you can
Replace rooted parts
Grease everything. put together
Wind cable on and off 4 times.

have a lovely day.
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 355033   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 15:18

Member - Jeff M (WA) posted:

"Naturally grumpy." LOL! I like it Truckster!
(Good plain simple instructions too, not much too it if your willing to have a go).

Click Image to Enlarge
#1 - I'm not telling :-)
#2 Yellowdine National Park
#3 Powerline Trek - Saywers Valley
#4 Near Hyden WA
#5 Pinjar Pines
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 96169   Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 01, 2005 at 23:08

Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) replied:

Have you done search??

Im pretty sure someone here posted about a web article about stripping a Warn and servicing it with pics etc! Ages ago but maybe worth trying that little search button.

But apart from that, the warn is pretty simple if you wanted to drop the end cover off and have a look. Dare say or rusted in!

Goodluck

Matt
The Rig
Click Image to Enlarge
Lessons in life are free but if you have to be taught something, its usually costs you!
Reply 2 of 9
FollowupID: 354974   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 08:03

MichaelR posted:

Thanks Matt
Did a search but could not find any info, which surprised me. I will have a go at pulling the winch to bits but was interested to get any information I could before doing so. Thanks again
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 96192   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 08:03

Member - Davoe (WA) replied:

dunno about it not moving but I replaced a busted one (170$!!!!!!!!!!!!! I kid u not) it is simple with one grub screw perhaps remove the lever and atack it with crc. one of the 4by mags did a story on servicing winches recently
you dont need to leave perth to go bush
Click Image to Enlarge
You dont need to leave Perth to go bush
Reply 3 of 9
AnswerID: 96203   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 08:38

Member - Chrispy (NSW) replied:

.... and at the same time you can clear out all the muck and grime from the relays too.... or take the opportunity to replace them :)
Our Pug Chops - Defender of the Realm'00 Land Rover Defender TD5
'96 Mitsubishi Delica 2.8TD
'95 Nissan Patrol GQ TD42T
'91 Nissan Patrol GQ RB-30
Our property: http://www.omaroo.net
Reply 4 of 9
Activities Index
Gold Coast Jet Boat - Family Special Save! Gold Coast Jet Boat - Family Special Save!
Gold Coast - QLD
Grab the family and jump aboard our powerful jetboat for a adrenalin ride, full of 360 spins, slides
Limousine Presidential Experience Limousine Presidential Experience
Sydney - NSW
You and up to eight of your friends will feel like absolute royalty as you venture on a scenic 1.
Helicopter Scenic Flight Over Phillip Island For 3 Helicopter Scenic Flight Over Phillip Island
Phillip Island and Gippsland - VIC
Experience Phillip Island by helicopter as you and up to two friends are treated to breathtaking vie
Noosa Everglades Discovery Afternoon Cruise Noosa Everglades Discovery Afternoon Cruise
Sunshine Coast - QLD
Enjoy a 4 hour afternoon tea cruise of the Noosa River and Everglades.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 96212   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 09:38

Poppy replied:

Michael, I had same problem and if you check my post 19546 on 17th Jan/05 you will find heaps of info
I pulled my winch apart and fixed it without any worries just the cost of gaskets and 1 seal plus new grease
Regards Poppy
Reply 5 of 9
AnswerID: 96252   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 13:14

madcow replied:

it's a shame that some responses don't reflect the way they were intended, therefore confusing everybody as to how it was meant to come across. A little common sense would prevail and save getting people "offside" even if not intended. Like everything else a winch needs regular maintenance periodicly.

Reply 6 of 9
AnswerID: 96307   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 18:57

MichaelR replied:

Thanks everyone for your input, including Truckster. Good to get advice. Makes it a more comfortable experince when pulling the end of a bit of unfamiliar equipment.
Reply 7 of 9
AnswerID: 96381   Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 23:43

Tuff60 replied:

While we're at it, anybody know where to source the cheapest Warn whinch bits, it can't be ARB, and if it is, anybody want to buy a busted hi mount, as a tirfor is cheaper.
Reply 8 of 9
AnswerID: 96446   Submitted: Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 12:32

Tim (vic) replied:

If you ring a supplier they should be able to fax you an exploded diagram of your winch, which should give you a good idea on how it is together.
That is what i done with my Ramsay winch

Cheers Tim
Reply 9 of 9

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website